Popular Posts from Crinigan

So It'S Clare - 22 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Totally agree, it was beyond criticism. And extremely classless by some so called Meath supporters. But he answered them in the best fashion today."
So you "totally agree" that O'Sullivan, out on his feet with the exhaustion of effort at final whistle yesterday, has "contributed nothing" in past two matches (he scored a vital point yesterday and set up a couple) but it was "extremely classless" to say that Brennan's three very poor missed frees in a row were a reflection of a player that maybe isn't up to the required standard of where we want to be? (did anyone post anything more critical than that?) Again, you fully agree that O'Sullivan contributed nothing without any statistics or examples of proof to back up the statement yet its extremely classless to have reservations about Ben Brennan backed up by concrete examples??? Are you a Meath supporter or are you just supporting your club men and that's why you support Meath? Nothing wrong with that but you can't be so blatantly biased towards your club men to the detriment of having an objective view about what the best team is. And you can't call objective criticisms "extremely classless" while "totally agreeing" with a comment that says one player ""contributed nothing" when the evidence points that he did at least contribute something.

Crinigan (Meath) - 08/07/2019 09:16:02

Meath V Mayo - 22 Like(s)
Sorry lads, hate to say it but the final 15 minutes when the game was there to be taken was a shocking indictment of this management team. Leaving aside all the tactical shortcomings discussed daily here, wtf were they doing with O'SUllivan and McEntee going for vital scores from distance frees while Barry Dardis was kicking his heels on the sideline. I mean it was embarrassing to have no free taker on the pitch at such a vital time. Dardis is exceptional from placed balls (yet has not taken one for Meath since kicking over arguably the greatest free I've ever seen a Meath player kick in Croke Park last summer, 70 yards out, way over on the right) and we had the wind at our backs. What the hell are the management thinking standing there looking at James McEntee kicking a 45? (even Menton kicks them over for his club sometimes). And Eamonn Wallace came on of course because that's what we needed, right? And what does he do? I'll say nothing more. As predictable as night and day.

Crinigan (Meath) - 09/02/2020 19:35:46

Senior Championship Match Predictions - 22 Like(s)

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Really looking forward to this Haven't seen any live matches only streamed through Meath Gaa Will be great to watch in 'real telly' and even the Irish commentary will be better then listening to Ciaran Flynn"
What's wrong with Ciaran Flynn? I don't know the lad only that he has reffed a few matches I've been involved in but I know he has done Trojan work for the county on the PR front, has a bit of education about him (rare in any county boards) and is good craic on his podcast. Seems to dedicate his life to the development of Meath football and likes of him, David Rispin and the lad from Ashbourne whose name escapes me have brought great coverage, professionalism and craic to how meath football is covered in recent times- all voluntarily I think. Don't see why you'd needlessly knock a lad like that. But then you seemingly don't speak a word of Irish despite having presumably grown up and gone to school here- I find people like that thick as s**t tbh.

Crinigan (Meath) - 23/09/2020 09:37:00

Meath V Tipp - 22 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Name the best players who won't play for this management?? Name and shame. Now baring in mind don't mention those who are gone for a year be it studies, or traveling, name this great 14 that would have us so much further on. NAME THEM."
Why would I name the players? Lots of people know who the players are who aren't interested in playing and that includes some who have travelled abroad. But obviously, I or anyone else are not going to name them on the hoganstand forum to be subject to the opinions of individuals like yourself who have no problem giving horrendous abuse to people who have given service to Meath like Mick O' Dowd and Paddy O' Rourke for example. Your posts usually consist of generalisms about getting behind the team and by jaysus we are Meath so we will win be gorrah. Maybe that's why you get so many dislikes on your posts? You also clearly have personal vendetta's based on God knows what against certain people like MOD. Why so vicious and personal in your attacks on MOD when Meath are performing no better under the current management. Is there really such a difference? MOD seemed to have the best players available playing for him (apart from 3 who he fell out with and who everyone knows). He didn't always pick Graham Reilly though, maybe that's it? I wouldn't pick him either as would many many others for reasons that have been mentioned ad nauseum on these pages. Nobody has actually called for management to step down or resign and nobody has said such and such should be made Meath manager. In fact, most people, including myself are supportive of them continuing on and are hopeful they can sort things out. However, people, who are actually genuinely Meath fans and not barstoolers who shout the loudest, are wondering though why so many players have left the panel. Its incredible to have to say this, but that actually makes them real fans, they want Meath to win, they want the best players to play for Meath, they are actually involved in Meath football (imagine!), see these players playing club football (imagine!) and so they are putting the questions out there.

Crinigan (Meath) - 27/02/2018 17:10:48

So It'S Clare - 21 Like(s)

Replying To Jackpot:  "If Clare were to win who would replace Mcentee? Anthony Moyles , Malachy o Rourke , Sean Kelly,. Any other contenders ?"
Some man to post nonsense. On other threads you are saying we have no players and our club championship is crap and we should be getting players off Dublin clubs. Now this? Christ. Have a lie down for yourself.

Crinigan (Meath) - 01/07/2019 21:32:59

Boycott Leinster Championship 2020 - 21 Like(s)
Two prominent players from two different Leinster counties have come out in recent weeks calling on their counties to boycott Leinster championship next year. I've heard whispers from players in other counties and you can be sure there are many players behind them saying the same out loud. Momentum could build quickly on this. I think it would be a fantastic idea and the right up yours to John Horan and his mob. Obviously idea is that GAA have doped one team behind any semblance of competition etc etc so its time to take back what was once a great competition. Two groups: Meath, Carlow, Offaly, Westmeath Kildare, Laois, Louth, Wexford Top two teams in semi finals. Final played in Tullamore or Portlaoise (or another ground that isn't home ground of a finalist). I think it would attract great crowds and above all else it would be fair.

Crinigan (National) - 01/07/2019 22:24:27

Meath V Tyrone - 21 Like(s)
For what it's worth, it was poor management to sub Yorke unless he was injured. Even if playing poorly I think you stick by him, otherwise why bring him into the setup in first place. By taking him off, what's the next step now? Is Yorke dropped from panel? How can he come back now? And what do rest of players make of it, seeing a debutant thrown under the bus to be replaced by an outfield player in a high profile Div 1 match? Just all very amateurish. We've had 5 months to find a new goalie and then he gets irreparably dumped after 45 mins on his debut.

Crinigan (Meath) - 26/01/2020 20:58:08

Meath Vs Kerry - 21 Like(s)
Good performance again this evening so well done to the lads. Why Campion hasn't been playing all championship remains a mystery! Was he injured does anyone know? Looks a class act. However starting to get very frustrated with a couple of things: Freetaking- it's time we got a free taking coach or someone in to coach the mental side of free taking. We must be the worst county in Ireland for free takers, no exaggeration. None of our free takers seem to have a consistent routine and it's just hit and hope. Newman prob best of them but he is totally inconsistent and that's not good enough in Div 1. Goalkeeper/kickouts- it doesn't help when we have only one midfielder but it's a joke at this stage and buck stops with management. Been looking at dreadful kickouts/dreadful strategy for 3 years at lest now. Time to address it. We look like a junior club team at times with our kick outs, it's embarrassing. Along with retaining the panel and adding to it, these are 2 biggest issues for me.

Crinigan (Meath) - 03/08/2019 19:49:59

Meath V Laois - 21 Like(s)
Expecting us to put in a good performance in Croke Park and for the players to enjoy the occasion. A fine summers day in Croke Park is what it's all about and no less than this group of players and management deserve. Laois full forward line is very strong and they play nice brand of football generally. Any changes lads/lassies can see or would like to see made to our approach/starting 15?

Crinigan (Meath) - 26/05/2019 18:20:40

Meath V Longford - 21 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "You r wrong laois were not league winners previously . Loais hammered in boylans third year in charge in the leinster championship. This laois team won league title in 1986 . Out of completly nowhere from basically div 4. let me explain. longford in 2018 had better record then laois in 1985. In 1985 no one expected laois to beat Meath. Meath were in divsion 1. Laois were in division 3. Yes longford are in div 3. But they were very unlucky not to be promoted to div 2. In 1985 Laois were very unlucky not to be relegated to div 4. Laois in 1985 finished joint bottom second with Wicklow. There was a relegation play off between laois and Wicklow in 1985 to see who would be relegated to div 4. Laois won. So there was uproar in Meath when laois beat us for it was a massive upset when a team nearly relegated to div 4 beat us. The Meath supporters wanted Boylan gone after laois humilated us. Even in 1986 league, laois won from div 4. There was restructuring of the league in winter of 86 and div 3 and div 4 were broke into div 3 north and div 3 south. Laois ended up in div 3 south ( the bottom division). Back then there was no div 2 3 or 4 finals. All the top 2 teams of each div 1 2 3 4 went into quater finals. Technically laois won the national league division title ( which today would be called national league division 1 title) from div 4. It is one of the rare examples of a team winning league from div 4 or outside the top 2 divs. That result v Meath and league in 86 was thats all for laois . They never did anything else. So laois in 1985 would be like Wicklow or Offaly beating Meath now. Laois were a div 3 team in 1985 that was nearly relegated to div 4. I think Wicklow had better score difference in 1985 but there was no score difference so if you finished on same points there was relegation play off. Laois result in 85 was a total shock. Todays wasnt."
Jesus Christ your posts are terrible. It's like listening to grandpa Simpson. A long post about the league restructurings if 1985 for no apparent reason. Honestly who cares about what happened in 1985? McEntee took charge with his tough guy approach which has turned out to be all a load of bluster. His managent has been an unmitigated disaster. Players have left the panel en masse...the style of football is frankly shameful...he has to go. End of. The whole thing has been a waste of time and effort. To think that the club championship is being held up for this embarrassing shambles. I'll say it again, inter county football is dead. The GAA in their greed balls it up and you have one professional team playing the rest. Forget about it. Focus on the club championship, pump the meager resources into the clubs and focus on the 99% of footballers in Meath.

Crinigan (Meath) - 27/05/2018 19:29:49

Meath V Carlow - 21 Like(s)

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Your effectively forming an opinion on how someone far more qualified than you should be doing their job. Are you going to start telling everyone how the local butcher should be preparing his meat? Or how the local barber should be cutting hair? Same principle. They are experts in their field. I think they know what they are doing. Trust them"
Sounds like you are a bit of a sheep TakeYourPoints6. Some of us obviously have more faith in our own intelligence and what they can see with their own eyes. S&C isn't rocket science either, nor is cutting meat or cutting hair - it might be to you though.

Crinigan (Meath) - 17/05/2019 13:41:21

Meath U20 2020 - 21 Like(s)

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Because the manager Ger Robinson was a selector with the Dunboyne senior team so would be familiar with the senior teams, he was also intermediate manager so familiar with them, and junior manager in 2018 when they won it so he has experience in Senior, Inter and Junior over the last 2 years. Also, a selector with the 17's 3 years ago so knows this age well from that. Not to mention he has a backroom team that also bring their knowledge to it. And maybe North vs South Meath wasn't mentioned but it's funny that you never hear lads on here campaigning for South Meath lads to be on Meath panels because we know that if you're good enough you're on it or at least asked to be on it"
South Meath lads like Donncha Tobin? Or Anthony Moyles maybe... all overlooked at u21 level. You gonna tell me they were not good enough? Do you actually have an opinion LetrimRoyal or do you just blindly follow whatever team management picks? Also your case for Ger Robinson is actually laughable. He's been a selector on a minor team and has managed a junior team - jaysus maybe I'll apply for Meath u20 manager next year myself. Sure to raise money for Pairc Tailtean maybe we could raffle off the position of Meath u20 manager next year? Would make as much sense.

Crinigan (Meath) - 05/01/2020 22:26:57

New Additions For Meath Panel 2020... - 21 Like(s)
Went to Navan this evening to see Ratoath v Summerhill and Dunboyne v Na Fianna. Few conclusions with Meath panel for next year in mind. - Ratoath Summerhill match was poor fare. Ratoath seemed to lack leaders on the field and Summerhill experience and drive saw them win it after a calamity from Eamon Wallace. Handpassed straight to a Summerhill player under no real pressure coming out of defense and one pass later it was in the net. - Cian O'Brien came on and looked fit. He glides over the ground like Conor Nash but you'd kind of wish him to take control of the game and be more aggressive. He has the ability to. Ratoath needed someone to take responsibility in last ten minutes. - Summerhill weren't great and seem to have regressed from previous years. Dardis showed well but you can see he lacks the pace to be an effective intercounty forward in my opinion. - in second match Robert McCarthy was simply sensational, probably best performance I've seen in a Meath club match since Giles was playing for Skyrne. If he wasn't plucking balls out of the sky in full forward line like Donaghy he was kicking incredible points off his left foot. He must have kicked at least 4 points as good as Mannions for Dublin from the Hogan stand side in second half last Saturday night v Mayo. Andy McEntee was at the match, surely he must be thinking how can he get this lad involved with the county. His link play is also so impressive. Always takes right option and is so unselfish - set up 2 goals with perfectly weighted hand passes across the goals. He scored 1-6 from play. - Shane Walsh gave Lavin a torrid time in first half and really is going to be a top class footballer for Meath, he was brilliant at times. Great temperament as well, Dunboyne lads targeted him with cheap hits all evening and he didn't react. Touch of the Tyrone antics off some the Dunboyne lads but sure nice lads don't win football matches. - Dunboyne keeper Flynn looks very good. Tall and rangey, made a very good save in first half and his kickouts to the wings were excellent. Anyone know much about him? - Wasn't Jamie Queeny so hard done by by Meath all the same. Always did well when given a chance but only saw a few minutes here and there. He was very good tonight, showed his class. - was impressed also with Dunboyne corner back Sean Ryan and Na Fianna wing back Oran Smullen - Lenihan was decent enough but long way off where he was previously. He's only back though but might take some time for him to get his form to where it was.

Crinigan (Meath) - 11/08/2019 23:40:10

Meath V Tyrone - 20 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Beakey is best keeper in county. But I still think maybe a little young."
How do you have any clue who the best keeper in county is? You're literally just naming the Colmcille's keeper because he's from your club. Last year you were on main forum telling all and sundry how Ben Brennan was going to strike fear into the Dubs, we saw how that turned out.

Crinigan (Meath) - 28/01/2020 20:10:02

2019 Club Championship. - 20 Like(s)

Replying To The_Ripper:  "Yip tend to agree with you. Some of it is awful cringey and would only appeal to a certain type of lowbrow humour."
I agree as well, calling a full back "diminutive" as well is unnecessary and would annoy me if I was the player or his teammates. The article is full of jibes and childish personal remarks attempting to be funny and would put me off reading his stuff again. His early work last year was excellent in fairness but it focused purely on the football and wasn't centered on his cringey "banter".

Crinigan (Meath) - 28/04/2019 09:05:05

Meath Vs Mayo - 20 Like(s)

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Hardto know what to think about today. Looking at panel assembled by management for first time really it was disappointing.hardvto pick out anyone that shone today.have to bequestions are they goin to improve us if needed to come in to play. As regards the goalie situation we kicked long ball all first half.then changed goalie and went short in second.trying kick long ball into forwards where conlon again is small lad.joey wallace as half forward not his position better inside hasnt the power to break a tackle so far out.free taker big lad but seemed lost on frees.not much from play from him.these lads not much competition for the starting 15 maybe thats on purpose. Could be worrying if keogan menton harnan injured.no rest when champ starts."
I think the most disappointing thing was that it's just more of the same kind of players, none really with the potential to be better than what's there already. I wouldn't have minded a trimming if I could see what's different that these lads bring to the panel. For example where's the tall midfielder who can field a few marks in midfield for you? Even if not the athleticism or even good enough to be a starter, there must be one somewhere that can be on the panel. Was there a single mark won from a kick out today by Meath? Where's the next tenacious back or man marker coming from on this panel? The next free taker? They all seem to be the same kinds of player. Any headbangers to set a tone? Any creative skillful players? The panel is basically one ok goalkeeper, McGill, Menton, Keoghan, Hickey, Newman, Harnan, Morris, O'Sullivan and then about thirty 6/10 average half fwds/backs. Apart from Shane McEntee and maybe Ronan Ryan, has any player really improved from being with the Meath panel these past 4 years? Does it look to anyone like we have a number of kickout strategies in place (say 12/13 different combinations that we run) and that long standing players or players coming in are drilled in the calls for them? Do we have a coherent defensive strategy? What's our attacking plan? Are we a pressing team or we retreat and try and counter? What do we do when teams push up on our kickours? What do we do when we've no free taker on the pitch (see how innovative Dublin have been without Rock this year, they've had all kinds of variations with short frees and runners rather than kicking free after free wide? What different tactical or positional variations have we tried against different teams? (I can think of only one - 2019 Leinster which might have worked if we had any kind of a free taker to keep us in the game at vital times)?

Crinigan (Meath) - 31/05/2021 00:21:17

So It'S Clare - 20 Like(s)

Replying To Aloblack:  "I wouldn't be starting the same forwards as the last day just to build their confidence back up. No use their confidence being built up if we're out of the championship. Start the lads who they think will get the win v Clare and if that's the same 6 forwards so be it but if its not i wouldn't be worrying about knocking lads confidence by dropping them. This is big boy football not u12 development league"
100 per cent agree. This is the Meath senior championship team, not St Vincent de Paul. There are at least two forwards who started the last day who I hope not to see playing again this year. Time to give other lads a chance. I'd like to see Campion, Thomas O'Reilly and Dardis come in. Dardis on the frees please. The missed frees (3/3 missed from a perfect position for a left footed kicker) against Dublin were actually close to being a disgrace.

Crinigan (Meath) - 01/07/2019 15:47:00

Meath Vs Mayo - 20 Like(s)

Replying To runnerin:  "Heard last night they both left the panel but how true that is I'm not sure"
Yes it's Andy McEntee's fault Ben Brennan can't kick handy frees over the bar when it counts against Dublin. Not once. Not twice. But three times. Graham Reilly was a great servant and put in some stellar performances over the years for Meath but at this stage as we head to Div 1 football, neither will be a loss in my opinion.

Crinigan (Meath) - 28/07/2019 12:58:20

Meath Clubs In Leinster - 20 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Maybe. But was speaking to a former Lomans player who said he hopes rathoath kick the s€&t out of them."
Well done RoyalDunne. You basically ruined the thread with your nonsense about Westmeath football and its rivalries. Trying to stir the pot with Westmeath posters. Do you think anyone on the Meath forum gives a fiddler's f*** about rivalries in Westmeath football or if Garrycastle are popular or not. Rather than discussions about the merits of this Ratoath team and what they might or not might not do, we had you dominating it with your Westmeath nonsense so people didn't even bother posting about the actual subject matter. Grow up.

Crinigan (Meath) - 11/11/2019 10:51:32

Meath V Down. Rd 3. - 20 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dare I say it. We seriously missed graham Reilly on a day like yesterday."
We missed Jack Quinn as well. And Graham Geraghty. Now that you say it, lot of lads we missed. David Beggy. Boots McGuinness. Liam Hayes. Padraig Lyons. Nigel Nestor. Donal Smyth. Evan Kelly. Brother Sean Kelly. All missing.

Crinigan (Meath) - 21/02/2022 14:22:52