UK Forum

Popular Posts from Yondu

What's Going On In Roscommon? - 8 Like(s)
No evidence of player power and hard to believe that someone from Roscommon would run with such fake news. Plenty of evidence however of a poorly run county board and I think Roscommon especially the players have dodged a bullet by not getting O'Rourke. With his poor management CV, the distance to travel,his struggle to put any management team together and worse of all his S&C coach sub letting his job on social media. The fact is Roscommon can do so much better than him.

Yondu (National) - 25/10/2018 11:55:14

National Football League 2019 - 7 Like(s)
I watched the full game on TG4 and my neutral view point is not only did Roscommon deserve to win that game but they deserved to win that game by a bit to spare. Half of the Tyrone frees, all tap over frees at that, was Tyrone playing the ref as a stronger ref would not have given them as fouls at all. Tyrone's correct score yesterday should have been about 1-6 and there is question marks about a square ball on their goal also. Roscommon for their effort should have scored more than 1-10 but no doubt on the day the team that defended,attacked better and scored the most from play was Roscommon. Morgan and the rest of his team mates must still be laughing today at how they stole the draw at the end and young Harney will have to learn about the antics of the top sides. That performance by Roscommon was so far removed from the Super 8's game last August when Roscommon players were bullied and tossed aside like rag dogs and time and time again their porous defence was cut to shreds by waves of Tyrone attacks. Yesterday Roscommon stood strong and at times out muscled Tyrone physically and defended every attack like their lives depended on it. Roscommon should take great heart from all 3 league performances, there is now a solid steel spine running through this Rossie team. Conor Cox has been the find of the year and with a number of regulars to come back in the next few weeks, there is every reason to be optimistic of maintaining Division 1 status which would be an outstanding achievement.

Yondu (Roscommon) - 11/02/2019 14:54:50

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 6 Like(s)

Replying To dec:  "Looking at the daily figures 34 today, we are in the same position now as the original lock down, hopefully we won't return to full lockdown, but phase 2 may happen which would mean an end to all gaa activity, probably wiser for John horan to call a halt to all activity so the gaa can do their bit to stop the spread instead of trying to add to it"
40 cases back then may as well have been 500 with the amount of people showing symptoms and waiting for a test. Right now the testing has ramped up and we have a very good track and trace operation in place to stop any clusters getting out of control as they did in March and April. For the record 13 counties in the ROI have not had a case in 5+ days and 19 haven't had a case in over 2 days. To get the R number down there will be a big focus on the 7 counties have had cases in the last 2 days.

Yondu (National) - 17/07/2020 19:02:04

Tricky Back Door - 6 Like(s)
Not sure where this Mayo will be grand if they avoid Tyrone comes from? last year Derry and Cork should have beaten them and they were less than convincing in other games the year before v Fermanagh,Westmeath etc.. Tyrone are a younger and fresher team I would be more sure of them reaching the super 8 than Mayo.

Yondu (National) - 20/05/2018 20:32:52

Next Dublin Manager - 6 Like(s)
Joe Brolly has to take over. Loves talking about and watching Dublin plus he's free to do so after RTÉ sacked him.

Yondu (National) - 30/11/2019 16:02:40

New Galway Football Manager - 6 Like(s)

Replying To PressureKick:  "Who are the people coming from other counties onto a Galway page liking this post and disliking others? Really odd behaviour, you'd really want to get a life. The inaccuracies here are funny. Two excellent Archer goals at the start had Galway way behind in that u20 game and yet they got it back to level despite missing loads of chances. Joyces tactics looked spot on that day, he can't go out and correct players missing easy frees and chances. They dominated possession and didnt execute. Conveniently ignore them winning the Kerins cup at ease beating Cork, Dublin & Kerry along the way. Divillys coaching credentials are superb. UCD have been consistently high scoring in sigerson, a competition renowned for low scores due to poor conditions of games played in winter. But sure lets make stuff up to try have a little dig, all coming from concerned posters from Roscommon, a county that only plays 1 sport and has less than 1/4 the All Irelands of Galway and half the Connacht titles. Maybe turn your concern inward."
The green thumbs are for agreeing with an opinion the opposite for the red thumbs. You need to deal with that instead of getting upset. I'm not from Roscommon but you must a bee in your bonnet with them for some reason. I have a very good life which over the years has included GAA coaching in both the UK and Ireland what is your life other than trying to play online keyboard warrior? You would want to do a little more research on John Divillys and how his sigerson cup teams were set up especially against the better colleges. Kerins Cup is a pre-season competition and shouldn't be brought into any convesation when talking up or down a manager. U20 is a poor man's U21 competition and Dublin management gave Galway a schooling in that AI semi final, game was won early on and they kept Galway at arms length for the rest of the game. Was enough evidence in that game alone that PJ needed more time at that grade before stepping up to senior management however if Divilly is given more of influence you should at least see Galway seniors more organised in defence than they were this year under Kevin Walsh.

Yondu (Galway) - 12/10/2019 22:24:17

NFL 2020 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Jack L:  "In the first two matches the biggest issue was not been able to hold onto a six point lead. In the laois match we were six points up (against a team who were promoted from D3) going into injury time. On Sunday we were six point up at half time. Every county outside D1 are missing players who are no longer available. We are in the same boat."
You aren't the sharpest knife in the drawer are you. With a stronger hand Roscommon would have conceded less and scored more in their last two games = 4 points. And tougher games are to come yet away to Cavan, Armagh and Kildare.

Yondu (Roscommon) - 03/02/2020 14:15:54

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)
Pubs are indoors and with the Irish drinking culture can become packed, just a bit different than allowing 500 attend outdoor gaa match where social distancing would be respected unlike a pub when some one has too many to drink will be invade your space. John Horan is right to call for 500 to at least to attend GAA games. All the doctors in the press news conferences over the last numbers of weeks told us it was positivity % from testing, hospital admissions and ICU numbers gives a more accurate idea of how things are going than any R Rate number that can shoot up due to one isolated cluster outbreak.

Yondu (National) - 17/07/2020 17:03:01

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Tod:  "Social distancing will be observed, give me a break, that is one thing that won't be observed not at the matches iv seen, the traditional rows between supporters!! Horan is a joke and and embarrassment and totally wrapped up in his own world otherwise he would never have come out with this statement today"
You don't know the GAA community well very if you don't think supporters during this virus would have compliance to follow set rules. Nothing Horan said was a joke. Up until yesterday the GAA was expecting 500 to attend games come July 20th and all plans was put in place for that including online ticketing. To quote John Fogarty one of our best sport journalists. "GAA has played it safe, safer than most during this pandemic. It more than played its part in the lockdown. Restricted capacity of 200 shouldn't apply where sports venues can safely accommodate social distancing.

Yondu (National) - 17/07/2020 18:54:53

Leitrim GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
In 2019 under Terry Hyland Leitrim gained promotion which included a 13 point win against Wexford, beat Wicklow by 4 in Aughrim and were competitive against Derry in the league final in Croke Park. Now under Andy Moran into his 2nd season they have lost to both Wicklow and Wexford by a bit to spare and with Laois, Sligo to play its unlikely promoted will be gained this year instead could well finish 5th in the table. And yet this current management seem to be getting a lot of praise in national media for the "improvement" they have brought which is a bit puzzling

Yondu (National) - 15/03/2023 15:53:42

New Galway Football Manager - 5 Like(s)

Replying To PressureKick:  "This is laughable. Dublin won the game early and kept Galway at arms length for the rest of the game. How can you explain the game being level then midway through the second half? How would you define arms length? You're not from Roscommon yet turn up in every Roscommon related discussion. Grand. If you've such a good life (yet felt the need to emigrate, obviously things weren't going so well for you here) then why do you and your merry band of likers come onto an opposing page making things up to have a dig?"
Nothing I said was laughable. Have you got that joker condition of uncontrollable laughter? Dublin U20s laid down the platform to win early on, at no stage did they not control that game and won pulling up. The very definition of having the opposition at arms length. Turning up at every Roscommon related discussion, you clearly are confusing me with someone else. And newsflash this is the new Galway football manager thread you should park your weird obsession with the rossies. I went where my work brought me and would highly recommend other young coaches to do some experience in the UK also. Why did you go did the pressure get so much that you had to emigrate? Going by the amount of red thumbs you get on here it seems you aren't the most popular Galway poster.

Yondu (Galway) - 13/10/2019 14:12:23

Galway V Mayo Connacht Final - 5 Like(s)
First Galway v Mayo Connacht final for 6 years and that was a very comfortable 7 point win for Mayo who was up against a Mulholland managed Galway team that was easy to score against and easy to beat. A lot of hype about P Joyce as manager, brought a lot of it onto himself by saying Galway will be training for All Ireland final when appointed but Sunday will prove if he's any better than Mulholland especially defensively. I think the answer will be no and Mayo will win comfortably scoring in the region of 3-14 again.

Yondu (National) - 11/11/2020 17:13:53

New Galway Football Manager - 5 Like(s)

Replying To kazoochka:  "First half of Mayo U20 game is pretty much it i think. Nothing special in the Ros game and Dubs game was over after 5 minutes. I assume he will get the job and hope he does great but im not going to be blindly optimistic basically on basis he is one of our best ever players. This could be Solskjaer territory lol"
First thing that came into my head is that Pádraic Joyce could become Solskjear territory. To me he looked like a manager that needed at least another year at U20 level before making the step up to senior. Roscommon and Mayo weren't at a high level this year so let's be honest that Connacht title won was low hanging fruit. Joyce and his management were outsmarted by Dublin in the semi final and as shown in the final that was a less than a great U20 team. Seeing that Divilly is the main coach he will have a big focus on defence as he had with his sigerson Cup teams. Anyone expecting Galway to be a free-flowing attacking team under this new management could well be let disappointed.

Yondu (Galway) - 11/10/2019 22:22:52

New York GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "Wouldn't that money be better placed towards installing floodlights in Carrick, Sligo or Roscommon though? Perhaps there should be funding towards a North American championship. If they want to grow the game to Americans with little or no knowledge of gaelic games it would be a better option than the current set up"
Sligo and Roscommon would have floodlights years ago but for protests from residents.

Yondu (National) - 19/04/2022 17:01:49

Galway V Mayo Connacht Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Trump2020:  "I would think every counties goal would be the All Ireland. I like them so far under him. I'd give him a bit more time due to this weird year."
Galway haven't played in All Ireland final for 19 years, goals are fine among the panel of players but coming out to the media and saying it raised plenty of eyebrows. He'll be given at least 2 years, longer if he turns out as successful, Sunday is PJs first big test at senior County management against James Horan who has managed Mayo in 4 Connacht finals and produced 4 wins in those finals.

Yondu (National) - 11/11/2020 19:02:21

Lights In Pearse Stadium Galway - 5 Like(s)
Pearse Stadium in the middle of residential area is not a good spot for floodlit games let's be honest. Those residents protested before and floodlights had to be removed. Remains to be seen if it will be any different now.

Yondu (National) - 18/11/2022 16:35:55

Galway Football thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To handpassking:  "Was at the dome it was a complete bore. We have nothing to fear in Connacht Thank god Joe brolly wasn't there he would have had a field day. It was a incredible shambles. The game indeed is a very sick patient."
Joe Brolly is attention seeking bore. Would be reading too much into a pre season game played indoors on a plastic pitch whereby both teams had more than one eye on the NFL starting next week. While Galway as defending Connacht champions and AI runners up and won't fear anyone yet it still doesn't ignore the fact that Connacht contains 3 Div 1 teams. Well done to Shane Walsh on picking up his All-Ireland medal. Ideally he shouldn't be introduced back into the Galway team until round 3 or 4 of the NFL but knowing Joyce we'll likely play him against Mayo on Saturday

Yondu (National) - 22/01/2023 19:31:10

Well Done Anthony Cunningham - 5 Like(s)
@Pope_Benedict To be fair Anthony Cunningham deserves a lot of credit for stopping the rot in Galway hurling, In the previous 5 years before he became Galway manager they reached zero AI finals. He turned a bunch of talented but flaky Galway men and molded them into a very physical hard nosed outfit. The Galway panel that won the 2017 All Ireland was basically built under the good work by Cunningham. And i might add what i seen with Galway hurlers this year is the return to their flaky self. On last Sunday and where in your view Galway played "bad" I'd more to the fact they were made look bad by a team that out fought them and out thought them tactically by Cunnigham and his management. Can't really be going on about the unavailability of players when Roscommon were also missing some key players and lost 3 important players to injury during the game (Cregg,Smith and Devaney) Regardless what happens in the super 8s i don't think Roscommon winning this Connacht title beating Galway in Pearse Stadium and Mayo in MacHale Park will be forgotten about for some time and that achievement should not be belittled.

Yondu (National) - 20/06/2019 15:10:36

2021 All Ireland Minor Football Championship - 4 Like(s)
I tip my hat Meath, delivered on the day that matters. Hugely impressive especially defensively holding a free scoring Tyrone to 1-11. Got a bit of luck with Tyrone missing that free with the last kick of the game, and the nerves clearly got the better of Meath in the final 5 minutes but make no mistake Meath fully deserved their win. To Meath supporters enjoy the celebrations, 29 years a long time coming for a county with a great history and tradition

Yondu (National) - 28/08/2021 14:39:57

National Football League 2019 - 4 Like(s)
After a promising start it's all gone pear shaped for Roscommon. 22,20,20 conceded the last 3 games is the prime reason why Roscommon lost all 3 and Roscommon needed to keep the scores down to stand any chance of winning those games. I think players that are missing has caught up with Roscommon. Niall McInerney John McManus,Cathal Compton,Brian Stack Fintan Cregg,Ciaran Murtagh Diarmuid Murtagh would all be starters in this league if they were around or fit. Other counties in Div 1 with big picks such as Galway can cope with a few players missing but not Roscommon as even with a full hand they lack in strength in depth and can't afford to be missing so many first choice players. Bringing in Fitzmaurice,Darcy,Lyons etc and expecting them to make impact off the bench in Div 1 is just a prime example to how light on numbers and options Roscommon have right now. Roscommon were never expected to stay up with such a high player turn over from last summer and injury list and I suppose to be still within a chance and hope of staying up with a game to play is not something most Roscommon supporters expected.

Yondu (Roscommon) - 21/03/2019 15:34:06