UK Forum

Popular Posts from timmyhogan

Dubs V Mayo - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "we were in 332 right in front of the McLaughlin-Small incident, everyone including the Mayo lads around us thought it was square on and legit in real time. They were as surprised as anyone when I told them my brother had just texted me that Small should have been sent off."
Were all these lads called McStay and on a well paid media gig with RTE sport by any chance ;-) And did they stick to that script even after seeing the replay on the TSG live. Then change the story on Sundays nights TSG and claim that they hadn't initially seen the replay [a blatant lie] as their RTE producer became aware how ridiculous their product/analyst was looking even by the low standards of TSG. Those lads?

timmyhogan (National) - 16/08/2021 13:39:21

Dubs V Mayo - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Bon:  "Well said, Mayo fans would sicken you to listen to them."
The Donegal boy you quoted was responding to a Dub not a Mayo fan. Perhaps that was the problem yesterday & in recent years in Leinster. While you Kildare boys were obsessing about Mayo the lads in Blue were beating ye up a stick!

timmyhogan (National) - 02/08/2021 19:27:29

The last 14 remaining in football championship - 4 Like(s)
With all this talk of putting Carlow into some second tier championship draw you are forgetting what they have done for the country this year. Were it not for Carlow and human rights violations against D Connolly we would not have Jim Gavins impassioned statement on the rights of citizens of the republic. A statement that I firmly believe will in the fullness of time be viewed in the same light as Pearse's oration at the graveside of O'Donovan Rossa. It will surely lead to a bright new dawn in Ireland, fair play and justice for all, a resolution of the National Question and who knows maybe better weather. So here's to Carlow and Up the Republic.

timmyhogan (National) - 13/07/2017 12:51:04

Disgraceful Scenes At Half Time - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TYE08:  "Diving is spur of the moment as it can happen in a spilt second. Lee had to go over to the side line get a GPS tracker, track back in line with Dean Rock and throw it as he was running past. There is far more thought process in that than simply falling to the ground."
Jaysis - It's called a tracker for a reason. It's not left on the sideline! Can you work out where it was relative to Keegan - have a go.

timmyhogan (National) - 27/07/2021 18:50:47

Dubs V Mayo - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Are you referring to Kieran Duff? If so I'm delighted to be the one to enlighten you, and do away with that ignorance rattling around your head for the past 37-38 years Also to your fellow ignoranmious that liked your comment.. Behold the mighty truth..!! let it free you of your burden. https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.balls.ie/amp/gaa/kieran-duff-dublin-laochra-gael-407149 "Duff was sent-off the in second half after appearing to aim a kick at the head of Pat O'Neill. The Galway player later admitted that Duff had not made contact with his head.""
He got a boot in the head and yer not lookin at it HE GOT A BOOT! Tis on the camera ye cant miss it He got a boot Yah Well .. twas .....whatever you call it

timmyhogan (National) - 06/08/2021 12:06:05

Dubs V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To mayo_123:  "small does this all the time and always goes unpunished .I think ref realised what he had done because in extra time he did give mayo a few handy frees but the cards should have been shown earlier .dublin maybe great winners but definitely very bad losers if anyone disagrees rewatch the match"
Not in extra time - in normal time. The overcarrying call on Comerford was ridiculous & resulted in a tap over free. Also the retake of the 45 seemed dubious. Somebody obviously appraised him of the reality of the hit by Small or else he had a damascene conversion on how this particular Mayo Dublin game should be reffed.

timmyhogan (National) - 16/08/2021 10:17:50

Mayo V Dublin - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "Yellow card only, o shea throwing himself to the ground feigning injury is nothing new.. He has been at it for years.."
Can you show us on the doll where the mayo girl (or boy) hurt you ;-}

timmyhogan (National) - 06/08/2019 21:08:26

Where are Sliotars made ? - 3 Like(s)
They have stopped making them in Ireland apparently, some lad in Clare has swamped the market with "as new" sliothars which he sources from Cork it appears.

timmyhogan (National) - 24/07/2017 13:25:32

Mayo V Galway - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "Indeed Mayfair, as far as i can tell Mayos 'desperately unlucky' injury crisis amounts to 2 players being out, Diarmuid O'Connor and relative newbie Mattie Ruane, Seamus O'Shea wouldnt be getting his place anyway and Horan never fancied Parsons first time round so you could hardly include him in that. Smacks of making pre-emptive excuses, if they win it will be 'against-all-odds, injury hit, heroic warriors etc'... If they lose it will be because of their injury 'crisis', joe mcquillan etc"
Absolutely! And with all this wall to wall coverage nary a mention of the fact that Galway's Lee Keegan is out injured. Bloody media.

timmyhogan (National) - 03/07/2019 20:21:17

Question For Mayo Fans - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Bon:  "Careful now, I was saying something similar here a few weeks ago and got attacked from all angles.."
. Nope, you claimed that Dublin had bet everyone up a stick for the last 6 years , while joining in the braying form the usual suspects (as you did just now). And when a bunch of posters put you back in your box on that nonsense you backed & admitted that you were upset about people thinking Mayo might give the Dubs a game. And off we go again ;-)

timmyhogan (National) - 19/08/2021 16:04:48

Dubs V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Rebel2020:  "4 clear straight red incidents highlighted by the Sunday Game. Zero given. Hard to believe really."
Not hard to believe if you have watched any/certain high profile GAA matches in the last 10 years. Par for the course.

timmyhogan (National) - 16/08/2021 10:09:03

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 2 Like(s)
. Jeez, its back, with socks on. And the braying will get louder in the run up to the weekend. Poor pet is looking for attention I guess - Now where did I leave that length of wavin. ;-)

timmyhogan (National) - 05/09/2021 20:11:24

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 2 Like(s)
Lookit its Tuesday and the SF is on Saturday - we don't have time for this. It's still not been established how much contact, if any, Duff made with O'Neills head in 1983. And we haven't even begun to discuss the time TJ Gilmore got whistled by Patsy Devlin for over soloing the ball along the Dublin endline in the 74' final. Let's get a move on here.

timmyhogan (National) - 24/08/2021 16:12:30

This Weekend's Football Qualifier Matches - Call Them - 2 Like(s)
Mayo Norway Westmeath Laois A long shot but you never know.

timmyhogan (National) - 26/06/2019 10:57:26

Why Mayo Cant Win An All-Ireland - 2 Like(s)

Replying To border Gael:  "I meant to add to my post that I would not run down Mayo Players as being useless. On Saturday they met a well prepared Tyrone team who would have beaten any team put in front of them. Tyrone stopped them playing their game plan. Tyrone were a much better prepared and fitter team."
. The better team won on the day but to say that "... Tyrone team who would have beaten any team put in front of them" is as far from the truth as its possible to get. Even with their flat performance that particular Mayo team (who are hardly world beaters) would have beaten them easily IF they had taken the majority of their chances. If Monaghan (or Mayo or whoever) go into a second half leading by two points and fail to score a point till the hour mark while kicking several bad wides they are USUALLY coming home without the cup & probably on the end of a bad beating. Tyrone won a handy All Ireland - Mayo left a handier one behind.

timmyhogan (National) - 16/09/2021 14:46:34

NFL Division 1 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Meath might have a reprieve yet if the league is scrapped this year............"
Nope. The remainder of the NFL1 programme will be scrapped and 2 team relegated; Meath - because they are mathematically gone already & Galway - because **** em'

timmyhogan (National) - 12/03/2020 16:34:45

Dubs V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I will never stand over dirty play from any team including my own but the the Ciarán Duff incident is over exaggerated. Yes what he did was wrong no doubt but it was nt really a kick it was a flick of the leg not done in malice but more to get the player away from him. Stupid yes but not as bad as it looked and there was no contact made. The Galway player (O'Neill) admitted this afterwards. Duff got very bad press over this for years and it was hard on him."
but more to get the player away from him Really :-) ;-) So you are going with "Well .. twas .....whatever you call it" As opposed to "Tis on the camera ye cant miss it" Carry on.

timmyhogan (National) - 06/08/2021 20:15:23

Replying To essmac:  "It's Tyrone you're talking about here! We have no friends in refereeing circles or in high places generally. Everybody resents us, even our neighbours in the North. You're forgetting that Cavan is in the political South. Apart maybe from one or two folks in Galway, everyone from the 26 would prefer to see Tyrone lose; and you're in complete denial if you try to claim otherwise. And nobody from Tyrone complained about a Munster referee in 1986. I guess you don't know too much about McQuillan either. I've watched him on numerous occasions down the years, and he has never once gave us a break. His display v Tyrone when we were playing Kerry in 2015 was depressing. Mayo played Fermanagh in 2016, and Joe McQ favoured the non-Ulster team throughout. My heart sank when I heard he'd been appointed. Ulster sides playing a team from any other province should insist on not being refereed by an official from Ulster. That referee will normally do the Ulster side no favours and will go out of their way to show they are not being biased. Tyrone will be playing on eggshells. The entire country wants to see Mayo win this. No ref, and certainly not mcQuillan, will be immune from that general bias. Straight up, I'm dreading what the ref will do in this final."
. essmac, you posted earlier about a "" partitionist prejudice which very easily views..... Northeners in general .... as "different", "lesser", "not to be trusted" etc."" I couldn't agree more - and while in a minority down here am hardly alone. It's been blindingly obvious in the broadcast and print media for years, less so as time goes on perhaps (but with spikes in recent times for obvious reasons). And this prejudice is reflected back in the views of the average punter and HS is hardly immune from this. Tell em' something often enough and they will believe it - it's hardly news and not unique to Ireland. I'm from the 26 by the way. But I have to take issue with, and use as an example, your point about the Mayo Fermanagh game in 2016. McQuillan screwed Mayo that day or so it seemed to me and the home crowd - I was at the game. He seemed to deny Mayo a few obvious close in frees/penalty shouts but eventually gave a peno to O'Shea for holding/jersey tug. O'Shea went down and the peno was scored. Mayo won by 5 - handy enough. However RTE's 4 minute highlights montage/message was that DJ robbed the better team and Mayo won by diving for a penalty. Even a week later on the sports segment of the 6.01 news they interviewed a very willing Pete McGrath standing in front of the diving board in the pool in Enniskillen. And so the legend was born. Now I'm pretty sure you weren't at that match but are basing your views on the received wisdom. Given this are you surprised that the majority of Southerners who have been fed a diet of tripe all their lives don't also fall for it.

timmyhogan (National) - 04/09/2021 15:53:44

Replying To tyroneed:  "Joe Mc Quillan to referee the game. Last time out he gave a penalty against us for a not last man tackle outside the box so hopefully he redresses that."
. Yea but 4 minutes later he gave nothing when it was a stone cold black card/peno under the new rules. So when it comes to the final - who knows.

timmyhogan (National) - 01/09/2021 14:59:53

Performance Of The Decade! - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "2012 final was better than that, over after 15 mins, never forget that fantastic day."
. That's better, much much better - A happy memory that involves Mayo. Now hold onto that, we are making progress here. Maybe think of Murphy's goal or if, as I suspect, that doesn't work think about Keane's mistake that led to the second goal or Varleys missed frees. Anything that lessen the need to express yourself impulsively on your bitterness about Mayo. Apart from your own peace of mind (and ours) you sometimes set the others off. Now I'm neither a veterinarian nor a psychiatrist but it's surely worth a try.

timmyhogan (National) - 20/08/2021 21:04:21