UK Forum

Popular Posts from AfricanGael

Kerry Lads And Tattoos - 7 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Perhaps you might consider extending this latitude and understanding to the drug addicts and disadvantaged Northsiders that you openly deride and make fun of here. You truly are an empty vessel.. You stand for nothing."
I might cast your mind back to this comment I made last month regarding a lad in Dublin who had obvious issues which would fall into the category you describe: "Ah it was wrong for that woman to interview the lad, it was clear the poor fella had some issues, no doubt she knew all the lads on the team alright, but to go up to a fella like that was distasteful " AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1631 - 10/07/2021 12:19:00 Are those the words of someone who "derides and makes fun of drug addicts and disadvantaged Northsiders here" I don't think anyone who calls an elderly man a "crank" or a "oddball" just because of his view on tattoos has any right to be lecturing anyone about latitude and understanding and on top of that go making stories up. So improve your ways before you start virtue signaling.

AfricanGael (National) - 05/08/2021 16:29:17

Galway V Mayo - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The Championship as is suits Dublin Kerry and Mayo, Ulster champs will be battered and bruised as usual, the whole thing needs restructured, if it goes on like it is we'll just get more of the same and maybe that suits the other provinces top teams but it is a very big disadvantage for Ulster teams, we might have to be at our peak in May to try and beat Tyrone for example. the majority of other counties need a 3 tiered All ireland that they have a chance to win a trophy at their own level."
You can't blame being battered and bruised if you can't beat Cavan in an Ulster final to begin with. I never heard anyone from Cavan whingeing last year when they were beaten by a better team in the semi-final, they took their beating like proper men and moved on. I didn't see Down or Derry doing too much battering this year, I recall your own captain getting the line for kicking an opponent though, and you're complaining about being battered when you face real teams! What's your excuse for the failure of Ulster teams to win Division one titles on a regular basis? Is it because of being battered and bruised as well, surely not? The last time an Ulster team won a Division one title was 2008, Donegal and Tyrone only ever won one each, the 3 teams you are whingeing about have won 48 between them and have won 9 titles between them since an Ulster team last won one so maybe Ulster teams just aren't as good as you believe at the moment and that's the crux of it, and it has nothing to do with the excuse of being "battered and bruised". You've been on here the last few weeks telling us how good Ulster football is and how Dublin, Kerry and Mayo don't get proper tests in their provinces, now your whingeing that Ulster teams are tested too much, so which one is it? Dublin, Kerry and Mayo would relish playing in Ulster. If you think the likes of Down, Derry or Cavan last year are serious tests, then Donegal have no business even thinking about competing in Croke Park. The facts are that while Donegal do have a good squad of players they are far too flaky and are still overly dependent on the same man they were a decade ago and if they don't get their act together they could slip to fourth in Ulster never mind in Ireland so I think you have more than enough to focus on without worrying about other counties. I'm sure Tyrone or Monaghan will relish a crack at Kerry. Quit the whingeing and get on with it.

AfricanGael (National) - 26/07/2021 10:30:52

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 7 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I agree but so did Kildare and the faa eventually gave in. I feel for Tyrone here and of course being selfish I'd rather Kerry got to play a semi final but we are in totally unprecedented times so as you have stated before let the gaa top dogs earn their big money and try to be fair to all involved."
I think Tyrone have the GAA over a barrel here and if they play their cards right this game will be rescheduled for a second time. The GAA will buckle if they think they will lose revenue so Tyrone should make it clear soon that it's either a new date or they will be left with no option but to pull out. I think the GAA will fold if there is enough pressure put on them. Yes absolutely they need to earn their crust. I mean we aren't trying to put a man on the moon here ffs, surely there are enough brains in HQ to sort this out. If not, McCarthy should resign straight away.

AfricanGael (National) - 14/08/2021 14:32:18

Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views??? - 6 Like(s)
England should never be allowed to host any major football tournament, that's clear. People mention Africa and Russia, well South Africa and Russia both managed to host good World Cup tournaments in 2010 and 2018, although the blowing of vuvuzelas at the SA world cup is still ringing in my ears. I remember when Russia was awarded the 2018 World Cup, the Russian ultras went into training, this is no exaggeration, they trained to be ready to take on the English hooligans in particular, to continue on the battle of Marseille from 2016. The media stoked it up as usual and predicted that we were about to see the most violent tournaments ever. As it turned out it was probably the best tournament ever, no violence worth a mention. So what happened to the ultras, well before the tournament started the Kremlin cracked down, Putin made it clear to the ultras and anyone else that if you engage in violence and shame Russia you are going to a labour camp in Siberia for a very long time, even the ultras don't mess with the Kremlin. Any sign of trouble from the English fans in Russia was met with the full force of a steel baton, nothing like the full force of a baton to sober you up. There are many complex reasons why a section of English fans always behave like this, I think you have to start with the Anglo-Saxon blood to fully understand it, and I could say the same thing about the white supremacists in America today , it's never mentioned but that's my theory anyway. Social media or anti social media companies are in my opinion the epitome of evil, they are contributing greatly to grand scale destabilization, mind warping, death and destruction. Recently I lost a very good friend because of something which started out on social media, so I have seen at first hand the destruction it can do.

AfricanGael (National) - 13/07/2021 11:16:51

Houses In Order? - 6 Like(s)
One of the biggest issues which no money will sort is emigration and migration, in particular from counties along the western seaboard. Generations have left counties like Donegal, Leitrim, Mayo, Galway, Clare and indeed Kerry. It's actually a credit to any county which has been ravaged to even compete, never mind expect to win. Kerry of course have managed to buck this trend, but there's always been an obsession in Kerry with playing and winning for the county. People often ask where is so and so, who looked so good at underage but never made the senior county team. I'll tell you where they are, they are in well paid jobs and enjoying life in Australia, mainland Europe the UK or America. You never meet too many Dubs too far away from Mammy. It's easy to win an All-Ireland medal if you play for Dublin, try doing it the hard way, and giving the medal a bit of weight.

AfricanGael (National) - 05/03/2021 10:36:02

Houses In Order? - 6 Like(s)
It's gas watching these clowns with multiple accounts answering themselves and giving " themselves" the thumbs up, like drunken Paddy Murphy talking to his twin in the mirror. Hilarious stuff :-)))

AfricanGael (National) - 05/03/2021 13:05:09

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 6 Like(s)

Replying To daytona11:  "Seems to me that Tyrone want to avoid a hiding. Fair enough if they are missing lads but I'm sure that there are more than 30 footballers in Tyrone. Fulfill the fixture."
How can it possibly be "fair enough" when it affects the whole squad, including those who haven't tested positive because of the inability to train collectively. That doesn't sound "fair enough". The way I read this is like this: Tyrone requested a two week postponement and it wasn't granted. The GAA completely rushed the decision. I would not be surprised if this fixture is moved once again because if Tyrone are left with no option to pull out look at what will be lost on top of the good will. There will be no winners, everyone involved will lose. So what if everything needs to be pushed back two or even three weeks, people argue about club fixtures but they are not set in stone either in the current environment. Larry McCarthy needs to step up today and take control of this situation and involve Dublin, Mayo and Kerry as well and find a solution. If he doesn't then I feel Tyrone should pull out and it will be the GAA hierarchy who will be left to explain how they failed to come up with a solution and possibly lost out on at least a million euros. Why can the GAA never come up with clear rules or contingency plans, especially in the current climate. Have they a plan in place if any of the other three semi-finalists suffer a covid outbreak, of course they haven't. Earn your massive salary Larry and find a fair solution because what's on the table at the moment is not fair and if Tyrone are forced to pull out then the buck will stop at your desk Larry.

AfricanGael (National) - 10/08/2021 13:11:09

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone and the officials, need to be very aware of some of the Mayo antics. O'Shea for a big lump doesn't half hit the deck very easy when anyone goes near him. He draws other players into his antics a lot."
I think the officials will have enough to do watching Tiernan McCann. link

AfricanGael (National) - 10/09/2021 09:56:08

Dublin Senior Football Team - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Greengrass:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "People talk about what the elderly done for our generation during the war, our young people have done as much That has to rank as one of the most uneducated and ridiculous comments ever posted on here, you wouldn't be here today if it wasn't for the people who fought and died in the great wars !"
" Great wars"? There was nothing great about WW1. It was a feud between Imperialist European countries who had related royal families as their heads of state. It was not a war of liberation or a war that opposed indescribably evil totalitarian regimes. WW1 was a mincing machine that was fed millions upon millions of young men by Imperialist regimes. The sacrifices and appalling slaughter were for nothing."]If you don't know what's meant by the "great wars" then I think it's a poor start by you.

AfricanGael (National) - 02/04/2021 12:48:16

Can Anyone Name A More Forgone Conclusion Of A Competition Than The Leinster Football Championship? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I'm not a hurling man but I'd say there are far more top hurling teams in the country than there are top football teams. When I say top, I mean capable of beating each other on any given day, and capable of winning an All-Ireland, so I wouldn't expect Dublin to reach the summit of Hurling as fast or if ever indeed, considering tactics would be much more limited in hurling. The money hasn't done Limerick any harm though. Correct me if I'm wrong."
Money does not do any harm and as I mentioned is vital for success but no, there are not more serious contenders. In the last 20 years 6 teams have won the All Ireland hurling title while 7 have won the Football so even with Dublins dominance in the past decade there are still more teams that have won in football. Galway, won their first All Ireland in 30 years along with Limericks emergence over the last few years having not won one for 45 years.Waterford another county that are waiting for a first in over 60 years while it's been 16 years since Cork lifted the Liam McCarthy with Clare winning one so no there are relatively few that are habitual contenders. In fact , if you look at the hurling and football finals over the last decade the hurling has been far more clean cut. Now, if the logical progression is that money is the biggest reason for Dublins success in footballing terms then you would expect the hurlers to have had more success. My point is that the easy option is to point to finances as the main reason for Dublin doing so well while ignoring the lack of success in the other code."]At least you are honest enough to say to succeed money is vital, which is just a nicer way of saying money can buy success. I wouldn't agree with you that there is a lack of success in Dublin hurling, look at the last 10 years compared to the previous 10. First League title since the 1930's in 2011, first Provincial title in 52 years in 2013. Three Minor Provincial titles in 2011,2012 and 2016 and got to two all Ireland finals in 2011 and 2012. Considering the low base it started from and given the preference to play football in Dublin, I don't think we can say Dublin Hurling hasn't had success since the financial injections.

AfricanGael (National) - 09/05/2021 10:06:14

Dublin Senior Football Team - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Irish Times: 05-04-2021: "Of the 232,164 cases of Covid-19 recorded in the State up to March 24th this year, 262 were as a result of outdoor transmission, representing 0.1 per cent of the total." 1/1000 cases reported in Ireland so far have been linked to outdoor transmission, of which fewer than 135 have been linked to sport. Now, by all means, continue calling those of us who recon there's nothing wrong with young lads around the country having non-contact kick arounds outdoors "murderers, covid-deniers, disrespectful to the frontline" etc.. but you might want to take a look at the suicide numbers around the country, or ask an unemployed young fella how his mental health is before you do. We're the dubs out of order? Yes, They're the standard bearers for the country. Is the severity of their actions being blown way out proportion? Absolutely."
Well obviously the numbers will be low when hardly any outdoor sports were taking place and coupled with that do you think respondents would be truthful if they were breaking the law. No doubt it's safer outdoors but i'd take those figures with a pinch of salt.

AfricanGael (National) - 05/04/2021 21:59:50

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 5 Like(s)
When you see pros like Ronaldo who are so well protected getting the virus, is it any surprise that farmers, labourers etc who are amateurs getting infected. GAA need to cop on a bit, conditions they expect the lads to play in, you wouldn't put animals out.

AfricanGael (National) - 04/11/2020 15:15:02

Have We All Gone Mad? - 5 Like(s)
The ignorance of some posters on here in relation to the existence of covid, never mind the dangers it can pose is palpable. A few posters on here telling us that they don't know anyone who became really ill or died from covid, and instead of being glad of that fact they use it as a tool to deny the virus is nasty and dangerous and has killed millions worldwide. For them the world ends at the last saloon of their rural hick town. Posting absolutely useless statistics in relation to excess mortality figures, with zero context. What's the first thing they do when the Government announce a limited form of reopening ? They tell you it's potentially illegal and they'll sue, typical Irish compo culture. Not happy being an armchair doctor, they want to be the armchair lawyer now as well. It's what you call an Irish "know all". I watched something last night where they have a similar system in Denmark where they allow fully vaccinated or people with a recent negative test into bars and restaurants etc. Works fine and not a hint of a court case, but the Danes are mature, grown up and sensible and not the hick town hillbillies of Europe. I used to wonder when Europeans used to joke that Ireland was where all the Hillbillies of Europe lived, maybe they were right after all. Anyone who doesn't know anyone who either became very ill and ended up in hospital or died from Covid at this stage must have an awful small circle of friends and judging by their posts and display of sheer ignorance I can't say I'm surprised at that. A shambles of a country.

AfricanGael (National) - 30/06/2021 10:24:28

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Dry your eyes. What do ye want, a mini foul for nearly fouls, what pulling and dragging, faking injuries, Mc Cann had to go off after collision and Tyrone can't take the blame for Clifford being down during the black card. There were late tackles from Kerry too not just Tyrone. Tactics my"
Ironic you should mention McCann and faking injuries in the same sentence. Don't ruffle his hair whatever you do. link

AfricanGael (National) - 03/09/2021 21:52:53

Best Player From Your County You Ever Seen - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The man asked for the best 'player' keep it to 1 or 2 at the most if you have to, typical Mayo man you think you can name a dozen players, not all Mayo fans are like you but you'd be fairly typical of why your fans are not liked in general."
Donegal, out in the North West, neglected by Dublin and the only reason it's not part of the UK is because the land wasn't good enough. No wonder you all have big chips on your shoulders.

AfricanGael (National) - 21/08/2021 14:59:21

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 5 Like(s)
Last year when Sean Cavanagh said "Certainly, up here in the UK" when referring to Tyrone and presumably the other five counties, many in the GAA community nearly went into complete and utter meltdown, and directed vile abuse towards him while hiding behind their laptops. Sean clearly recognises the fact that there are 6 counties who participate in the "All-Ireland" which are part of the UK. The Dublin government & the GAA have about as much a legal claim or right to rename New York & London, as they do on Tyrone or any other part of the UK. It's inevitable that a "border poll", will happen in the future, and whatever the outcome there will be one large minority, but I believe we're a million miles away from ever seeing kids on the Shankill road ever wanting to be part of any "GAA Community" or have anything to do with a Dublin government. Bernard Brogan could be a fiddle player from Clare for all they know or care. The six counties are nothing but a problem child for the British government and they can't wait to hand over the brat to Dublin, should that ever happen, that's when the proverbial will really hit the fan.

AfricanGael (National) - 17/04/2021 13:26:37

Can Anyone Name A More Forgone Conclusion Of A Competition Than The Leinster Football Championship? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To galwayford:  "I have made allegations here about Meath especially. They lack spirit and so on. The reason I am saying it is because some of their posters and others, are complaining about the one sided Leinster football championship. There is more to Dublin's success than just spirit, tactics, finance, Croke park and so on. I would urge Meath and Kildare to develope say 3 year plans. Year one, Keep Dubs to 5-10 point win, year 2 to keep it to a couple of points and finally year 3 to actually win. And start planning and lobbying the GAA for the money and resources to achieve this goal. Galway play Westmeath in hurling next weekend. Hope they can win."
As Tyson famously said "Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the mouth". The facts are the Leinster Championship has been murdered and this notion of attributing blame to other Leinster counties is akin to blaming the victim while letting the perpetrator and their backers off the hook. It shows how farcical the situation is when someone is advising Meath to make a plan on getting beaten by 5 to 10 points ! Wake up people and smell the coffee.

AfricanGael (National) - 05/05/2021 10:48:23

Seanie Furlong - Best Full Forward In Ireland ? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To sponger:  "I think so."
No, Cavan aka The Black Death aka "Ulster Champions" the worst footballers in Ireland.

AfricanGael (National) - 12/06/2021 16:50:58

Dublin Senior Football Team - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "So the spirit of the guidance doesn't extend to soccer and rugby players. Some slap in the face for front line workers when they see other sports playing . What about the young, they have sacrificed more than anyone, they're healthy but had to stay in to help everyone else. People talk about what the elderly done for our generation during the war, our young people have done as much. So forget about spirit of guidance and sense of collective when it's only GAA being held back."
People talk about what the elderly done for our generation during the war, our young people have done as much That has to rank as one of the most uneducated and ridiculous comments ever posted on here, you wouldn't be here today if it wasn't for the people who fought and died in the great wars !

AfricanGael (National) - 02/04/2021 11:27:24

AOS - Potential Bad Injury - 4 Like(s)

Replying To tonguey:  "ye might actually have a chance of beating them this year"
What a sick comment.

AfricanGael (National) - 22/04/2021 10:38:46