Offaly Forum

Popular Posts from uibhfhaili1986

David Fitzgerald's Behaviour - 7 Like(s)
The supposed give respect get respect initiative for treating referees with respect is again been made a mockery of by the GAA who refuse to deal with Davy Fitzgerald and put him into the stands for his continual abuse of officials.

People wonder why people at all levels abuse officials but when they see one of the most high profile figures in the game and get away it for the entirety of his managerial career it doesn't exactly set a great example.

He should have been suspended for it a long time ago.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 24/07/2016 16:58:06

Ridiculous Bias towards Ulster Shown by RTE - 7 Like(s)

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Fact - Down Div 2 will play Armagh Div 3 on Sunday in a packed newry - 20,000 sell out expected offaly can't even get 300 to watch their footballers offaly v westmeath which wasn't live had only 2,500 last week in Mullingar..... Why oh why would you show a match live with less than 3,000"
That was the Offaly v Westmeath hurlers. How many would go to watch the Armagh v Down hurlers?

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 01/06/2017 11:00:51

Minute Silence - 6 Like(s)
What exactly has it got to do with money like people are arguing.It isn't but of course that doesn't stop some people on here whinging as usual. Frankly there are way too many minutes silence in GAA matches that it makes the gesture quite meaningless now. It should only be observed for very special individuals i.e former great players.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 28/03/2017 22:17:07

Empty Hill today - 6 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ok this is a little moan but what the gaa did to Dublin in the '13 final with Hill tickets was an absolute disgrace , for a county that more or less packs it out every game to be shafted like that in '13 was so wrong. I had no problem Mayo getting more stand tickets as long as Dublin got more Hill tickets but that didn't happen. Again today the Hill was open and cheaper yet Mayo supporters rather go to the stand, I hope to god the powers that be show a bit of loyalty to the Dublin hill supporters if we make this years final. Just had to get that off my chest."
But the hill wasn't empty today.You must have really bad eyesight. Some Mayo fans were on the hill today and they are entitled to get access to cheaper tickets particularly seeing as it costs them more to go to games than it does for Dublin fans.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 21/08/2016 19:36:03

Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught - 5 Like(s)
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:766 - 07/11/2016 09:53:44 my lads play it and hurling football and soccer , there are huge benefits to be had from playing the sport Huge dangers to playing rugby though, there are much safer sports that can be played and have the same effect.Concussion is a serious issue and with the increasing size of players and intensity of the game increasing it's a pretty dangerous sport because of the potential for very serious long term negative affects from it and it will only get worse.Also there is the elephant in the room surrounding the "supplements" being taken by rugby players and the fact that the rugby authorities don't really want to know too much about what teams are really up to in order to be able to play so many matches at such a high intensity.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 07/11/2016 12:21:21

How Much Money Does the GAA Have - 5 Like(s)

Replying To totalrecall:  "yeah the GAA have to make money, money collected by did hard volunteers every week for lotto etc, tickets being bought by the same faithful who follow their county teams travelling with their families to games and paying through the nose for tickets and then getting robbed by the vendors in croke park for cups of tea/coffee and other refreshments. Croke Park was redeveloped 20 years ago, it is well paid for now. How about the association showing some respect to it's members and supporters instead of fleecing them at every opportunity?? I won't be holding my breath........rant over"
Where are members and supporters being fleeced at every turn? Prices for intercounty championship matches are quite reasonable.€35 for a quarter final Double header is very good value for money.You don't have to buy refreshments in Croke park just bring a lunch box with you or eat in your car. It costs a lot of money to pay for eveyrthing in the GAA.Equipment,facilities,utility bills etc etc The money that is taken in at central level us redistributed back into the variuous units of the GAA. Truth is Ireland is just a country filled with whingers who want everything for nothing.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 01/08/2017 16:11:16

David Fitzgerald's Behaviour - 4 Like(s)

Replying To gotmilk:  "I'm guessing i'm the only person who likes Davey fitz? Great to see a bit of passion on the sideline. Very impressed with his post match interview here."
There is a difference between passion and abusing the officials. You can show passion on the sideline as many managers have without abusing the officials. Also I tend to agree with the view that if your roaring and shouting during the game you are not focused or composed enough and haven't done the necessary work in training.Mickey Hart has said something similar in the past.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 24/07/2016 18:41:05

What a superb finish to a game! - 4 Like(s)
Won't see a worse first 60 minutes either I suspect.

I know which I would prefer.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 17/07/2016 16:19:19

Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Keegan's a super player but if he threw that GPS then that is a disgrace. Sore loser and really poor form."
Stop talking bull would you. Any player would do that to try and help their team it's no different to a jersey pull or a drag down.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 18/09/2017 09:42:36

What exactly do people want? - 3 Like(s)
The endless stream of whinging for both players and posters on this forum has got me wondering what exactly do people want from the GAA's championship structure. A fairly minor change like this Super 8 idea is being seen as a travesty despite the fact that it barely affects any teams, is part of shorter championship season and results in only 6 more matches than are currently paid.I'll say that again 6 more matches. So please come up with a better solution or shut up. Please note that the way sport works is that the best teams win and teams have to lose.So there will always be an elite and there will always be weaker counties.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 25/02/2017 16:54:24

Hurling, a national game? - 3 Like(s)
Hurling is not really a national sport and is less intriguing because of it. The same teams play each other over and over again and there is very little fluctuation in anything compared to football where 24/25 counties have got to the all ireland quarter finals since 2001 and where there are constant changes in the sport and teams come and go at the top level. To be honest I think football when played well is the best sport in the world it has everything as a sport ,I think it's a little too easy to score in hurling and it makes to less enjoyable as you get less play in the game and less effort and strategy at times is required to get a score.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 02/08/2017 21:25:34

Ridiculous Bias towards Ulster Shown by RTE - 3 Like(s)

Replying To gotmilk:  "So what were you complaining about? He highlighted the lack of interest in the game as a reason why it's not on tv. What the hell has Armagh and down hurling got to do with the post?"
What the hell did Offaly v Westmeath hurling have to do with the point I was making? Absolutely nothing yet someone brought it up anyway. My point was we have 2 channels continuously showing Ulster matches when other matches are on, it's a completely stupid policy.RTE should show Kilare v Laois and let the BBC show the Ulster match and people can at least have an option over what they watch.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 01/06/2017 21:54:17

6 Nations 2017 - 3 Like(s)
Why in Irish rugby does the coach always get blamed rather than the players.In any sport the coaches job is to get the team in position to win the game and the players must execute.Considering Ireland had Wales pinned inside the 22 for a large part of the match and should have been able to get over the line why are the players not taking pretty much all of the blame for Friday nights defeat.The player ratings in the Sindo today and yesterdays Indo go ridiculously easy on them. Lets face it the team were/are overhyped and people read too much into results in the autumn internationals which are just money making ventures and not proper matches.

uibhfhaili1986 (OtherSports) - 12/03/2017 18:27:44

The Future - 3 Like(s)
The future isn't particularly bright for either code in my opinion. Poor organization of fixtures at club level is screwing the player and football is far too defensive and eventually it's popularity will be seriously affected by the type of football most teams play combined with the rubbish championship structure make it nowhere near as enjoyable as it should be. I've never cared less about football as I do right now, Dublin are the only team really worth watching any more as at least they have an attack first mentality bu their games aren't great until the AI stages as they are too good for most of their opposition.The big problem is there is far too much arrogance within the GAA to accept this and try and spice things up.The rules of football simply have to be changed, this "phase" of defensive play has gone on for over 10 years and it is not going away. Any other sport and changes would have been made along time ago but this is the GAA so I suspect changes won't ever be made or if they are it will by the time the horse has already bolted and a generation of fans will be lost. I;m probably going to get a whole load of responses saying if you don't like it then watch something else but that's exactly the point as that is what people are going to do if changes aren't made to the rules.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 06/05/2017 22:17:15

Lions 2017 - 3 Like(s)
Complete nonsense that the series can be drawn.Should either be extra time or aggregate score wins.

uibhfhaili1986 (OtherSports) - 08/07/2017 10:36:28

Project Dublin - a great success - 3 Like(s)

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "At least we had Cork to compete with. Dublin could play in Leinster blindfolded and still win at a canter. It's far more predictable than any easy path Kerry may have enjoyed in the past. My advice would be to enjoy the success rather than worrying about how Kerry won their 37 All Irelands. We'll be looking over our shoulders soon enough by the looks of it."
Kerry used to only get a decent game at the quarter final stage of the championships (provincial final) when they were dominant in the 70's and 80's same applies to Dublin now.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 27/03/2017 05:15:59

The Kickout Revolution - 3 Like(s)
If they bring in a rule that all kickouts must go across the 45 and it would be a great developement for the game, you'd get more high fielding and also get the classic Cluxton kickout of picking out someone 50 yards away with an accurate kickout. I hate these 10 yard kickouts to an unmarked man, they do nothing for the game.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 26/08/2017 12:07:54

Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught - 3 Like(s)
The GAA are terrible at marketing and promotion.Everybody knows that but considering how dangerous a game rugby is to play nowand will become in the future the GAA should really be hyping itself up more and accentuating the positive of the games and the GAA need to cop on and realise they are doing a terrible job promoting the games. The media however have a massive bias towards rugby the teams are constantly over hyped any negativity is brushed aside and given zero coverage and the coverage of galeic games by journalsist almost always focuses on the negative ratehr than the positive.It's difficult to compete with that kind of shite.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 06/11/2016 21:36:18

What's going wrong with Ulster teams? - 3 Like(s)
The football is being taken out of them due to over reliance on systems and negative defensive play. The Ulster football championship as long as I can remember has been horrific dogged stuff to watch and all the teams up there now seem to play a similar dogged style of play.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 16/04/2017 11:31:51

Stop the Hand Slap Goal - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Donegal_D:  "Just wondering what everyone thinks about the rule which allows a player to slap the ball into the net in Football. I think this is a terrible way to award a goal. It looks crap and requires no skill but the reward is a maximum 3 points."
Complete nonsense. Paul Mannions overhead hand slap goal against Kerry a few years ago is one the great goals. If a team works the ball into the position that the ball can be palmed into the net then they deserve a goal.Why should the team who put all the work to gte the ball into that position be punished by having to slow up and kick the ball into the net thereby giving the defence more of a chance. The GAA seems to be the only sport where apparently is some aspect of it doesn't "look good" then that thing should be stopped.A five yard pass in soccer doesn't really look good either it's just a basic basic skill should it be got rid of.I'm all for changing rules to improve the game but a rule change should actually provide a benefit or fix and issue (like the mark has done) and not be brought in because something doesn't look good, particularly in this instance when palming a ball into the net looks fine. Not every single part of the sport has to look really skilful and that applies to every sport in the world.

uibhfhaili1986 (National) - 18/07/2017 08:09:41