Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Ah mousey are you naive enough to believe that it is my posts rather than the shape the team is in, that in your words nobody wants the job. Let's face it your buddy Banty has left it in that shape with 3 years and NO development of young players. If you did your research you would find that I not only criticised Banty during his failed tenure but stated 3 years ago that he should never have got the job. What likely sticks in your throat, is that I was 100% right. 3 years down the line and we start against Derry with ONE player who didn't play under Malachy O'Rourke. Now even in your little world that cannot be considered progress. And just to set you straight I know of one very fine manager that wants the job. Whether he gets it or not is up to the powers that be."
Quit that ole, "I know".
If you know, name them!

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 09/08/2022 19:13:39    2436872

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Ah mousey are you naive enough to believe that it is my posts rather than the shape the team is in, that in your words nobody wants the job. Let's face it your buddy Banty has left it in that shape with 3 years and NO development of young players. If you did your research you would find that I not only criticised Banty during his failed tenure but stated 3 years ago that he should never have got the job. What likely sticks in your throat, is that I was 100% right. 3 years down the line and we start against Derry with ONE player who didn't play under Malachy O'Rourke. Now even in your little world that cannot be considered progress. And just to set you straight I know of one very fine manager that wants the job. Whether he gets it or not is up to the powers that be."
Players that have been brought onto the PANEL over 3 years. Might be incorrect on same names

Gary Mohan
Sean Jones
Aaron Mulligan
Stephen O Hanlon
Karl McMenamin
Killian Lavelle
Ryan Farrelly
Andrew Woods
Shane Woods
Barry McBennet
Karl Gallagher
Shane Hanraty
Fergal Hanraty
Joe Kirk
Ronan Grimes
Michael McCarville
Conor Leonard
Jason Irwin
Darragh Mc Elarney
Philip Donnelly
Colm Lennon
Michael P O Dowd

Your expectations over the past 3 years was to develop young players and win an all ireland at the same time. If any manager could do that while dealing with covid well fair play to them. As much as I hate to say it, sometimes we have to look around and be grateful for the happy days we have experienced. We are one of the smallest counties population and club wise and we are playing with the big guns every year.

To me, watching monaghan play against the dubs, kerry, tyrone, Mayo and beating them the odd occasion is an achievement for our wee county. Getting to an ulster final last year was an achievement for me. Staying up in division 1 while introducing some of the names above is an achievement to me.

My expectations will obviously differ to yours Seamus, but mine are realistic. Monaghan are not going to win an all ireland any time soon, but if you belive that Bantys term as manager was a failure because he couldn't win one that's on you and your expectations.

At the end of the day, GAA is a hobby so there is absolutely no need for you to bring your personal opinion of banty into it.

Also If you know of one very fine manager who wants the job, name him because if you believe he is able to fulfil the same expectations that you had for Banty we as supporters should encourage the county board to ratify him because it would be a dead cert that he will be bring Sam Maguire to Monaghan.

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 10/08/2022 12:41:27    2436948

Replying To MonaghanBoi:  "Players that have been brought onto the PANEL over 3 years. Might be incorrect on same names

Gary Mohan
Sean Jones
Aaron Mulligan
Stephen O Hanlon
Karl McMenamin
Killian Lavelle
Ryan Farrelly
Andrew Woods
Shane Woods
Barry McBennet
Karl Gallagher
Shane Hanraty
Fergal Hanraty
Joe Kirk
Ronan Grimes
Michael McCarville
Conor Leonard
Jason Irwin
Darragh Mc Elarney
Philip Donnelly
Colm Lennon
Michael P O Dowd

Your expectations over the past 3 years was to develop young players and win an all ireland at the same time. If any manager could do that while dealing with covid well fair play to them. As much as I hate to say it, sometimes we have to look around and be grateful for the happy days we have experienced. We are one of the smallest counties population and club wise and we are playing with the big guns every year.

To me, watching monaghan play against the dubs, kerry, tyrone, Mayo and beating them the odd occasion is an achievement for our wee county. Getting to an ulster final last year was an achievement for me. Staying up in division 1 while introducing some of the names above is an achievement to me.

My expectations will obviously differ to yours Seamus, but mine are realistic. Monaghan are not going to win an all ireland any time soon, but if you belive that Bantys term as manager was a failure because he couldn't win one that's on you and your expectations.

At the end of the day, GAA is a hobby so there is absolutely no need for you to bring your personal opinion of banty into it.

Also If you know of one very fine manager who wants the job, name him because if you believe he is able to fulfil the same expectations that you had for Banty we as supporters should encourage the county board to ratify him because it would be a dead cert that he will be bring Sam Maguire to Monaghan."
Have to agree but just some of the decisions along the line are questionable no sub keeper flogging lads (again)in mckenna cup taking decisions out of other coaches along the line

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 10/08/2022 12:49:46    2436949

I would not have picked Banty as the manager 3 years ago. I thought it was a backward step. But I was still hoping he would do well. I want to see Monaghan do well no matter who is over them. Year one due to Covid was a write off. But in year 2 I was impressed with how we were going. The match against Armagh in Newry was one of the best matches that I have been at in a long time. Young players like Mulligan, Lavelle, O'Hanlon and Bannigan were all given a chance and they were refreshing. We should have won the Ulster final considering who Tyrone were missing. I think that is as much as we could have expected though.
Roll on 12 months and we went backwards. Some of the young players got injured (leonard) and others walked away for whatever reasons. Out of that list above of 22 players only 4 featured against Mayo in Castlebar this year. Only one started. We had no tactics. We only started to make a go of it once we were too far behind. A frustrating end.
The Co. board need to get a replacement in quickly. The Club championship has one round down and this is the best place to assess new players for next year. If they leave it much longer then the start of the new era will just be more of the same I think.

Tim_NicebutDim (Monaghan) - Posts: 347 - 10/08/2022 16:11:31    2436980

Replying To Tim_NicebutDim:  "I would not have picked Banty as the manager 3 years ago. I thought it was a backward step. But I was still hoping he would do well. I want to see Monaghan do well no matter who is over them. Year one due to Covid was a write off. But in year 2 I was impressed with how we were going. The match against Armagh in Newry was one of the best matches that I have been at in a long time. Young players like Mulligan, Lavelle, O'Hanlon and Bannigan were all given a chance and they were refreshing. We should have won the Ulster final considering who Tyrone were missing. I think that is as much as we could have expected though.
Roll on 12 months and we went backwards. Some of the young players got injured (leonard) and others walked away for whatever reasons. Out of that list above of 22 players only 4 featured against Mayo in Castlebar this year. Only one started. We had no tactics. We only started to make a go of it once we were too far behind. A frustrating end.
The Co. board need to get a replacement in quickly. The Club championship has one round down and this is the best place to assess new players for next year. If they leave it much longer then the start of the new era will just be more of the same I think."
Good post. Banty 2.0 was a strange one as I thought he was onto something in year 2 even in the matches we lost there was a youth and vigour about things along with a pace we hadn't seen in a few years but year 3 all seemed to go back to 2019 levels of Conservative in your shell football with the young lads of 21 either gone or cast aside and reverting to the tried and trusted tired old formula. If the new man coming in can tap back into what was building in 21 and forget last year could be onto something. Will take a few brave calls starting likes of Jones Mulligan Woods in every game benching the more experienced servants etc. Could be a rocky road for a year or two but be worth it in the long run.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 10/08/2022 16:26:24    2436983

Replying To MonaghanBoi:  "Players that have been brought onto the PANEL over 3 years. Might be incorrect on same names

Gary Mohan
Sean Jones
Aaron Mulligan
Stephen O Hanlon
Karl McMenamin
Killian Lavelle
Ryan Farrelly
Andrew Woods
Shane Woods
Barry McBennet
Karl Gallagher
Shane Hanraty
Fergal Hanraty
Joe Kirk
Ronan Grimes
Michael McCarville
Conor Leonard
Jason Irwin
Darragh Mc Elarney
Philip Donnelly
Colm Lennon
Michael P O Dowd

Also If you know of one very fine manager who wants the job, name him because if you believe he is able to fulfil the same expectations that you had for Banty we as supporters should encourage the county board to ratify him because it would be a dead cert that he will be bring Sam Maguire to Monaghan."
I've been saying this.There's actually a lot more new players that were on the panel over the last few years! There's 3 players max on that list that were worthy of a starting place over the last couple years, in my opinion. People wanted Banty to just pull players out of thin air. Even if Banty started 5 of these lads and lost the Ulster Final, the same people would be giving out about him on this forum regardless.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 10/08/2022 17:51:09    2437000

Been told Counihan has sat interview earlier in the week, seemingly a very positive meeting with county board and manager elect all agreeing with each other on the road forward.

Unfortunately, players aren't as happy. Reports of player power, egos, chest out, resignations if they don't get their way etc etc. What's worse is it's the "very" senior players who are making the noise, in other words the players who won't even be in Counihan's plans….
Do we get the drift yet?
Turkeys voting for Christmas.

Hope county board are strong enough to do wat Banty didn't and start to move this panel in the right direction.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 10/08/2022 18:03:54    2437002

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Been told Counihan has sat interview earlier in the week, seemingly a very positive meeting with county board and manager elect all agreeing with each other on the road forward.

Unfortunately, players aren't as happy. Reports of player power, egos, chest out, resignations if they don't get their way etc etc. What's worse is it's the "very" senior players who are making the noise, in other words the players who won't even be in Counihan's plans….
Do we get the drift yet?
Turkeys voting for Christmas.

Hope county board are strong enough to do wat Banty didn't and start to move this panel in the right direction."
Also heard this. Couni rang players on squad last week. The young and youthful like the idea of hin being manager. And as u said its the older lads with the big egos that arnt happy for some strange reason. Maybe they realise if a young manager comes in he will want to freshen the squad up and a few may get the chop. The main name that wanted rid of Banty now the main name not wanting couni.

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 11/08/2022 10:23:36    2437034

Heard on the radio Mark Counihan has been appointed the new Monaghan manager, brilliant news.
Excited to see how he puts his stamp on this team. Hopefully some long term thinking and development is going to be his process, god knows we need it..

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 12/08/2022 14:46:45    2437178

I can't help feeling that counihan is the "euro saver menu" option..I hope He does well but I feel this won't end well.. 1 thing managing 16/17 year olds and it's most certainly another thing going straight into a intercounty set-up dealing with 6/7 egos in that current Monaghan dressing room especially where a culling match is required on some of them.. have seen a fair few clubs matches across the board this year and quality is pretty limited…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 14/08/2022 21:28:26    2437431

Replying To mick2007:  "I can't help feeling that counihan is the "euro saver menu" option..I hope He does well but I feel this won't end well.. 1 thing managing 16/17 year olds and it's most certainly another thing going straight into a intercounty set-up dealing with 6/7 egos in that current Monaghan dressing room especially where a culling match is required on some of them.. have seen a fair few clubs matches across the board this year and quality is pretty limited…"
I don't think things will end well regardless of who gets the job. Facts are this team is on a downward trajectory. The job is to maintain competitiveness and build a new team over the next 3-4 years. We will see 6-7 senior players exit in the next 2 years, so we need to find about 10 new players all and all, no easy task in a co our size.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 15/08/2022 19:07:06    2437563

Replying To mick2007:  "I can't help feeling that counihan is the "euro saver menu" option..I hope He does well but I feel this won't end well.. 1 thing managing 16/17 year olds and it's most certainly another thing going straight into a intercounty set-up dealing with 6/7 egos in that current Monaghan dressing room especially where a culling match is required on some of them.. have seen a fair few clubs matches across the board this year and quality is pretty limited…"
I don't think so. Counihan had those minors four years. The first batch should be of age to break into the senior panel. Those lads will know and respect counihan since he made winners of them. I don't read into the egos thing either. Monaghan have had the most honest hard working team in Ireland the last decade. I doubt the character of the team has changed now

Dcgael (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 15/08/2022 20:25:23    2437574

Gary Mohan
Sean Jones
Aaron Mulligan
Stephen O Hanlon
Karl McMenamin
Killian Lavelle
Ryan Farrelly
Andrew Woods
Shane Woods
Barry McBennet
Karl Gallagher
Shane Hanraty
Fergal Hanraty
Joe Kirk
Ronan Grimes
Michael McCarville
Conor Leonard
Jason Irwin
Darragh Mc Elarney
Philip Donnelly
Colm Lennon
Michael P O Dowd

Either you don't read or CAN'T read. When did I ever mention winning All Ireland titles. Our only chance in my memory of snow All Ireland success was in 1985. The best Monaghan team I have seen. What the last 3 years should have been about was rebuilding. You can rant out all the names you want but the only one to start in our last Ulster Championship match v Derry was Gary Mohan. All other starters played under Malachy. Young players only learn their trade by playing big games. The writing was on the wall in Banty,s first Championship game v Cavan. His removal early of our 3 best forwards on the day and decision to defend a lead cost us a probable Ulster Championship. His tactics a year later cost us another v Tyrone. You can defend him blindly all you want but the results are in and Banty was as I predicted 3 year ago a disastrous appointment for Monaghan football. The man is a loser, not only in Monaghan but also in Meath and in Wexford. He talked the talk but didn't walk the walk.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 16/08/2022 16:41:20    2437700

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Heard on the radio Mark Counihan has been appointed the new Monaghan manager, brilliant news.
Excited to see how he puts his stamp on this team. Hopefully some long term thinking and development is going to be his process, god knows we need it.."
I've been since corrected, no decision has been made yet. Anyone else hear it announced on northern sound?

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 16/08/2022 16:41:52    2437701

All very quite on the selection of the new manager..

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 17/08/2022 09:22:19    2437746

Replying To stoneygrey:  "All very quite on the selection of the new manager.."
Maybe someone from the quiet background will come out that no one expects.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 18/08/2022 16:33:39    2437931

Hard to know how to read the situation. If Counihan was getting it you'd imagine be at least some white smoke. I'd hazard a guess he is not the pick they want to go with but might be only one available at this point while they sound out others. Its not a great situation for him to be in given how dedicated a servant he has been to football in the county. Wouldn't be that suprised if it ends up going to some ex player from the malachy era or a big tyrone armagh name to appease the players.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 18/08/2022 19:17:51    2437956

Replying To seanie08:  "Hard to know how to read the situation. If Counihan was getting it you'd imagine be at least some white smoke. I'd hazard a guess he is not the pick they want to go with but might be only one available at this point while they sound out others. Its not a great situation for him to be in given how dedicated a servant he has been to football in the county. Wouldn't be that suprised if it ends up going to some ex player from the malachy era or a big tyrone armagh name to appease the players."
yea its very quiet. If I was a potential manager interviewed nearly 2 weeks ago, id give them an ultimatum and start as I mean to go on or else bow out on my terms

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 179 - 19/08/2022 13:12:41    2438019

I'm hearing Jason sherlock is the front runner now after the players revolted on Counihans appointment. Interesting.

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 19/08/2022 13:13:36    2438020

Replying To 222:  "I'm hearing Jason sherlock is the front runner now after the players revolted on Counihans appointment. Interesting."
MC will be announced as the new manager shortly.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 19/08/2022 13:50:49    2438030