Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from achara

Mayo V Meath - 17 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nearly all of them players with the exception of the full back line are panel players at best. Starting line up didn't include Colgan Keoghan, Mcentee Devine/mcentee Harnan Jones McMahon Walsh Newman Morris O'Sullivan All of who will play v (if fit ) v Kildare. We didn't field 11/12 first team starters. So honestly don't know how you can come up with they this that or other, today was a televised challenge match. And I'd be more worried about mayos ambition of all ire title (we have none) but they didn't show that much against a Meath b or c team that would've instilled confidence in me if I were a supporter that they anywhere near the standards of Dublin or Kerry. I think when we field our strongest team v Kildare we will win with a few points to spare. It may be close but Andy did the right thing in not risking the good players in a meaningless game."
Surely they'll easily take leinster with that sort of squad RD? Some squad!

achara (National) - 31/05/2021 05:14:41

Stay Safe. - 9 Like(s)

Replying To dingle2:  "On my e-mail today. Weekly report from National Disease Centre Ireland. In this Influenza Season (20019 -2020) from November 2019 until now there have been 101 deaths from Seasonal Flu and over 600 ICU admissions. Not wanting to belittle the possible threat to some vulnerable people of Covid-19, and to agree that it is a new and novel threat, I am confident that it will pass and cause no major added devistation other than any other flu virus epidemic that passes through our shores. Yes we should all practice good respiratory and hand hygiene etiquette but the country should not be locked down. This is an appalling over reaction and is driven by public demand throughout Europe and the World rather than on scientific facts. Essentially it's mob rule and the lunatics running the asylum. We needed good leadership on this but we let Social Media rule and now the whole world will suffer a dire consequence. not in terms of Corona Virus deaths but in terms of public confidence. Hundreds of thousands of people around the globe will be left destitute and without employment because of global over-reaction. Children and families will go without basic food and medicines. Homelessness in developed countries will increase with more deaths on our streets from hypothermia and malnutrition. But these will not be mentioned in the media as they did not have the Corona-19 virus and in a sense will be regarded as deaths of a lesser value!! Viruses have been coming and going since the birth of time. Covid-19 is no different. Our response in 2020 however is unprecedented. We should grow up and be rational. Take the best measures (as we always should) to protect ourselves and our neighbours. But we should not panic and over re-act and drive the whole world into an apoplectic frenzy. Regrettably it seems the more we know the less we can cope. Sláinte, Dr. P."
On my e-mail today, a Nigerian prince wants to give me 2 million quid.

achara (National) - 15/03/2020 09:49:23

Likely Football Allstars 2019... - 9 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "You see that is only half the story. Meath ahead of donegal with 55 mins on clock. Ahead of mayo with 55 min on clock Ahead of Kerry 55 mins on clock. Lost to donegal in league very unlucky, topped division 2 table, beat all other teams in division 2. Roscommon relegated from top flight Meath promoted. Also kept Dublin to 5 points in 35 minutes. Mostly due to menton keoghan who kept a all star player scoreless and had to be subbed, and McGill also may I add lavin to that to. Most teams in ire would kill for McGill lavin menton and particularly keoghan in their team."
Meath were so unlucky not to win the all ireland this year, it was sheer bad luck they lost 4 games i really think they'll go all the way next year

achara (National) - 29/09/2019 09:12:07

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 7 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Where is the personal attack? You told the poster you have knowledge of how this works based on working behind a bar at events. That's literally what you said? Look at my earlier statements and now look at the latest GAA statement. But yeah you know as much for sure. You clearly know little of the GAA finances and this huge PR gaffe. Sorry but that's the truth."
Argues with everyone for the sake of it and then pulls out the bullying card, you're something else ormo!

achara (National) - 29/04/2020 21:28:40

Clifford's Red Card - 6 Like(s)

Replying To sligo joe:  "Kieran Donaghy suggesting David Clifford needs to learn how to deal with provocation following his recent dismissal. The available video shows little if any provocation, though in fairness the forcefulness of Clifford's transgression is also unclear. However while there is no doubt he is the target of regular off the ball fouling, Clifford has often been the instigator of foul play himself, just as Donaghy did in his day, live by the sword, die by the sword."
How is this ***** let through

achara (National) - 02/09/2020 22:46:42

Sean Boylan Vs Jim Gavin - Who Is The Greatest? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah sure it's easy stay calm when you know you'll have all your big games at home and you have your team drilled to the last to deal with every scenario, Jim knew the hometown reffs will give his team the benifit of the doubt. Jim could stay calm knowing his rivals were likely to lose once in a generation players to Oz, Gavin never had to worry about trying to fundraise like Jim McGuinness and others had to for their teams. Gavin also had massive backroom team support so it was easy for him to remain calm, they had the massive funds to have experts to support the team in every way possible."
'and you have your team drilled to the last to deal with every scenario' Fair play to ya for admitting it no other manager had their team as well drilled as he had

achara (National) - 23/05/2020 13:02:31

Performance Of The Decade! - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Curlew66:  "Much too early to say yet, great wins in '06 and '12 as well but the outcome of the resulting deciders took a little of the gloss from both victories. (similar to Donegal in 2014 semi final, their finest performance under JMcG) If as I hope Mayo close the deal in next month's final the significance of this semi final win over Dublin will magnify a thousandfold in the momentum and confidence it will have given Mayo. An All Ireland win irrespective of the performance would go down as Mayo's greatest day in 70 years and what a popular victory that would be throughout the country and beyond. Dublin's wonderful successful run apart, no other team has given the same entertainment in the past decade as those warriors in the Green and Red. Having witnessed the raw passion and final day disappointments of their huge loyal following over the years very few would begrudge them the privilege of bringing Sam to Castlebar."
Would love to see them win it especially lee keegan, 1 of my favourite players to watch in the last 10 years!

achara (National) - 21/08/2021 11:19:59

Football Max Passes Limit - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Why this need to micro manage things in the game to such minute detail. Never mind giving something else for already overworked refs to try keep an eye on. How do you honestly police this one? Fix the problem, not the end result. It's on the team without the ball to get it back if they're down by 3 or 4..."
Exactly, teams can go get the ball instead of having 14 players in their own half and 1 man chasing the balls. Can we not just leave the rules alone? Teams/ managers will figure it out.

achara (National) - 24/05/2021 11:17:16

County you least want to see win in football? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Again, as I posted to Alan the wonderful, Alan the amazing, Alan the GAA-man, I never claimed to be a GAA-man. I'm a Dublin fan in the football and my commitment to that as someone who goes to every single football game from the start, to end of their year, year on year, cant be questioned. But I don't have as much interest in the final once we go out. Probably a jealousy thing."
Do you play/support a club?! Your opinion on anything not regarding dublin surely can't be taken seriously then!

achara (National) - 28/07/2016 11:23:58

Mayo V Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Aye lad, I would be more worried about the repeat of the training session of a final if you boys meet them again. Last year was a joke to be honest. Dublin at half pace in an All Ireland."
Tyrone the least likely to beat the dubs out of the teams that are left, baffles me how people think they have a chance

achara (National) - 06/08/2019 17:47:37

Likely Football Allstars 2019... - 5 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "We got Tyrone last year and they came out of navan with the most undeserving 1 point win after extra time. Don't know how you can come up with that conclusion. Also don't underestimate Clare. They ain't a bad side and those words could come back to haunt you in league. I think we are better than both Monaghan and Galway, the year Galway went up we beat them ."
If a team gets an undeserving win do they still go through or whats the craic there? Thats 2 all irelands in a row meath should have only for bad luck

achara (National) - 01/10/2019 05:28:02

All Stars 2019 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "what are you smoking? Meath had a poor year. Embarrassed by everyone in the super 8s."
Meath fans are the Most dilusional fans in the country

achara (National) - 02/11/2019 05:22:25

Straight Knockout In SFC, Advantage Who? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nah Meath will beat Donegal in the semi."
Are the games going down to 60 mins or something?;)

achara (National) - 27/06/2020 12:18:31

Irish History/GAA/General Knowledge - 4 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "Have you had a personality transplant since you lost your password ?"
It's a pity you wouldn't try 1 :)

achara (National) - 14/05/2020 22:40:19

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Totally agree, McStay gushing over the dubs is so cringey, at one stage rock had a 21 meter free in front of the goals and you'd sware it was a 60 meter kick to win an allireland."
He's looking at the greatest team to ever play the game, do you want him to be bitter and hateful to him like kerrymen are? And on the free, he was talking about his freetaking in general not that particular free

achara (National) - 11/08/2019 13:40:45

Mcstay Is Back!!! - 4 Like(s)
He wanted dublin to get a free for absolutely everything and give kerry nothing!

achara (National) - 09/02/2019 21:30:46

Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All - 4 Like(s)
What is dick clerkin talkin about? Thats the exact sort of tackle the black card was took in for! '50/50' lol

achara (National) - 03/08/2019 18:15:44

GAA on TV - 4 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "It's pretty widely known that was a big part of why Brolly parted ways and wouldn't agree to the terms RTE were imposing. If I worked for RTE as a scriptwriter I'd hardly be knocking the idea now would I. It's not a scriptwriter in the traditional sense it's more a discussion and agreement on a framework and what can and cannot be discussed as I understand it I'm not talking about letting someone do any of the daft stuff that another poster somehow came up with but purely being able to take a discussion in a different direction if it's warranted and not what we generally get now which is pretty bland and colourless. As I mentioned previously, it's a bit hypocritical of some who want managers to speak their mind while giving out when someone goes on a bit of a rant."
How do you know what's allowed and what's not?and if that is the case anyway i can't blame them, brolly had his own agendas and personally attacked people which often took a lot of time away from the game that was being played and analysed!

achara (National) - 26/08/2020 21:16:44

Kerry V Donegal - 4 Like(s)

Replying To westkerry:  "2 referees are now needed in the GAA like Aussie rules. You can't expect a ref to see everything but the fouling off the ball yesterday was scandalous as highlighted on the SG. The game was an excellent game, Murphy and Mchugh, OBrien, Geaney all excellent. Paddy Neilan had a poor game and the penalty was dubious to say the least."
The only dubious thing about it was how he didn't get a card

achara (National) - 22/07/2019 10:45:00

Monaghan GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Fontofwisdom:  "How are they not underachievers. I didn't say they should be winning the all-ireland but they haven't won Ulster in 10 years. Bar praise for their resilience, they've little to show for a decade of great players. You're patronising them, pushing the 'they're great to have stuck at it so long' line."
Either you can't count or you haven't a clue about football, my guess would be both

achara (National) - 15/07/2023 21:09:06