Kildare Forum

Popular Posts from Sweetspot

Meath V Dublin - 12 Like(s)

Replying To meath1977:  "worry about west meath"
If you're putting a thread into the national forum, you're opening it to the opinions and views of people from every county. I am worried about Westmeath as I know how dire Kildare can be. Regarding Meath, I've seen nothing to suggest they can get within 15 points of Dublin. I might be proven wrong, brilliant if so, as we are at least 5 point lad better than Meath at the minute.

Sweetspot (National) - 05/07/2021 16:12:04

Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022 - 11 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "You should concern yourself with the fact the only game you won outside newbridge was one where the better team over the game (Westmeath) lost. I will enjoy the Leinster final. And believe it or not I wish you all the luck in the world. Cause you gonna need it."
Look my friend, you're about as blindly spiteful towards Kildare as I am Meath (I love winding ye up but mean no harm by it), but even through all your ignorance, you cannot tell me Westmeath were the better team in the day last Sunday. Come on… last year, fair enough. This year, the game was over after 10 mins

Sweetspot (National) - 19/05/2022 14:07:41

Meath V Dublin - 10 Like(s)

Replying To brian:  "What was the score the last time we played Kildare in Croke Park pal You honestly reckon you're 5 points better than Meath, once lock down is over take up stand up would you if you can say that with a straight face... I'd give Dublin a 20 point handicap against Kildare and expect them to beat it."
Kildare lost that game rather than Meath winning it, we were 6 up at half time having kicked many points away. Read how I said we can be dire^ Hopefully Kildare get over Westmeath and we can both have a crack at Dublin to see where we're at comparatively

Sweetspot (National) - 05/07/2021 16:23:30

Meath V Dublin - 10 Like(s)

Replying To meath1977:  "if Dublin beats meath by 15+ then they will also beat west meath and kildare ... meath west meath and kildare can beat each other any given day if you think kildare are way ahead of meath and west meath your foolish"
At no point did I suggest Kildare or a Westmeath would win Leinster. Dublin are 1/50 to win this game. Meath are 16/1. I don't think my comments are too outlandish. Kildare are currently coming into a period where we'll hopefully capitalise on the relatively high levels of underage success we had in the 2010's, Meath have promise but probably need more transition time. That's my view, might be wrong.

Sweetspot (National) - 05/07/2021 16:57:38

Dublin Senior Football Team - 10 Like(s)

Replying To Irishcelt:  "If you really believe it was a small kick about then your delusional"
Depends how you define small. A group of about 10 people I'd say is small. They probably ran drills.. I'd define it as a kick around. If you live in an estate, tell me there's not kids on the green doing the same almost every day. Stop choosing which rule breaks annoy you and blowing up the severity of the actions because it's the Dubs.

Sweetspot (National) - 04/04/2021 15:01:17

Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022 - 10 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "We will see how Ryan does."
Has already beaten more big teams in half a season than McEntee did in 6. Honestly can't take you seriously having seen you, in absolute seriousness, say Meath had a 50/50 chance of winning Leinster this year. When was it… last week?

Sweetspot (National) - 18/05/2022 13:20:06

Meath V Dublin - 9 Like(s)

Replying To brian:  "Meath didn't win that game.... you're truly embarrassing yourself now No pal you lost, Meath scored 5 second half goals and ripped Kildare an absolute new ass. The game is played over 70 minutes not 35... imagine Meath gave you a 6 point lead that day and still won by 9. Your choice of words is absolutely abysmal."
Choice of words *are* absolutely abysmal :)

Sweetspot (National) - 05/07/2021 18:14:37

Meath V Dublin - 9 Like(s)
Say what ye will about Meath.. Kildare.. Dublin.. whatever county as a whole, we're all passionate, but it's a laugh and a discussion at the end of the day. There is absolutely no need to come for someone, be they player or poster personally and especially not their families. I'll wind up the Meath lads about football and they'll wind me up and it'll probably be that way til I'm dead. I'll love when beat them and be raging when we lose, but at the end of the day, we're all a part of the gaa family. Some of the posters here are losing sight of that.

Sweetspot (National) - 06/07/2021 22:42:06

NFL Div 2 - 8 Like(s)

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Yes, I know for a fact; hence you and your giddy lilly muppets looking very stupid. There is no *if* you're dying to throw out over and over, clearly another fan who doesn't know anyone involved. Crack on"
Nobody is dying to throw out the term "if"… I think everyone just mutually hopes it didn't happen, agrees it's a vile, disgusting act if it did and wants to keep the possibility that it didn't happen open, until it's proven otherwise. Nobody has had anything but heresay so far, so if you know it for a fact, we'd love to know the information you have that nobody else does. It is possible that you knowing "for a fact" stems from the fact you're passionate about your clubman/countymen and don't want to believe the scrap kicked off out of frustration having been dominated for 60 minutes. It's also possible that Andy jumped to the same conclusion and attached himself to the first excuse to mind. If you've evidence for the spit, I'm very sorry. It's vile and I apologise for calling to dispute the words of Andy. But if your evidence is "such and such said so.." then I'm sorry, but no.

Sweetspot (National) - 16/06/2021 19:15:12

Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022 - 8 Like(s)

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Ennis holds less than 20K and the atmosphere was brilliant for Clare-Limerick at the weekend. The reason, because it was full of course. Of course the one-sided nature of the game didn't help. I've heard some whinging from a former Meath player about it not being a fair fight. The same arguments we've had for a decade. Last Sunday said far more about Meath than it did about Dublin."
McEntee is doing well he just needs time

Sweetspot (National) - 18/05/2022 10:48:29

Meath V Dublin - 8 Like(s)

Replying To brian:  "What do you mean by relatively high levels of underage success we had in the 2010's An all ireland U20 and that's it... what other titles have you won... 2 Leinster U20's and 4 minors and no all irelands... You really don't help yourself."
Well I meant it was relatively high compared to our usual underage returns, but I'm glad you've brought this up because it's also relatively high compared to Meaths underage success over the same period. I'll take our 1 u20 all Ireland over your 0 at any age.

Sweetspot (National) - 05/07/2021 19:28:19

Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022 - 8 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "And you lot should be worried about Dublin more than ur obsession with Meath."
A lion does not concern himself with the opinion of a sheep

Sweetspot (National) - 19/05/2022 12:28:16

Meath V Kildare - 7 Like(s)

Replying To lambofgod:  "Battle of two second rate division 2 teams to see who will have the pleasure of being destroyed by Dublin again. Yawn!!"
If that's your sole contribution you really have no place commenting here.

Sweetspot (National) - 09/11/2020 16:13:08

Meath V Dublin - 7 Like(s)
Dublin by 15+

Sweetspot (National) - 05/07/2021 15:17:30

NFL Div 2 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To seadog54:  "Kildare should fear Div one, seem to have gradually improved sense semi final last year. Just need to convert more of your chances. Should have won this one pulling up."
We did win pulling up…

Sweetspot (National) - 13/06/2021 17:30:46

NFL Division 2 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Something similar in Meath Colgan gk Lavin ,Gallagher backs Harnan hb Mcentee mf Walsh Newman campion Devine forwards. Throw in Ryan as well So I can see where you coming from. I feel ur pain."
And in just one short year, this thread will be the perfect place for Meath posts too ;)

Sweetspot (National) - 31/01/2020 20:11:00

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 6 Like(s)
How do you delete a thread?

Sweetspot (National) - 30/06/2018 20:46:38

Dublin Senior Football Team - 6 Like(s)
Irish Times: 05-04-2021: "Of the 232,164 cases of Covid-19 recorded in the State up to March 24th this year, 262 were as a result of outdoor transmission, representing 0.1 per cent of the total." 1/1000 cases reported in Ireland so far have been linked to outdoor transmission, of which fewer than 135 have been linked to sport. Now, by all means, continue calling those of us who recon there's nothing wrong with young lads around the country having non-contact kick arounds outdoors "murderers, covid-deniers, disrespectful to the frontline" etc.. but you might want to take a look at the suicide numbers around the country, or ask an unemployed young fella how his mental health is before you do. We're the dubs out of order? Yes, They're the standard bearers for the country. Is the severity of their actions being blown way out proportion? Absolutely.

Sweetspot (National) - 05/04/2021 21:05:18

Westmeath V Kildare - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Will be cheering on my adopted county in the appetiser before the main course. Looking forward to it"
Appetiser before the main course… it's the only competitive match on the card

Sweetspot (National) - 17/07/2021 15:14:11

Dublin Senior Football Team - 5 Like(s)

Replying To oso:  "No jimbo it's not just irresponsible, it was breaking the rules and it was conceited and calculated at 7am. As a frontline Doctor all through all of this I am sick of listening to self serving GAA "personalities" trying to influence things and call the shots. What the likes of Oisin McConville for instance says about this is irrelevant, its self serving and he is totally irrelevant on this matter. Dessie Farrell is in a position of responsibility, he has seen what has gone before and the suspensions handed down to Down and Cork. The Dublin County board will also have known about this, Dessie didn't organise this on his own. Everyone involved should resign, end off. Its inexcusable. If myself of any of my professional colleagues behaved in such a manner we'd be the subject of a severe professional conduct investigate and medical defence unions would be involved. Guys let's get a perspective on this, the GAA is an amateur organisation and these guys are trying to dress themselves up as 'elite' athletes and expect to be treated differently as a result. If they wanted to excel at a sport and be considered 'elite' then they should have chosen a professional sport, not one where the opportunities available to them and the potential they can reach are ultimately determined by the post code they were born in. None of these guys are 'elite' so let's treat them like every other grass roots GAA player. The very people pedalling this nonsense and trying to excuse it are the parasites of the GAA. Ex players still trying to be relevant and make some form of living in monetary gains off the back of their playing career. There is no excuse and anything other than resignation from all involved is an embarassment!!"
Ridiculous. It was a rule break that was bad because it was a group of all Ireland winning role models. Not because of the actions. The actions, in fact, were very unsubstantial, proven to be very safe and are being done by thousands of young people in parks and greens across Ireland every single day. They should be punished, but honestly, the internal punishment sits fine with me. It was an adequate response. The dubs know themselves their responsibility as role models. As for the "elite" athlete argument... I understand that a Premier League soccer player gets paid well enough for himself and his family not to have to go out into the community to work, shop or socialise, but if you're telling me, for one second, that a LOI soccer player can sustain a bubble on his playing wages, you're having me on.

Sweetspot (National) - 05/04/2021 11:11:27