Galway Forum

Popular Posts from togoutlads

Lee Keegan - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Mayo just hadn't got what it took to win and God knows they had enough chances, I can't remember now which year it was, so many lost finals they all blur together but Mayo might have been 3 or 4 points up might have been around the 60 min mark and Keegan is through just in the scoring zone and he drops his kick short into the keepers hands, you just kind of knew then that they were going to lose again, when he couldn't seal the deal and kill the game and he was their main driving force really then you could see the confidence start to seep out of them. Late Late interview and now we can look forward to enjoying his dulcid tones on the Sunday Game, subtitles available I hope. Imagine what we'd have had to endure on Rte if they had ever actually won the thing? Thank God for small mercies."
Lord above, Tir Chonaill, I'd hate to see you if you had something to be really bitter about!! Amateur players, like Lee Keegan and so many others, busting a gut for years for their clubs and counties in our amazing games don't deserve consistent trolling like this. Show a bit of maturity, think before you lash bile into the phone or keyboard. If you've nothing ever nice to say, then try not saying it, or find another outlet for yourself.

togoutlads (National) - 23/01/2023 11:08:28

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 8 Like(s)
Wow! The celebrations and that speech, timeless stuff!! Automatons. God help us, this professional, massively over funded machine is gradually smothering our beautiful amateur sport. Spread the damn euros around, GAA, or there's little point to what we're all slaving away at, at grass roots level around the country - and with substandard resources, as every Dublin club gets juiced to the hilt. We know the stats, we can read the accounts, we see the huge numbers on payroll. The disparity in our treatment across the country is shocking and it's past time it was fought. By the way, delighted for our young lads, the Galway U20s who stuck it to the money machine and beat the Dubs with football.

togoutlads (National) - 19/12/2020 19:09:36

Who Is Considered The Greatest Football Player Of All Time? - 6 Like(s)
Lads, I'll come back to Sean Purcell for ye, if you're discussing the actual greatest player to ever play the game. Karl Lacey, Mick Fitzsimons, Ciarán McDonald, what?? Yes, all great talents - some of them a little too mercurial - but not bona fide legends of the game. Not part of the pantheon of the greats! I'll put it this way, in 72 years of broadcasting by our State broadcaster's two premier GAA commentators, Micheal O'Hehir (broadcasting from 1938 to 1985) and Micheal O'Muircheartaigh (broadcasting from 1985-2010) BOTH of them are independently on the record as stating without hesitation that Sean Purcell was the greatest Gaelic footballer they'd ever seen play the game. O'Hehir and O'Muircheartaigh (a Kerry man, remember) studied and saw a lot of superb players come and go in 72 years' worth of top tier games but only one player stood out above all others for both of them - Sean Purcell 'The Master'. That and achieving the most votes of any player in the team of the century announced in 1984 and featuring in the millennium team is validation enough to see him being rightly considered the GOAT.

togoutlads (National) - 09/05/2023 17:13:35

Galway Football thread - 6 Like(s)
Our hurlers firmly answered those who questioned their character. Our footballers' character has been questioned too, I hope our lads give the most resounding or answers tomorrow. Up Galway!!!!

togoutlads (National) - 24/06/2023 20:31:38

Eoghan Mclaughlin's Hero Tackle - 6 Like(s)

Replying To club51:  "Can we please call this out for what it was.......an absolute hero, game saving, Roy of the rovers game saving tackle. He did what was needed , when it was needed and did so without injuring the Galway player. Yes he deserved the black card,...........but what he deserves more is high praise for taking one for the team and saving a game that we were leading since the 4th minute. Galway were in and Too often we have been critiqued by everyone, Nice lads but dont have the cutting edge to do whats necessary etc. Every player on that team owes him a gratitude for their connaught medal. And thank you from the supporters......keep it up."
Club51, you really are embarrassing yourself with this stuff. Yew tree is spot on, give it a rest like a good lad. Congrats to the genuine GAA people of Mayo. Ye were marginally the better team and just about deserved the spoils on the day but starting a new thread praising a match-saving, cynical tackle as heroic is just ridiculous. Be a partisan supporter if that makes you feel good but be somewhat gracious when you win, if you can at all. Yes, the sliding rugby tackle happened and Galway have to live with that but no need to put an ugly aspect of the game on a pedestal and draw even more attention to it.

togoutlads (Mayo) - 16/11/2020 19:57:35

Derry V Galway - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Vish:  "Well done Galway but let's be honest here , Derry are bang average , over rated and gas lighted by the like of brolly . Galway will now have to earn an All Ireland unlike the 98-01 finals where the opposition was either poor or way past their sell by date.."
Oh a Visheen! Why don't you go and get yourself a nice bageen of emeralds and sit on your bench in belmullet and take a little time off Hogan Stand? It'll do you the world of good. Ye have had a tremendous run with Mayo for years and enjoy it for all the good times it brought. Trying to belittle what Galway have achieved in the past and have done so far this year seems, well, a little bitter and a bit pathetic. You won't see Pericles or Yew Tree saying stuff like that. This year, in a match that both teams were known full well to be absolutely desperate to win, we came to ye in Castlebar and beat ye fair and square - no doubt in the result. We did the same in Pearse to a very good Roscommon team with a forward unit that's ahead of Mayo's. Granted Leitrim was not any real test in between. Armagh are a bona fide top tier outfit and on the rise, we took them too and in an epic - albeit error strewn at the end. Derry are Ulster champions, let's not forget that, and they shot the lights out against a very good and massively underrated Clare team, yet we held them to 6 points for 71 minutes yesterday- ahead of their injury time consolation goal. Granted, Kerry or Dublin will be expected to destroy us in the final and nobody will give us a snowballs of a chance but we don't care and we'll rock up there and just throw it all at them. Anything could happen and that's the beauty of this great game and of Championship. Gaillimh Abú.

togoutlads (National) - 10/07/2022 09:29:56

Kerry V Galway - 5 Like(s)

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Mcdaid was back in after his black before they got the 1-1 according to RK but yeah it certainly sounded like fortune favoured them all the same. Sounded like a really good game, gutted I missed it."
No, McDaid wasn't back in. Did 12 mins in sinbin. Really enjoyable game, this early in the year too. We left it after us!

togoutlads (Kerry) - 01/02/2020 21:50:41

Galway Football thread - 5 Like(s)
Great day out in Pearse today. Salthill is a different place when the sun is shining and a gale isn't blowing! Great performance from the lads. Power superb in goal today. I feel Gleeson had been improving but Power is more assured and you'd feel that confidence was felt by the backs defending against that Kerry forward line. Kelly excellent, Dylan McHugh excellent - his block a match saver, John Daly, Fitz, all worked like mad. The turnovers were superb at times, some of them cheered nearly like scores cos you could see the training ground dogged work paying off. Fair play to defensive coaches and the lads for that. Conroy and Maher did very well. Maher looks physically powerful enough for anyone, seriously strong. Cooke did well. Slows it a bit at times but he's building well. I think he'll be a massive addition in the championship. Tierney tremendous in the air and fast becoming a star man. His one handed fetch was pure class. Shane is just warming up. Damo's point having shrugged off a couple of Kerry defenders was powerhouse stuff. Heaney going well at cf. Off to Croker we go. Let's get up there and support these men, cast away the doubt, smash and grab the silverware. The blood is up!!

togoutlads (National) - 26/03/2023 18:32:55

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Both MB and Aran are established bottlers at this stage, aran have been bottling it for years in league and junior grade, MB have been bottling it for 4 or 5 years now at inter grade"
Well they're just mean spirited, unwarranted, unnecessary statements. Aran have done tremendously well over the years, particularly given their challenges and resources. M-B continue to do Trojan work at underage and adult levels. Both proud and highly competitive clubs.

togoutlads (National) - 04/10/2022 14:13:49

Support Our Footballers V Mayo - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "This is a massive game and Mayo will travel in huge numbers. It's time we as a county rally the troops and urge all Galway followers to travel. Fallen star and other lads here must have ideas how we can drum up more support in the coming week.."
Agreed, Belclare. Maybe we can have this discussion in the other Galway v. Mayo thread. Whatever people's views on our playing style or management or whatever, these things will change as they always do in all sports - nothing is forever in any code. Right now, we're still alive and kicking in the last 12 in the country. These are our lads in the Marroon & White, they're all working very hard for this and one second half no-show shouldn't stop us from supporting and roaring the lads on. Some Mayo lads I know can't understand where our support has gone from the late 90's, lets show them we're not gone away for good.

togoutlads (Galway) - 01/07/2019 12:20:00

Roscommon GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To The_analyser:  "Brigids back as the best in Connacht once again. Led from pillar to post and in truth never looked like losing. Might be disappointed about the goals conceded especially the one before half time but it was a solid defensive display and much the better attacking team. Both Stacks, Fallon, Frost, Nolan and Ben O'Carroll among the stand outs in a fine team performance. Pearses, Faithleachs, Castlerea and Brigids had now won 4 Connacht titles since 2021. Roscommon club football is very strong without a doubt."
Yeah, fully agreed that the Roscommon club scene is looking very strong in recent times, with the results to prove it, and that's a credit to all involved at grass roots across the county there. This is one Galway man (and there are many many more, trust me) who'd only love to see your representatives go all the way now and win an All Ireland for their parishes. There's really nothing sweeter in the game. More power to both Brigids and Kevins.

togoutlads (National) - 05/12/2023 09:34:18

Tremendous stuff from Galway. That first half blitz in particular was awesome. Delighted for a team and management that have gone about their business with real intent from day 1 of this season - and in some style too. Roll on the long evenings and the hard sod - no doubt about it, these boys are clicking!! Up Galway!

togoutlads (National) - 20/03/2022 19:37:33

Galway Football 2020 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Maroonedinlongford:  "Same few on now regurgitating the same bile and spew regarding Kevin Walshe I'm starting to think he might have given some of ye a good horsing on the pitch, if ye ever played, or even went to, or go to matches Talk of no injuries this year, LOL We were missing the entire spine of the team from last years championship when starting against Mayo Thank God Kevin is going ahead into 2020 Hopefully he will have support from all"
It's not bile and spew from most of us, it's people across a lot of the county saying 5 years is quite enough, thank you. I think Kevin will stay on but I really don't see any benefit in him doing so, either for Galway football or himself. He's had a fair shot at it. We need to move forward again. We're rudderless on the field with zero attacking plan - none. It was as clear as day from the sideline in Pearse in that rotten 2nd half against Roscommon and in our performance against Mayo in Limerick. If he is going to stay, then he'd better bring on a forwards coach that knows what he's doing. The current stuff we're playing may win an fbd match or two, and a league match or two, but is useless for championship. Something has to change.

togoutlads (Galway) - 16/08/2019 22:28:11

Galway Junior Footballers - 5 Like(s)
Fair play to the juniors. A breath of fresh air. Fantastic stuff. One point in the difference in 12 goals and 39 points - crazy stuff, I'd say you wouldn't even get that in hurling! Free flowing football like that is so rare now. Best of luck vs Kerry, the junior specialists. Give it a crack lads, you've already given us brilliant, attacking, 'have a cut at it' kind of football this year and thanks for that. Gaillimh Abu.

togoutlads (Galway) - 17/07/2019 21:25:25

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Clarenbridge and Craughwell drove football out if the area so these lads play with mostly Oranmore through no fault of their own.Lads ftom Carnmore and Turloughmore play with Claregalway although some do go to Corofin on the border,Daithi Burke being example and there is a family connection."
Speaking with lads heavily involved in underage in these clubs, it seems that neither Craughwell nor Clarinbridge have lads playing football with Oranmore-Maree. If there are any, it's a handful in total, across a huge number of underage squads. Oranmore-Maree is parish-only now. Craughwell formed Gael na Gaillimhe as a juvenile football team for their parish, when their hurling fraternity blocked football in Craughwell club, while Clarinbridge have effectively prohibited all underage players from playing Gaelic football at Oranmore-Maree or anywhere else for that matter. I was told on authority that this is the case as young as U10! It seems crazy that young lads and ladies would be prevented from participating in a sport they'd like to play, when there are so many other negative distractions for our young people today. Hurling can be a bit like that! Imagine the uproar if it were the other way around!

togoutlads (National) - 22/09/2023 11:47:20

Mayo 2020 - 4 Like(s)
Delighted for Parsons yesterday - a gentleman and great sportsman. And for us, great to see Paul Conroy back in action and Damien Comer finally getting back to some fitness after injury. Penalties are a very strange finish in our game- don't think I'll ever get used to it. That said, what a great afternoon's football both sets of lads gave us. Fionntan's injury isn't serious, by all accounts. Roll on the spring and the summer and the next chapters in El Classico! Meet ye again soon lads.

togoutlads (Mayo) - 13/01/2020 17:17:38

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)
Beating the rebels, scoring 3-22 in Páirc Uí Chaoimh was a nice evening's work. Lots to work on and obviously a lot of room for improvement in defence, kickout strategy and reducing high risk solo runs that are leading to silly turnovers. It's the time of year to be learning though and these lads are learning. Great to see goals going in but we're still leaving at least as many more behind. Hoping we can become more clinical here. Shane Walsh was just immense. 2-7, 1-3 from play, made and buried the penalty, 3 points in a row after he goaled. He's gonna be targeted, as he was last year, so needs protection (against pink booted, pony tailed cage fighters and the like!!). Mighty stuff so far lads and great momentum building. Up Galway!

togoutlads (National) - 27/02/2022 20:39:28

Leitrim GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Leitrim had a very nice u20 side there and without 2 of your best players. Nothing really in it save for the last 10-15 minutes. The scoreline flattered us. Hope ye keep those lads together, could be the makings of some great seniors down the road if ye keep working with them.

togoutlads (National) - 05/04/2023 19:34:58

Connacht Final 2021 - 4 Like(s)
Cold light of day. Mayo outscored us 2-8 to 0-3 in the second half. 3 pathetic points in a 43 minute second half into an empty Hill, which is about as nice a target as a forward could wish to shoot into. It points to one major flaw a few have highlighted - we were not fit. Our legs were gone and we had no fight left, we had no fight because it's hard to fight when the well of strength and stamina aren't there and the legs are gone soft and the air isn't in the lungs. I know Mike Comer, PJ, Scan, Divo, maybe the lads themselves too think Galway are fit - they're wrong. Galway are Divison 2 winter football fit, they're top tier club-level fit but the harsh reality is this Galway team were physically ill prepared and were miles off Top 4 All Ireland contenders fitness levels. We have the footballers, it's the painful, vomit-inducing Top 4 fitness training and S&C that we're just not doing enough of and effectively enough. Why are we continually getting overran in the latter stages of matches? These lads have to go into the house of pain like the Dubs, Mayo and Kerry lads do if we're ever going to move forward. From my and many GAA friends various vantage points around Croke park you could see multiple instances of off the ball running from Mayo players not being tracked as their Galway markers were completely out on their feet, no gas in the tank in the second half. It's sad. It's relatively the easiest thing to get right. You can't readily manufacture high quality footballers, I believe we have those, but by Jaysus you can make them ready for big boys football - for Top 4 / Top 6 absolute dogfights. We're nowhere near that pitch and that has to change dramatically if we've bigger ambitions for the future. I still believe in these lads and love Galway football but management and the lads have to bust themselves to take it to another level if they're to fulfil on their promise.

togoutlads (Galway) - 26/07/2021 10:37:27

Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Hard luck to St Brigids. They were getting well shouted on in this Galway household, that's for sure. Was hoping to see a double for the West and it looked on but for some poor closing out in the last 5-10 mins, and an outrageous final few mins from Conor Glass. Brigids played some great football for long spells and they should be back with the young age profile there. The club scene sees a fair bit of 'having to lose one to win one' play out, with Glen, Kilmacud Crokes, Kilcoo all doing it that way in recent years. Brigids could well be back again.

togoutlads (National) - 21/01/2024 19:44:57