Dublin Forum

Popular Posts from Dubh_linn

No More Cheap Shots from Dublin And Kerry - 8 Like(s)
I'm afraid it's time for me to get out when you see this type of ridiculous thread and how it's being allowed to develop. The hypocrisy of those in charge is laughable. The 5 secured will do me. Happy New Year and good luck to all the genuine posters on here.

Dubh_linn (National) - 07/01/2020 18:57:55

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 8 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "Our provincial victory is evidence that this year's championship is different? In 2019, we beat Monaghan in the first round, Donegal beat Tyrone, and we both met in the final. In 2020, we beat Monaghan in the first round, Donegal beat Tyrone, and we both met in the final. But you're telling us that we only won the final because of the year that's in it?"
Look , what I'm saying is ,it was a different championship and it was most definitely. No back door , the final a week before Christmas, Cavan winning their first Ulster in 23 years , Tipp winning their first Munster in 85 years. If you met Donegal last year and lost and met Donegal this year and won then that's different. Whatever way you look at it surely you can recognise that it was a different championship.

Dubh_linn (National) - 13/01/2021 16:15:22

Good To Hear - 7 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm not going to going to get into it again dubh linn ye all know my thoughts on the matter and there is nothing we can do about yer massive population or all the tax payers money being pumped into ye as Bertie made sure of that when he was minister for finance but ye having 2 home games in the super 8s should definitely not be allowed actually I'd go as far as to say there should be no super 8 games played in crokepark when there are provincial grounds crying out for games."
We'll kingdomboy I won't get into it either so but it's funny how considering all the titles ye were winning in the 70s & 80s along with the 00s and there were no big issue for those in Kerry being concerned about how it might impact on the game elsewhere. Ye were coming to Croker and delighted to be there and everything was fine sure once Sam went back with ye. Of course everyone wants to see a team that is dominating beaten and for all the talk of Kerry not bothering about the league I'll never forget the onfield celebrations after ye won it a couple of years ago. I also remember when Kk were winning 2,3,4 in a row and anyone outside of there couldn't wait for them to lose. Ye have won umpteen underage titles recently and there's very little concern for how this might be impacting on the young talent in other counties and how it might not be great for the future of football elsewhere . I also remember when Tyrone were beating ye , having this outrage about their style of play and how it was a blight on the game and a disgrace that they were being let destroy our beautiful sport. That's all ok now though,and in the past and not a big issue anymore because they have not been as difficult for ye to beat recently and those players have moved on. Of course money was put into Dublin and it was badly needed at the time as the profile of the games here was at an all time low and the underage structures were in a poor state. We hadn't reached an AI final in 16 long years which is unnatural considering the population as you mentioned. There is no doubt it helped rejuvenate the games here but it was in no small part also down to grassroots graft. We are fortunate also may I add to have an exceptional group of dedicated and focused players and a great manager. Many questions have been asked of them and they have repeatedly come up with the answers. You cannot buy that. I don't have an issue with taking games out of Croker and enjoy the trips to other grounds and we've proved capable in those same grounds when we travel. I'm sure most Kerry supporters while not particularly happy that are winning will recognize this while at the same time knowing that,as with all great teams, they eventually will be beaten. Hopefully not for another while though. We'll see ye in a couple of weeks and I have no doubt ye will be going all out to win even though it's only the league ;)

Dubh_linn (National) - 26/01/2019 11:36:49

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 7 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Amazing how in the light of siring questions and the full glare of public opinion turning on D-GAA and by extension Dublin, the climate change deniers turn to googling provincial records of other counties or insinuating that people asking honest and hard questions are not "genuine" GAA people. I've seen it over on the Kerry forum by "guests" coming in to "commensurate" with us. Apparently if we point to the well know facts and figures we are dismissed as being "obsessed" with Dublin and are probably an "embarrassment" to genuine GAA people in our county. It's very interesting seeing how the arguments, deflections and rhetoric of Dublin supporters on places like this and on social media are evolving. One thing is for sure, it's getting more aggressive, more defensive and by implication they know public opinion has well and truly shifted and they can't hide behind words like volunteerism and once in a generation any longer. The horse has bolted. Also of course this isn't some reaction to the 5 in a row, for several years now people have rightly been asking questions about what has been allowed go on with Dublin by the GAA. We have the GPA, every major media outlet, every second poster on here and the majority of GAA supporters up and down the country raising these issues now. Are we all paranoid or obsessed or can Dublin supporters finally concide the simple premise that where there's smoke there's a fire. What's beyond doubt for me is that there's a semi-professional team playing 31 other counties and playing all but 1 or 2 of their games in their own ground. They are a talented, truly excellent group of players with an incredible manager but don't tell me or anyone else their dominance hasn't been greatly aided. In the past week we have heard how the Dublin senior team is able to engage in high-altitude training, no wonder they can keep running while other teams are out on their feet when the clock hits 70l! I'm sure the Dubs have enjoyed the 5 in a row, personally I don't think they being first to do it negates the wonderful tradition and history of my own county. History will judge this decade in the long run and the contexts of what went on will be set out. Looking forward to 2020 and also to the GAA (rightly) getting it in the neck all winter."
Yes indeed history will recognize our feats and excellence and what we have achieved. That's the great thing about the records. They record the facts not the opinions of the losers. By the way , there's no shame in being obsessed with Dublin. It's all ok.Enjoy our success with us and appreciate it while it's happening. Winter well.

Dubh_linn (National) - 22/09/2019 14:50:20

How Many Points Is Home Advantage Worth? - 7 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "Studies in rugby reveal that home advantage is worth seven to twelve points - or close to a certain win when Munster play in Thomond Park - and in football (soccer), mathematical equations have been designed that find it worth somewhere between a goal and two, depending on a range of factors including attendance and a team's style of play. How many points is home advantage worth in hurling and football?"
Not nearly as many as the amount of All Irelands it's worth over the course of the history of the GAA when you walk into an AI semi final and have no competition in your province where the counties are too busy playing hurling.

Dubh_linn (National) - 11/07/2018 17:28:54

Kerry V Dublin - 7 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya I hit the 8 instead of 7 my mistake I also forgot to put the s after boy in my previous post but you didn't pull me on that also we went by Galway not the midlands cos the roads were bad, we'd usually go the midlands and that would be about 80 km less."
Ah , sure you'll probably get subsidized for that misfortune. Poor farmers can claim for pretty much anything now. The Dubs will fork out for ye again. Great little gravy train.

Dubh_linn (National) - 07/02/2019 10:57:19

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 7 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Bizarre interview with David Hickey in the Examiner. Bitter old man syndrome."
I'd imagine David Hickey probably knows more about what has gone on behind the scenes with Dublin than a lot of people. He's probably sick to the back teeth listening to all the begrudgery and slight that is spoken about Dublins achievements when he knows how hard the guys in that panel have had to work for their achievements. If David Hickey is bitter then he's got plenty of company on platforms like this one. Hickey has done a lot of good for a lot of people so there's certainly a lot more to him than what you can learn from a newspaper interview.

Dubh_linn (National) - 19/12/2020 12:24:42

How Long Have You Been Posting? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can I have a bought all ire please bob."
No , but you can have a H for hollow Leinster title v Louth if that's ok.

Dubh_linn (National) - 07/10/2019 17:57:30

Next Dublin Manager - 6 Like(s)
Kerry and Tyrone were the big winners in the noughties but I don't think Kerry could be marked out as a truly great side as they never could beat their arch rivals that decade. Tyrone had their number in every final and but for their inconsistency would surely have won more. The fact that there's a debate as to who was the team of the noughties is enough.

Dubh_linn (National) - 17/12/2019 07:32:34

David Gough To Referee The Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Didn't know that about 2007, I wonder are the high horse brigade equally as outraged over that? I've no difficulty with Gough doing this match personally. He is a good ref and I know he will do a good job. At the same time he lives and works in one of the participating counties and has admitted publicly to making critical errors that benefitted that county the last time they played. We have probably all seen the images of him posing with Dublin players and the Sam Maguire from years ago too, perfectly innocent I am sure, but not a good look for a high profile referee at the same time. I simply cannot believe the selection committee did not see this coming, and that nobody on it didn't have the foresight, and frankly the cop on to ensure he sat this one out. It was easily avoidable. It's understandable that everyone's ire is directed at Eamon Fitzmaurice and others but surely the GAA and their committee need to take some of the blame, at the very least they need firmer policies on this sort of thing. There is absolutely no excuse for referees to be officiating games of this importance involving counties where they live and work. I agree with the poster above who said that Kerry CB should issue a statement welcoming his appointment at this stage and we should just get on with it now. They will be lucky if the GAA don't now uphold Steven O'Briens suspension to stick it to Kerry after this."
You say you have no problem with him doing the game and he'll do a good job . So why are you asking questions about the mans integrity and where he works. Are referees not human and allowed to participate in day to day life like everyone else or should every referee run a mile if he encounters a county player if he is out and about socialising lest someone snaps a photo and calls his impartiallity into question should he get a high profile job in a few years time. The selection comittee are there to pick the best person for the job not to use someone who might be more suitable to a certain group who might have a past gripe and frankly you and these individuals would have an issue no matter who they chose because you always have an issue when things aren't going the way ye want. Now, it's a case of Stephen O'Brien becoming a victim if his appeal isn't successful. There is no doubt that he will get off . Will that be considered as some sort of smoke screen so that the GAA can then screw ye over in the final . You see you seem to have an amazing capacity for blaming anyone and everyone else. Get over this petty nonsense let ye and stop with the conspiracy theories. All that is really wrong is that ye are scarred stiff that ye might lose. That's an insight into the current state of mind in Kerry.

Dubh_linn (National) - 15/08/2019 11:19:27

Four Teams Representing Dublin Geographic Area! - 5 Like(s)

Replying To clooney:  "Who the hell do you think you are to tell what i am to think or say I am perfectly entitled to my opinion same as anyone else "on the ditch" that's you definately arrogant bore never did nothing in GAA or anything. Who the hell made up an expert ??????"
I think there are posters here purely to wind people up and you should take no notice of them. You're as entitled to your say as anyone else.

Dubh_linn (National) - 08/02/2021 15:44:03

Allianz League Sunday - 5 Like(s)
Two gas men I'd say Tomás always looks like he's lost the winning lotto ticket, Cavanagh generally looks like he's found it.

Dubh_linn (National) - 13/02/2018 11:10:44

Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To oneoff:  "While I agree the naturally gifted footballer thing is a myth. It's funny how Dublin posters seem to have no issues with it being said about "King Con" I'll ask again what's the obvious issue people here have with Clifford? Seeing as they're going to great lengths to dismiss him"
It more than likely stems from the hype that has surrounded Clifford. Con on the other hand came in relatively quietly and has been top drawer without the fuss to the same extent. Combine this with his exploits and success with Cuala and there is no doubting his ability in both codes which again is relatively rare to these extents. Clifford will inevitably win AI's but there is a good bit to go before he lives up to the expectations placed upon him and mostly by Kerry. He's obviously good enough to play senior but it will only be in time we will see whether he produces the goods which Con has repeatedly on the biggest days.

Dubh_linn (National) - 07/11/2019 11:26:43

Tyrone in 00s v Dublin in the 10s - 5 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "If Tyrone played the game in Omagh, had a sympathetic ref in charge and enjoyed the fruits of a large paid backroom team getting them to professional fitness levels, I'd give them every chance ;D"
They didn't need to play kerry in Omagh to beat ye. ;D

Dubh_linn (National) - 26/04/2018 20:42:21

Jim Gavin Steps Down - 5 Like(s)

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Throw broad aspersions all you like, it doesn't change what happened on the field that day. KD is a big boy and he was fine afterwards thankfully. It's done and dusted now. If there is any truth in the accusation Philly made then I condemn that 100%, it doesn't give him the right to do what he did at the same time. Will leave it at that."
That's what any decent person would do , and it should be condemned. Philly can look after himself and no one's suggesting any one is an angel here but that kind of remark is particularly low and it says something about the individual who spits that out. I don't believe he would make something like that up so when you get nothing but fellas asking what he has done to be believed it speaks volumes about them as people . We'll leave it at that.

Dubh_linn (National) - 05/12/2019 14:45:43

Stephen Cluxton - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "im saying this for a few years now, but i get no support here in wexford, forget canavan,, tomkins, o shea,gooch etc, cluxton is the greatest footballer ever, not just the greatest goalkeeper"
Let's put it another way,who stopped Kerry's bid for five in a row ? Turning point was a Furlong save. Seamus Darby gets the plaudits but not too many remember a goalkeepers influences on games and Cluxton is in a different class. No question about his legacy.

Dubh_linn (National) - 15/09/2019 20:50:39

Ominous Summer Ahead - 5 Like(s)
Remember it was a Kerry commentator that coined the phrase " puke football " . Livid that these fellas had the audacity to beat Kerry again and again. Some of these guys really cannot stomach their beatings and have the sheer lack of class to try and detract from the achievements of a committed and skilfull bunch of players who give so much time and energy to being the best they can be. They are no friends of the sport when they do all they can in blind bitterness to dismiss the countless hours of volunteers who coach young kids and make the sacrifice week in week out to provide fresh talent in the years ahead. Although predictable and without any real credibility at this stage it is a shame they are probably trotting this bile out to impressionable youngsters also. Ignorance becomes as acceptable as the truth.

Dubh_linn (National) - 04/04/2018 08:17:59

David Gough To Referee The Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To westkerry:  "Dublin will win this game in all likelihood regardless of the Ref but I hope he watches his 2016 performance and learns from it."
I was surprised at EF coming out with that sort of stuff . Droning on as usual and cannot seem to accept who the GAA decide on appointing. It's a terrible reflection on the attitude of a fair few in the Kerry camp. Probably trying to put undue pressure on the man to give them anything that's going as is so often the case.Never happy some of these lads.How many more referees can they complain about. He seems like a good referee and sure it's not like he has any agenda.

Dubh_linn (National) - 14/08/2019 13:37:31

Monaghan V Kerry - 5 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "As ever I'm deeply wounded by your opinion of what I write - I'm away now to take a long look in the mirror at myself and ask how can I be a better person, how can I strive to earn this anonymous Dublin posters respect -therein, I am sure, lies true happiness and a true sense of purpose for my life..."
Anonymous,ha, in case you haven't noticed we are all anonymous. I doubt you will have noticed how Deegan actually favoured Kerry in the lead up to the goal by awarding a free which wasn't a free. Ye get plenty of calls from referees but just can't take it when it's pointed out.

Dubh_linn (National) - 24/07/2018 14:50:13

Kerry V Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "4th time trying to post this! So your ok with being able to call another poster a belle-end because you disagreed with his take on the match (which YOU did on Sunday on this very thread) but you are up now up in arms because I'm gently teasing the travel writing aspirations evident in some waffle another one of your cronies posts up? Grand, just wanted to be clear where you stood. Some of ye Dubs have enough brass in yer necks to start a plumbing trade :D"
4th time eh. Shouldn't have bothered. You should be ashamed of yourself. Gently teasing it is not , it's sneering and pathetic. Maybe it's your upbringing or something in your past that leads to you thinking that passes for banter. Grow up would and stop being such a child

Dubh_linn (National) - 12/02/2019 16:35:43