Dublin Forum

Popular Posts from avonali

Meath V Dublin - 20 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I know you would KingdomBoy1 but if you are taking on a bet "that Dublin wont win the All-Ireland" this year it's a completely one sided bet to take on at the moment because even if Dublin don't win it there is no guarantee that Kerry will even make the final at this stage so you will be €100 out of pocket and without an All-Ireland for Kerry ! "
No my bet is that dublin will win the allireland this year and I only have to pay out if Kerry win as far as I know Africangael."]Poor old AfricanGael struggles with comprehension sometimes. He just doesn't understand it.

avonali (National) - 21/07/2021 11:37:34

Meath V Dublin - 19 Like(s)

Replying To Crinigan:  "When it's Dublin in Croke Park it's a stonewall foul!"
And when it's Meath in Croke Park a try is a goal.

avonali (National) - 19/07/2021 12:44:21

Galway V Mayo - 19 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Mayo would crap the togs against Kerry, game would be over by the first water break. Now if the Ulster champs beat Kerry then that's a whole new ball game."
Why do people have to be so disrespectful to another county with phrases like "crap in the in their shorts" etc? It's as if AS if a team's failure to win showed some weakness of character. Honestly Mayo gave us some great finals over the last few years and they will give Kerry a good contest as they did in 2014. They were the one team who could put it up to Dublin in an All-Ireland final and they were a feared and respected team who put us to the pin of our collar. They had the beating of Dublin in 2016 only for two freakish own goals..Those own goals had nothing to do with a loss of nerve. A team that keeps coming back like they do has remarkable character and to suggest otherwise is simply not fair. How would you have responded if people had characterised Donegal's loss in 2014 to Kerry in similar terms. You could argue Durcan completely cracked on that kick out and gifted Kerry the title.

avonali (National) - 26/07/2021 22:06:32

Meath V Dublin - 18 Like(s)
Is African Gael the poster formerly known as The Hermit???? :-D. That's hilarious.:-D. I should have known, all the poisonous bile is still there. And he pretending he was off to Djibouti.....:-D

avonali (National) - 21/07/2021 15:46:42

Meath V Dublin - 17 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "So the so called "best team ever" are wobbling without Jim Gavin, like out of control robots without their joystick master, waiting for Dessie to learn how to use it. Jim Gavin and his process, the Dublin version of Jim McGuinness' Donegal with money. "
Maybe Dessie should recruit you. I'd say you're pretty handy with a joystick yourself.

avonali (National) - 21/07/2021 10:27:23

MONEY - 17 Like(s)
OK TraleeJerry. Let's jump to No 5. Now he's a doctor, a children's doctor. He works with children which makes him a pediatrician. He wears a long white coat and has a stethoscope around his neck. He is meant to be a very nice man and a very good doctor. He works in a big hospital in Dublin called Temple Street and makes all the little boys and girls there better. He gets paid for his work and in his free time he plays football. Now, I know some people from Kerry cannot believe that a man can be this good at football and also be a doctor but it's true. No he didn't have to go to Australia and become a professional sportsman for some years; he is what you'd call an amateur sportsman. He doesn't take it too seriously he just loves playing . Isn't that amazing now? Speaking of doctors, there are also men and ladies who work with patients who are mentally unwell. They are called psychiatrists and psychologists. If Dublin's success continues to baffle and bewilder you to the point where you can no longer make any sense I'd suggest you see one.

avonali (National) - 24/09/2019 15:24:33

Meath V Dublin - 15 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Would you like me to teach you again ? I'll gladly make a fool of you for a second time in a week if you want. The nature of the bet lol. What a spoofer you are scurrying around the northside backing against your own. Typical fair weather bandwagoner. Keep your €100 for your beloved Penny's ."
You've been exposed as a first class spoofer here several times.Must I embarrass you again??? The Chinese wont get their hands on Djibouti you wrote. Then you concede they have naval base.You demean your own country for wastage then you tell us you're happy to fly off to a country that has more waste and corruption than any western country. That takes a level of obtuseness that is hard to understand. "THE CHINESE won't get the keys to Djibouti" you wrote. They don't need the keys. They own the bloody economy. SPOOFER?? :-D Try and get out of your bedroom like a good lad and enjoy the sun.

avonali (National) - 20/07/2021 16:05:47

Meath V Dublin - 14 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "Hold on. . There's a massive difference between a long retired footballer getting into trouble now and a county system actively influencing the law to cover up crimes by one of their players. The fact that same player then went on to cause serious physical harm to an innocent bystander in an unprovoked attack just goes to show the danger of protecting them in the first place."
Who are you talking about? If it's in the public domain surely you can name the player??

avonali (National) - 21/07/2021 19:26:35

MONEY - 14 Like(s)

Replying To traleegerry:  "Right all you real Gaa buffs. Can we have a serious discussion on the money Dublin Gaa receive I can accept that as per head of population there is nothing wrong with the amount they receive as every other county receives the same per head of population so no prob there. Where the problem lies is and being honest I will tell you what people think in our 32 county Gaa world they are asking them self's does the Dublin goal keeper S. C GET OUT OF BED EVERY MORNING AND GO TO HIS PLACE OF Work I. E a lecturer in DCU I think and give lectures. If the Dubs want to quash these constant jibes about money let some body come out yes he does go to his place of work and lecture and do let us the last time at the very when he did and the same applies to the rest of the Dublin squad or is it that the squad are being paid as full time professionals and do not go to work at all. That is what people think that is where the funds are going to keep these guys as full time pros for 6 months of the year. No other county can afford this so it it is not a level playing field for all. I have done my research here in kerry and have done some research in Cork as well and the majority of the players are going to work and training. Would some in Dublin clear it up and it will stop the snipping. Tell the truth and if you do not know research it and confirm what is true"
Ahh here. This is a wind up. Someone has surely hacked the OP's account and deliberately tried to make him look stupid. From what I can make out the poster is asking about Stephen Cluxton's profession. He is a secondary school science teacher in a northside Dublin suburb. No, he is not an AFL player like Tadgh Kennelly or Tommy Walsh, he is actually a full time teacher. And a brilliant one at that. No, he could never afford to give up his day job unlike Kiaran Donaghy or Darran O'Sullivan in order to focus on his football career. So just to make this very simple for you Gerry: He is a Full timer teacher; he is an amateur sportsman............. unlike some Kerry footballers. I hope that settles your....query.

avonali (National) - 24/09/2019 12:07:53

The Drive For Five! - 14 Like(s)
Can't be reading all the bitter bile on the main page any more. Dublin's achievement has really bitten deeply and Kerrymen have shown themselves to be the biggest whingers of them all. They are making a show of themselves but let them at it. When Dublin eventually get beaten in the Championship ship I hope it's by any other county bar them. They have a cheek referring to Dublin as a semi-professional outfit when they've fielded AFL players like Kennelly and Walsh. Several Kerry players gave up their jobs to dedicate themselves to football. If you saw their centre of excellence out in Currans you'd know there is no shortage of money down there. I hope we really go to town on them next year.

avonali (Dublin) - 22/09/2019 15:53:36

Replying To browncows:  "It is not long ago since at least 7 of your team rugby tackled Mayo players in the AI final with no foul committed! - a great skill to have. How much training went into that. Your teams get more expenses to run your fleet of buses than the Leitrim receives to prepare their county team."
Ahh would ye go away outta that. None of the Dublin team ever had the inducement that one of your former midflielders had to come back onto the team - a bleedin' house no less. And speaking of him, wasn't he up to his neck in the mass brawl ye orchestrated in 1996. Ye loved bullying teams. Plenty of money on Meath but ye couldn't organize a p8ss up in a brewery.

avonali (National) - 19/07/2021 20:54:19

The Drive For Five! - 14 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=Jack_Goff:  "[quote=Fionn:  "Some kerry posters are really getting their knickers in a knot... Calling for Dubs to be split in 3 or 4 etc etc.... no games in croke park, funding cut.... etc etc Unbelievable whinging and moaning... embarrassing really from a kerry point of view You would think they would have enough confidence in their own panel and upcoming panels that they can beat Dublin next year and beyond, but no. Surprising considering how well kerry did this year. Let them at it - giving me a right auld giggle reading their posts.. Onwards and upwards for us next year - the monkey is off our back and the pressure of the 5 in a Row is now gone. I think we will actually improve next year and will have some fresh talent pushing us on again. In the meantime, I will keep smiling thinking of what we have just achieved.... FIVE IN A ROW.... ;o) Atha Cliath Abu."
If Kerry played almost all championship matches in kerry over the last 15 years, got 10 times your funding or had a 10 fold population advantage you can be fairly sure Dublin fans would do likewise. They're people just like you, put yourself in their shoes."]But Jack you were in Portlaoise to witness Meath v Carlow. Meath have 9 times the population of Carlow and presumably their funding is much greater too. Is it not very hypocritical of you to keep harping on about a perceived Dublin slanted population and funding advantage when you yourself promote a Meath one? Should Meath not be split also? I mean how can you on the one hand bang on about Dublin and on the other financially support this imbalance by traveling to Portlaoise? You've been very silent on Meath's advantages against these smaller counties. Why? I mean it's all relative isn't it? Just sayin."]He never responds to that question Joxer. I've asked it myself and no one ever responds.

avonali (Dublin) - 22/09/2019 16:36:48

Kennelly Salutes Egoless Dubs - 14 Like(s)

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "what a joke, 2009 Final throw in, premeditated injury"
I don't think what he did 10 years ago on the filed precludes him from offering what he considers a fair assessment of a team's character, in all fairness.

avonali (National) - 18/10/2019 15:04:38

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Good man realdub, I'm in as well, how about the other 3 lads will they put their accounts on the line (all their accounts) to back up their claims that they think Kerry will win the allireland and that the dubs will lose."
How can we be sure that any of us won't re-emerge onto the forum in another incarnation?? Son of Kingdomboy, or KIngdomboy's ghost?? There is no way of verifying that the loser(s) will comply with the terms. Also, how could I deny myself the pleasure of engaging with your wonderful conspiracy theories??? Another thing, 3/4 Dubs will have to leave the forum and let you chaps have free rein over the whole show??? That's disproportionate. The traditional way is to bet for money: I'm a traditionalist. I am a member of that Northside club that you sometimes frequent after All-Irelands between Dublin/Kerry. It would be very easy to hand over the money there. Now If you were to take The Hermit with you that's something I'd definitely consider.

avonali (National) - 20/07/2021 10:24:31

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "This is my post from 2 weeks ago where I called a 6 point win for dublin, its what they do, they give you a little scrap of hope to cling to so you don't see the fact that all the money they have been gifted by HQ has totally skewed the eco system of the football championship. Regarding the reffs, well they're afraid of their lives to give big decisions against dublin in their home ground for fear they won't get the big games come the business end of the season, poor Paddy Neilan from Roscommon never got a big game after reffing the 2017 league final between ourselves and the dubs also in that game Connolly took Gavin Crowley out of it off the ball in front of Ciarán Branagan, Branagan was going to turn a blind eye only for us Kerry supporter's roaring at him to which he eventually called the reff."
Ahhh I see it all now. . So, the GAA hierarchy feeds all this money to the Dubs, then the Dubs take the foot off the gas in the second half of there matches to maintain the illusion that the other team has a fighting chance which will somehow blind the to them fact that this Dubs had all this money in the first place. Verry, very interesting theory there Kingdom me oul flower. Word of advice: make sure you keep your tin foil hat on in this fine weather. Wouldn't want a dose of sunstroke on top of all that paranoia.

avonali (National) - 19/07/2021 10:50:31

No More Cheap Shots from Dublin And Kerry - 14 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Posters should go to the greatest lost talents thread where ye will see where a kildare poster called you out for trying to ruin that thread. So you calling out posters from other counties is a bit weak lad."
Ahh come on Kingdomboy, you were dishing it out fairly heavily now yourself in that thread with the usual anti-Dublin can't. You tried to imply that there were extra 'monetary incentives which accounted for the high retention rate of Dublin footballers. There are no bloody saints here and we are all up to our necks in this bulls*t but enough is enough. Jesus, you.d swear this Dublin/Kerry thing was the be all and the end all of the GAA. I swear to God if Dublin and Kerry didn't;t make the Super 8s later in the year there'd be lads still going at it hammer and tongs into the winter, utterly blind to the fact that the universe doesn't revolve around Dublin/Kerry football. Seems to me that one County is claiming to be the victim of some sort of campaign when they are well able to dish it out themselves. All it is is a bit of banter about Football ffs. There are clowns from many different counties - not just Dublin- acting the jinnet with multiple accountss. Cop de F*** on lads.

avonali (National) - 06/01/2020 23:59:31

do you have a link to that. I could find nothing.

avonali (National) - 22/07/2021 14:57:29

Meath V Dublin - 13 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I know you would KingdomBoy1 but if you are taking on a bet "that Dublin wont win the All-Ireland" this year it's a completely one sided bet to take on at the moment because even if Dublin don't win it there is no guarantee that Kerry will even make the final at this stage so you will be €100 out of pocket and without an All-Ireland for Kerry ! "
There's a pair of ye in it. It's like watching 2 gombeens trying to fill a bucket with no a*se in it."]You know who it is right. Ah but Shure look i only have to one account - Yerra. We should ignore the two boys accounts until we see i dunno an Artic Gael. Just spam at this stage."]YOu reckon Kingdom and AG are one and the same poster???

avonali (National) - 21/07/2021 11:40:16

Football Championship 2021 - 13 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Gleebo:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope you don't ever take up management or coaching because you wont win anything. I wouldn't show the Dubs an ounce of respect if I was playing against or managing a team against them, not one fn ounce. And when they are knocked off their perch it will be by a team who has my attitude."
I'm sure you're a future Mick O'Dwyer in waiting alright. All it takes is attitude! Gimme a break. The top teams have been tearing into the Dubs for the past decade and it has made no difference whatsoever, if anything their margin of victory over their nearest rivals (not to mention the cannon fodder counties in Leinster) is increasing and their team's average age is dropping. I wonder how many All-Irelands in a row it'll take before the penny drops with some people? My bet is ten, but then some are remarkably hard-headed... The systematic approach put in place in Dublin, coupled with long-term changes (depopulation?) in rural Ireland mean that the last decade is not a blip, but a pattern. Dublin will dominate the All-Ireland championship for now on."]You're correct about dublin winning the next 3-4 allirelands (at least) and when they do you'll still have some country folk thinking they're team can bate em , I think people need to take the emotion out of it when looking at this dublin team that the gaa hierarchy created with lashings of cash (because they reckoned a strong dublin would be good for them) and its them and only them that have the power to slay the beast now and let them clean up their own mess."]YOu're wrong and you can't make an argument based on a prediction that may or may not happen. Look at some of the results in the Championship so fay. Absolute turkey shoots. Dublin are merely a symptom of a systemic flaw in our current structures. Look at Kerry v Clare..an utter bore fest. IN 2007 Kerry beat Waterford 2-15 to 4 points!!!! They outscored them 5 times!! Are your telling me those sort of drubbings are ok in Muster but not in Leinster. It's wrong to expect a county with much fewer resources and a much smaller population base into competition with a much stronger county- full stop. Yes, the Leinster Championship is a joke. But you won't solve the deep rooted problems by focussing on one county. These unfair imbalances exist right throughout the Championship intercounty scene. I know you hate hearing this but it's true. Kerry footballers lack nothing. There is no strength and conditioning gap; Dublin footballers are not having individually prepared foot delivered to their doors; Kerry's training facilities out in Currans is second to none; ye have explorers, basketball players, s&c experts to name just a few; ye have employed professional sportsmen from Australia( Kennelly/ Walsh/ ; some of your players took sabbaticals from their jobs in order to focus on their football; ye have the backing of the world's biggest food brand. Compare that to the resources of say the Clare footballers or some other smaller county. There is no shortage of cash Kerry. That's why when KERRY whinge they often earn the scorn of supporters from other counties. AS my father would say "Aren't ye badly off?" The difference between Dublin and Kerry is a difference of degree rather than kind. It's not ok for Dublin to have advantages but it's ok for Kerry. Is that what you're saying???

avonali (National) - 29/06/2021 11:20:57

Meath V Dublin - 13 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yes And the past player is finished now but started his career back when Pillar was manager (conveniently for him!)"
But. Dublin GAA did not cover anything up. Both cases were subject to the fullrigours of the law. Both cases were/will be before the courts. I honestly do. not know what you are referring to when you say there was an attempted cover up. I repeat both cases were subject to full Garda investigation and media attention. In the older case I believe that event had a massive impact on that player's career. and general wellbeing. He paid the price.

avonali (National) - 22/07/2021 12:19:49