Kildimo/Pallaskenry club notes

September 17, 2018

CITY/SOUTH MINOR HURLING CHAMPIONSHIP FINAL: Kildimo/Pallaskenry 0-20 Ballybrown 1-16. It’s always nice to win silverware, but it was a real delight to see minor hurling captain, Luke O’Keeffe, lift the cup this afternoon in Rathbane. It was a real cracker of a match, played between two neighbouring parishes and two real quality sides.

We had to contend with a strong breeze in the first half, but we did land the first score, a long-range free converted by Liam Griffin. Ballybrown levelled matters with a score from play before great work rate from our forwards forced the Ballybrown man to overcarry and Liam landed another free. Liam then exchanged frees with the Ballybrown freetaker before another point from play for Ballybrown had the scores at level. The lively Adam Butler hit our first score from play, as he slipped away from his marker but then the first goal chance went the way of Ballybrown. The Ballybrown nipped inside our full-back line and was hauled to ground, the referee awarding a penalty. James Mason did brilliantly to make the stop from the penalty, but a Ballybrown forward was quickest to react and batted the rebound home for a goal.

It was a blow, and Ballybrown also tagged on the next two scores, one from play and one from a free to open up a 4-point lead. But then we scored arguably the point of the game, a wonderful team move. James Pomeroy did brilliantly to win the ball, he found Shaun Barry who picked out Liam Griffin in space with a very clever pass, and Liam made no mistake with the shot. It was a score that we needed to stop the Ballybrown run of scores and although they would get the next point from a very tight angle, Liam was on the mark yet again shortly after with a free after Shaun was fouled. Ballybrown opened up a 4-point advantage again with a close-range before it was our turn to hit a run of scores before the break.

Adam Butler hit two brilliant scores quick in succession, both from way out on the right touchline, showing his accuracy when given any bit of space. Then another great team move saw the ball worked to Shaun Barry in space, and Shaun took it on and put it over the bar with little fuss. The levelling score came from another placed ball, after Cathal Downes was tripped in the middle third, Liam again converting. Ballybrown did use the breeze to their advantage before the end of the first half, hitting a couple more points, one from play and one from a free. This left the half-time score at: Kildimo/Pallaskenry 0-10 Ballybrown 1-9.

We started the second half with a real energy and took the game by the scruff of the neck. Liam Griffin took control of the middle third and he landed a great point from play to reduce the gap to just one. Shortly after, James Pomeroy, now at wing-back, won a great ball, delivered down the wing to Liam, who stepped inside his marker and fired over on the angle to level the game once again. Ballybrown did go back in front with a free but momentum was now with us, and a James Mason puckout was brilliantly won by Cathal Downes. Cathal ran straight through on goal and popped it over the bar to level the game again. The next ball in towards the edge of the square was brilliantly caught by Mikey Hayes. He attempted to head through for a goal, but was hauled down just on the edge of the large parallelogram. Adam Butler popped the free over the bar to give us the lead.

But Ballybrown weren’t going to lie down without a fight, this was a match which was tight throughout and they hit a free and then a point from play to hit the front once again. The game was swinging one way then another but we had some good performances all over. James Mason was dominating his goalmouth with impressive confidence, Luke O’Keeffe was really marshalling the troops well at the back with the likes of James Pomeroy battling for every pall. Paudi Hartigan was getting on a lot of loose ball in midfield, along with Liam Griffin while Cathal Downes and Shaun Barry in particular were big targets on puckouts. Mikey Hayes was now winning his battle on the edge of the square with the likes of Adam Butler and Matthew Lucey feeding well off him.

Adam levelled matters again with his fourth point from open play, another very impressive display of sharpshooting from him. Mikey Hayes then brilliantly won a ball over his marker, but his shot on the turn went just wide. He didn’t let this affect him, however, and moments later, he won another ball and drove it over the bar from a tougher angle to put us back into the lead. Ballybrown levelled matters with another point from play but then we managed to drive into a small bit of a lead. Liam Griffin picked the ball up out wide, and landed what was also his fourth point from play in the game, and followed it up with a free from midfield, his 10th point in total. But every time it looked as though we might build up a lead, we were pegged back and this was the same again. They reduced the gap to just one point with a free, and then levelled it with a score from play. It was all square with only a couple of minutes remaining.

But with the game in the melting pot, our players did what was needed to over the line. Liam Griffin should quick hands and superb composure to pick up a loose ball and then spot Cathal Downes in space in midfield. Cathal took full advantage and landed a massive point to give us the lead. Matthew Lucey then showed his incredible pace and raced through the heart of the Ballybrown defence. The goal was definitely on, but his low shot was well-saved by the Ballybrown goalkeeper. However, we were able to work another free close to goal and Adam Butler extended our lead to two points as we entered injury time. Ballybrown launched another attack but only managed to get a point, and the lads held on for a superb victory!

It really was a battle, from start to finish; a really high quality game of hurling. There were superb individual displays all over the pitch, and every battled their heart out. There was great delight on the sideline and on the pitch at full-time; and it was very nice to see such a large crowd out in support of our young hurlers! Congratulations must go to the management team of John Barry, Brian Butler, Brian Barry, Liam Hayes and Alan Fitzgerald who had the team in fine shape and masterminded the victory. The season is far from over though, we now face into a County Semi-Final, and hopefully a Final beyond that. We could end up playing Ballybrown again. But for now, we’ll enjoy what was a great win. Well done to all concerned!

Team: James Mason; Cillian O’Farrell, Luke O’Keeffe, Micheál Cuddihy; Jai Chaudri, Ciaran Downes, Liam O’Sullivan; Liam Griffin (0-10, 0-6 frees), Paudi Hartigan; Cathal Downes (0-2), Shaun Barry (0-1), James Pomeroy; Aaron O’Donovan, Mikey Hayes (0-1), Adam Butler (0-6, 0-2 frees)

Subs: Matthew Lucey for Jai Chaudri (half-time); JJ Mulcair for Ciaran Downes (60 mins)

Panel: Dara Mills, Daniel Pearse, Tadhg O’Shaughnessy, Luke Guinane, Ciaran Barry, Garry Sheehan, Eoin Sexton, Mark O’Shea, Dean O’Neill, Jamie Hickey, Ciaran Galvin, Sean Staff, Tommy Kelly Kiely, Odhran Behan

Management: John Barry, Brian Butler, Brian Barry, Liam Hayes, Alan Fitzgerald

JUNIOR A FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP: Kildimo/Pallaskenry 1-4 Hospital/Herbertstown 2-14. Our footballers had a disappointing defeat in Feenagh at the weekend. A lot of players were missing for various reasons: holidays, work commitments and injuries and we are grateful for those who made themselves available, particularly those who came at short notice. We battled extremely hard in the first half, and played really well, and were perhaps unlucky not to go in further ahead at the break. An early Hospital/Herbertstown goal was a blow but we defended very well, the likes of Mossy Sheehan, Barry Walsh and Ciarán O’Brien continuously putting pressure on the opposition shooter and we kept them to just two scores in the first half. Tony McCarthy kicked our first point after a good counter-attack, and Naoise McGarrigle hit our second after a long scoreless spell for both sides. Then we really took control of the game and dominated until the half-time whistle. Lorcan O’Leary was unlucky to see a goal chance go wide after he had made an interception but he would soon reap the rewards, winning an opposition kickout, running through and planting it in the bottom corner. This was directly followed by another kickout being won and Tommy O’Connor popping the ball over the bar. But for all our dominance, we only led by two at the break: Kildimo/Pallaskenry 1-3 Hospital/Herbertstown 1-1.

We started the second half brightly too, with a brilliant score from Tony McCarthy who linked up with Shaun Barry, Bob McKeogh and Lorcan O’Leary on a run up the pitch before he popped it over the bar himself. Sadly, this was to be our last score of the game as we struggled to play into a strong wind, and Hospital/Herbertstown took full advantage. We definitely tired in the second half also, many players were playing their first match of the season and we didn’t have options on the bench to make substitutions due to the various absentees. With just over 10 minutes to go, we were just four points behind but our heads seemed to slightly drop after their second goal and they rode their momentum to see out a comprehensive victory. We did have good performances on the day, we battled hard but ultimately ran out of steam.

Both sides do make it to the knockout stages, we now face into a match on Tuesday, September 25 against Oola, who finished 2nd in their group. It will be a tough battle, but with all hands on deck, hopefully we have a long season in us yet!

Team: Jamie Hickey; Mossy Sheehan, Stephen Hodnett, Barry Walsh; Ciarán O’Brien, Tony McCarthy (0-2), Shaun Barry; Bob McKeogh, Lorcan O’Leary (1-0); Naoise McGarrigle (0-1), Jonathan McHale, Tommy O’Connor (0-1); Jack Mullane, Féilim O’Leary, Kieran Bourke

Subs: Brendan O’Shea for Kieran Bourke

PREMIER INTERMEDIATE HURLING CHAMPIONSHIP: After last week’s midweek fixture versus Pallasgreen was postponed due to a bereavement in Pallasgreen, we have a run of fixtures over the next three weekends. We currently sit inside the top four, but need a couple more wins to secure a semi-final spot. Next Saturday, September 22, we head to Ballingarry to take on Bruree at 5pm. The following weekend, we play the refixed Pallasgreen match in Kilmallock on Sunday September 30 at 3.45pm as part of a double header with Garryspillane vs Blackrock. We round out the group stage of the campaign with a game against Blackrock in Ballyagran on Saturday, October 6. The semi-finals are due to take place the weekend after that, and the final the following weekend again. Hopefully we’ll be still be playing well into October! The agenda is set, so hopefully will see our supporters out in full number again, ye’re a great bunch!

U-14 HURLERS: Kildimo/Pallaskenry 4-11 Cappamore 3-6. Our U-14 hurlers are into a County Final! This is a huge achievement by a very talented bunch of players. Right from the start, they laid down a marker and dominated the first half. Cappamore came back and fought hard as you would expect them to but our lads showed great skill and maturity to see out the game, and book a place in the county final against Kilmallock. Keep an eye on the Team App and other social media for details of the date and venue for the County Final. Well done to all involved, a superb achievement! 

UNDERAGE COACHES: We are still actively looking for more parents to get involved with the underage teams. We have a host of children looking to play, but there is a shortage of mentors, so we are putting the call out for people to get involved with the club! We would be delighted to get more people involved and if you are interested, or know someone who might be, please contact Ger McMahon at 086 8108916.    

PITCHSIDE SIGNAGE: Pitchside advertising for the 2018/2019 season is now available; with the chance to sponsor the club in either or both Kildimo and Pallaskenry GAA grounds. Cost includes professional 8x2ft steel sign in full colour; for more details, please contact Niall Kelly ([email protected]) or John Chawke ([email protected]).   

CLUB SHOP: Our online club shop has a number of new items including the new team jerseys, as well as a wide range of training gear. Please see the club website, Facebook page or Team App for the link to the online shop.  

REGISTRATION: The deadline for registration has passed and anybody who is not registered is not insured and not eligible to play or train with the club. For insurance reasons, any player who wishes to play with the club this season must register as a matter of urgency. Registration forms can be downloaded from the Club Documents section of the Team App; or contact registrar Pat Culloo on 086-2224653.   

TEAM APP: For all the up to date club news, fixtures, training schedules, club shop, club documents, log into the Club’s Team App, available to download to your smart phone on iPhone and Android.  

CLUB LIMERICK DRAW: Sadly, we had no winners in the August draw after some success in the first few draws. However, there are still four draws yet to go, with a subscription costing €10 per month. The CLUB Limerick Draw is a vital factor in the success of our County teams, it raises much needed funds for all our clubs to the tune of €400,000.  

Kildimo/Pallaskenry GAA are very fortunate to have a great number of young and senior players represent our club on the intercounty scene. The CLUB Limerick Draw will also help the development of the Gaelic Grounds and Mick Neville Park, to make it a centre of excellence with four full-size pitches including synthetic pitch, flood lighting & ball alley. Each month there will be 30 Guaranteed Cash Prizes with a top prize of €12,000 & a star car prize in December worth €25,000. You can play online or contact any club member below, or call / e-mail Siobhan in the Limerick GAA Office 061-335516 / [email protected]. If you would like to take part, please contact Trish O’Dowd, Tom O’Connell, Tony O’Brien, Sean Cuddihy, Niall Kelly where you can pay upfront or pay monthly to be in with a chance to win!

Most Read Stories