RTE trying to silence critcs of SKY etc.

while out walking today (Sunday afternoon) I was listening to Sunday Sport on Radio One..they were reviewing Cork-Mayo game and Donegal Galway football qualifiers yesterday (Sat 22nd July)...at the very end of the review..the analyst..I think it might have been former Galway footballer Ray Silke, hit out at the GAA for delaying the throw in of the Donegal Galway game to facilitate the extra time coverage of the Cork-Mayo game..I was watch both games on Sky yesterday evening and thought alright that it was unfair on Donegal-Galway teams and supporters to be told "hold on we are delaying throw in until the other games extra time is over"..and for all that the throw in went ahead with around 5 minutes of the extra time to go..anyway, when the analyst brought up the topic today the RTE Sports presenter appeared not to want to know about the matter at all, and tried constantly to trivialise the matter and kept trying to wrap up the matter without giving much conversation to it...I think the analyst had a very valid point...after Michael Duignan's criticism of the GAA RTE are out to keep the GAA on board and not going to let anyone on their air time criticize the GAA....anyone else hear the clip?

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 23/07/2017 21:46:14    2022075

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "while out walking today (Sunday afternoon) I was listening to Sunday Sport on Radio One..they were reviewing Cork-Mayo game and Donegal Galway football qualifiers yesterday (Sat 22nd July)...at the very end of the review..the analyst..I think it might have been former Galway footballer Ray Silke, hit out at the GAA for delaying the throw in of the Donegal Galway game to facilitate the extra time coverage of the Cork-Mayo game..I was watch both games on Sky yesterday evening and thought alright that it was unfair on Donegal-Galway teams and supporters to be told "hold on we are delaying throw in until the other games extra time is over"..and for all that the throw in went ahead with around 5 minutes of the extra time to go..anyway, when the analyst brought up the topic today the RTE Sports presenter appeared not to want to know about the matter at all, and tried constantly to trivialise the matter and kept trying to wrap up the matter without giving much conversation to it...I think the analyst had a very valid point...after Michael Duignan's criticism of the GAA RTE are out to keep the GAA on board and not going to let anyone on their air time criticize the GAA....anyone else hear the clip?"
he didnt have a valid point really, what about all the people who wish to watch the game on tv, a standard old fashioned whinge...not something you should be airing on radio, belongs in the pub..and galway coped rather well with the delay

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 23/07/2017 23:18:39    2022150

he didnt have a valid point really, what about all the people who wish to watch the game on tv, a standard old fashioned whinge...not something you should be airing on radio, belongs in the pub..and galway coped rather well with the delay

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1817 - 23/07/2017 23:18:39   2022150 

Who was inconvenienced more, the handful of people watching the game on Sky or those who had travelled to see the game and then had it delayed?

Your whinge that the poor people sitting on their couches in the comfort of their own homes or on their barstools in their local shouldn't be inconvenienced is a very strange way to look at it.

Sky along with the GAA fixed the times of the games. Extra time was always a possibility in the first game and it should have been prepared for. It clearly wasn't thought through by Sky. Amateurish behaviour on Sky's part as well as the GAA.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 23/07/2017 23:33:36    2022166

Replying To MesAmis:  "he didnt have a valid point really, what about all the people who wish to watch the game on tv, a standard old fashioned whinge...not something you should be airing on radio, belongs in the pub..and galway coped rather well with the delay

Who was inconvenienced more, the handful of people watching the game on Sky or those who had travelled to see the game and then had it delayed?

Your whinge that the poor people sitting on their couches in the comfort of their own homes or on their barstools in their local shouldn't be inconvenienced is a very strange way to look at it.

Sky along with the GAA fixed the times of the games. Extra time was always a possibility in the first game and it should have been prepared for. It clearly wasn't thought through by Sky. Amateurish behaviour on Sky's part as well as the GAA."
more than a handful and you know it too, how long was the game delayed mesamis?...i just wonder would there have been the same level of whinging had the game been broadcast on rte and delayed, wouldnt be like some to be looking for a reason to have a pop at sky now would it?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 23/07/2017 23:42:24    2022176

If you read Colm O'Rourke's article on the Sindo today he has a little go at Sky analysts trying to make a name for themselves. Peter Canavan trying to make a name for himself is a ridiculous assumption.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/07/2017 23:48:35    2022178

RTE themselves messed up when they didn't make allowance for extra-time on their Player coverage of our game with Derry. The Player stream cut off at 7 but fair play they got it back up and running.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 24/07/2017 02:20:42    2022205

RTE have delayed coverage in the past where the first game went to ET. What were sky to do? A whinge for the sake of it

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 24/07/2017 07:29:24    2022215

We have had 4 o Clock throw ins in Croke Park delayed because the Dubs fans couldn't come in on time!

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 24/07/2017 08:35:48    2022229

Replying To alano12:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "he didnt have a valid point really, what about all the people who wish to watch the game on tv, a standard old fashioned whinge...not something you should be airing on radio, belongs in the pub..and galway coped rather well with the delay

Sky along with the GAA fixed the times of the games. Extra time was always a possibility in the first game and it should have been prepared for. It clearly wasn't thought through by Sky. Amateurish behaviour on Sky's part as well as the GAA."
more than a handful and you know it too, how long was the game delayed mesamis?...i just wonder would there have been the same level of whinging had the game been broadcast on rte and delayed, wouldnt be like some to be looking for a reason to have a pop at sky now would it?"
Took me over two hours to get to Sligo, Match was suppose to be at 7, So left my house at 4. Wasn't home again until 12:20am.
Why would supporters bother traveling to inter county matches when we're treated like that. It was very disrespectful to the 10k + who were at the match.

Money talks I guess.

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 24/07/2017 09:37:13    2022263

I was at the Donegal game and we were standing on the terrace from 6.15. There were people around listening to the Mayo game and I had a feeling it would be delayed when it ended a draw. We then got confirmation and when the announcement came there was a fair bit of jeering (a lot from the stands even though they were sitting down!)

Listen, its not ideal but at the end of the day its 15 minutes. No big deal. I wasn't too bothered about it. The game did still start while the Mayo game was going on but that still an extra 15 minutes that everyone else got to see. If they had missed that then they would have missed the only competitive part of the game!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 24/07/2017 09:43:33    2022273

Sky coverage is light years ahead of Rte. Only bit I don't live is their hurling match commentary. Find it a bit boring. apart from that Rte are miles behind and their pundits are constantly trying to make a name for themselves with ultra negative opinions. Brolly does nothing but harm to the game with his rants. Never positive.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/07/2017 10:01:21    2022296

The better solution would have been Sky to show delayed coverage of the second game. I mean most folk watching now use live pause anyway so watching the full game a little bit later would have made no difference. The second game was a late enough start and unfair for those who travelled to be delayed even further.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 24/07/2017 10:19:10    2022312

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "We have had 4 o Clock throw ins in Croke Park delayed because the Dubs fans couldn't come in on time!"
I'm just curious, when was the last time that happened?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 24/07/2017 10:31:24    2022323

Replying To Laois76:  "If you read Colm O'Rourke's article on the Sindo today he has a little go at Sky analysts trying to make a name for themselves. Peter Canavan trying to make a name for himself is a ridiculous assumption."
Yeah spotted that one, a pretty cheap shot there from O'Rourke. RTE pundits have a touch of snobbery about them as if they're somewhat better at this than most. I can't remember BBC or ITV pundits having a pop at Sky pundits for such things.
I get the argument about free to air sporting events being taken away from the public but this petty sniping from the gallery by the RTE pundits is getting tiresome.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 24/07/2017 10:34:49    2022327

point is RTE didn't want to hear about it or have the matter raised..if it was p*ssing raing in Sligo I am sure those not minding would have a different view if they were standing on the terraces etc..If a game is fixed for 7pm it should throw in at 7pm unless some serious major unforeseen event...not extra time in another match being played at a different venue..didn't it happen some years ago where a camogie match was postponed where a game went to extra time..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 24/07/2017 10:36:01    2022329

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "We have had 4 o Clock throw ins in Croke Park delayed because the Dubs fans couldn't come in on time!"
you hardly expect us to leave before the end of the Liverpool and Manchester United matches now do ya? gaa need to have a look at this and accommodate the dubs properly (ie, dont have us clashing with big premier league games

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/07/2017 10:43:04    2022337

more than a handful and you know it too, how long was the game delayed mesamis?...i just wonder would there have been the same level of whinging had the game been broadcast on rte and delayed, wouldnt be like some to be looking for a reason to have a pop at sky now would it?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1819 - 23/07/2017 23:42:24   2022176 

If it were RTÉ delaying games I'd say the same thing. Completely amateurish from the GAA and Sky to not take into account that there could be extra time in the 1st game. No excuse for it imo. And the excuse of "sure it's happened before" is BS. If it's happened before then it should never happen again!

I find your preference for inconvieniencing those who've made the most effort to watch the game over those who've merely made it as far as the couch or a barstool strange.

I'll take your word that the viewing figures for these Sky matches are good with a pinch of salt!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 24/07/2017 10:54:07    2022353

....and you were there? you can exclusively reveal it was 100% Dub fans who did not arrive in on time? No one was playing that day?

Actually every single game has folk coming in late. The Gardaí make a call if they feel a game should be delayed in terms of safety. Obviously the bigger the crowd, the bigger the issue if everyone is not in on time.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 24/07/2017 10:55:47    2022356

Replying To waynoI:  "you hardly expect us to leave before the end of the Liverpool and Manchester United matches now do ya? gaa need to have a look at this and accommodate the dubs properly (ie, dont have us clashing with big premier league games"
That's why your always on in the 4pm game! They would never dream of putting te on at 2pm while the pubs were still open!!

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 24/07/2017 13:31:15    2022559

Second attempt at posting this. (Don't know what was the issue with the first attempt was)

Yesterday I sat down to watch The Sunday Game expecting to watch 2 games and for some unexplained reason there is only 1 game. In Páirc Uí Chaoimh yesterday RTÉ had the cameras set up for the Waterford Wexford game, why oh why did they not show the Intermediate final also? They were showing "Junior", not the Junior Football Semi-Finals on that weekend but, Scharwanegger and DeVito's "Junior". (Not even the decent one by them. Twins BTW).

RTÉ play the poor mouth saying SKY get all the big games, they don't make proper efforts to promote other games. RTÉ lust for what they don't have. TG4 (on a fraction of RTÉ Sport's budget) have invested in successfully promoting Ladies Football and Under 21s. RTÉ Sport is an embarrassing wreck.

The Sunday Game (evening show) pads most of the show with highlights and analysis of the games I've seen that day on RTÉ and gives barely any coverage to the games I haven't. No one want to see a ten minute highlight reel of the game they already saw followed by a minute of highlights of games not shown live, this needs to be sorted out.

After the first game of the football was played this year (Sligo v New York) and a couple of Leinster Hurling Round Robin games, RTÉ had their 'Start of the Championship' show on the following week. Lads, the season had started (and ended for some). Also show the New York game, 8pm on a Sunday evening with players from all over Ireland playing ball for New York, neutrals would watch for curiosity especially if someone from their own county was playing.

The analysis is poor by the Sunday Game compared to Sky and rather than improve on this aspect the RTÉ pundits take potshots at Sky pundits. If it is a game not involving a Division 1 team, RTÉ pundits would rather discuss who will win the All-Ireland and ignore discussing the game in front of them in any meaningful way.

RTÉ get your own house in order first before cutting the legs from your competition.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 24/07/2017 13:48:33    2022573