Mayo vs Roscommon

Mayo are no Dublin, that's for sure. Struggling against Clare and going into Extra-time with Derry and Cork, Only coming out lucky! I'm expecting a nice attacking match next week and going for a draw, very hard one to call.
Draw.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 22/07/2017 22:41:24    2021250

I'm going for a Mayo win (as I did against Derry no Cork) but I do think the experience Mayo has of playing in Croke Park will stand to them

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 23/07/2017 08:40:47    2021441

Lets get it on....

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 23/07/2017 09:46:26    2021470

Hopefully Ross as Connaught Champions will Bate nationals out the gate !.

john1971 (Roscommon) - Posts: 185 - 23/07/2017 09:55:04    2021476

Mayo making hard work of it but this may stand to them. They have been there and done it at quarter final level and should have too much for Roscommon.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 23/07/2017 09:57:30    2021482

Please learn how to spell Roscommon. There's only one s.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 23/07/2017 10:04:17    2021489

mayo beat 2 ordinary teams and needed more than 70mins to beat both. think rossies will do them.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2017 10:06:50    2021492

I can imagine the craic in Ballagh this week.

Oakleafer - ever predict a Mayo won? I suppose your backing Galway to beat Kerry? Grow up good lad

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 23/07/2017 10:08:18    2021495

Yes I have predicted Mayo wins and yes I am going for a Galway win. They drew to Cork and Derry and we're lucky on both. They struggled to Clare massively. What do you want me to say.
They aren't the team they used to be.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 23/07/2017 10:30:50    2021515

It's 30 years since they backed up a good performance so it should be a Mayo win.
I thought Mayo were comfortable v Cork but tend to relax and drop intensity when they go a few points up. They don't normally ease off against Roscommon so should win by 5 or 6

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1104 - 23/07/2017 11:01:44    2021543

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "It's 30 years since they backed up a good performance so it should be a Mayo win.
I thought Mayo were comfortable v Cork but tend to relax and drop intensity when they go a few points up. They don't normally ease off against Roscommon so should win by 5 or 6"
Your not great on the old maths. Not the draw we would have wanted but we always seem to get hard draws the odd time we get to a quarter final. Our lads will go in as underdogs but I believe the have a chance.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 23/07/2017 11:37:31    2021581

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "It's 30 years since they backed up a good performance so it should be a Mayo win.
I thought Mayo were comfortable v Cork but tend to relax and drop intensity when they go a few points up. They don't normally ease off against Roscommon so should win by 5 or 6"
Comfortable against Cork?

Mayo won by a point after extra time. Lee Keegan should have received a red card not a black card for his off the ball kick. Cork should have had two frees in level it at end of extra time so can't see how you figure Ye were comfortable

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 23/07/2017 11:38:19    2021583

Mayo to win by 8/9 points. Rossies will not be able to compete with Mayo' s physical strength and will have no answer to Aidan O Shea

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 23/07/2017 11:49:54    2021592

I think this will actually be tight enough, a lot will depend on the Mayo recovery a lot of effort left on the field yesterday and in the last few weeks. Roscommon have plenty of youth and athleticism and some great quality. On paper you would expect a Mayo win, but have a sneaky feeling Roscommon will be quietly confident, Mayo coughed up a lot of chances against Derry, Clare and Cork and it will only get more difficult as the quality of the opposition increases.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/07/2017 11:58:16    2021602

It's an interesting one and I think psychology will be a huge factor. I didn't want Mayo and I'd doubt many other Rossies did either but it could help the team focus because if they had to play a non-Connaught team their Provicial Champions status would always be questioned given that they didn't beat Mayo en route. Now they have an opportunity to put that to bed whereas had they to play any other non-Connaught team they might have just felt they were in bonus territory. Roscommon have the players and many of them don't have any Mayo hangups but they need to fix their wides to scores ratio something which Mayo did yesterday which is worrying. Roscommon will need goals and I reckon they'll get 2 against Mayo which should see them over the line. Heart ruling the head maybe!

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 23/07/2017 12:30:06    2021630

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Comfortable against Cork?

Mayo won by a point after extra time. Lee Keegan should have received a red card not a black card for his off the ball kick. Cork should have had two frees in level it at end of extra time so can't see how you figure Ye were comfortable"
He isn't saying it was a comfortable win but at that stage when we went 7 points up Mayo looked comfortable and took the foot off the gas. Cork fair play to them came back and the cliffhanger ensued. Cork worked their socks off but the draw and extra time was down to mayos peformance dropping as much as corks improving. I wouldn't be so flippant about Mayo against Roscommon I can't imagine the Mayo not being motivated to be playing Roscommon but I wouldn't are the legs going to be heavy. The Rosie's looked good in salthill they will surely play well in croker

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 23/07/2017 12:45:35    2021640

Replying To Sindar:  "It's an interesting one and I think psychology will be a huge factor. I didn't want Mayo and I'd doubt many other Rossies did either but it could help the team focus because if they had to play a non-Connaught team their Provicial Champions status would always be questioned given that they didn't beat Mayo en route. Now they have an opportunity to put that to bed whereas had they to play any other non-Connaught team they might have just felt they were in bonus territory. Roscommon have the players and many of them don't have any Mayo hangups but they need to fix their wides to scores ratio something which Mayo did yesterday which is worrying. Roscommon will need goals and I reckon they'll get 2 against Mayo which should see them over the line. Heart ruling the head maybe!"
There will be chances coughed up like yesterday we will need to improve next Sunday.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 23/07/2017 12:49:48    2021647

I see one way traffic only. Ross burying the ball on several occasions to the back of the net. Mayo getting dirty with players getting carded. Years ago folks use to speak about Tyrone been very cynical.. Well watch Mayo of the ball.

john1971 (Roscommon) - Posts: 185 - 23/07/2017 13:16:52    2021664

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Comfortable against Cork?

Mayo won by a point after extra time. Lee Keegan should have received a red card not a black card for his off the ball kick. Cork should have had two frees in level it at end of extra time so can't see how you figure Ye were comfortable"
Keegan should have got no card The Cork player pulled him back and the ref seen it and let it go If he'd called the blatant foul nothing else would have happened He chose not to for some unknown reason Then calls Keegan for the trip 1 of the refs only bad decisions all day

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 23/07/2017 13:30:09    2021680

Roscommon are not new to Croke Park and after two years in Division One they'll fear no-one. I don't think we've seen the best of them yet and I know we've plenty of room for improvement. I'm hoping we'll win by two points but our backs and poor disciplinary record don't fill me with too much confidence. If they can play football like that in a wet and windy Salthill, imagine what they can do on a dry day in Croke Park? McStay would love to stick it to our County Board too. Who could blame him and McHale for that?

May the best team win.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 23/07/2017 13:33:56    2021681