Testimonials for individuals - in the GAA?

What do people think? For once, I agree with Joe; but I'm probably on the losing side of the argument. I only pose the question: how many All Ireland medals would Colm Cooper have won without his teammates? The people who trained him when he was a nipper? I'd be a lot happier if the proceeds were donated to Kerry GAA or his home club.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 23/09/2017 19:31:07    2049686

Replying To essmac:  "What do people think? For once, I agree with Joe; but I'm probably on the losing side of the argument. I only pose the question: how many All Ireland medals would Colm Cooper have won without his teammates? The people who trained him when he was a nipper? I'd be a lot happier if the proceeds were donated to Kerry GAA or his home club."
"The people who trained him when he was a nipper? " oh ffs, are you actually serious? No one in the world would be top of their sport without training from someone...

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 23/09/2017 19:48:17    2049690

Essmac. I am with you on this. It is not something I personally would be happy with.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 23/09/2017 19:52:02    2049693

My big issue with what Colm Cooper is doing is the charity angle attached to it to try and convince people this is something other than what it is.

Also there is no way I'd be willing to pay for some fella's testimonial in any sport why should a sportsperson be entitled to get a nice lump sum paid for by the fans we've already paid to see you in action as a player get yourself a job like the rest of the world does when you finish up playing sport be it professional or amateur sport.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 23/09/2017 19:59:48    2049699

Replying To essmac:  "What do people think? For once, I agree with Joe; but I'm probably on the losing side of the argument. I only pose the question: how many All Ireland medals would Colm Cooper have won without his teammates? The people who trained him when he was a nipper? I'd be a lot happier if the proceeds were donated to Kerry GAA or his home club."
Great player one of the best ever but I don't agree with this

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 23/09/2017 20:05:20    2049703

joe hasnt much issue with the money hes made from being a pundit and newspaper pundit

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 23/09/2017 20:09:58    2049710

Aren't the proceeds going to charity, if so I'm right behind it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/09/2017 20:37:18    2049722

I have no problem with this at all.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/09/2017 20:54:59    2049727

Replying To TheUsername:  "Aren't the proceeds going to charity, if so I'm right behind it."
No only a percentage yo charity.
Totally against it

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 23/09/2017 20:57:16    2049730

Replying To alano12:  "joe hasnt much issue with the money hes made from being a pundit and newspaper pundit"
They're jobs. Why would anyone have an issue with them? Cooper also works as a pundit and is paid for it. Nobody has an issue with that.
This is a different scenario. I'd agree with the comment above that the fact that a percentage is going to charity and the rest to himself is a bit odd. Events like this are usually charity or not. It's almost as if it's been added to provide more justification.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2036 - 23/09/2017 21:43:07    2049741

Lads what about the people who trained mark O'Connor Conor glass and the Hanleys ? Those guys took all the amateur coaches had to offer and went off to oz to play a professional sport.

At least the gooch stayed around to entertain us .

Saying that I don't know if I still agree with it , will this open the door for professionalism, I don't know time will tell I guess.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/09/2017 21:52:29    2049743

Replying To WanPintWin:  "They're jobs. Why would anyone have an issue with them? Cooper also works as a pundit and is paid for it. Nobody has an issue with that.
This is a different scenario. I'd agree with the comment above that the fact that a percentage is going to charity and the rest to himself is a bit odd. Events like this are usually charity or not. It's almost as if it's been added to provide more justification."
if its going to charity then whats the issue?..all i see is mr brolly launching attacks on amateur players while getting paid for it

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 23/09/2017 22:26:30    2049756

Not comfortable with this - it is a first - in effect it's purpose is mainly to benefit Gooch. Appreciate there is a charity angle but this sounds very like it's a " percentage"

I see this as different to guest speaking, punditry etc, where a players expertise allows him TO benefit as part of a wider event for travelling working and allocating his time

This event has no other purpose than to reward a player / its s slippery slope - let's have a dinner and give David Clifford 250k not to go to Sydney Swans

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 23/09/2017 23:07:05    2049774

Replying To alano12:  "if its going to charity then whats the issue?..all i see is mr brolly launching attacks on amateur players while getting paid for it"
Only a portion is going to charity. The rest to Cooper himself.
Your point about Brolly getting paid to make his comments has nothing to do with it. This issue isn't about Brolly, and it's irrelevant who made the comment.
The issue is about Cooper charging a lot of money per head for a dinner, from which a lot of the proceeds will go into his own pocket.
He's well entitled to do it, but people can rightly argue it's not typical of the GAA ethos.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2036 - 23/09/2017 23:27:48    2049781

J am surprised it took 12 days to get a discussion going on this. A great little country for the nod and a wink.

wonit1time (Westmeath) - Posts: 450 - 24/09/2017 09:33:37    2049814

Totally against it but not in the slightest bit surprised. The whole ethos of the GAA has been changing in the last 15 or so years and steamrolling towards professionalism or semi-professionalism at least in the next 15. All about the money eh!!! How long till we see a split akin to Rugby between County and Club level?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 24/09/2017 10:18:20    2049825

This is wrong
1. A small percentage going to charity , if not explain
2. no other player has done this EVER - this has to be against the rules
3. i would fully understand if the player had fallen on hard times and had medical reasons not to work
4. This is nothing against Kerry, there must be many in Kerry very embarrassed about this
5 As westmeath poster said and is correct , lets turn a blind eye and a wee wink....

Do you want to remembered for what you are or what you get out of the association

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 24/09/2017 11:27:22    2049836

Do you know what, i dont have a problem with it really and i say best of luck to him.

A little bit of perspective is needed here. There is a share here going to charity that without the event would get nothing. I dont see what this has to to do with the GAA he is doing this as a private citizen surely and if people want to pay to spend the evening with him that up to them. He has a high profile through his own efforts and success.

Individuals have rights as well and on the opposite side of the coin the GAA will have done well themselves promoting Colm Cooper in avertising and promos etc. Players arent slaves either. Gooch has given a lot to GAA over the years in a sporting and commercial sense and has been a great ambassador. He has also has had a bad injury that curtailed the later part of his career im sure he carries some impact of that through life, who knows what medical reviews he has to attend etc.

Im reminded of two thing when it comes to the Gooch of what i am sure are many acts of unknown "giving back". One was after the all ireland final when Kerry were defeated by Dublin in 2011 he sepnt all day the following Monday taking a coaching blitz up in Oliver Plukets in Dublin, a fantastic gesture. Also this March in the club final and the treatment of the little girl by the whole Crokes team to the little girl with serious illness in Croke Park, utter class. Im sure he has been involved in thousands such occasions over the years.

A class player and a class act as a man, if lads want to drop a load of money to have dinner with him, i wish him the best of luck, charities will benefit and it wont be to the ruination of the GAA.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/09/2017 11:38:11    2049840

Im the words of another Cooper Johnny money would destroy the game . That's s fact . Don't know the ins and outs of this particular venture so will sit on the fence.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/09/2017 12:13:14    2049847

His business at the end of the day. The whole thing sounds a bit tacky and overpriced, a gig for the who's who. Personally I wouldn't go even if I got a free ticket but if he can fill the place at those prices fair play to him.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 24/09/2017 12:52:28    2049858