Jim Gavin Steps Down

Replying To jimbodub:  "He also works hard spear heading and creating charitable organisations that are bettering ordinarily forgotten disadvantaged lives. Highlighting the scourge of addication which is becoming common place across the country.

What a fraud.. aye

You sir are a mouth. Nothing more."
I don't even read his posts anymore. He/she is filed under "don't bother"!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/12/2019 14:42:48    2253381

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Throw broad aspersions all you like, it doesn't change what happened on the field that day. KD is a big boy and he was fine afterwards thankfully. It's done and dusted now.

If there is any truth in the accusation Philly made then I condemn that 100%, it doesn't give him the right to do what he did at the same time. Will leave it at that."
That's what any decent person would do , and it should be condemned.
Philly can look after himself and no one's suggesting any one is an angel here but that kind of remark is particularly low and it says something about the individual who spits that out.
I don't believe he would make something like that up so when you get nothing but fellas asking what he has done to be believed it speaks volumes about them as people .
We'll leave it at that.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/12/2019 14:45:43    2253384

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That doesn't make him any less of a gouger jim, he put his fingers into Donaghys eyes and he could have blinded him.

He's a good defender but I won't be taking the word of a gouger on this."
lol

While wearing thick gloves yeah?

Would you drop the drama queen stuff, you were the same with Connolly

Screaming that he "man handled" the linesman when he gentry touched with him with the end of his finger

Look at Tomas Ose purposely elbowing Limerick players in the face at pace.. could easily cause horrid injuries

Far more dangerous...

Philly shouldn't have some what he did it was wrong.. but he was getting some pay back. Still wrong.

But please spare us the flabergasting stuff

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 05/12/2019 14:51:44    2253388

Does it get any "lower" and "below the belt"

Sick of you Kerry butter wouldn't melt lot

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kNEWyGEy6zQ

Go Google the same fella looking to smash jaws and eye sockets

Highlighted very well last night on documentary about Sunday Game

Majes Philly look like an angel lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 05/12/2019 15:00:35    2253389

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I don't condone sledging but there is no proof of anything was said save for a vague accusation where nobody was named. The only thing that can be proven is what Philly did in front of the cameras. If you feel that it was a reasonable thing to do on a football field then fair enough, that is your prerogative, but trying to paint philly as the victim in that incident? Get a grip!"
Oh so if a player slagged you off about a deceased close family member - would you just smile back.?????

Donkey got off lightly if you ask me....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3705 - 05/12/2019 15:29:35    2253398

Replying To Crinigan:  "Philly McMahon known by many inter county footballers in Leinster( don't know any Kerry players) to be capable of literally saying anything to the man he is marking. I won't print things I've heard that he has said to one Meath player in particular but if he ever said it to me I'd have no problem in bringing his family history into the conversation, I can tell you that.

He works hard on coming across as a nice guy though and sure he has the Dublin media to help him there."
Oh just like a certain meath player said to Jayo on the field of play eh....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3705 - 05/12/2019 15:30:58    2253399

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That doesn't make him any less of a gouger jim, he put his fingers into Donaghys eyes and he could have blinded him.

He's a good defender but I won't be taking the word of a gouger on this."
Well if it was untrue he certainly would have been called out on it by the kerry player by now....

Hardly gonna make something like this up and if you did your research you would see that Philly didnt in fact bring the subject up - the interviewer did.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3705 - 05/12/2019 15:35:49    2253403

Replying To jimbodub:  "He also works hard spear heading and creating charitable organisations that are bettering ordinarily forgotten disadvantaged lives. Highlighting the scourge of addication which is becoming common place across the country.

What a fraud.. aye

You sir are a mouth. Nothing more."
Nearly 20,000 posts you have...and I'm the mouth. Go out and get a bit of exercise for yourself. Maybe going to one of Philly's gyms. Do you good.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 05/12/2019 15:36:07    2253404

Replying To Crinigan:  "Nearly 20,000 posts you have...and I'm the mouth. Go out and get a bit of exercise for yourself. Maybe going to one of Philly's gyms. Do you good."
You really think you know a person based on the number of posts they've made here?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1413 - 05/12/2019 15:58:01    2253409

Kieran Donaghy was a man who left it all in the pitch, the good and the bad. Fair play to him I say.

The same as Philly.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 05/12/2019 16:06:32    2253412

Dipped in to post a nice message about the great Jim and all I can see is messages about Stars charity work???? Ye kerry bucks shouldn't be in such foul form, ye might have half a sniff of getting back near the top table now that the greatest has kindly stepped aside.
: )

In seriousness, I dont think we will see the likes of Jim again, a serious achievement and a gentleman to boot. Leaves with his reputation untarnished, done the 5 in a row which most thought impossible and left on a high. He will go down as one of the GAA's greatest ever legends. Glad to see him go from a leinster championship perspective but overall he will be a loss to our games

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 05/12/2019 21:29:06    2253469

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Dipped in to post a nice message about the great Jim and all I can see is messages about Stars charity work???? Ye kerry bucks shouldn't be in such foul form, ye might have half a sniff of getting back near the top table now that the greatest has kindly stepped aside.
: )

In seriousness, I dont think we will see the likes of Jim again, a serious achievement and a gentleman to boot. Leaves with his reputation untarnished, done the 5 in a row which most thought impossible and left on a high. He will go down as one of the GAA's greatest ever legends. Glad to see him go from a leinster championship perspective but overall he will be a loss to our games"
Dublin's loss is Ballyboden U 11's gain. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 05/12/2019 22:55:11    2253478

Great achievement and he'll be remembered I guess but the only way to really way to become the greatest would be to do it with another county. Paudi O'Shea's achievements with Westmeath alone pot him Gavin in the shade.

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 05/12/2019 23:26:33    2253483

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "Great achievement and he'll be remembered I guess but the only way to really way to become the greatest would be to do it with another county. Paudi O'Shea's achievements with Westmeath alone pot him Gavin in the shade."
LMAO!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/12/2019 09:49:22    2253500

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "Great achievement and he'll be remembered I guess but the only way to really way to become the greatest would be to do it with another county. Paudi O'Shea's achievements with Westmeath alone pot him Gavin in the shade."
Not so sure I'd agree with that Paidi was sacked by Kerry after they were trounced by Tyrone , granted he won a Leinster with Westmeath but then got knocked out by Derry in a quarter final. His team were knocked out by Clare the following year. I just don't get the comparison to Gavin. It's like saying that Anthony Daly won a Leinster with Dublin so he is a better coach than Cody.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/12/2019 09:50:38    2253501

Jim Gavin the gentleman. He won the elusive 5 in a row. The best ever, not for debate.

thegen (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 06/12/2019 13:52:43    2253557

Jim Gavin is a legend. Great manager and a well liked and respected man. Good luck Jim.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/12/2019 16:08:54    2253580

Best wishes to Jim & his family today as he receives the freedom of our capital city

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/01/2020 15:55:44    2260604

Ha ha ha. LMAO. Jim did the 5 in a Row. The G.O A.T

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 18/01/2020 16:34:44    2260610

Or if he does it standing for the whole year on one leg. Or instructing his team solely through interpretive dance, or better yet, mimes.

Get a grip. Love him or hate him, there's no getting away from the fact that he's one of the greatest managers football has every seen.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/01/2020 23:00:55    2260686