Stephen Cluxton

Maybe he will retire
Maybe he won't
Regardless, this is the man. He is THE man.
We have never seen his like. We may never again.
Peeeless.
The greatest Dublin footballer of all time
The greatest goalkeeper of all time
Clucko, it's been a privilege to watch you since 2001. A genuine privilege.
He means so much to Dublin people and I think to football people in general. He transcends the sport.

Legend. Hero. Icon
Captain our captain
God bless you Stephen Cluxton.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/09/2019 19:41:20    2235755

He'll get his All Star this year! ; )

I'd have him short listed as POTY

He may not make the top 3 but jaysus two brilliant final performances

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/09/2019 19:52:31    2235758

im saying this for a few years now, but i get no support here in wexford, forget canavan,, tomkins, o shea,gooch etc, cluxton is the greatest footballer ever, not just the greatest goalkeeper

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 15/09/2019 20:34:16    2235775

Hear hear living walking legend!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 15/09/2019 20:42:27    2235777

The ultimate player and leader.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 15/09/2019 20:50:19    2235784

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "im saying this for a few years now, but i get no support here in wexford, forget canavan,, tomkins, o shea,gooch etc, cluxton is the greatest footballer ever, not just the greatest goalkeeper"
Let's put it another way,who stopped Kerry's bid for five in a row ?
Turning point was a Furlong save.
Seamus Darby gets the plaudits but not too many remember a goalkeepers influences on games and Cluxton is in a different class.
No question about his legacy.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/09/2019 20:50:39    2235786

He'll go down as a legend of the game.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 15/09/2019 20:59:45    2235793

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "im saying this for a few years now, but i get no support here in wexford, forget canavan,, tomkins, o shea,gooch etc, cluxton is the greatest footballer ever, not just the greatest goalkeeper"
Think that was the last time we will see him playing for Dublin tbh.
Looked like himself and Bernard were saying their last goodbyes to the Dublin fans on their lap of honour last night.
#Legends

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 15/09/2019 21:00:37    2235794

It's always hard to comment on a Dublin player and not be accused of having the blue tinted glasses on but he is a one of a kind IMO. I watched him yesterday pluck a kid out of the Cusack stand, little guy handed over by his dad, and Clucko walked him around with him around with the team and then jogged the kid back over to his dad from the Hogan stand. He stopped again there for photos and to sign autographs. He could have been centre stage with the lads and the cup but instead he spent the victory lap with the kids and their parents. Apart from being a great shot stopper, his commanding presence in the air (fisting away, fielding), his revolutionising of the kick-out, his penalty stopping record, his ability to take 45s, his perfectionism and training ethic, the guy is just a great leader and class act. A true legend and I really hope that when he does hang up the boots that he becomes a member of the backroom team. His leadership and experience would be invaluable.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 21:25:43    2235811

Player Of The Year by a distance, it's NOT even an argument.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 16/09/2019 00:56:53    2235890

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Maybe he will retire
Maybe he won't
Regardless, this is the man. He is THE man.
We have never seen his like. We may never again.
Peeeless.
The greatest Dublin footballer of all time
The greatest goalkeeper of all time
Clucko, it's been a privilege to watch you since 2001. A genuine privilege.
He means so much to Dublin people and I think to football people in general. He transcends the sport.

Legend. Hero. Icon
Captain our captain
God bless you Stephen Cluxton."
He is great. I think this was his best year ever. His distribution is like Tom Brady's. (American fella not a lad from Cavan).

PS. Piano, could you not have posted this in the one of the other 543 threads about Stevo and reactivated it rather than opening 544 ;)

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/09/2019 01:59:52    2235903

He had one save to make in the final, and the ball was kicked straight at him. Not exactly spectacular stuff now

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 16/09/2019 08:15:59    2235912

Good for another 20 years yet.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 16/09/2019 08:43:00    2235920

That 60 yard kick he nailed 2nd half was outrageous. He nailed another one to Fenton in the first half, Cusack stand side that complimented the pace of Fentons run perfectly even with a Kerry man on his shoulder.

If he does announce his retirement I think it would be a fitting tribute to give him FOTY.
As Tomas said on Saturday, its only when he goes that we'll realise how good he is

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 16/09/2019 11:01:27    2235987

Replying To Joxer:  "It's always hard to comment on a Dublin player and not be accused of having the blue tinted glasses on but he is a one of a kind IMO. I watched him yesterday pluck a kid out of the Cusack stand, little guy handed over by his dad, and Clucko walked him around with him around with the team and then jogged the kid back over to his dad from the Hogan stand. He stopped again there for photos and to sign autographs. He could have been centre stage with the lads and the cup but instead he spent the victory lap with the kids and their parents. Apart from being a great shot stopper, his commanding presence in the air (fisting away, fielding), his revolutionising of the kick-out, his penalty stopping record, his ability to take 45s, his perfectionism and training ethic, the guy is just a great leader and class act. A true legend and I really hope that when he does hang up the boots that he becomes a member of the backroom team. His leadership and experience would be invaluable."
Excellent post. And of course its gotten some thumbs down from the begrudgers.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 16/09/2019 11:26:14    2236005

I think so, definitely the greatest goalkeeper there's ever been, don't know about the greatest footballer of all time to be honest though.

He has been though by far Dublin's most important footballer of all time.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1336 - 16/09/2019 11:55:38    2236022

Replying To Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake:  "He had one save to make in the final, and the ball was kicked straight at him. Not exactly spectacular stuff now"
You don't understand the game.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 17/09/2019 17:46:13    2236726

he is a legend and a class player and changed the game thats for sure. just wish he had more of a character though lol
that dont take away from his greatness though . fair play

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 17/09/2019 18:00:13    2236737

Replying To Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake:  "He had one save to make in the final, and the ball was kicked straight at him. Not exactly spectacular stuff now"
Are you Defaulter or Bliainanair??? Come out come out where ever you are???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2019 18:21:23    2236749

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Player Of The Year by a distance, it's NOT even an argument."
Player of the decade

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 17/09/2019 18:50:33    2236764