Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Replying To timmyhogan:  "Not sure about your detective work there Flaker.
In the drawn match in 16 when Lane had the whistle the dubs scored 0-3 (or thereabouts) from play - today 1-17."
Thanks for your input. You do know there was a replay and Mayo struggled for scores in the closing minutes where Dublin got them easier, including Costello who got 0-3 as a sub. Same for Kerry today, shooting percentages way down in the second half. Hope that clears that up for you. Same in 17 in the last quarter.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 15/09/2019 03:57:59    2235448

There has been speculation that Jim Gavin might quit after achieving the 5 in a row.Listening to his post match interview,it doesn't sound like he's going anywhere.The core of this Dublin team is young.Fenton,Kilkenny,Mannion are 26.Con O'Callaghan is only 23.They can dominate indefinitely.Kerry are the biggest challengers and will be again next year but if Dublin retain their appetite for it,it's hard not to see them doing 6 in a row and beyond.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 15/09/2019 07:21:33    2235450

Replying To arock:  "Maybe the likes of your lot, Keegan and O'connor serial divers, media darlings the face that all is bad in the game, sling your hook."
Ah arock it's the pot and the kettle situation I'm afraid. Everyone is at this gamesmanship Dublin mayo Kerry Tyrone etc. Don't be getting blinded by certain narratives that have being doing the rounds the last decade. Anyway overcarrying the ball is one issue that needs to address by officials it happens every match and as being stated is resulting in crucial scores being got by all counties my own included. It's a bugbear for me when I'm watching the game but then if you get goals from them you take them. Congrats to ye on the 5 in a row.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 15/09/2019 08:24:02    2235458

Replying To superbluedub:  "you are something else , mouthing out of you on here for weeks , how you were convinced your lot would beat Dublin, now your calling for changes , go away you are a whinger kid."
Kerry are my team of course I'll back them to win, sure what else am I or any other Kerry supporter going to do in a run to an allireland? Say oh no we can't win it ?

Welcome to the new SPL everyone.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/09/2019 08:24:35    2235459

Replying To mayo_123:  "12 steps who else but Dublin would get away with it but that said fair play great achievement congrats"
Everyone gets away with it ourselves included

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 15/09/2019 08:30:32    2235460

Congrats to Dublin on what is an incredible achievement. Jim Gavin has definitely cemented his place as one of the greatest if not the greatest manager in the game. This history books will say this group of players will be seen as the greatest team to play the game. For me I have my feelings on that and many other will have there's it's not important today. Yesterday we saw for the most part an intriguing close battle with some sublime score taking from both sides. Ocallaghan and mannion stood tall for Dublin yesterday scoring brilliant points. The dubs accuracy was phenomenal and I think Kerry will rue a missed opportunity with the amount of wides they amassed, you simply can't afford them against this Dublin team. Kerry tired by the end and couldn't get scores they needed. I think diarmuid Connolly May have to work to stay in gavins plans he made a fantastic pass to Kilkenny (if I remember right) but he struggled to pull off his other attempts maybe due to his late inclusion in the squad. Anyways no doubt the Dublin squad will be eager to add to 5 in a row and set a new benchmark which I would think will be hard to match for any team. Congrats lads and we will see ye again for battle in 2020!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 15/09/2019 08:44:32    2235463

Replying To superbluedub:  "you are something else , mouthing out of you on here for weeks , how you were convinced your lot would beat Dublin, now your calling for changes , go away you are a whinger kid."
You said it, such a moaner...whingedomboy

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 15/09/2019 09:03:38    2235466

Replying To TheUsername:  "For Anton.

And five in a row,
Crying cockles and mussels,
And five in a row."
For Anton.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 15/09/2019 09:08:15    2235468

Replying To lilylanger:  "Kevin McLoughin got away with it & relegated Donegal in the last play of the match up in Donegal. So Mayo for one get away with it too."
Kildare my arse

Dmck19 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 15/09/2019 09:14:48    2235469

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations to Dublin, no excuses the better team won, we're a good bit off their level but we'll live and learn.

Moran has questions to answer but that's for another day and it probably wouldn't have mattered anyway."
Ye moran had all the time in the world to catch it was defiantly the turning point + we had 10 poor wides to Dublin s 4 should have started One of Tommy Kilian or maybe JOE instead of O Connor

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 15/09/2019 09:56:18    2235474

Replying To superbluedub:  "of course you are , your a Kerry man"
Why weren't you out celebrating instead of being your usual keyboard pruik?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 15/09/2019 09:56:45    2235475

Replying To essmac:  "Really? They lost by 6 points and were never in sight of a win, frankly. Do you see them winning next year?"
Yeah, really. That's the first time in a long while that I've seen Dublin play the full 70mins at their top level. Kerry actually managed to stay with them for large portions of it which really impressed me, albeit with a bit of help from the ref in the first half. So due to that performance, their age profile, and that even Dublin will have to have a fallow year eventually, I think Kerry are well placed to get the Sam.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 15/09/2019 10:16:31    2235480

Murchan hopped the ball 2m outside the D and kicked his goal on the 13m line, a full 22m further up the pitch. Bearing in mind the men's triple jump record is 18.3m it was some going in 4 steps.

Still, given that the lad was probably concussed from a deliberate elbow to the face by Clifford in the first half, he deserved his goal.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 15/09/2019 10:20:55    2235481

Replying To HighKings:  "Yeah, really. That's the first time in a long while that I've seen Dublin play the full 70mins at their top level. Kerry actually managed to stay with them for large portions of it which really impressed me, albeit with a bit of help from the ref in the first half. So due to that performance, their age profile, and that even Dublin will have to have a fallow year eventually, I think Kerry are well placed to get the Sam."
A bit of help from the ref in the 1st half... Under statement of the century

We couldnt buy a free in that 1st half.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 15/09/2019 10:41:23    2235488

Congratulations to Dublin and best wishes to the Dublin posters on here, Clon,Liamo,Real Dub, Jim,Jackeen I'm sure I'm missing a few!
Enjoy the winter see you next spring.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 15/09/2019 10:42:47    2235489

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Murchan hopped the ball 2m outside the D and kicked his goal on the 13m line, a full 22m further up the pitch. Bearing in mind the men's triple jump record is 18.3m it was some going in 4 steps.

Still, given that the lad was probably concussed from a deliberate elbow to the face by Clifford in the first half, he deserved his goal."
Murchan was being fouled by Moran...take that into account.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 15/09/2019 10:46:05    2235491

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Murchan hopped the ball 2m outside the D and kicked his goal on the 13m line, a full 22m further up the pitch. Bearing in mind the men's triple jump record is 18.3m it was some going in 4 steps.

Still, given that the lad was probably concussed from a deliberate elbow to the face by Clifford in the first half, he deserved his goal."
David Clifford is a super player who I enjoy watching, but his elbow on Murchan was nasty.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/09/2019 11:27:33    2235513

I wish people who talk about "greatest of all time " would be more specific about the time frame they refer to.Are they talking about the period 1884-2019 or 1920-2019 .....or what?

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 15/09/2019 11:38:22    2235518

Replying To westkerry:  "Congratulations to Dublin and best wishes to the Dublin posters on here, Clon,Liamo,Real Dub, Jim,Jackeen I'm sure I'm missing a few!
Enjoy the winter see you next spring."
Cheers, likewise, winter well and we'll have more great battles in 2020.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 15/09/2019 11:43:29    2235520

Replying To essmac:  "Really? They lost by 6 points and were never in sight of a win, frankly. Do you see them winning next year?"
Am I right in saying you talked your own county up this year and debated it with me? Kerry have a better chance as things stand than Mayo and Tyrone. Last years final was a training session.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 15/09/2019 11:45:20    2235523