Dublin 2015 - 2019

Replying To Crinigan:  "You loved it did you? One would think you'd be more concerned why Kildare's best players don't think intercounty football is worth the effort."
Away with you and start a thread if you want to discuss it. I am commenting on this thread thanks very much for your concern though.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 15/09/2019 10:21:58    2235482

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I'm hoping too. The more you win the sooner we get change."
No harm in dreaming

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/09/2019 10:43:32    2235490

Replying To Setantawatchl:  "Greatest ever and the standard to which everyone else needs to aspire to.

Cavan were the first to win an All Ireland outside of Ireland but how many of Dublin's 5 titles were won on British soil?

Congratulations to Dublin we will see this again."
I think the answer is 4?

The 2019 title was won on Irish (actually on Dublin) soil as prior to this year the turf/soil used in Croke Park was imported from the UK.

BlueBeret (Dublin) - Posts: 54 - 15/09/2019 10:48:18    2235494

Replying To runnerin:  "Well done great side not easy to say it as a Meath man but fantastic group of players
Still think the Kerry side of old were a better team but they didn't achieve what Dublin did but we'll done to them
Savage group if lads in fairness"
A phenomenal achievement. Back to back All-Irelands were a much rarer achievement in the last 30 years than in previous decades, so to put 5 together is phenomenal.
I've seen a lot of comments about conditioning and athletes. For me Dublin's skill level stands out. So many of their forwards are very comfortable off both feet. Their kick passing was excellent yesterday for the most part yesterday.
While it's not fair to compare eras, I've seen comments saying the Kerry team of the 70s and 80s were a better 'footballing' team. They weren't in my opinion, and not even close. The skill levels in today's game are night and day compared to then.
Pat Spillane who would've been one of the most skillful players of that era, was predominantly one-footed.
Every sport evolves and it's only natural with the amount of time spent coaching young lads today that skills would improve.
Congrats to the Dubs. It's up to the rest of us to step up.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 15/09/2019 10:48:27    2235495

Replying To bennybunny:  "Dublin have always had 'advantages'. Their population was always bigger. Proportionally, it was less in the past. Historically, they have rarely ever played a Leinster final, AI semi final outside of Croke Park. Nothing new there. Dublin players have always worked in Dublin and Dublin students have always had the opportunity to study in Dublin. Nothing new either. Though this advantage has surely decreased as it is easier to get in and pit of Dublin than in the past. There is large amount of money being spent on underage for sure. Disproportionately and that is not fair. However, it is for future teams and not this one. If this year's minor hurling, football teams is what they an produce after all the money spent, then waste of money.

The only thing that is new is the bitterness to winning. Teams used to love beating Dublin in Croke Park.. Silencing the hill.. Mocking the jackeens so to speak. The advantages were only mentioned in pity.. Ie a million people and one shite team. Now, for the first time they have produced a truly great side. A team full of Dubs. They deserve nothing but credit. The standard has never been higher and they have set the standards."
It's not a team full of dubs though but your right about that teams used to love playing and beating dublin, now teams are beaten in there own heads before they even enter the pitch.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 15/09/2019 10:54:19    2235496

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "There's no honor in winning a lob-sided competition.

I could give you 18 million reasons for the begrudging attitudes, each of them justified."
Ah would you stop, the bitterness dripping out of you and your type. Jealousy will get you no where.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 15/09/2019 11:09:31    2235505

The current Celtic team will do the 10 in a row next season. .

Poor era. Same as the current decade in Gaelic football

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 15/09/2019 11:11:18    2235506

Replying To Joxer:  "A Meath, Kerry and Tyrone team were in agreement tonight on TSG. This Dublin team is the greatest of all time. I think that says all that anyone needs to know. An incredible group of players."
You're taking the word of people on the most pro Dublin media outlet in the country. Fair enough, I like the history of the GAA and I'd rather watch the style of football the Down and Galway teams of the 60s played than the pass the parcel backwards style of Dublin today.

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 15/09/2019 11:21:11    2235510

Replying To Joxer:  "A Meath, Kerry and Tyrone team were in agreement tonight on TSG. This Dublin team is the greatest of all time. I think that says all that anyone needs to know. An incredible group of players."
Doesn't matter what anyone says. Especially not anyone here. The history books will record these achievements and no amount of begrudgery will erase that.
People can say what they want that's what places like this encourage but that's par for the course. There will always be the discenting noises but it matters not a jot.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/09/2019 11:26:17    2235512

Replying To Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake:  "You're taking the word of people on the most pro Dublin media outlet in the country. Fair enough, I like the history of the GAA and I'd rather watch the style of football the Down and Galway teams of the 60s played than the pass the parcel backwards style of Dublin today."
Did you watch the first 15 mins of yesterday's match? Dublin moved the ball very quickly and picked off some excellent scores. Their direct style was causing havoc for Kerry, who started the game with more players pushed up.
As they were leaking scores badly, Kerry pulled more men behind the ball and started playing a more counter-attacking style, which paid dividends. They slowed the Dublin attacks, turned over the ball a few times and broke at pace to pick off some nice scores.
Dublin readjusted in the 2nd half to deal with this and simply didn't engage the mass of bodies, instead patiently picking their opening. They'd have been daft to kick ball in quickly in that scenario and it would've cost them the match.
To blame the team in possession for keeping the ball, when the opposition has 15 players inside their own 45 is stupid. If a team wants the ball back, they know what they have to do.
Look at what Dublin managed to do in the last 10 minutes of the drawn game. They pushed up and took risks, even with 14 men, but got the rewards.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 15/09/2019 12:13:31    2235541

Replying To cavanman47:  "The current Celtic team will do the 10 in a row next season. .

Poor era. Same as the current decade in Gaelic football"
Loving this decade in Gaelic football myself , but then you cant please everyone :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/09/2019 12:56:26    2235561

Cé a bhéas ann i 2020....... Bodanna Áth Cliath don 6 ?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 15/09/2019 13:57:47    2235581

Replying To superbluedub:  "farmers don't pay tax -:)"
Nor do feral parasites in social housing...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/09/2019 14:06:56    2235585

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I'm hoping too. The more you win the sooner we get change."
So you'd rather get hammered by Kerry than Dublin. Fair play to you.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 14:07:17    2235586

Replying To Bon:  "Ah would you stop, the bitterness dripping out of you and your type. Jealousy will get you no where."
Kildare posters here are trying to join the celebrations as if they are their own. No wonder ye have such a pathetic history in the GAA. Win nothing and any time ye came close it was with a team full of players from other counties...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/09/2019 14:08:36    2235587

Replying To Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake:  "You're taking the word of people on the most pro Dublin media outlet in the country. Fair enough, I like the history of the GAA and I'd rather watch the style of football the Down and Galway teams of the 60s played than the pass the parcel backwards style of Dublin today."
Not sure what Dublin team you're watching but as O'Rourke himself said, not only are you looking at the greatest team of all time you're looking at the greatest forwards of all time. Left foot, right foot, 20m out, 45m out it doesn't matter. Did we see this in the 60s? The athleticism and skill levels these days are unprecedented. Kerry and Dublin forwards are unreal. Dublin hit 10 from play in the first half, they had 1-11 from play by the 36m. Unheard of.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 14:12:51    2235589

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "It's not a team full of dubs though but your right about that teams used to love playing and beating dublin, now teams are beaten in there own heads before they even enter the pitch."
Okay, I'll bite.

How is 'not a team full of Dubs'?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 15/09/2019 14:26:01    2235593

Replying To Joxer:  "So you'd rather get hammered by Kerry than Dublin. Fair play to you."
By Kildare, more likely next year..

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 15/09/2019 14:26:47    2235595

Replying To cavanman47:  "The current Celtic team will do the 10 in a row next season. .

Poor era. Same as the current decade in Gaelic football"
I believe Celtic can purchase players, is this correct?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 15/09/2019 14:28:04    2235596

Replying To Crinigan:  "Kildare posters here are trying to join the celebrations as if they are their own. No wonder ye have such a pathetic history in the GAA. Win nothing and any time ye came close it was with a team full of players from other counties..."
This is really grating on you isn't it?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 15/09/2019 14:28:16    2235597