Dublin 2015 - 2019

They are a great team, with a great manager, It is no mean feat to keep them motivated, but anyone who doesn't see the advantages they have is in denial. It shouldn't take from the players, nor the fans in their celebrations of a great achievement, but fans from other counties, have legitimate points regarding advantages.

johnq (UK) - Posts: 7 - 14/09/2019 22:41:46    2235372

Fantastic team and great ambassadors for the game, I got one prediction right today so I'll make another now, the next team to beat them in championship will be the same team that beat them last time, Donegal,can't say when it'll be though!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 14/09/2019 22:44:06    2235375

Nothing tainted about Dublin's wins. Well done to them. Most people are gracious to be fair. We should acknowledge what a great side they are. The greates. Congratulate them for the next 48 hours or so. Then the love in is over. This Kerry team will definitely win an All Ireland. Tyrone have a great chance. I feel Micky Harte is holding them back. Donegal have a good enough side. Mayo will be back. Kildare have great potential. I feel that fortunes have turned in Cork too. I think the standard of football has never been higher or more competitive. It just shows what a great side Dublin are. But there are enough teams there that can and will beat them.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 14/09/2019 22:45:00    2235377

Bregrudgery still in full flow on the forum. Very sad to see on such a historic evening. People need to grow up.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1907 - 14/09/2019 22:46:43    2235379

Replying To lilylanger:  "Loved Kilkenny showing a bit of emotion when interviewed."
You loved it did you? One would think you'd be more concerned why Kildare's best players don't think intercounty football is worth the effort.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 14/09/2019 22:59:59    2235388

Greatest ever and the standard to which everyone else needs to aspire to.

Cavan were the first to win an All Ireland outside of Ireland but how many of Dublin's 5 titles were won on British soil?

Congratulations to Dublin we will see this again.

Setantawatchl (Cavan) - Posts: 132 - 14/09/2019 23:03:16    2235390

Well done great side not easy to say it as a Meath man but fantastic group of players
Still think the Kerry side of old were a better team but they didn't achieve what Dublin did but we'll done to them
Savage group if lads in fairness

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 14/09/2019 23:13:57    2235392

The Kerry team of the 1970s and the Galway team of the 1960s are every bit as impressive as this Dublin team. Let's not forget Down in the 1960s also, Meath in the 80s, Cork in the 90s and Dublin in the 70s. And that's from recent memory. The first half of the 20th century had great teams, Wexford and Cavan for example.
Dublin fans hate to hear the financial aspect, but the competition is skewed in their favour. Something might be done about it after they get eight in a row

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 14/09/2019 23:33:28    2235397

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Fingers crossed"
I'm hoping too. The more you win the sooner we get change.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 15/09/2019 00:00:59    2235409

Most humble group to win one all Ireland never mind 5 and play the game the way it should be.
Delighted for them.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/09/2019 00:17:03    2235411

Replying To Crinigan:  "The lack of hype and buildup as well the reaction on social media says it all. 5 in a win, supposed to be special and nobody cares. Why?

It's a 100% tainted achievement."
love this keep it up COYBIB -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/09/2019 00:25:10    2235417

Replying To Crinigan:  "You loved it did you? One would think you'd be more concerned why Kildare's best players don't think intercounty football is worth the effort."
But this thread isn't about Kildare football as the title of it may suggest to you.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1907 - 15/09/2019 00:25:27    2235418

Replying To greysoil:  "No doubt the miserable git's are paying for the party? Glad our taxes are going to use."
farmers don't pay tax -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/09/2019 00:31:30    2235423

Have to salute the greatest team of all time having achieved the Holy Grail of 5 in a row. Incredible team, great skills, great management team & players who are humble & carry themselves well, great ambassadors. Fair play to Kerry who put it up to them, great game of football. Looks like both will dominate for some time as no one else is near either of them. Yes the issues of money, coaching & use of Croke Park need to be dealt with, but tonight the incredible 5 in a row team should be acclaimed.
Cluxton was man of the match for me, possibly his greatest ever performance, some of his lockouts were incredible.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/09/2019 00:52:42    2235428

Replying To Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake:  "The Kerry team of the 1970s and the Galway team of the 1960s are every bit as impressive as this Dublin team. Let's not forget Down in the 1960s also, Meath in the 80s, Cork in the 90s and Dublin in the 70s. And that's from recent memory. The first half of the 20th century had great teams, Wexford and Cavan for example.
Dublin fans hate to hear the financial aspect, but the competition is skewed in their favour. Something might be done about it after they get eight in a row"
A Meath, Kerry and Tyrone team were in agreement tonight on TSG. This Dublin team is the greatest of all time. I think that says all that anyone needs to know. An incredible group of players.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 01:30:42    2235437

The main reason Dublin won the 5 in a row was due to:
having the best players.
being well organised from youth-up in a large areas of the city that previously had no GAA (money helped in this aspect).
having a great manager team who was able to pick the better/best players (well distributed from a number of clubs)
all of above resulted in a huge amount of talent to pick from.

None of above would have resulted in winning AI's without the very good management team combined with very good committed players- you cannot buy talent!

I would add that there are many counties where you could throw money into, but they would not win AI's as they do not have the talent / numbers to pick from (money will not make a average footballer into a very good one).

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 15/09/2019 02:11:12    2235444

Replying To Setantawatchl:  "Greatest ever and the standard to which everyone else needs to aspire to.

Cavan were the first to win an All Ireland outside of Ireland but how many of Dublin's 5 titles were won on British soil?

Congratulations to Dublin we will see this again."
Absolutely, I'm sure the likes of Leitrim, Cavan and Longford just have to work a bit harder to get to Dublin's level.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 15/09/2019 08:12:07    2235453

Replying To Bon:  "Bregrudgery still in full flow on the forum. Very sad to see on such a historic evening. People need to grow up."
There's no honor in winning a lob-sided competition.

I could give you 18 million reasons for the begrudging attitudes, each of them justified.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 15/09/2019 08:14:29    2235455

Replying To johnq:  "They are a great team, with a great manager, It is no mean feat to keep them motivated, but anyone who doesn't see the advantages they have is in denial. It shouldn't take from the players, nor the fans in their celebrations of a great achievement, but fans from other counties, have legitimate points regarding advantages."
Dublin have always had 'advantages'. Their population was always bigger. Proportionally, it was less in the past. Historically, they have rarely ever played a Leinster final, AI semi final outside of Croke Park. Nothing new there. Dublin players have always worked in Dublin and Dublin students have always had the opportunity to study in Dublin. Nothing new either. Though this advantage has surely decreased as it is easier to get in and pit of Dublin than in the past. There is large amount of money being spent on underage for sure. Disproportionately and that is not fair. However, it is for future teams and not this one. If this year's minor hurling, football teams is what they an produce after all the money spent, then waste of money.

The only thing that is new is the bitterness to winning. Teams used to love beating Dublin in Croke Park.. Silencing the hill.. Mocking the jackeens so to speak. The advantages were only mentioned in pity.. Ie a million people and one shite team. Now, for the first time they have produced a truly great side. A team full of Dubs. They deserve nothing but credit. The standard has never been higher and they have set the standards.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 15/09/2019 09:06:11    2235467

Replying To arock:  "My local here is rocking, they couldn't care less what a few miserable gits think"
Yet you obviously do as you responded! I'd say you're some craic, an apparently historic evening and you're stuck into your phone on a forum! Hahaha!

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 15/09/2019 09:42:32    2235472