Underdogs 2018 TG4

Replying To Bon:  "I have to say that I like the concept of the programme, but they seem to spend a good chunk of the episodes looking for names to send home rather than showing the skills on show, I understand its part of the gimmick but its overkill."
It's X-factor for gaelic football

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 21/09/2018 16:05:22    2143182

Have been watching this recently and have wondered about the coaches qualifications? I mean I'm not aware of Galvin or Mulcahy but Silke has never involved himself with Football after retired at any level? Widely held belief in North Galway he made the team in 98' as a result of the Archaic rule allowing county champions to nominate the County Captain.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 25/09/2018 12:04:18    2143697

Replying To WunderBar:  "Have been watching this recently and have wondered about the coaches qualifications? I mean I'm not aware of Galvin or Mulcahy but Silke has never involved himself with Football after retired at any level? Widely held belief in North Galway he made the team in 98' as a result of the Archaic rule allowing county champions to nominate the County Captain."
So basically Galway won while carrying him as baggage .
Widely held belief eh ! Seems like some people just love to knock anyone that is successful.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/09/2018 14:01:44    2143732

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "So basically Galway won while carrying him as baggage .
Widely held belief eh ! Seems like some people just love to knock anyone that is successful."
Dublin weren't the financial powerhouse they are today and Ulster football was in a bit of a dip at the time.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 25/09/2018 14:28:34    2143737

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "So basically Galway won while carrying him as baggage .
Widely held belief eh ! Seems like some people just love to knock anyone that is successful."
Sure thats widely known about Way Silke. Nothing archaic about the rule now - they had to do away with it. Especially after him costing Galway v Mayo in '99 in Tuam and sure we are all aware of his performance v Kerry in 2000 All Ireland Final drawn game when Mike Frank Russell gave him the absolute run around that day. Memory serves me correctly he got the flick for the replay from JOM and never played after that.

Wish the Underdogs nothing but the best. Rumour has it they play Galway in Pearse Stadium but don't quote me on that. Personally I think Galvin is good on the show. Has the respect of the players unlike the other 2. Hel have them well prepared to meet fire with fire if and when it is Galway they play. Would be worried about the underdogs though as they wont have come up against such a negative team untill then surely ?

EugeneFox (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 25/09/2018 14:37:31    2143741

A problem is that you only see what the editors decide to show, probably because they believe that it makes good television . The emphasis is on showing the physical traing they are put through, measurements of 'fitness' levels and snatches from the games they play. Not once have I seen any of the managers put them through skills sessions or discuss tactics, teamwork or particular 'plays'. The message it sends out is that the only requirement to be a county footballer is to be physically fit.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/09/2018 15:08:21    2143753

Replying To neverright:  "A problem is that you only see what the editors decide to show, probably because they believe that it makes good television . The emphasis is on showing the physical traing they are put through, measurements of 'fitness' levels and snatches from the games they play. Not once have I seen any of the managers put them through skills sessions or discuss tactics, teamwork or particular 'plays'. The message it sends out is that the only requirement to be a county footballer is to be physically fit."
Thats actually an interesting take on things. Personally if i were involved id be expecting them to have the cop on to realise the levels of fitness needed in order to compete against a county team themselves and in turn, spend more time on the important stuff such as say - kickout strategy, getting the ball to the lads who can shoot, setting up defensively and working the ball from defence to attack.

All things Mr.Silke knows very little about.

EugeneFox (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 25/09/2018 16:12:14    2143764

Galvin was training them down our place tonight, they were moving well.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1907 - 26/09/2018 23:03:03    2144041

Really looking forward to tonights episode. My own county man Daire Curely has been moving well in there so looking forward to hopefully seeing more of him. Worrying though if they can't beat a 3rd string defence forces side and they expected to put Galway to the pin of their collar in Pearse Stdium. Wel have to wait and see.

Hopefully the little man Richie from Sligo gets a good crack at it tonight in the challenge game. They seem to be carrying a few weaker players but they will get eliminated as the weeks go on, or at least that is the format of the show.

EugeneFox (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 27/09/2018 11:22:33    2144078

Replying To WunderBar:  "Have been watching this recently and have wondered about the coaches qualifications? I mean I'm not aware of Galvin or Mulcahy but Silke has never involved himself with Football after retired at any level? Widely held belief in North Galway he made the team in 98' as a result of the Archaic rule allowing county champions to nominate the County Captain."
Silke trained Jarleths for years. Shane Walsh on record saying Silk is one of the best coaches hes played under.

I'm not a Silke fan by any stretch but hes get plenty of it regarding 98-01 so probably due a bit of fair dues when he has actually trained some teams

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 27/09/2018 11:44:38    2144088

Enjoyed last night's episode. They must be half decent if they beat a team of the quality of Moorefield. Think next week's show is down in Kerry and must be based around the match they played against Glenbeigh a month ago.
Seems Galvin is more or less acting as the manager and main voice on the sideline.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/09/2018 15:40:09    2144250

Massive error by management in the way they dealt with a returning player missing for weeks & picking out guys for elimination who were giving it all. It will certainly affect the team dynamic. Bad judgement by all three, also the way a young man was humiliated on national TV with elimination & then reversal was shocking. Did they ever hear or consider mental health & player well being before they humiliated this guy live on TV. Paul Galvin was having a blinder before that, looked like he wanted to make an example of someone for challenging him. All respect now lost.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 30/09/2018 01:05:05    2144379

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Massive error by management in the way they dealt with a returning player missing for weeks & picking out guys for elimination who were giving it all. It will certainly affect the team dynamic. Bad judgement by all three, also the way a young man was humiliated on national TV with elimination & then reversal was shocking. Did they ever hear or consider mental health & player well being before they humiliated this guy live on TV. Paul Galvin was having a blinder before that, looked like he wanted to make an example of someone for challenging him. All respect now lost."
I take your point to a fair extent. He had one training ground back chat incident. Of course though maybe there is more going on behind the scenes between Harford and the coaches. Valerie Mulcahy said he always has to have the last word.

I don't agree re. humiliation on tv. If you sign up for reality tv that's the deal. Also in any serious sport, male or female, you'll have confrontational issues, areas where very blunt messages have to be communicated. A coach has to communicate effectively and if he was to say,hang on i better not say this or that because it might effect this fella's mental health your going nowhere.

I would counter argue that learning to deal with such situations in life promotes real mental health and stability rather than wrapping people in cotton wool and then when bad stuff arises they can't cope.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 01/10/2018 16:36:46    2144627

What sort of team will Dublin have out tonight? Mixture of seniors and U21s I guess?

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 19/10/2018 13:51:54    2147242

Replying To gaelicgab:  "What sort of team will Dublin have out tonight? Mixture of seniors and U21s I guess?"
Hopefully see a bit of a mix and plenty of young lads on show.

The main stays won't be involved and I'd be surprised to see anyone that got AI series game time involved but who knows..

It's an exhibition match for a reality TV show after all but a big deal for the Underdogs and I hope they perform well.

Would especially like to see the Dub players do well and have a good game.

Be interesting to see who starts for Dublin. If it's an inexperienced side with lots of young lads then it could well be a decent match.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/10/2018 15:11:52    2147257

I see Hoganstand are going with

"Now, Scallan through the TG4 programme Underdogs has the chance to line out against a Dublin side which let's face it are the greatest side of all time."

While I 100% agree

It'll be far from the greatest side of all time that takes to the pitch tonight though. A very different looking Dubs team.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/10/2018 15:15:52    2147258

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hopefully see a bit of a mix and plenty of young lads on show.

The main stays won't be involved and I'd be surprised to see anyone that got AI series game time involved but who knows..

It's an exhibition match for a reality TV show after all but a big deal for the Underdogs and I hope they perform well.

Would especially like to see the Dub players do well and have a good game.

Be interesting to see who starts for Dublin. If it's an inexperienced side with lots of young lads then it could well be a decent match."
Thanks for the reply. A chance for the Dublin lads to stake a claim for a place on the O'Byrne Cup panel!

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 19/10/2018 15:30:55    2147259

No trouble at all

Yeah good point. I'm sure there's lads looking for a performance to bolster themselves

Hope it's a good game

Hoping to bring the young lad to it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/10/2018 16:04:30    2147267

Hopefully its someway competitive, I don't think the underdogs won any of the challenge games they showed on the programme.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1907 - 19/10/2018 17:04:01    2147273

It looks like a weak bunch of underdogs this time around. They conceded 3 17 against UCD who are only starting out with a new team, I think there was some poor eliminations too early on and they ended up keeping lads who didn't dedicate themselves to it after

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 19/10/2018 17:18:17    2147275