James Horan Is Back

Replying To catch22:  "Sure Jack O Connor didn't want the bloody job. Kevin Mc Stay didn't want it either. Both experienced top managers. You basically had the two lads and that's the bottom line. Stop the oul scutter about all these fellas that were mad for the Mayo job. You say there not too many top managers out there , sure ye got rid of the one ye had."
At least Mayo have two lads looking for the job, Kerry only have one and Roscommon have none.

Seriously though, give it a rest - you haven't a clue and your bitterness just seeps through every post you make. Like it's not as if you have spoken to Jack O'Connor and asked him. And you say Kevin McStay didn't want the Mayo job as if its some slight against Mayo, actually Kevin McStay doesn't want ANY job but he previously tried his best to get the Mayo job.

You're bitter - end of.

Unstoppable123 (UK) - Posts: 14 - 21/09/2018 11:49:53    2143142

Within Mayo Horan and Solan are the only candidate's fit enough and qualified enough to go for the job and take it on. Horan I would expect to get it, but it will be interesting to see who he has on his backroom team. Anyone spouting on about Kevin McStay or Jack O'Connor not wanting the job, and making it sound as though they wouldn't touch the job are just trying to make a negative story for the sake of it. It would not make any sense for Jack O'Connor to manage Mayo as he lives in Kerry, knows nothing about club football in Mayo, and is obviously keen on getting the Kerry senior job which I think he will. Kevin McStay has gone for the Mayo job twice and got shot down, and he also said he is retiring full stop from inter county management when he stood down from Roscommon. He will almost certainly return to the easy life in Montrose, which I hope he does as he was the best analyst RTE had.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 21/09/2018 11:58:20    2143144

Replying To Unstoppable123:  "At least Mayo have two lads looking for the job, Kerry only have one and Roscommon have none.

Seriously though, give it a rest - you haven't a clue and your bitterness just seeps through every post you make. Like it's not as if you have spoken to Jack O'Connor and asked him. And you say Kevin McStay didn't want the Mayo job as if its some slight against Mayo, actually Kevin McStay doesn't want ANY job but he previously tried his best to get the Mayo job.

You're bitter - end of."
Listen, there's no fear of Kerry and what happens in Roscommon is neither here nor there.
''Tis the Mayo job that's in question here because of yeer blaguarding of a decent man. Who'd want that carry on.
Horan will get the position again as he's the only real option for it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/09/2018 13:51:19    2143157

Is there a better panel in Mayo now than when Horan left previously.
I don't think so.
So what's going to make the difference this year or next year above any other year previous?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 21/09/2018 14:25:24    2143168

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Is there a better panel in Mayo now than when Horan left previously.
I don't think so.
So what's going to make the difference this year or next year above any other year previous?"
Ya the panel is maybe around the same level..it was decision making that let Horan down in the end so hopefully hes improved..might bring Peter Canavan in with him

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 21/09/2018 19:43:22    2143199

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Is there a better panel in Mayo now than when Horan left previously.
I don't think so.
So what's going to make the difference this year or next year above any other year previous?"
Plenty of talent in mayo, always has been. It's about bringing in the young lads and developing them.

Everyone keeps telling Mayo we are finished, it's been said for years..maybe try figure out where your own county is going wrong.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 22/09/2018 12:53:11    2143252

James Horan is the right man for the job but needs some time to bring through new players. I am not saying that the new manager needs to get rid of all of the old guard but they need some fresh blood. You can still use guys like Andy Moran and Keith Higgins but has to be as impact subs. Dublin are the standard bearers and their speed and fitness is unreal, therefore you need a core group of young fit players to topple them. I would still rate Mayo as the second best team in the country if they were injury free. Anyway best of luck to Mayo, I think we all really missed them in the latter stages of the championship this year.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 23/09/2018 23:48:44    2143439

http://www.hoganstand.com/Mayo/Article/Index/290692

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 24/09/2018 16:26:31    2143560

I think James might be tempted by the 14/1 odds given for Mayo next season :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 25/09/2018 00:16:32    2143637

Kudos to the much maligned Mayo county board who kept the heat of the Players this time aorund unlike the Conolly/Holmes incident. James Horan has been out of the game along time now, understood he had his heart set on Hurling Management, hard to see what he can do with an aging Mayo Setup.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 25/09/2018 11:54:28    2143687

Apparently any manager who doesn't rate Conor O Shea can't be considered for the position ? Well thats what i heard.

EugeneFox (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 25/09/2018 12:00:54    2143691

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Hilarious that the trolls are always the least knowledgable on all topics. Horan had to approve the nomination from Ballintubber so yes he is interested. So he won't be stating he isn't interested. Try and keep up with the facts. By the way, outside of Dublin the only teams likely to even challenge Dublin next year are Mayo and Kerry, so I would say there are a few interested."
What data are you basing this assumption on?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 25/09/2018 12:03:46    2143695

Replying To Unstoppable123:  "I think you're a little off on this one.

Mayo, like previous years, were building to peak in August and got caught (nearly happened the past two years as well).

You seem quick to forget that Tyrone were very fortunate to get away from Navan in the first round of the qualifiers. But really there is no point in comparing the Tyrone in Navan with the Tyrone that went up to Donegal in the final round of the Super 8. Tyrone were hitting their stride then and playing at their optimum.

In my view, Mayo at their peak and with everyone available are only weaker than Dublin and would fancy their chances against anyone else in big game in Croke Park."
Do you seriously think the Mayo team this year...having just about stayed up in the Championship, and who admitted before the Galway game that this was the game they were targeting from the outset of the year....THEN when and decided to peak for August once in the qualifiers?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 25/09/2018 12:09:28    2143699

He'll be leaving behind some £££ at Sky

Fair play to him giving up his valuable time for free

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/09/2018 12:15:43    2143702

Replying To The_DOC:  "Do you seriously think the Mayo team this year...having just about stayed up in the Championship, and who admitted before the Galway game that this was the game they were targeting from the outset of the year....THEN when and decided to peak for August once in the qualifiers?"
Us Mayo fans are always optimistic by nature.. Would you rather we all play the poor mouth here and say we have no hope next year? Would that make you feel all warm inside?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 25/09/2018 12:57:19    2143717

Ah a great sight to see James Horan is gang. I can hear it now lads - "we are getting the band back together". Andy Moran will be on the Mayo panel until his 50s with the same non-scoring Mayo forward panel to lose a few more All-Irelands happy days. O Shea will flex his muscle again and name his preferred 15 no bother to him

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 25/09/2018 14:46:11    2143746

Replying To The_DOC:  "Do you seriously think the Mayo team this year...having just about stayed up in the Championship, and who admitted before the Galway game that this was the game they were targeting from the outset of the year....THEN when and decided to peak for August once in the qualifiers?"
Mayo's league and Connacht championship form was identical in 2016, 2017 and 2018 under Rochford. That's no accident. Do you honestly think the Galway team that beat Mayo in 2016 and 2017 would have lived with Mayo in late August in Croke Park? Before you answer that, the team that beat Galway by 9 points in 2016, lost to Mayo by 6 points in the next round. And the team that beat Galway by 8 points in 2017, lost to Mayo by 5 points in the next round.

Maybe, just maybe, Mayo are slightly different team team in August and September than in May and June....

And come off it - Galway in Castlebar, they're hardly going to say any different.

Unstoppable123 (UK) - Posts: 14 - 25/09/2018 16:28:06    2143769

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "Ah a great sight to see James Horan is gang. I can hear it now lads - "we are getting the band back together". Andy Moran will be on the Mayo panel until his 50s with the same non-scoring Mayo forward panel to lose a few more All-Irelands happy days. O Shea will flex his muscle again and name his preferred 15 no bother to him"
Meanwhile over in Roscommon..the best is yet to come....so we keep hearing ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 25/09/2018 17:03:16    2143780

I don't think so.
The panel James Horan left behind in 2014 still had Alan Dillion,Barry Moran on it who were still able to provide a capable role for the team.

Andy Moran,David Clarke aged 30
Keith Higgins 29
Colm Boyle 28
Seamus O Shea,Ger Cafferky,Chris Barrett 27
Tom Parsons 26
Donal Vaughan,Kevin McLoughlin 25
Jason Doherty,Aidan O Shea,Lee Keegan 24
Cillan O Connor 22

Add 5 years onto to ages for 2019 plus the high mileage on their legs and you see clearly that this panel will not be better or at the same level. Some good players coming through but nearly every county in the top 10 has that but what Mayo need is replacements that are going to be as good as the likes of Boyle,Higgins,Moran and be able to make an impact in the business end of the championship. Challenging time ahead for Mayo and much tougher job for Horan on his return.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 25/09/2018 17:09:25    2143781

Replying To yew_tree:  "Meanwhile over in Roscommon..the best is yet to come....so we keep hearing ;)"
They had their chance in 1980, after that...

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 25/09/2018 17:19:58    2143787