Kildare V Carlow

Replying To Daith:  "I find it incredible that Carlow are 8/1 against a team that haven't won a game in 11 1/2 months.

Winning is a habit and loosing is a habit. Carlow by 2 against a county that is pound for pound the worst GAA county in the country."
This population argument that says Kildare should be a top team because we have one of the largest is a complete falsehood.

In my own town I would say about 20% of the people are kildare through and through. Theres another 50% have moved in over the last 30 years and couldnt care less if kildare won tomorrow in fact most of them woud probably take some enjoymemt out of it. Then there is about 30 % of the town who are not irish and couldnt even tell you the first thing about gaa never mind kildare gaa.

So Kildares population in real terms is no bigger than anywhere else in Leinster.

Its the same with meath, their population may have doubled in recent years but their current team is worst meath team i have ever seen.

Dont equate the number of people living within a county with potential strength of the countys GAA teams.

As for tomorrow game Kildare will have too much, have beaten a few top teams ( division 1) in recent weeks while i have to admit i was very disappointed with carlow in the division 4 final

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 26/05/2018 09:26:49    2103918

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hard to know. Are Kildare still living off the win over Meath nearly a year on?
Surely this is a bridge too far for Carlow?
I don't know. It will be interesting, I'll pop for Kildare by one, but for the good of gaa I'd love Carlow to win. Hon the loop the loops (Jersey) :)"
what Meath living on

cloon (None) - Posts: 76 - 26/05/2018 09:47:17    2103924

Replying To cloon:  "what Meath living on"
Winning games. I know it's been a long time since Kildare won one. But surely you haven't forgot??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2018 12:28:43    2103956

Replying To 11jm11:  "This population argument that says Kildare should be a top team because we have one of the largest is a complete falsehood.

In my own town I would say about 20% of the people are kildare through and through. Theres another 50% have moved in over the last 30 years and couldnt care less if kildare won tomorrow in fact most of them woud probably take some enjoymemt out of it. Then there is about 30 % of the town who are not irish and couldnt even tell you the first thing about gaa never mind kildare gaa.

So Kildares population in real terms is no bigger than anywhere else in Leinster.

Its the same with meath, their population may have doubled in recent years but their current team is worst meath team i have ever seen.

Dont equate the number of people living within a county with potential strength of the countys GAA teams.

As for tomorrow game Kildare will have too much, have beaten a few top teams ( division 1) in recent weeks while i have to admit i was very disappointed with carlow in the division 4 final"
This population argument that says Kildare should be a top team because we have one of the largest is a complete falsehood.
Please equate to Dublin or whoever in it's entirety.

There is no county in Ireland that hasn't been effected by immigration /emigeration least of all Kildare, I could remind you that in 1998 when immigration was at its lowest and at 165000 ish in Kildare, Kildare had 20% of its starting 15 imports from other counties, namely Karl O Dwyer,Kerry, Brian Murphy, Cork, Karl Lacy Tipperary, where as, as far as I can remember Carlow always palay'd with its own bred born and rearted.
Carlow will take the field tomorrow as the 2nd smallest county in Ireland with no imports.
Kildare have one Import tomorrow at least, never the less. - - -
May the best team win.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 26/05/2018 22:19:53    2104039

Replying To supersub15:  " This population argument that says Kildare should be a top team because we have one of the largest is a complete falsehood.
Please equate to Dublin or whoever in it's entirety.

There is no county in Ireland that hasn't been effected by immigration /emigeration least of all Kildare, I could remind you that in 1998 when immigration was at its lowest and at 165000 ish in Kildare, Kildare had 20% of its starting 15 imports from other counties, namely Karl O Dwyer,Kerry, Brian Murphy, Cork, Karl Lacy Tipperary, where as, as far as I can remember Carlow always palay'd with its own bred born and rearted.
Carlow will take the field tomorrow as the 2nd smallest county in Ireland with no imports.
Kildare have one Import tomorrow at least, never the less. - - -
May the best team win."
Top man supersub

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 509 - 26/05/2018 23:07:42    2104048

If this weekend has shown us anything it is that tradition is still a huge factor and divisional national league status dictates everything. By that reasoning Kikdare will win easy.

For those backing carlow-

1)look at tradition
2) look where both played in the national football league- Kikdare div 1, carlow div 4.
3) read above again

Kikdare will win this with a good bit to spare

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 27/05/2018 00:13:14    2104054

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "If this weekend has shown us anything it is that tradition is still a huge factor and divisional national league status dictates everything. By that reasoning Kikdare will win easy.

1)look at tradition
2) look where both played in the national football league- Kikdare div 1, carlow div 4.
3) read above again

Kikdare will win this with a good bit to spare"
Perhaps. ?

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 27/05/2018 10:13:26    2104084

Wonderful win for Carlow. Much much the hungrier team. I'm afraid Cian seriously has to look at himself and how he is training these lads because the elementary mistakes we continually make are shocking. But again, really well done to Carlow and best of luck going forward from here.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/05/2018 15:40:56    2104141

Replying To supersub15:  "Are you for real."
I got it completely wrong. Turns out Carlow by 7. My bad!

Well done Carlow! Better players, and a better team all round today. A big result has been coming for ye for the last few years and I'd love to see you in a Leinster final.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 27/05/2018 15:43:15    2104143

Great win for Carlow. No disrespect to Kildare but delighted to see Carlow get their day in the sun and would love to see them reach a leinster final.

On another note with Kildare, Mayo, Tyrone, Cavan, and Tipperary in tomorrows draw, there could be a few tasty fixtures in the first round of the qualifiers!!

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 27/05/2018 15:46:55    2104144

Big congratulations to Carlow. Best team by far. Very disappointing surrender by Kildare. Post mortem can wait and for other thread. Would be very disingenuous to Carlow to start one here. Well done the men of Carlow.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 27/05/2018 15:46:56    2104145

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "If this weekend has shown us anything it is that tradition is still a huge factor and divisional national league status dictates everything. By that reasoning Kikdare will win easy.

1)look at tradition
3) read above again

Spot on there.
Any other tips.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/05/2018 15:51:58    2104154

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "Great win for Carlow. No disrespect to Kildare but delighted to see Carlow get their day in the sun and would love to see them reach a leinster final.

On another note with Kildare, Mayo, Tyrone, Cavan, and Tipperary in tomorrows draw, there could be a few tasty fixtures in the first round of the qualifiers!!"
No disrespect taken, fair and measured post. Carlow are due this. Been motoring along nicely at times. Big issues in Kildare. Have good reputation in qualifiers but don't see it happening this time.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 27/05/2018 15:58:20    2104157

1)look at tradition
3) read above again

Can you send me on next week's lotto numbers Boss?

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 27/05/2018 16:00:24    2104160

Replying To Daith:  "I find it incredible that Carlow are 8/1 against a team that haven't won a game in 11 1/2 months.

Winning is a habit and loosing is a habit. Carlow by 2 against a county that is pound for pound the worst GAA county in the country."
I did think kildare would edge it but when I read your post I thought those were decent odds so I threw €20 on carlow. I could only get 7/1 . Thanks

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 27/05/2018 16:15:20    2104163

Replying To commander:  "No disrespect taken, fair and measured post. Carlow are due this. Been motoring along nicely at times. Big issues in Kildare. Have good reputation in qualifiers but don't see it happening this time."
Qualifiers? Why bother? Send out the Juniors and be done with it for the year.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 27/05/2018 16:41:51    2104171

Well done Carlow.
A game plan and quality going forward. No wides in the whole game. Hope you make it to the final now.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 27/05/2018 16:49:57    2104177

Replying To galwayfball:  "I did think kildare would edge it but when I read your post I thought those were decent odds so I threw €20 on carlow. I could only get 7/1 . Thanks"
That's a fine bit of punting out of you. Well done lad.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 27/05/2018 17:11:27    2104190

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "Great win for Carlow. No disrespect to Kildare but delighted to see Carlow get their day in the sun and would love to see them reach a leinster final.

On another note with Kildare, Mayo, Tyrone, Cavan, and Tipperary in tomorrows draw, there could be a few tasty fixtures in the first round of the qualifiers!!"
Tipperary won't be in the round 1 qualifiers. They were knocked out in a provincial semi final.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 27/05/2018 17:15:27    2104193

Replying To MayoDan:  "Tipperary won't be in the round 1 qualifiers. They were knocked out in a provincial semi final."
yes you are correct my mistake.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 27/05/2018 17:35:59    2104201