Mayo 2017

Not sure what to think of Mayo this year so far.

Would have thought after that humiliating loss to Dublin that Mayo would have come out today and destroyed Cavan.

But to lose at home to Cavan is a pretty poor result for the men from the west.

Early in the year i know and Aidan o Shea still missing but 2 tough league games left for them now.
I don't want to mention the R word, but it would be a disaster for Mayo should it happen.

Personally I think mileage is beginning to show on a few of the Mayo lads.

Interesting couple of games ahead for Mayo after today's result.

On the other side - fair play to Cavan. Excellent result for them.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 19/03/2017 18:49:37    1968665

The big 4 (Higgins Boyle Vaughan Keegan) at the back are not at it ,Vaughan was running after the 12 who was soloing the ball and he couldn't catch him he actually fouled 12 but ref didn't give the blatant free, Vaughan use to have pace to burn but he looks like he's lost a yard , Higgins is getting roasted every game Boyle is trying to burst ever opposition player and Keegan is playing terrible stuff right now (apart from his two great points) , when/if they get back to their best Mayo will be ok but I'm starting to doubt them winning Sam now their forwards are just not good enough. Cillian O Conor's confidence is gone and Loftus is nowhere near ready yet. New players needed badly.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/03/2017 19:02:11    1968673

Replying To Fionn:  "Not sure what to think of Mayo this year so far.

Would have thought after that humiliating loss to Dublin that Mayo would have come out today and destroyed Cavan.

Early in the year i know and Aidan o Shea still missing but 2 tough league games left for them now.
I don't want to mention the R word, but it would be a disaster for Mayo should it happen.

On the other side - fair play to Cavan. Excellent result for them."
Ill be supporting Mayo now for the next two games.

Beat tyrone/ Donegal and we beat Roscommon, hopefully we will make the final.

But no I am with you Fionn, ive not a notion what to make of Mayo, Beat Kerry in Tralee, smashed by us, lose to cavan at home as you say, Mad.

wouldn't write them off or anything, but its been a weird start.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/03/2017 19:02:13    1968674

Replying To Fionn:  "Not sure what to think of Mayo this year so far.

On the other side - fair play to Cavan. Excellent result for them."
Hard to argue with any of that. Poor, poor performance and no positives to take from it and saying it's only the league might be clutching at straws. Only good thing from today was the performance of referee Anthony Nolan (Wicklow I think) who officiated in a clear and fair manner throughout. The best thing about him was his reluctance to flash cards for every petty tussle in marked contrast to the ref in the Kerry/Dublin game who ruined what could have been a rip-roaring affair by blowing for every tackle and giving cards for absolutely nothing. So credit where it's due.Well done Mr Nolan.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 19/03/2017 19:19:02    1968685

ref in the Kerry/Dublin game who ruined what could have been a rip-roaring affair by blowing for every tackle and giving cards for absolutely nothing. So credit where it's due.Well done Mr Nolan.
ponga (Mayo)

Not sure what you have been watching. In the Kerry /Dublin there was a lot of 'off the ball stuff', wrestling, etc. So you would ignore all the fouling and let them at it- maybe there is no requirement for a Ref at all

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/03/2017 19:35:33    1968689

It's hard to know, their last two outings have been disasterous, they're a tired looking outfit, and to persist with aging players like Moran during the league does not argue well for them.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 19/03/2017 19:46:16    1968701

Replying To browncows:  "ref in the Kerry/Dublin game who ruined what could have been a rip-roaring affair by blowing for every tackle and giving cards for absolutely nothing. So credit where it's due.Well done Mr Nolan.
ponga (Mayo)

Not sure what you have been watching. In the Kerry /Dublin there was a lot of 'off the ball stuff', wrestling, etc. So you would ignore all the fouling and let them at it- maybe there is no requirement for a Ref at all"
Read it again slowly. I said blowing for every tackle and cards for nothing. Never said that off the ball stuff shouldn't be dealt with but he was over officious.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 19/03/2017 19:47:37    1968704

Replying To ponga:  "Hard to argue with any of that. Poor, poor performance and no positives to take from it and saying it's only the league might be clutching at straws. Only good thing from today was the performance of referee Anthony Nolan (Wicklow I think) who officiated in a clear and fair manner throughout. The best thing about him was his reluctance to flash cards for every petty tussle in marked contrast to the ref in the Kerry/Dublin game who ruined what could have been a rip-roaring affair by blowing for every tackle and giving cards for absolutely nothing. So credit where it's due.Well done Mr Nolan."
Fair play to you for praising the ref. Very rarely happens especially when your county gets beat.
However you say he didn't flash cards for petty incidents. There was a thread on HS where posters said that it's the refs fault if a melee breaks out because he didn't give cards at the start off the game. Damed if you do and all that.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 19/03/2017 19:55:34    1968710

Mayo are probably the 3rd best team in the country. Not good enough to win the All Ireland with that squad but let's not go crazy here either. Durcan not a corner back and Higgins not a full back. If your full back line is not solid you have no chance. Midfield struggling as well. We will be grand, not the first year recently we have been fighting relegation which seems to be forgotten. The worrying thing is that about 10 of the first team are playing nearly every league game. Just goes to show we don't have the quality back to give those lads a rest. Andy Moran playing every game at this stage of his career is baffling. I still see Mayo getting to a semi final and on current trends losing to Kerry. That is probably where they are at.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 19/03/2017 20:10:31    1968722

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Fair play to you for praising the ref. Very rarely happens especially when your county gets beat.
However you say he didn't flash cards for petty incidents. There was a thread on HS where posters said that it's the refs fault if a melee breaks out because he didn't give cards at the start off the game. Damed if you do and all that."
True enough but this ref seemed to understand the mindset of the players and there were no histrionics from either side even tho both were behind at times. I would guess that he has been a player until recently.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 19/03/2017 20:21:42    1968733

In hindsight we should have probably started the league with most of last year's AI winning u21 team and sprinkled it with one or two experienced lads. I don't think they would have fared worse than we have done so far and maybe we'd have found 3/4 starters come championship. Water under the bridge now and we'll just trust in management and go on .

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 19/03/2017 20:28:21    1968740

Mayo men don't worry, your time will come again soon.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 19/03/2017 20:33:52    1968748

Mayo men don't worry, your time will come again soon.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 19/03/2017 20:33:52    1968749

Jaysus flaker i dont know, they were clueless today as if theyd never seen the blanket defense before.
Higgins shouldnt be at fullback hes too lose .. you can see hes disillusioned
Midfield didnt catch one ball
Keegan needs a rest .. give nally a chance ffs .. hes good enough
Trying to play corofin kickpassing against a blanket defense .. wtf .. not fair on loftus kicking in balls to him
and being surrounded by 3 lads when the ball gets into him..

Cavan sat back .. turned us over .. and counter attacked .. they must have been shocked at mayos naivety ..

We were solid defensively last year .. why would one abandon it this year .. kevin in the corner .. ridiculous..

I am losing faith in rochford .. he seems clueless at the moment ..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 19/03/2017 20:35:12    1968750

Replying To Ah_Here:  "Jaysus flaker i dont know, they were clueless today as if theyd never seen the blanket defense before.
Higgins shouldnt be at fullback hes too lose .. you can see hes disillusioned
Midfield didnt catch one ball
Keegan needs a rest .. give nally a chance ffs .. hes good enough
Trying to play corofin kickpassing against a blanket defense .. wtf .. not fair on loftus kicking in balls to him
and being surrounded by 3 lads when the ball gets into him..

Cavan sat back .. turned us over .. and counter attacked .. they must have been shocked at mayos naivety ..

We were solid defensively last year .. why would one abandon it this year .. kevin in the corner .. ridiculous..

I am losing faith in rochford .. he seems clueless at the moment .."
Listen I know how bad they look, but I am holding my honest opinion until I see what summer brings.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 19/03/2017 21:10:38    1968781

Simple enough to beat a blanket defence but yet again Mayo looked like aliens that had just landed on Earth and were told to play this sport they knew nothing about, Cavan should have won by a country mile but some wayward kicking in the first half could have cost them. If the Mayo management had gone into the stand and asked 15 lads to tog out they couldn't have done any worse, heard a few people asking are Mayo training hard, they seemed lazy, the truth is infighting in the camp, the gobs from last year are still there causing trouble, 'twas enough for them to cost an All Ireland title last year never mind this nonsense again this year, the serious question that has to be asked is 'who do these players think they are? How many All Ireland's have they won? None, when they have plenty of medals like Kerry and Dublin then they have something to shout about, would Jim Gavin put up with that nonsense? Of course not and that's why Mayo were, are and always will go nowhere

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/03/2017 21:18:41    1968787

Replying To ponga:  "Hard to argue with any of that. Poor, poor performance and no positives to take from it and saying it's only the league might be clutching at straws. Only good thing from today was the performance of referee Anthony Nolan (Wicklow I think) who officiated in a clear and fair manner throughout. The best thing about him was his reluctance to flash cards for every petty tussle in marked contrast to the ref in the Kerry/Dublin game who ruined what could have been a rip-roaring affair by blowing for every tackle and giving cards for absolutely nothing. So credit where it's due.Well done Mr Nolan."
Agree totally on your assessment of the referee. A few times he could have pulled for frees but didn't but was the same for both sides. The fact that it had all the intensity of a challenge match probably helped but I thought he was excellent.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/03/2017 21:31:11    1968796

Replying To riverboys:  "Simple enough to beat a blanket defence but yet again Mayo looked like aliens that had just landed on Earth and were told to play this sport they knew nothing about, Cavan should have won by a country mile but some wayward kicking in the first half could have cost them. If the Mayo management had gone into the stand and asked 15 lads to tog out they couldn't have done any worse, heard a few people asking are Mayo training hard, they seemed lazy, the truth is infighting in the camp, the gobs from last year are still there causing trouble, 'twas enough for them to cost an All Ireland title last year never mind this nonsense again this year, the serious question that has to be asked is 'who do these players think they are? How many All Ireland's have they won? None, when they have plenty of medals like Kerry and Dublin then they have something to shout about, would Jim Gavin put up with that nonsense? Of course not and that's why Mayo were, are and always will go nowhere"
How do yiu know theres infighting?

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 19/03/2017 21:38:46    1968800

Replying To riverboys:  "Simple enough to beat a blanket defence but yet again Mayo looked like aliens that had just landed on Earth and were told to play this sport they knew nothing about, Cavan should have won by a country mile but some wayward kicking in the first half could have cost them. If the Mayo management had gone into the stand and asked 15 lads to tog out they couldn't have done any worse, heard a few people asking are Mayo training hard, they seemed lazy, the truth is infighting in the camp, the gobs from last year are still there causing trouble, 'twas enough for them to cost an All Ireland title last year never mind this nonsense again this year, the serious question that has to be asked is 'who do these players think they are? How many All Ireland's have they won? None, when they have plenty of medals like Kerry and Dublin then they have something to shout about, would Jim Gavin put up with that nonsense? Of course not and that's why Mayo were, are and always will go nowhere"
Is that still going on Riverboys.?

I would have thought all that was done and dusted by now..

Time for the management to man up so, if that is the case. Can't continue to be let go on again this year.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 19/03/2017 21:43:30    1968802

I think Mayo have gone back a lot under rochford. Even under the two men the players ran at least they looked capable of beating Dublin at some stage during the two encounters and won a Connacht title but since rochford took the reins last year they have been a lot worse IMO. Had a poor league last year and lost Connacht title against Galway for the first time in years.probably would have been knocked out in quailifers only for AOS dive that the ref bought against Fermanagh. Tyrone played them off the field in 1/4s only they kicked 16 wides and only decent performance under current manager was in draw all Ireland last year. The manager cost the team an all Ireland with his team selection for replay against a way weaker Dublin team that C&H almost beat the year before.
Don't think Mayo will do anything undercurrent Manager.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/03/2017 22:42:59    1968841