Donegal "Won't Have A Team" On Sunday

Leitrim had all sorts of problems to field a team yesterday for FBD game vs Roscommon but to their credit, they fulfilled the fixture. It didnt work out for a very makeshift side but they did the honourable thing and got a bunch of lads together to pull on the jersey and represent their county.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 13/01/2020 19:24:45    2259501

Replying To facethepuckout:  "Leitrim had all sorts of problems to field a team yesterday for FBD game vs Roscommon but to their credit, they fulfilled the fixture. It didnt work out for a very makeshift side but they did the honourable thing and got a bunch of lads together to pull on the jersey and represent their county."
We were down to the bare bones, our sub goalie had to come on and he's in transition year in secondary school!! Best of luck to Ross in the league , serious outfit ye have

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 13/01/2020 21:22:46    2259544

Replying To facethepuckout:  "Leitrim had all sorts of problems to field a team yesterday for FBD game vs Roscommon but to their credit, they fulfilled the fixture. It didnt work out for a very makeshift side but they did the honourable thing and got a bunch of lads together to pull on the jersey and represent their county."
Fair play to leitrim. But those guys will do anything to get out of the house.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 13/01/2020 21:47:24    2259563

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Notions of ourselves... this seems very personal for you. We are Ulster champions so that deserves respect. Bonner had an issue with the scheduling farce which has enveloped the GAA for many a year now, he just stood his ground on the issue. And we lost two McKenna cup games, I'm not sure the word 'competitive' covers the actual importance of them though in fairness. 'Antics' and 'notions' are all excitable words to be using about a competition that most people will have forgotten by February."
I'd agree the McKenna Cup will be well forgotten about and isn't the biggest competition but still well supported. I think what some posters including myself are highlighting is the Donegal "spin" of blaming the fixture scheduling, welfare and putting all the blame on the Ulster Council. Whilst at the same time proposing two games in 48 hours which is laughable. If Donegal don't want to compete without their stongest team fair enough their call, but trying to push the blame elsewhere is what's being highlighted. Thankfully nobody outside Donegal fell for their spin. Roll on the league

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 14/01/2020 08:36:18    2259613

Replying To sam1884:  "I'd agree the McKenna Cup will be well forgotten about and isn't the biggest competition but still well supported. I think what some posters including myself are highlighting is the Donegal "spin" of blaming the fixture scheduling, welfare and putting all the blame on the Ulster Council. Whilst at the same time proposing two games in 48 hours which is laughable. If Donegal don't want to compete without their stongest team fair enough their call, but trying to push the blame elsewhere is what's being highlighted. Thankfully nobody outside Donegal fell for their spin. Roll on the league"
OK I'll meet you half way on this one. I think that once again we have tried to make a stand on an issue but went the wrong way about it. However, no matter how well supported the McKenna Cup is, it is the least important county tournament in the GAA year. So if the GAA is serious about reducing fixture congestion and giving themselves more options to work with, then something has to give. The McKenna Cup and other pre season tournaments should be getting the bullet.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9112 - 14/01/2020 10:10:10    2259636

Replying To sam1884:  "I'd agree the McKenna Cup will be well forgotten about and isn't the biggest competition but still well supported. I think what some posters including myself are highlighting is the Donegal "spin" of blaming the fixture scheduling, welfare and putting all the blame on the Ulster Council. Whilst at the same time proposing two games in 48 hours which is laughable. If Donegal don't want to compete without their stongest team fair enough their call, but trying to push the blame elsewhere is what's being highlighted. Thankfully nobody outside Donegal fell for their spin. Roll on the league"
The mckenna cup maybe the only cup the great donegal team could have won this year.

Arrogance... Reminds of Cork hurlers striking... Would not cry for donegal if like Cork the downward spiral starts

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 594 - 16/01/2020 20:49:12    2260320

Replying To Bernardo:  "The mckenna cup maybe the only cup the great donegal team could have won this year.

Arrogance... Reminds of Cork hurlers striking... Would not cry for donegal if like Cork the downward spiral starts"
This is nothing at all like the Cork hurlers striking. Daft comparison. Don't worry, the spiral is a while away yet, your own might be first!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 16/01/2020 22:35:28    2260352

Replying To Bernardo:  "The mckenna cup maybe the only cup the great donegal team could have won this year.

Arrogance... Reminds of Cork hurlers striking... Would not cry for donegal if like Cork the downward spiral starts"
No need to be upset or annoyed,
They gave you a walk over, good luck in the final.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 503 - 17/01/2020 00:09:41    2260364

My own personal opinion (and I tried to play football in the past). Now Donegal should be well able to play the match. There are more than 30-/40 footballers in the county. I am very aware that it is a great footballing county, so why not give other players the chance to play. The statement of saying the level of fitness between club and county is so immense that you could not take players from a club to complete is pure nonsense. I know lots of guys who are very fit but are unable to play little football -some players playing for many counties fit this category as well!! Where are we going? The next thing will be that you require a 'safe past' and a 'health and safety' statement to play a game.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 17/01/2020 00:46:46    2260367

Replying To Lockjaw:  "OK I'll meet you half way on this one. I think that once again we have tried to make a stand on an issue but went the wrong way about it. However, no matter how well supported the McKenna Cup is, it is the least important county tournament in the GAA year. So if the GAA is serious about reducing fixture congestion and giving themselves more options to work with, then something has to give. The McKenna Cup and other pre season tournaments should be getting the bullet."
Players would rather play a game on a sunday morning or whenever rather then a gruelling training session or if not that they'd be playing challenge matches anyway

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 17/01/2020 03:49:26    2260373

Late to this.

Donegal knew the schedule in advance, so then do not play the competition.

Or they are not 15 men in Donegal not on college teams that couldn't play?

Bonnar play acting on this one

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 17/01/2020 09:20:28    2260387

Replying To witnof:  "Late to this.

Donegal knew the schedule in advance, so then do not play the competition.

Or they are not 15 men in Donegal not on college teams that couldn't play?

Bonnar play acting on this one"
If you read earlier posts it explains the amount of players they had available. It also explains that donegal requested a date change but we told no .
Unlike dublin with their panel of 60 or 80 and there ability to play in a province that gives you no competition . Donegal don't have that luxury

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 18/01/2020 10:34:29    2260562

You worry about your own county, I know if it was Monaghan it Wundt bother me if they fielded or not. You should be glad to get playing in a final. Go and win it now ,not that anybody outside Monaghan or Tyrone really cares.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 18/01/2020 14:48:06    2260593

Replying To rorysboys:  "You worry about your own county, I know if it was Monaghan it Wundt bother me if they fielded or not. You should be glad to get playing in a final. Go and win it now ,not that anybody outside Monaghan or Tyrone really cares."
Howya Rorysboys. That poster is a wind up merchant & not a Monaghan supporter. Well known that he is a neighbour with green eyes.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/01/2020 17:07:13    2260618