Bernard Brogan Has Retired From IC Football

Replying To tearintom:  "Did he retire, Jaysus i never heard, surprised there wasnt more about it :)"
Why the Holy Name ? It does not embellish your statement. As we approach the All Star selection in the light of Dublin's hitherto unattained achievement I think the team in its totality should be named All Stars 2019 and pick an alternative best of the rest, In a way this is a unique year in the history of the GAA we may never see the achievement equalled if it is bettered let's say 2025 the team that achieves it 6 in a row then we repeat the honour , Oh hang on Dublin will probably do the 6 next year measly odds of 7/4 about the doing 7 ! Maybe Kerry or Cork will have something to say about that !

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 29/10/2019 18:07:21    2246507

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Why the Holy Name ? It does not embellish your statement. As we approach the All Star selection in the light of Dublin's hitherto unattained achievement I think the team in its totality should be named All Stars 2019 and pick an alternative best of the rest, In a way this is a unique year in the history of the GAA we may never see the achievement equalled if it is bettered let's say 2025 the team that achieves it 6 in a row then we repeat the honour , Oh hang on Dublin will probably do the 6 next year measly odds of 7/4 about the doing 7 ! Maybe Kerry or Cork will have something to say about that !"
Will you cop on 37, intercounty football is dead and buried at this stage, the only thing that can save it now is if the GAA revive the lads old railway cup and they enter Dublin as a 5th province.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/10/2019 19:01:22    2246514

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Will you cop on 37, intercounty football is dead and buried at this stage, the only thing that can save it now is if the GAA revive the lads old railway cup and they enter Dublin as a 5th province."
Boy you are hilarious gavin is staying on to oversee a gentle transition. After that its game on you cant buy talent. I even expect ourselves to close the gap in the next few years. Kerry have no excuse where gah is a religion. But youll whinge until ye win again and ye will win again with players of a different mindset from your own boy.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 29/10/2019 20:20:33    2246523

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Will you cop on 37, intercounty football is dead and buried at this stage, the only thing that can save it now is if the GAA revive the lads old railway cup and they enter Dublin as a 5th province."
No question of making Kerry a 5 th province, ' Cùgadh Chíarraí' (sounds good, that) when they were winning all before them late 30 and 40s and again late 70s and 80s . The good days will come again for Kerry if they can find a few backs to deal with the Kilkenny ,O Callaghan. Mannion and Archer threats in the coming years! It was good seeing Brian Fenton and his dad cheering on East Kerry on the Killarney Hill on Sunday One never forgets one' s roots .

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 29/10/2019 20:43:02    2246530

Replying To 37sowhat:  "No question of making Kerry a 5 th province, ' Cùgadh Chíarraí' (sounds good, that) when they were winning all before them late 30 and 40s and again late 70s and 80s . The good days will come again for Kerry if they can find a few backs to deal with the Kilkenny ,O Callaghan. Mannion and Archer threats in the coming years! It was good seeing Brian Fenton and his dad cheering on East Kerry on the Killarney Hill on Sunday One never forgets one' s roots ."
We don't have hills in Kerry 37, we have reeks and mountains.

Also Kerry hadn't the population for continued success but Dublin do.

I hope dublin go on now and win 6 7 and 8 in a row just to prove to ye all what I know to be true and that is that football is dead.

As for the Kildare lad above: ye haven't a hope of bridging the gap to dublin and niether do we.

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 29/10/2019 22:16:23    2246545

Replying To gallarus14:  "We don't have hills in Kerry 37, we have reeks and mountains.

Also Kerry hadn't the population for continued success but Dublin do.

I hope dublin go on now and win 6 7 and 8 in a row just to prove to ye all what I know to be true and that is that football is dead.

As for the Kildare lad above: ye haven't a hope of bridging the gap to dublin and niether do we."
Obviously you are not au fait with Dr Crokes naming the section of the Terrace scoreboard side of press box as the 'Killarney Hill', take note of occupants of that section at replay that's where Fentons were last Sunday Whether it's Dublin ,Kerry Louth Sligo or Leitrim it's 15 v 15 or 26 against 26 with extended panel.Sometimes you are good enough other times you aren't We have to take what comes in a sporting manner Tiocfaidh àr lá arís.

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 29/10/2019 22:58:38    2246554

Not just Dublin that will evolve, the whole game is constantly evolving. I would expect another year or possibly 2 of Dublin being top dogs, maybe go for 7 in a row but even by then i think many other counties will have severly pushed on.

We should be thankful for this great Dublin team, they have raised the bar in terms of what it takes to be at the very top. But nothing lasts forever

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 30/10/2019 08:23:23    2246573

But sure ye could have saved it yourselves in game 1 this year had ye not curled into your blanket defence shell and invited 14 Dubs onto ye.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/10/2019 14:36:58    2246628

Replying To Joxer:  "But sure ye could have saved it yourselves in game 1 this year had ye not curled into your blanket defence shell and invited 14 Dubs onto ye."
bet if they had of won, football would have been the strongest ever

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 30/10/2019 19:03:42    2246656

Replying To Joxer:  "But sure ye could have saved it yourselves in game 1 this year had ye not curled into your blanket defence shell and invited 14 Dubs onto ye."
Nah man

It was the high altitude training

Don't be daft now

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/10/2019 21:25:52    2246670

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "bet if they had of won, football would have been the strongest ever"
I remember a distinct lack of whinging after the 2017 NFL Div 1 final

Funny that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/10/2019 21:27:45    2246671

Replying To jimbodub:  "I remember a distinct lack of whinging after the 2017 NFL Div 1 final

Funny that"
It's worse than that , it's dead jim.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/10/2019 22:01:34    2246681

Replying To boman11:  "Not just Dublin that will evolve, the whole game is constantly evolving. I would expect another year or possibly 2 of Dublin being top dogs, maybe go for 7 in a row but even by then i think many other counties will have severly pushed on.

We should be thankful for this great Dublin team, they have raised the bar in terms of what it takes to be at the very top. But nothing lasts forever"
The only way teams can catch up to Dublin bowman is if they go semi professional and have 3 months off during the summer like the dubs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/10/2019 22:56:14    2246690

37 your roots are not very deep unlike a lot of the dubs on here you do not stand by your county or your team no matcher what. Found a good book at home for you to read it is called In Fear Of The COLLOR ABOUT ARTANE

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 31/10/2019 07:14:28    2246705

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "bet if they had of won, football would have been the strongest ever"
I would not judge all Kerry football followers on the five or six baby whingers who hog the Kerry forum Most of the ones I know down the years are knowledgable sporting people, of course they don't like being beaten but can and do acknowledge exceptional teams such as Roscommon of the 40s Cavan Down Galway Tyrone and this truly exceptional Dublin team You will always have the 'ref robbed us brigade' or themanager was to blame or the other lot had an unfair advantage fact of the matter 15 play 15 (from panel of 26 ) one team triumphs and if that team triumphs often they are acknowledged as the best of that particular era Comparing one era with another is a futile exercise Dublin in the decade about to end were/are truly amazing there is no shame in acknowledging that and fair play to the Mayos Kerry's and Tyrone's who manfully tried to knock the off the perch but 7 out of 10 says it all

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 31/10/2019 08:51:38    2246709

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The only way teams can catch up to Dublin bowman is if they go semi professional and have 3 months off during the summer like the dubs."
Haha you're like Trump at this stage!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/10/2019 09:55:38    2246721

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The only way teams can catch up to Dublin bowman is if they go semi professional and have 3 months off during the summer like the dubs."
Or like all the students on your team

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/10/2019 09:57:11    2246722

Replying To 37sowhat:  "I would not judge all Kerry football followers on the five or six baby whingers who hog the Kerry forum Most of the ones I know down the years are knowledgable sporting people, of course they don't like being beaten but can and do acknowledge exceptional teams such as Roscommon of the 40s Cavan Down Galway Tyrone and this truly exceptional Dublin team You will always have the 'ref robbed us brigade' or themanager was to blame or the other lot had an unfair advantage fact of the matter 15 play 15 (from panel of 26 ) one team triumphs and if that team triumphs often they are acknowledged as the best of that particular era Comparing one era with another is a futile exercise Dublin in the decade about to end were/are truly amazing there is no shame in acknowledging that and fair play to the Mayos Kerry's and Tyrone's who manfully tried to knock the off the perch but 7 out of 10 says it all"
It's nice to see you branching out from the Kerry forum where you spend all of your time with the baby whinngers as you call us .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/10/2019 10:20:58    2246728

Replying To 37sowhat:  "I would not judge all Kerry football followers on the five or six baby whingers who hog the Kerry forum Most of the ones I know down the years are knowledgable sporting people, of course they don't like being beaten but can and do acknowledge exceptional teams such as Roscommon of the 40s Cavan Down Galway Tyrone and this truly exceptional Dublin team You will always have the 'ref robbed us brigade' or themanager was to blame or the other lot had an unfair advantage fact of the matter 15 play 15 (from panel of 26 ) one team triumphs and if that team triumphs often they are acknowledged as the best of that particular era Comparing one era with another is a futile exercise Dublin in the decade about to end were/are truly amazing there is no shame in acknowledging that and fair play to the Mayos Kerry's and Tyrone's who manfully tried to knock the off the perch but 7 out of 10 says it all"
Excellent post

I certainly wouldn't judge all by the professional whinge force on here.

Although their tin foil get escapades can be good laugh. The stuff about Gough was especially funny and made Dublins victory all the more sweeter.. the level they brought it too was very telling stuff.

Eye opening in fact. They've been driven daft..

I shook hands with many Kerry fans who had stayed to watch the presentation of the 5 in a row Sam. I have nothing but respect for them as it wouldn't have been as easy watch.

Plenty left of course before final whistle but thats understanable if not a wee bit gutless.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/10/2019 10:57:17    2246743

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's nice to see you branching out from the Kerry forum where you spend all of your time with the baby whinngers as you call us ."
There's only so much whinging and yerra one man can take you know.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 31/10/2019 11:16:32    2246751