2020 Tier 2 Championship

Only the 8 Division 1 teams and the Tier 2 winner will be guaranteed a qualifier spot in the following year. It enhances the league competition.

Hurling were told that players need to be played in a development manner during the league. Football is going in the opposite direction of players being played in a competitive manner during the league.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 23/10/2019 10:57:19    2245169

Kildare sould be in tier 2 might raise a gallop in it because their deluded in tier 1

Hootie (Laois) - Posts: 36 - 24/10/2019 04:56:27    2245370

I really don't know what the GAA was thinking of introducing this competition, it is guaranteed to fail, it may stumble on for the three years but by the end up it'll be made up of tier 2 club players and u20's lads that were knocked out of their championship. who in their right mind would want to train at county standard to win a tier 2 championship. it's going to be meaningless !!!
it makes zero sense anyway. effectively finishing the national league and then ............starting another league. ive said it on here 100 times, (but it's just my opinion) provincials should be started earlier and the league predominantly played in the summer period. play a meaningful competition in the summer when people want to travel!!!!!!. throw in one neutral game per team per year and have as a doubleheader on a chosen bank holiday made up of say a division 3 and division 1 game. something like that would really help the interest of supporters.
i'll just add there that my plan would involve overlapping the league and championship at some point.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 24/10/2019 10:58:45    2245403

its absolutely laughable the reaction to this thing.

people talk about "oh its all about the big day out against the big team",what to get a hiding off dublin or kerry?
"oh there is going to be no media coverage".because wexford v wicklow or waterford v tipperary will be splashed all over every newspaper in the country.
"oh players will be off to america",sure they do that as it is.

lets call a spade a spade here lads,there are 27-28 counties who set out the year knowing they have not a snowballs chance in hell of winning an all ireland.there is 20 that know they have no chance of even winning a provincial.

tiered championships work in every club grade in the country.i remember when i was playing being a senior hurling and football outfit for a few years and we hung in there and got some awful hidings from buffers alley in particular.and then got relegated,and we enjoyed the next year no end because we were realistic contenders and got promoted and stayed up for years and got up to the pace of the game and are genuine contenders now.

to me,the complaining would be similar to a junior b team in wexford complaining that they dont get the big day out against st martins,when in reality they wouldnt beat their second team.

time for a dose of reality,like it or not.the main problem with this system is it is linked to the provincial championships.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 24/10/2019 11:06:14    2245405

There is an excellent article today in the independent, " Carlow boss blasts Tier ".
I would say that he sums up a lot of what the players and supporters are thinking. Club delegates voting I would say in some cases based on what they can achieve themselves or get for their county from Croke Park, favours will be called in by these delegates for supporting this Croke Park idea.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 24/10/2019 11:10:22    2245408

Replying To Clubgaa:  "There is an excellent article today in the independent, " Carlow boss blasts Tier ".
I would say that he sums up a lot of what the players and supporters are thinking. Club delegates voting I would say in some cases based on what they can achieve themselves or get for their county from Croke Park, favours will be called in by these delegates for supporting this Croke Park idea."
He rejects the theory that because a tiered format works in hurling, where there are five levels, it can be successful with two in football.

"It's not a valid comparison. Hurling has a lot of counties where there are only a few clubs. Football is different. Every county can compete if the set-up is right."

The Carlow manager speaks well. I would see his point as a reason for Tier 2 in football being more successful. Counties have a higher profile and a reasonable player base to pick from. A county could win Tier 2 and use the experience as a springboard for competing for provincial titles.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 24/10/2019 13:09:10    2245441

what is his definition of competing,a 20 point hammering?
if i got in the ring with mike tyson i am sure i could compete.....

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 24/10/2019 14:42:09    2245479

My understanding is that there will be 16 teams in the tier 2 Championship.The bottom 2 teams in div. 2 +6 teams in div.3 +8 teams in div.4 unless any of these teams reach a provincial final. If this happens the team third from bottom in div. 2 would be in tier 2.
Taking 2019 as an example Cork would have been in tier 2 but because they got to a provincial final Clare[third from bottom div.2] go to tier 2.
The 16 teams are divided into 4 regions. Northern Western Eastern and Southern.
Northern-Down Derry Antrim Louth Western- Sligo Leitrim London Longford
Eastern-Offaly Carlow Wicklow Wexford Southern -Clare Tipperary Limerick Waterford.
Each region has 2 semi finals a final and a losers play off. Regional winners to get Trophy.
Regional winners qualify for tier 2 quarter finals.
4 regional runners up play winners of 4 play off winners in tier 2 play off round.
Quarter finals: 4 regional winners play 4 play off winners.
A team is guaranteed at least 2 games plus they will have played at least one game in provincial championship.
Lots of local derbies will increase interest and obviously attendances.
There are 4 regional finals with a trophy at stake.
Personally I think this would be way better than the competition being an open draw and have a better chance of succeeding in the long term.

edu (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 24/10/2019 22:30:30    2245595

Replying To perfect10:  "its absolutely laughable the reaction to this thing.

people talk about "oh its all about the big day out against the big team",what to get a hiding off dublin or kerry?
"oh there is going to be no media coverage".because wexford v wicklow or waterford v tipperary will be splashed all over every newspaper in the country.
"oh players will be off to america",sure they do that as it is.

lets call a spade a spade here lads,there are 27-28 counties who set out the year knowing they have not a snowballs chance in hell of winning an all ireland.there is 20 that know they have no chance of even winning a provincial.

tiered championships work in every club grade in the country.i remember when i was playing being a senior hurling and football outfit for a few years and we hung in there and got some awful hidings from buffers alley in particular.and then got relegated,and we enjoyed the next year no end because we were realistic contenders and got promoted and stayed up for years and got up to the pace of the game and are genuine contenders now.

to me,the complaining would be similar to a junior b team in wexford complaining that they dont get the big day out against st martins,when in reality they wouldnt beat their second team.

time for a dose of reality,like it or not.the main problem with this system is it is linked to the provincial championships."
Bring in some of the British teams and have three tiers with 12 teams each.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 24/10/2019 23:11:27    2245603

Replying To Hawkeye9212:  "Bring in some of the British teams and have three tiers with 12 teams each."
There's a lot to be said for league being the main competition, played alongside an All Ireland cup competition.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4219 - 25/10/2019 12:37:59    2245690

Replying To Whammo86:  "There's a lot to be said for league being the main competition, played alongside an All Ireland cup competition."
I love this solution. Most team sports on this planet follow something similar, and it works!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 25/10/2019 13:21:29    2245704

Replying To Ban:  "I love this solution. Most team sports on this planet follow something similar, and it works!"
Blocked by 132 years of tradition, unfortunately.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 25/10/2019 13:38:31    2245712

Replying To Whammo86:  "There's a lot to be said for league being the main competition, played alongside an All Ireland cup competition."
Agreed. A League with home and away games alongside an All-Ireland competition, tiered or not, will do a lot more development than Tommy Murphy 2.0.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 25/10/2019 21:49:25    2245829

Replying To Hawkeye9212:  "Agreed. A League with home and away games alongside an All-Ireland competition, tiered or not, will do a lot more development than Tommy Murphy 2.0."
The potential in something like that is massive. Great games every weekend!
Considering all the giving out, the GAA is a huge product. Having a proper competition structure would benefit everyone, maybe except the guys sitting on the provincial councils.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 26/10/2019 10:38:09    2245898

Now is the time to do away with the failed super 8 system..when we get to the final 16 teams we go for a straight knock out with an open draw..will make for a much more open championship and take away the Dublin and Kerry advantage

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 26/10/2019 17:36:13    2245959

Replying To Ban:  "The potential in something like that is massive. Great games every weekend!
Considering all the giving out, the GAA is a huge product. Having a proper competition structure would benefit everyone, maybe except the guys sitting on the provincial councils."
I think provincials should be separate from the All-Ireland competition at club level as well. I think the benefits of an open draw outweigh the increased costs for travel, etc.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 26/10/2019 18:52:53    2245977

100%!!!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 29/10/2019 11:02:59    2246434

Replying To theweanling:  "I really don't know what the GAA was thinking of introducing this competition, it is guaranteed to fail, it may stumble on for the three years but by the end up it'll be made up of tier 2 club players and u20's lads that were knocked out of their championship. who in their right mind would want to train at county standard to win a tier 2 championship. it's going to be meaningless !!!
it makes zero sense anyway. effectively finishing the national league and then ............starting another league. ive said it on here 100 times, (but it's just my opinion) provincials should be started earlier and the league predominantly played in the summer period. play a meaningful competition in the summer when people want to travel!!!!!!. throw in one neutral game per team per year and have as a doubleheader on a chosen bank holiday made up of say a division 3 and division 1 game. something like that would really help the interest of supporters.
i'll just add there that my plan would involve overlapping the league and championship at some point."
who in their right mind would want to train at county standard to win a tier 2 championship. it's going to be meaningless !!!

I honestly don't understand this way of thinking.

Can someone genuinely explain to me how training at county standard with the realistic goal of winning ABSOLUTELY NOTHING because there is close to ZERO chance a division 3 or 4 team will EVER win an All-Ireland, is better than the goal of winning a Tier 2 Championship?

Can someone please explain to me? It baffles me every time I see this sentiment being shown. Not trying to be smart, genuinely don't understand it.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 29/10/2019 14:03:37    2246475

Replying To Hawkeye9212:  "Agreed. A League with home and away games alongside an All-Ireland competition, tiered or not, will do a lot more development than Tommy Murphy 2.0."
Having the 2 side by side would be great for the league as it would be played while players are at peak fitness.

The top teams would probably rest players and put out B teams but With most counties out of the AI after a game or 2 it would be a problem for most.

Also the current System that gives the top 8 a round robin and gives tier 2 and the chasing pack straight knockout is a joke

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 29/10/2019 14:39:03    2246479

Replying To jonjon:  "who in their right mind would want to train at county standard to win a tier 2 championship. it's going to be meaningless !!!

I honestly don't understand this way of thinking.

Can someone genuinely explain to me how training at county standard with the realistic goal of winning ABSOLUTELY NOTHING because there is close to ZERO chance a division 3 or 4 team will EVER win an All-Ireland, is better than the goal of winning a Tier 2 Championship?

Can someone please explain to me? It baffles me every time I see this sentiment being shown. Not trying to be smart, genuinely don't understand it."
The Tier 2 Championship is degrading. You get to play in it if you lose a game and play league football in a lower division. It's really a losers competition.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 29/10/2019 14:59:35    2246485