How Long Have You Been Posting?

Replying To yew_tree:  "He sits in the local credit union as they have free WiFi and Dublin flags ;)"
Haha. Very good.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/10/2019 19:06:30    2241008

I followed HS form about 2008 but registered after 2011 to defend the Blessed Jim against the abuse he was getting for daring to try something new.

Haven't posted as much recetly due to too many posts being blocked for no good reason & too many posters who can only see things as they effect their own county.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/10/2019 19:42:55    2241013

Been posting here since 2010. I remember 51Longago. He was a raving lunatic. Hated the Dubs, although he drank in a Dublin clubhouse and was always advocating rough house tactics as a way of beating the Dubs.
Snufalufagus kinda lost his credibility after he maintained that it was impossible for any team to win two in row. Wax it he who always signed off as Laochra Gael?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/10/2019 19:54:12    2241019

Replying To avonali:  "Been posting here since 2010. I remember 51Longago. He was a raving lunatic. Hated the Dubs, although he drank in a Dublin clubhouse and was always advocating rough house tactics as a way of beating the Dubs.
Snufalufagus kinda lost his credibility after he maintained that it was impossible for any team to win two in row. Wax it he who always signed off as Laochra Gael?"
Yes it was. There was even a thread one time asking for him to be barred.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 02/10/2019 20:13:15    2241024

Replying To avonali:  "Been posting here since 2010. I remember 51Longago. He was a raving lunatic. Hated the Dubs, although he drank in a Dublin clubhouse and was always advocating rough house tactics as a way of beating the Dubs.
Snufalufagus kinda lost his credibility after he maintained that it was impossible for any team to win two in row. Wax it he who always signed off as Laochra Gael?"
Yep that was him. , and he always had the prawn sambos in the middle tier. (Wouldn't say he ever set foot in it tbh) but it was funny all the same. 51longago told me he would never go to another mayo game should Meath beat mayo in 09. It wasn't happening he said. A he was a gas lad. But totally off his rocker.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/10/2019 20:15:11    2241025

Replying To Htaem:  "Cheers royaldunne, some excellent poster there.

I always enjoy reading your posts, I love easily you wind people up, it's hilarious watching people take the bait. But aslo I love your genuine optimism, give me optimism over pessimism any day of the week."
I think I missed my calling as a fisherman :).
I have always been a half glass full man not only in sport but in life.
Thanks for the generous comments. Much appreciated.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/10/2019 20:17:27    2241027

Haha, yeah he always signed off as Regards Snuffy, Laochra Gael.

Wasn't there supposed to be a Hoganstand meetup once in the Hideout, a pub near Croke Park? Ah its so long ago I can't remember right now. I used to read here but not post much on the main forum.
I regularly was in there after games in the 2011 to when it closed era. Was it 2013 maybe?
I remember lads here talking about being in it after the 2011 All-Ireland final and meself being in it the whole day that particular day!!!

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 02/10/2019 20:36:15    2241035

I got hit on the head by a half eaten prawn sandwich that fell down from a corporate box.. think Snuff couldn't believe what he witnessed when the final whistle signalled history being made.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/10/2019 20:56:51    2241048

Replying To jimbodub:  "I got hit on the head by a half eaten prawn sandwich that fell down from a corporate box.. think Snuff couldn't believe what he witnessed when the final whistle signalled history being made."
How many of ye remember the thread that was created to have admin bar snuff from the site? It was pages and pages long, one of the funniest threads ever created and a real homily to the man that he managed to irk so many posters with his posts, he was the ultimate wum but actually enjoyable as one knew he was only stirring and still the same few fell for the drop every time.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 02/10/2019 21:08:06    2241050

Anyone remember Holymoly's Monday Supplement?!

Back in the day you could write a message as Peter and reply as Paul :) Used to cause holy wars!!
There was one lad set up a conversation one day and was arguing with himself in different guises for days until admin started showing IP's and he was caught out :)

Did it myself once or twice back in the day!!! Mikeynora....an awful pup that fella!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/10/2019 09:31:00    2241096

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yep that was him. , and he always had the prawn sambos in the middle tier. (Wouldn't say he ever set foot in it tbh) but it was funny all the same. 51longago told me he would never go to another mayo game should Meath beat mayo in 09. It wasn't happening he said. A he was a gas lad. But totally off his rocker."
Wasn't prawn sandwiches but it was Crab Claws lol

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 03/10/2019 10:14:03    2241103

Replying To Horsebox77:  "How many of ye remember the thread that was created to have admin bar snuff from the site? It was pages and pages long, one of the funniest threads ever created and a real homily to the man that he managed to irk so many posters with his posts, he was the ultimate wum but actually enjoyable as one knew he was only stirring and still the same few fell for the drop every time."
Here's the thread:

http://hoganstand.com/forum/Details/71383?County=National&PageNumber=0&TopicID=71383

And one that Snuf himself started to appeal for leniency for ballboy when he was thrown out:

http://hoganstand.com/forum/details/68869

Not sure what his motivation was there.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 03/10/2019 10:22:30    2241109

I think from 2008. I first contacted this website posting notes about my local GAA club in Co. Offaly.
Later I became a poster, initially no postings were allowed after 10 pm.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 03/10/2019 10:59:52    2241117

I've been posting since about 1997, but under my current guise since 2007.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 03/10/2019 11:40:00    2241129

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I've been posting since about 1997, but under my current guise since 2007."
1997? Jaysus. You deserve an award!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/10/2019 13:57:11    2241156

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I've been posting since about 1997, but under my current guise since 2007."
Lock, do u remember RMDrive......a great Donegal man!
WhiterBanana's was the Dr Jekyll to Ballboys Mr Hyde!
Toma007 was the Dubs resident antagonist lmao
There was a lad from Westmeath, I think it was Marooned or something, he was Ballboy before Ballboy! A most desperate man!!!
Horse from Laois another auld great

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/10/2019 16:25:30    2241187

If you'd asked me about "posting" in 1997, I'd've been thinking about taking a letter to the postbox.

We sometimes forget how quickly technology changes.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 04/10/2019 16:37:08    2241363

Replying To Htaem:  "Cheers royaldunne, some excellent poster there.

I always enjoy reading your posts, I love easily you wind people up, it's hilarious watching people take the bait. But aslo I love your genuine optimism, give me optimism over pessimism any day of the week."
I agree with you Htaem 100% per cent. Royaldunne might be from the other side of the Boyne but there is no doubt that you have to admire him for his love of his county.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 04/10/2019 17:26:31    2241370

i remember looking back on the forum in around 2001 when i was younger and it used to be just buzzing that time, Every county seemed to have a busy forum, Offaly was one example i remember and its more or less dead now which is a pity. I had an old account that i set up about 10 years ago fonejacker was the name but for some reason couldnt get on anymore and set up my present one about 4 years ago now if i think correctly

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 734 - 04/10/2019 20:20:07    2241405

Only started a couple of years back and came on board after keeping an eye on things for a year or two.
In general it's a poor set up really and too many posters have multiple identities and are only interested in trolling.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/10/2019 09:51:06    2241458