How Long Have You Been Posting?

Replying To DuhallowRed:  "3 years, but 2 accounts got banned for trolling HS as Gaeilge and also banned recently for posting about Palestine flags"
Hahaha brilliant boy

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 01/10/2019 20:45:59    2240763

Replying To waynoI:  "Since 2009 so ive seen the decline from the very beginning. Rarely post anymore."
Was thinking your gone quiet wayno,but in fairness the internet coverage can be poor in your neck of the woods in meath all right.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 01/10/2019 21:17:29    2240769

Replying To Breezy:  "I've been reading the site on off for years but kinda forgot about it for a while and signed up about 2 years ago as it's my only place to chat GAA most times as I live abroad.

As for Ballboy was he the "GODS or what" fella"
No, that was Jim from wexford

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 01/10/2019 21:19:26    2240770

Jesus I couldn't tell you when I first started posting, but like one alluded to in an earlier post the site and forum has changed dramatically since I started. The Kerry page had some great characters back in the day, I'm sure most of ye will remember the spats online between Dublin's Snuff and Kerry's MooMoo, jez MooMoo god love him or her could never see the wood from the trees. Others like Cute Kerry Hoor are missed for their knowledge and input to the site.

Still though it's an enjoyable place this site and hope it remains unlike the likes of an fear rua which unfortunately died a death.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/10/2019 21:20:33    2240772

I am on here since 2005. I actually came across this by mistake on the internet. I had a different username till you had to register in 2008 so I'm Ollie since then.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 01/10/2019 22:39:22    2240797

Replying To Greenfield:  "Insufferable would be one word for the master alright.
There was another lad way back called Paidi the Saviour. He was around when Paidi O'Se was with Westmeath.
I never had strong feelings about Westmeath either way but that guy made it difficult to like them.
Two best posters IMO are Ollie and GaryMc82 (the chap from Derry). Both very fair minded. Think Ollie is still around, not sure about the other lad."
Cheers Greenfield for the nice comments. I'm still hanging around.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 01/10/2019 22:43:18    2240801

Replying To Whammo86:  "Ollie is excellent.

The man has some knowledge on the history of the games.

He doesn't post anywhere near as much as he used to.

Cuederocket was a poster I got on well with in the past. He's not on here ever now and I'd love to know that nothing had happened to him."
Cheers Whammo. I'm on the Wee County page. Pop in and say hello.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 01/10/2019 22:44:33    2240802

Replying To royaldunne:  "Had many a run in with moo moo and themaster. But in fairness there was no real harm to either them. Does anyone remember 51longago? Now he was insufferable. (Bit like me ) :)
Favorite posters are furlong, Ollie, htaem, royallegend richieq. Realdub jackeen, and too many others to list.
One of my favorite posters from Meath was bettystownroyal. Him and Ollie were hilarious when they got going."
Ah poor oule Betty. What ever happened him? I say he met some quare one from the Wee County and settled up in the beautiful surroundings of Carlingford.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 01/10/2019 22:47:09    2240803

Reading on here since 07/08 , joined around 10/11 .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/10/2019 00:58:59    2240825

Been reading since early 2000's and started posting around 2003/2004 I think. Hard to remember at this stage. You had the non GAA forum too back then where we could talk about any subject you wanted to. Some good oul lads and lassies on here through the years. Patrique(RIP) was a great one. Ta32,Delboy his brother. Dhorse from Laois,Ulsterman,Liam,Wayno,Jimbo.The Kerry boys. Down and Derry folk and Donegal and Mayo. Too many to name really but it's been good fun at times but it's definitely not as good as it once was. Too many restrictions on what can be said and time often wasted on a post that's not put up which is unbelievably annoying. Also it's a terribly archaic set up. If you go away for a few days you've no hope really of finding your last post which somebody might have replied to and you might want to debate something with them. If it's a popular thread you might spend the time looking even though it's such a hassle. I've spent some time on here though and it's mostly because of the other posters that use the forum.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 02/10/2019 02:56:44    2240831

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Is there a way to access all the old threads jackeen, I'd love to look back at them, there could be a flagon of linden village in it for you."
I dont think so. I followed the link someone put up about Patrique and then ended up going down a rabbit hole of old threads.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/10/2019 07:41:34    2240835

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Was thinking your gone quiet wayno,but in fairness the internet coverage can be poor in your neck of the woods in meath all right."
He sits in the local credit union as they have free WiFi and Dublin flags ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 02/10/2019 09:01:24    2240847

Think I'm only around from 2012 or so.
Used post on An Fear Rua which I enjoyed, much more Munster posters than would be on here a lot more hurling chat and also you could discuss non GAA stuff as well which was nice at times.
Once the guy that ran it closed it down I started looking around for another forum, think a few An Fear Rua refugees tried to get involved with one on Boards.ie but I found it a bit bewildering so stumbled on the Kerry forum here and then the main site.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/10/2019 09:15:22    2240852

Snuff and Breffni was the longest running HS feud
2 auld wans sniping and jostling for the last carrots in the shop :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/10/2019 09:20:03    2240854

Replying To Jackeen:  "I dont think so. I followed the link someone put up about Patrique and then ended up going down a rabbit hole of old threads."
Sound jackeen.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/10/2019 10:11:06    2240867

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Been reading since early 2000's and started posting around 2003/2004 I think. Hard to remember at this stage. You had the non GAA forum too back then where we could talk about any subject you wanted to. Some good oul lads and lassies on here through the years. Patrique(RIP) was a great one. Ta32,Delboy his brother. Dhorse from Laois,Ulsterman,Liam,Wayno,Jimbo.The Kerry boys. Down and Derry folk and Donegal and Mayo. Too many to name really but it's been good fun at times but it's definitely not as good as it once was. Too many restrictions on what can be said and time often wasted on a post that's not put up which is unbelievably annoying. Also it's a terribly archaic set up. If you go away for a few days you've no hope really of finding your last post which somebody might have replied to and you might want to debate something with them. If it's a popular thread you might spend the time looking even though it's such a hassle. I've spent some time on here though and it's mostly because of the other posters that use the forum."
Ye it's a pain like that alright. Sometimes you post something and forget where and if someone replied etc. It would be great to also have a private message function if possible. Its hard enough to do I'd say however

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/10/2019 10:44:37    2240879

07 I made my debut in a whopping decade for supporting Kerry. Unfortunately this decade not so much!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 02/10/2019 11:13:53    2240891

Replying To royaldunne:  "Had many a run in with moo moo and themaster. But in fairness there was no real harm to either them. Does anyone remember 51longago? Now he was insufferable. (Bit like me ) :)
Favorite posters are furlong, Ollie, htaem, royallegend richieq. Realdub jackeen, and too many others to list.
One of my favorite posters from Meath was bettystownroyal. Him and Ollie were hilarious when they got going."
Cheers royaldunne, some excellent poster there.

I always enjoy reading your posts, I love easily you wind people up, it's hilarious watching people take the bait. But aslo I love your genuine optimism, give me optimism over pessimism any day of the week.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/10/2019 12:53:28    2240915

Replying To Jackeen:  "Ye it's a pain like that alright. Sometimes you post something and forget where and if someone replied etc. It would be great to also have a private message function if possible. Its hard enough to do I'd say however"
Sure sometimes I even post in the wrong thread altogether Jackeen, talk about a disaster haha.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/10/2019 13:02:31    2240918

I first heard about Hoganstand around 2005 and I probably registered them. I don't think I did any regular posting until about 2007/ 2008.

Hag and Cheese, Cuederocket, and Patrique (R.I.P.) were great posters. I haven't seen Keeper7 on here in a while either which is a shame because he/ she is one of the best hurling posters on Hoganstand.

Ollie is a great poster, you could have a great debate and nobody would get upset.

In fairness to the Kerry posters they don't get too wound up either if you take an opposing view to then which I regularly do.

I love this site for throwing my opinions out for whatever they are worth. But at the end of the day opinions are like arses, we all have one. No point getting too worked up if someone disagrees with you.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 02/10/2019 15:09:23    2240958