MONEY

Replying To traleegerry:  "Well jackeen. Avonali.. Real dub.. Ye are gas lads ye can give plenty as ye have on the kerry page. Ye are not very good at taking it. Enjoy the 5 ( we know how) and if ye get the 6/7/8/9/10 ( enjoy as well) we know how)"
Do you really think you've actually given anything back in return with this thread ?

You made yourself look like a fool

You've drawn further criticism for your county..

Clap Clap...

You didnt even get Cluxtons profession right hahaha

Keep it up, gas thread

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/09/2019 20:35:09    2238885

Replying To jimbodub:  "Someone was on the dinner this morning"
Very dangerous stuff, that dinner.

Don't eat dinner and drive lads.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 24/09/2019 20:43:01    2238888

Replying To jimbodub:  "He also said he posted there recently"
No. Not 'recentl'y. I didn't say that. I posted before first final. Check it out.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/09/2019 20:54:55    2238893

Replying To jimbodub:  "He also said he posted there recently"
"I avoid that page at the moment. It's nearly more miserable than 'Angela's Ashes'."

Pretty straightforward really. Said he hasn't been on the page

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/09/2019 21:25:56    2238909

I agree.

MONEY by Pink Floyd is a great song

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 24/09/2019 21:26:17    2238910

Replying To avonali:  "Well that's easy.
Had a read after the match.
Read some posts.
Concluded that it was not worth re-visiting and haven't since.
QED."
So you have actually been on it then?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/09/2019 21:27:01    2238911

Lads if we want the truth there should be a tribunal and you who we can call to give evidence why all that money from the sports councils of Ireland went to dublin Gaa. One your own was our leader then the great bertie ahearn.. He should be given 5 all ireland medals in recognition of what he has done for Dublin football. No body wanted to talk about the dealings there until the tribunal forced them too. We need another Tom GILMARTIN (RIP) so as we can get the truth out in the open

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 24/09/2019 21:31:37    2238912

Replying To moc.dna:  "Maybe it should be for Dubs only & posts edited to suit Dub thinking, that's what's happening on here anyways. Seems priority is given to certain posters & anyone who argues a point with Dublin is shot down immediately, yeah definitely gone to the dogs."
Careful with that sort of talk. Jackeen will be along soon to dismiss it because ot your post count

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/09/2019 21:31:41    2238913

Well lads it has been a most entertaining day chatting with you all. One day the truth will be known. It always comes out in the finish history tells us that fact. Be it life or sport

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 24/09/2019 21:43:43    2238916

Replying To moc.dna:  "Maybe it should be for Dubs only & posts edited to suit Dub thinking, that's what's happening on here anyways. Seems priority is given to certain posters & anyone who argues a point with Dublin is shot down immediately, yeah definitely gone to the dogs."
Well said, the main forum is overrun by certain Dubs and their cronies - has been for years. The minute something is raised about the GAA's policy towards Dublin or the advantages they start personal attacks, sneering,jeering and trying to shout down people.
The narrative now they have concouted is that all this is only being raised because they won the 5 and that it's embittered Kerry folk that are behind it because we can't take defeat.
Theses issues have been constantly raised for years now, Prime Time specials, the GPA, every second GAA fan is asking serious questions now. Are they all embittered Kerry fans?!!!
Not one Kerry poster on here didn't acknowledge that the better team won the replay but that does not mean we can't highlight how Dublin are playing on a different field to the rest of us now.
And the most pathetic thing of all, a whole host of them have decided to come onto the Kerry forum to vent their spleen.
Not content to simply enjoy their victory they're now going out of the way to go onto another county forum to laugh and jeer and what have you.
So what does that tell ya

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/09/2019 21:54:51    2238918

Replying To royaldunne:  "6 bought all ire in a row. Some achievement lol"
Yeah bought with hard work, sweat and talent. Unlike your paltry Leinster title which ye stole from Louth by cheating. Now there is an achievement to be proud of.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/09/2019 21:56:33    2238919

Replying To traleegerry:  "Well lads it has been a most entertaining day chatting with you all. One day the truth will be known. It always comes out in the finish history tells us that fact. Be it life or sport"
Very true. History will show that Dublin were the first team ever to lift Sam 5 times however much you and your Kerry comrades wish it wasn't so

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 24/09/2019 22:02:15    2238922

Rooting for you Gerry, a lot us remember our first beer too! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/09/2019 22:10:19    2238925

Replying To MesAmis:  "Very dangerous stuff, that dinner.

Don't eat dinner and drive lads."
Even for 5?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 24/09/2019 22:13:35    2238926

Its not just about money. How many players in Dublin have to travel outside the capital for work? Or live outside the capital and travel for training? This is the reality for a lot of inter county players outside Dublin. The bulk of the Dublin panel can be in the gym early in the morning, go to work/college and train in the evening. For many inter county players living outside the capital means early morning commutes, work and travel long distance to train maybe 3 nights a week. Its a different existence. These may seem like trivial things to some people but its tough going on players in counties especially who have nothing to really compete for.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 24/09/2019 22:15:34    2238927

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ahh now RD

Zero respect for you now bud

Pity but you've always been as daft as a bag of weasels"
Ahh I'm only taking the Michal. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/09/2019 22:20:20    2238931

Dublin recieved between the years 2005 to 2018 just short of 18 million in funding with the next nearest countie getting 1.4 million, dublin allso got in the region of 5 million from Bertie Aherns government that no other countie got, add that to more sponsorship money then the rest over that time period and I think it should be clear to anyone that money played the biggest part in dublins five in a row. The decision in the early naughties to make dublin a special case and to fund them like a provence has proven to be a mistake, interest in the intercounty game outside of dublin is at an all-time low. The gaa need to address the funding inbalance asap,but the problem is it could take twenty years to sort this mess out now especially when the sitting president has his dublin head firmly buried in the sand regarding funding.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 24/09/2019 22:36:18    2238936

I'm just wondering why this money hasn't translated into hurling All Ireland success.
That's the hole in this argument you see but it's not something that these begrudges like to acknowledge.
Keep on about transition and professionalism if that makes you feel better.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/09/2019 07:50:12    2238960

I think it came as a shock to some Kerry supporters that they did not beat this Dublin team in the final. Walking out of Killarney stadium, following Kerry's win over Mayo, I was surprised how confident Kerry supporters were after that victory in beating Dublin, from what I heard. Mayo were playing a fourth game in as many weeks and looked dead on their feet for most of the game against Kerry. If Mayo had played Donegal the following week instead of Meath they would have lost.
Don't get me wrong, this Kerry squad over the next decade will win at least 2 or 3 all Ireland's as they have a very young and talented panel. However, this Dublin panel were / are exceptional footballers and it could be another long time before we see such collective talent again.

Giveitago (Mayo) - Posts: 86 - 25/09/2019 08:56:53    2238966

Replying To The_Fonz:  "Its not just about money. How many players in Dublin have to travel outside the capital for work? Or live outside the capital and travel for training? This is the reality for a lot of inter county players outside Dublin. The bulk of the Dublin panel can be in the gym early in the morning, go to work/college and train in the evening. For many inter county players living outside the capital means early morning commutes, work and travel long distance to train maybe 3 nights a week. Its a different existence. These may seem like trivial things to some people but its tough going on players in counties especially who have nothing to really compete for."
This is for another thread. Otherwise it will become cluttered with hysteria just like all the other ones. Everyone firing in the air and screaming all manor of topics simultaneously. Not good debating.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/09/2019 09:07:13    2238973