The Dublin Trinity

Replying To sligo joe:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "All this nonsense about Dublin boycotting the all Ireland if they were split in two is simply that, nonsense ......wouldn't not be better to create proper competitive conditions or do you simply seek to have a numerical and as a consequence financial advantage over everyone else.....change will be coming whether people like it or not as urban growth and rural depopulation needs to be faced into by the GAA, ultimately that will mean structural change whether people like it or not.......
PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 696 - 18/09/2019 12:53:30

I'm not sure you get it. Splitting Dublin in 2/3/4 is removing Dublin from the Championship.

It will lead to a massive lack of interest in inter-county GAA in the new made up "counties" that you've created.

It would take a generation or two before you'd be able to grow any sort of interest in these new counties.

Dublin people have a connection to Dublin as a city and county. To cut off bits of it and create new counties that they don't have the same connection to is obviously going to affect the interest levels.

I'm not saying there isn't merits in the idea but just people need to be realistic about what would happen. Partitioning Dublin would take 30/40 years before anyone would develop an affinity with the county, essentially it would have to be those that have no memory of the current situation that grow up and make the new counties successful and relevant.

Like you said, urban growth and rural depopulation need to be faced by the GAA but also people need to made aware of the likely consequences of certain ideas floating about."
But mes if you don't split Dublin it's going to lead to a lack of interest from the other 31 counties, the needs of the many fat outweigh the needs of few."
Strange I don't have recall of such concern for the needs of the few until lately, where was the concern and upset for the needs of the Leitrims, Longfords, Waterfords, Carlows and many more of the football world, counties that languished without hope long before any Dublin dominance. Splitting Dublin into even smithereens will have no benefit for these counties so surely if the ambition of the proponents of splitting Dublin is to create a level playing field the needs of these counties would also have to be addressed by enforced amalgamations or whatever. In a meagre 5 team Connacht championship after 112 years Sligo and Leitrim have a combined total of 5 wins! Kerry have won 81 Munster championships, 66%, what should we do about that. If there is an proposal to overhaul the County based structure of the football championship fair enough let it be put out there and see is there an appetite for it, but just proposing the dismantling of one County won't wash."]This.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 18/09/2019 16:09:42    2237202

Replying To Crinigan:  "Good. Lose interest. Go back to Bohs and Shamrock Rovers . You are not GAA people. Real GAA people are interested in a fair and equitable competition. They understand the cultural significance of the organization and what it represents to communities up and down the country.

As Dr. Niall Moyna (formerly on the Dublin backroom team and manager of DCU) wrote yesterday, Dublin only have real fan base of about 8k real GAA people. The rest as far as I can see are a shower of mouths with no interest in the GAA as a whole, its future or any sense of competition. Its just an excuse for a p***-up and a row and a jeer and so long as ye are winning, that's all that matters. Its purely a way of one-upmanship and asserting some kind of superiority complex over the rest of the country, or boggers and culchies as you would ascribe them.

It seems that a lot of Dublin fans (and indeed Dublin players going by their twitter feeds) have woken up today to the fact that the country is not celebrating the 5 in a row or showing respect to the remarkable achievement of a 5 in a row. It is tainted. Badly tainted by not only inequity in the distribution of funds but also in the unashamed conversion of the national stadium into Dublin's home ground.

We've all heard about how only Dublin songs were played in Croke Park on All Ireland Final Day and the homage to Stephen Cluxton on the screen just before kickoff in the Leinster semi-final. But also the assessment of Meath coach Colm Nally (a former Dublin player) of what its like for opposition teams to now play against Dublin in Croke Park was stark (he touched on how the stewards treat the Dublin players differently to the Meath players from the moment they get off the bus, how they are allowed the run of the stadium's facilities while Meath players are strictly restricted in terms of access by the Dublin stewards, to how the referee, linesmen and umpires referred to the Dublin players by their first names and the Meath players by their numbers).

Also, can anyone tell me how Dublin are allowed to have a whole terrace for themselves allowing them to generate an atmosphere like no other team can in Croke Park while Dublin are playing? If so, when was this decision taken? Was it voted on in congress? Was it a decision by Croke Park themselves? When I was a younger man, Meath fans used to take up the Canal terrace end and we could try to create a similar atmosphere. Why was there no terrace left in the Canal end yet Hill 16 was kept as a terrace? Why are Dublin allowed the same dressing room in Croke Park each time? Why are the allowed to warm up in front of their reserved terrace? Is this a directive from Croke Park? I'd genuinely love to know."
Well said, get it off yer chest, I always say

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 673 - 18/09/2019 16:24:35    2237213

A provincial concession can be granted to Dublin after a split:

Quarter-finals: (On a league off weekend.)
Munster v Ulster
Connaught v Leinster

Semi-final: (On a league off weekend)
Ulster v Connaught

Final on St. Patrick's Day:
Dublin v Ulster in Croke Park.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7806 - 18/09/2019 16:33:40    2237218

Replying To legendzxix:  "Congratulations to Dublin on what is a good achievement for them.

Limerick, Cork and Galway have had city and county councils. Dublin has 3 county councils and the capital city council. Dialogue needs to move in the direction of the 3 county sections of Dublin sharing a section of the city each. It will not happen overnight. It will probably have to happen after a three year period of three teams entering underage and possibly in the national league as well.

Sensible discussion is welcome. If people think this is a crackpot suggestion, please respectfully move on.

The suggestion:
North Dublin = Fingal County and a section of the city.
South Dublin = South Dublin County and a section of the city.
East Dublin or Mid Dublin = Dun Laoighaire-Rathdown and a section of the city.

May the capital winter well."
There was no word about splitting Kerry back in the 70s and 80s when they were handing out beatings for fun was there?
Take it on the chin like Dublin did back in 2014 when Donegal beat them and come back if ye are able.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/09/2019 16:38:02    2237220

Replying To arock:  "But please don't lose sight of the obvious. On Prime time Na Fianna pointed out they 3000+ players they have 1 games promotion officer. This GPO doesn't give personal training to Johnny Cooper and Eoin Murchan he runs a nursery of 500+ he goes into 10 schools of all ages and sex and gets hundreds involved in GAA sports those 10 schools have a potential playing pop of 10,000. So what's the answer? Don't send someone into schools let the kids play other sports? Just so Leitrim can keep score down in 10 years? Mad arguments"
No. Splitting Dublin is clearly what the OP suggests. It is what this thread is about.

How could you enter this thread, read the original post, and then think the OP was suggesting to take funding away?

And your post had 3 upvotes, is everyone on this site blind?

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 18/09/2019 16:39:11    2237221

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "All this nonsense about Dublin boycotting the all Ireland if they were split in two is simply that, nonsense ......wouldn't not be better to create proper competitive conditions or do you simply seek to have a numerical and as a consequence financial advantage over everyone else.....change will be coming whether people like it or not as urban growth and rural depopulation needs to be faced into by the GAA, ultimately that will mean structural change whether people like it or not.......

I'm not sure you get it. Splitting Dublin in 2/3/4 is removing Dublin from the Championship.

It will lead to a massive lack of interest in inter-county GAA in the new made up "counties" that you've created.

It would take a generation or two before you'd be able to grow any sort of interest in these new counties.

Dublin people have a connection to Dublin as a city and county. To cut off bits of it and create new counties that they don't have the same connection to is obviously going to affect the interest levels.

I'm not saying there isn't merits in the idea but just people need to be realistic about what would happen. Partitioning Dublin would take 30/40 years before anyone would develop an affinity with the county, essentially it would have to be those that have no memory of the current situation that grow up and make the new counties successful and relevant.

Like you said, urban growth and rural depopulation need to be faced by the GAA but also people need to made aware of the likely consequences of certain ideas floating about."
But mes if you don't split Dublin it's going to lead to a lack of interest from the other 31 counties, the needs of the many fat outweigh the needs of few."
Dublin aren't going to dominate forever. Kerry are on the brink of their own period of dominance. What Dublin have produced this decade is simply not sustainable and won't be sustained.

I do see the merits of a split. Really but just lets be honest about what it'll look like. No real Dublin presence in the Championship for a period of time. At least 20 years but could be more.

Also if we're talking partition we need to be talking about amalgamations but because otherwise what's the point?

If the split was part of an overall look into how we structure the teams entering the competitions then it makes sense to me so that the GAA can move with the shifting populations on the island."]A split will never happen but I think Dublin should have to play more big games out of Croke Park they played 36 games to win 5 in a row 30 were in Croker

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 18/09/2019 16:43:27    2237226

Replying To Crinigan:  "Good. Lose interest. Go back to Bohs and Shamrock Rovers . You are not GAA people. Real GAA people are interested in a fair and equitable competition. They understand the cultural significance of the organization and what it represents to communities up and down the country.

As Dr. Niall Moyna (formerly on the Dublin backroom team and manager of DCU) wrote yesterday, Dublin only have real fan base of about 8k real GAA people. The rest as far as I can see are a shower of mouths with no interest in the GAA as a whole, its future or any sense of competition. Its just an excuse for a p***-up and a row and a jeer and so long as ye are winning, that's all that matters. Its purely a way of one-upmanship and asserting some kind of superiority complex over the rest of the country, or boggers and culchies as you would ascribe them.

It seems that a lot of Dublin fans (and indeed Dublin players going by their twitter feeds) have woken up today to the fact that the country is not celebrating the 5 in a row or showing respect to the remarkable achievement of a 5 in a row. It is tainted. Badly tainted by not only inequity in the distribution of funds but also in the unashamed conversion of the national stadium into Dublin's home ground.

We've all heard about how only Dublin songs were played in Croke Park on All Ireland Final Day and the homage to Stephen Cluxton on the screen just before kickoff in the Leinster semi-final. But also the assessment of Meath coach Colm Nally (a former Dublin player) of what its like for opposition teams to now play against Dublin in Croke Park was stark (he touched on how the stewards treat the Dublin players differently to the Meath players from the moment they get off the bus, how they are allowed the run of the stadium's facilities while Meath players are strictly restricted in terms of access by the Dublin stewards, to how the referee, linesmen and umpires referred to the Dublin players by their first names and the Meath players by their numbers).

Also, can anyone tell me how Dublin are allowed to have a whole terrace for themselves allowing them to generate an atmosphere like no other team can in Croke Park while Dublin are playing? If so, when was this decision taken? Was it voted on in congress? Was it a decision by Croke Park themselves? When I was a younger man, Meath fans used to take up the Canal terrace end and we could try to create a similar atmosphere. Why was there no terrace left in the Canal end yet Hill 16 was kept as a terrace? Why are Dublin allowed the same dressing room in Croke Park each time? Why are the allowed to warm up in front of their reserved terrace? Is this a directive from Croke Park? I'd genuinely love to know."
How many roads must a man walk down
Before you call him a man?
How many seas must a white dove sail
Before she sleeps in the sand?
Yes, 'n' how many times must the cannon balls fly
Before they're forever banned?
The answer, my friend, is blowin' in the wind
The answer is blowin' in the wind

Yes, 'n' how many years can a mountain exist
Before it's washed to the sea?
Yes, 'n' how many years can some people exist
Before they're allowed to be free?
Yes, 'n' how many times can a man turn his head
And pretend that he just doesn't see?

Yes, 'n' how many times must a man look up
Before he can see the sky?
Yes, 'n' how many ears must one man have
Before he can hear people cry?
Yes, 'n' how many deaths will it take till he knows
That too many people have died?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 18/09/2019 16:48:36    2237228

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "If you split Dublin, in a few years it would just be the equivalent of Rangers returning to being competitive with Celtic.

But the current Rangers are only 7 years old and have never been competitive with Celtic since they were formed so therefore cannot return to being competitive."
True, but then again, this Dublin team are professional in all but name while the great Dublin teams of the 70s were amateur.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 18/09/2019 16:48:39    2237229

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "But again, all those involved in GAA in Dublin want to play for Dublin not a watered down version of it. It's not ideal but like I said it would be far less ideal if Dublin were split and interest would suffer.
Let me put it another way for you. Would Cork or any other Munster county be happy to beat a portion of Kerry to win a title. Of course not. That's the basic issue that makes splitting any county wrong.
You can never accommodate everyone but getting people involved and competing in the GAA is good for it. If you try splitting Dublin, the foundation is gone in Dublin and Rugby and soccer and athletics and whatever other sports you can think of will benefit. Our dominance won't last forever. Kerry would probably have been on for 7 or 8 in a row back in the 70s and 80s but for Dublin and Offaly.
It happens, don't forget Dublin won a few of their 5 in a row by very small margins and replays."
What evidence is there that yer dominance won't last for ever? Yer team is getting younger and that's a proven fact.

According to Kevin McStay in yesterday's Irish times Ciaran Whellan said the money the GAA have pumped in hasn't started churning out its talent yet.

You say people in Dublin would lose interest if the county is split but all the people in the country are going to lose interest if ye aren't split or if something drastic isn't done.

The GAA aren't going to be able to rely on replays to keep money coming in for ever.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/09/2019 17:21:59    2237246

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "There was no word about splitting Kerry back in the 70s and 80s when they were handing out beatings for fun was there?
Take it on the chin like Dublin did back in 2014 when Donegal beat them and come back if ye are able."
It is taken on the chin. I agreed with the split in 2001 when I was living in Dublin. The Evening Herald had a map of Dublin Split outlining what it would look like.

Is mise le meas,

The Legend.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7806 - 18/09/2019 17:27:02    2237250

Replying To bubba83:  "I'm all for having a discussion on inequality in the Championship structure. However if part of that discussion is on splitting Dublin in two, three or whatever, then we must also be open to counties amalgamating and consolidating to even out the differences as much as possible.

A Championship based on county and provincial geographical borders has always had flaws, one of which was Ulster teams having to play more matches than a Munster team to win an All Ireland. Does the restructuring begin and end with Dublin or are we willing to consider making changes wholesale to address imbalances across the board."
Here's my vision of the provincial championship:
Munster - Clare, Limerick, Tipperary, Laois, Offaly, Waterford, Cork and Kerry. (8)

Connaught - Sligo, Leitrim, Roscommon, Longford, Westmeath, London, Galway and Mayo. (8)

Ulster - 9 counties as is. (9)

Leinster - Meath, Louth, North Dublin, Mid Dublin, South Dublin, Wicklow, Wexford, Carlow and Kildare. (9)

Provincial finalists into Final 16 ( 4 groups of 4.)

16 highest league non provincial finalists into a playoff round for 8 Final 16 spots.

10 teams entering a Tier 2 Championship. 2 groups of 5. Winner guaranteed a playoff spot in the following year.

8 playoff losers into a separate Second Championship parallel to the Tier 2 Championship. 2 groups of 4. Winner of this guaranteed a playoff spot in the following year as well.

All teams will get at least 5 championship games. It fits into the current fixture calendar. Provincial finals can be played on the June Bank Holiday Weekend. The group stage will finish in early-mid July. Hurling can be accounted for as well.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7806 - 18/09/2019 17:39:07    2237256

God where do I begin. I can't stand soccer no.1. Country not celebrating our achievement? Be very odd if they did. Change the dressing room thing and Hill 16 all you want, still wouldn't have stopped this lot. We don't lay claim to any changing room, that's up to Croke Park. These boys could tog off in a cowshed and still win it.

Ah I remember the Meath team of my day. I was talking to one of them yesterday and he is embarrassed by all the whinging .They must have a bucket handy when listening to the likes of you. If you have a problem with the warm up, send your team down to that end of the pitch, our boys won't mind one bit, they'll just make you suffer on the field of play.

As for our bandwagon fans, every county has them. We just have more because we have a bigger population. And only for them the GAA would be struggling financially and that's a fact. Meath have no excuse going forward, get your house in order because at the moment ye are a pale shadow of a once proud county, who I actually respected and admired, as well as hated.

As for the terrace being retained, I think you'll find that this had nothing to do with keeping it for the bandwagon Dubs happy, do a little research.

And finally, how can you possibly say I am not a real GAA person, where is your evidence? What makes you are more genuine GAA person than me? I'm dying to know. To me you sound exactly like a barfly/armchair critic without a clue. I hope for Meath's sake people like you are not actually involved in the Royal going forward.

Earn some respect and you might just get some.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 18/09/2019 17:49:54    2237258

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What evidence is there that yer dominance won't last for ever? Yer team is getting younger and that's a proven fact.

According to Kevin McStay in yesterday's Irish times Ciaran Whellan said the money the GAA have pumped in hasn't started churning out its talent yet.

You say people in Dublin would lose interest if the county is split but all the people in the country are going to lose interest if ye aren't split or if something drastic isn't done.

The GAA aren't going to be able to rely on replays to keep money coming in for ever."
But sure we're told all the time we're only winning because of the money. You can't have it both ways.
Dublin will still only be able to put our one panel like Kerry can.
Would you be happy to win an AI beating a watered down version of Dublin ? Yes or no.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/09/2019 18:14:41    2237265

Replying To RAHKILL:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "All this nonsense about Dublin boycotting the all Ireland if they were split in two is simply that, nonsense ......wouldn't not be better to create proper competitive conditions or do you simply seek to have a numerical and as a consequence financial advantage over everyone else.....change will be coming whether people like it or not as urban growth and rural depopulation needs to be faced into by the GAA, ultimately that will mean structural change whether people like it or not.......

Dublin aren't going to dominate forever. Kerry are on the brink of their own period of dominance. What Dublin have produced this decade is simply not sustainable and won't be sustained.

I do see the merits of a split. Really but just lets be honest about what it'll look like. No real Dublin presence in the Championship for a period of time. At least 20 years but could be more.

Also if we're talking partition we need to be talking about amalgamations but because otherwise what's the point?

If the split was part of an overall look into how we structure the teams entering the competitions then it makes sense to me so that the GAA can move with the shifting populations on the island."]A split will never happen but I think Dublin should have to play more big games out of Croke Park they played 36 games to win 5 in a row 30 were in Croker"]I don't think anyone would disagree with more games on the road.

That's up to the other county boards. It's completely within their gift to sort that issue out.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 18/09/2019 18:53:19    2237274

Replying To keithlemon:  "Why does Dublin have to be split? Why don't all other teams amalgamate as a province to be one team. So you have the 3 provinces, Dublin and Leinster (excluding Dublin). Guarantee of more competitive games and levels the playing field in terms of population.
I don't understand why people continue to bemoan the population advantage and think that splitting Dublin in 2/3/4 would help. You need to split Dublin in 10 before they come close to population size equal to the lowest county population.
Why does the 'level playing field' argument, for so many, start and end with splitting Dublin? If Dublin were split would Louth and Wicklows chances of winning Leinster increase dramatically? Would Leitrim be licking their lips that day and say "now we've got a chance"?"
You'd be a lot closer to the future look of the gaa in the next decade or so. It won't just be the splitting of Dublin in to 2/3 teams but the disintegration of the whole county and provincial system to a more equitable system based maybe on voting localities . Be careful what yee wish for lads you just might get it

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 18/09/2019 19:01:57    2237280

If players on the ground in Dublin are I tee county standard and don't make the Dublin squad, I can see a scenario where is they will nominate to play for other counties or play other sports

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/09/2019 19:04:05    2237282

Laughing here that your telling an ex inter-county player he's not a real GAA man.

Talk about a massive fail, like challenging Muhammad Ali to a bit of a scrap.

:D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 18/09/2019 19:25:16    2237290

Yeah splitting Dublin opens a bit of a Pandora's box.

There is no point in disbanding Dublin without equaling the playing field elsewhere imo.

The structure is either based on traditional County system or it's not.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 18/09/2019 19:38:11    2237298

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "But sure we're told all the time we're only winning because of the money. You can't have it both ways.
Dublin will still only be able to put our one panel like Kerry can.
Would you be happy to win an AI beating a watered down version of Dublin ? Yes or no."
It will not be watered down. It's an evolution that has taken place. It's not a cheery future. Strong possibility of all Dublin finals. At least it'll be a fair contest. I've outlined a provincial solution to respect Dublin's heritage.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7806 - 18/09/2019 19:55:00    2237306

Replying To Donegalman:  "If players on the ground in Dublin are I tee county standard and don't make the Dublin squad, I can see a scenario where is they will nominate to play for other counties or play other sports"
Agree but same in every county surely. Players on the fringe in Donegal playing in Sligo, players on the fringe of Kerry playing for Waterford or whatever. If a split did occur then the whole provincial and IC structure would unravel as somebody else has said. The current structure, by it's nature (geographical) has always been lop sided. To truly make it equitable would require that all geographical boundaries are broken across all counties.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/09/2019 19:57:02    2237307