New trend of bringing kids onto the pitch after finals

Sure what harm is there with them letting us all see how family orientated they are (for those with their own weans on show) or how good they are with kids and therefore great suitors (for those who grabbed someone else's kid). Let them at it - each to their own and all that. I know personally having got a few weans, all whom I love and cherish dearly, that as soon as that final whistle went on AI day the ones who I would be wanting to celebrate it with in the immediate aftermath would be my team mates only. Plenty of time to catch up with the missus and the weans when the dust has settled.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 17/09/2019 07:21:06    2236452

Think all sportspeople do this nowadays not just GAA don't see the harm if they are the players kids.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 17/09/2019 07:41:50    2236457

Looks good for the corporate sponsor to have the whole family decked out with their name splashed all over them. Anything the English premiership crowd do the professional GAA team must copy

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 17/09/2019 08:46:20    2236477

It made me feel sick.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 17/09/2019 09:06:02    2236484

Why would anyone seriously give such things a thought? Humbug humbug is the way of things these days.

Dinosbar&grill (Dublin) - Posts: 23 - 17/09/2019 09:16:53    2236495

Replying To flyinghigh:  "Is it just me or is this new phenomenon of bringing kids onto pitches for photo shots by players after games gone totally out of hand.It was ridiculous after Saturday nights replay as practically every Dublin player had at least one child with them on pitch after winning. It was never like this..yes players or managers rushed out to stands to celebrate with family but the pitch was sacred to those involved."
I blame Liam Sheedy it has all gone to hell in a hand basket since he started the trend.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 17/09/2019 09:53:53    2236506

Replying To flyinghigh:  "Is it just me or is this new phenomenon of bringing kids onto pitches for photo shots by players after games gone totally out of hand.It was ridiculous after Saturday nights replay as practically every Dublin player had at least one child with them on pitch after winning. It was never like this..yes players or managers rushed out to stands to celebrate with family but the pitch was sacred to those involved."
It's the unwritten rule on All Ireland Final day. The only ones who can bring their kids onto the grass are the GOATs.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 17/09/2019 09:55:04    2236507

Brogan hung around this year for the post final photo

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 17/09/2019 15:06:09    2236649

if i had my way everyone would be let out there.
there was nothing like the scenes at the gaelic grounds,or dr hyde park,earlier this summer.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 17/09/2019 15:43:58    2236668

"Sacred to those involved" when did you start watching matches? Half of Croke Park ended up on the pitch after an AI traditionally. As for lads bringing their kids onto the pitch at one of the proudest moments of their lives what possible problem could you have with this?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 17/09/2019 18:00:39    2236738

Sure what harm is there with them letting us all see how family orientated they are (for those with their own weans on show) or how good they are with kids and therefore great suitors (for those who grabbed someone else's kid). Let them at it - each to their own and all that. I know personally having got a few weans, all whom I love and cherish dearly, that as soon as that final whistle went on AI day the ones who I would be wanting to celebrate it with in the immediate aftermath would be my team mates only. Plenty of time to catch up with the missus and the weans when the dust has settled.
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 3850 - 17/09/2019 07:21:06
But the players do in immediate aftermath get to celebrate with their team mates. family come on then.
The families should be part of the moment as well. The players should and are able to celebrate with each

if i had my way everyone would be let out there.
there was nothing like the scenes at the gaelic grounds,or dr hyde park,earlier this summer.
perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3458 - 17/09/2019 15:43:58
really shouldnt. The pitch in immediate aftermath of game and at all stages on big match day bar emergencies should be for players and officials and coaches only bar families of players...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 19/09/2019 22:16:19    2237704

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yes, it's horrible seeing children happy isn't it!

It's gone too far!"
Lol!!

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 19/09/2019 23:54:20    2237726

Ridiculous thread!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/09/2019 07:44:29    2237742

I heard the Dubs pay someone to bring their kids out onto the pitch for them

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 20/09/2019 08:59:29    2237750

Chewing gum in the 70s tasted far better too, because of all the sugar.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/09/2019 09:42:24    2237760

What a strange thread, weird thing to complain about.
Imagine being so bitter that you get outraged looking at players celebrating with loved ones, bizaare

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 20/09/2019 10:11:09    2237770

Will you let it go, ye lost fair and square.
Little to be whinging about.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 20/09/2019 16:40:18    2237866

Of course, in 20 years' time, one of those kids will be playing in an All Ireland Final himself and those cute pictures will be a huge embarrassment to him.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 20/09/2019 17:56:54    2237882