Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown!

Replying To Wally:  "Mmm its interesting the amount of excuses being posted here.

It was alcohol
It was the late throw in
It was young Kerry lads who dont know any better
It was an old Dublin fella asking for it

I have been watching and attending county football for a long, long time and I have never once seen my own county fans involved in anything like this.

Its seems strange that this incident isn't gathering a lot more discussion and condemnation across the board and from more news outlets.

I doubt my own county brethren would be afforded the same leeway if we had of started a boxing match with rival fans during or after a game of football never mind the All Ireland final."
The corporate partners wouldn't like bad publicity on national media I think.

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 16/09/2019 13:41:19    2236084

Replying To realdub:  "They were defending themselves"
Not by what was up on social media they weren't. Grey haired guy throws first punch.

Unless you want to go by anecdotal evidence on events leading up to the footage - which we can't really, the video is clear that there were middle aged men involved in this that should no better and not get involved.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/09/2019 13:50:15    2236089

Replying To Wally:  "Mmm its interesting the amount of excuses being posted here.

It was alcohol
It was the late throw in
It was young Kerry lads who dont know any better
It was an old Dublin fella asking for it

I have been watching and attending county football for a long, long time and I have never once seen my own county fans involved in anything like this.

Its seems strange that this incident isn't gathering a lot more discussion and condemnation across the board and from more news outlets.

I doubt my own county brethren would be afforded the same leeway if we had of started a boxing match with rival fans during or after a game of football never mind the All Ireland final."
Less of the holier than thou.
I have seen you lads at something similar. No county is immune from idiots

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 16/09/2019 13:52:03    2236091

The Dublin and Kerry fans both agree that the first stone was thrown from Coalisland. Those pesky Tyrone fans again.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 16/09/2019 13:58:31    2236093

palestine flags! where do they be goin with that ****e . dubs and tyrone

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 16/09/2019 14:06:53    2236097

There's been bigger skirmishes at a kids play group. Good for a head line and a bit of news. Warning and detention after school.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 16/09/2019 14:08:17    2236099

Replying To Richieq:  "Ah go away out of that with your mass brawl, go find a Palestinian flag to cry into or some other flag of a nation you know little about but think you have a kindred spirit with."
Excuse me.

Could you please elaborate on this statement?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 16/09/2019 14:10:30    2236101

The rumour i heard is that the kerry young fella was asking the dubs fan how his club was doing and the dubs fella took offence saying ye cheeky effer sure you know man city are getting beat dont ye ;)

Or else it was Tyrones fault :)

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1336 - 16/09/2019 14:25:15    2236110

It was surprising how the JACKS didn't stone the Kerry bus.....it wouldn't be "their" first time to do that on All Ireland Final Day!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 16/09/2019 14:33:30    2236111

Replying To TheHermit:  "Horrible to see, I'm sure those Kerry young lads were asking for it, but not great seeing grown men from Dublin throwing punches at them.
This stuff has to stop, we've seen a bit of it in recent times in Thurles at hurling games too.
It's going to get to a stage where segregation might be introduced and what a horrible horrible thought that would be.
In saying that I was in the Lower Cusack and there was a bit of a cruffle just at start of second half involving two Dubs, think one must have said something pretty objectionable to the other and a steward quickly threw on of them out.

Like the 6pm thrown in has to be looked at, there was two premiership matches involving Liverpool and Man U playing before, many people were probably in the pubs from noon or after. Lots of lads very under the influence and things like this are probably to be expected.

The GAA should endevour to ensure replays happen at a half 3 or 4pm thrown in in future."
Yeah seems to be a Munster GAA problem. Terrible to see.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 16/09/2019 14:34:43    2236113

Replying To Donegalman:  "Not by what was up on social media they weren't. Grey haired guy throws first punch.

Unless you want to go by anecdotal evidence on events leading up to the footage - which we can't really, the video is clear that there were middle aged men involved in this that should no better and not get involved."
Read more: http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/thread/7071/kerry-dublin-ireland-final-2019?page=57#ixzz5zdAYDA5p

onlykerry said:

sullyschoice said:

Was there some sort if row on the hill afterwards. I heard reports of bottles thrown etc

there looked to be a few Kerry lads upset with the loss - sadly they reacted and were at fault by throwing objects which is totally unacceptable.

Yeah saw the whole lot in fairness a group of young Kerry lads were the instigators and it was a pity really and left a sour taste leaving (as if it wasn't bad enough!)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/09/2019 14:41:15    2236119

Replying To Superglue:  "Less of the holier than thou.
I have seen you lads at something similar. No county is immune from idiots"
Holier than thou from a Kerry fan! That's rich.

Your fans have been caught causing and/or participating in a mass brawl. That is fact.

Would you please care to condemn their actions and admit that Kerry have a nasty element to their support base?

When have you seen Tyrone fans boxing the head off opposition fans?

Please elaborate.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 16/09/2019 14:45:06    2236124

Replying To Wally:  "Holier than thou from a Kerry fan! That's rich.

Your fans have been caught causing and/or participating in a mass brawl. That is fact.

Would you please care to condemn their actions and admit that Kerry have a nasty element to their support base?

When have you seen Tyrone fans boxing the head off opposition fans?

Please elaborate."
Was there not a fight on the train involving Tyrone & Armagh lads one time?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 16/09/2019 14:51:03    2236128

If a lad spat in my face u can be sure I wouldn't walk away peacefully. Watch the video again. Watch the "third man in"....
No sympathy

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2019 14:51:43    2236129

Laughing at what passes for a brawl. You can look at this any way you want an older Dublin gent gives a Kerry youngster a dig, or a Kerry 20 something having a go at an older guy.

I'd like to apologize on behalf of our county for a weak ***** punch, if your going to lamp someone do it right.

Absolute handbags, just happy no one was hurt and those Kerry men got out of the Hill in one piece.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/09/2019 15:06:54    2236141

Replying To TheUsername:  "Laughing at what passes for a brawl. You can look at this any way you want an older Dublin gent gives a Kerry youngster a dig, or a Kerry 20 something having a go at an older guy.

I'd like to apologize on behalf of our county for a weak ***** punch, if your going to lamp someone do it right.

Absolute handbags, just happy no one was hurt and those Kerry men got out of the Hill in one piece."
Those same lads were shown on television pre and during the match a few times. Very easy identify them. All my years going to Dublin kerry games never met a sounder bunch of fans as kerry. Don't mind these gob****s

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2019 15:23:26    2236150

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Defending themselves? I wasnt there and can only comment on the video doing the rounds but it was a middle aged Dublin thug who through the first punch. What exactly was he defendingf himself from a few verbals?"
Perhaps he was being verbally abused, spat on. Who knows? It looked to me like the Kerry lads were already being escorted out by the guards so I''m guessing that there are two sides to this. No excuse for digs being thrown but definite provocation going on it seemed.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/09/2019 15:30:44    2236156

Replying To katser:  "It was surprising how the JACKS didn't stone the Kerry bus.....it wouldn't be "their" first time to do that on All Ireland Final Day!"
Let's face it, it's not as though your county has been good enough to witness AI final days with the Jacks.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/09/2019 15:33:03    2236157

Replying To Joxer:  "Let's face it, it's not as though your county has been good enough to witness AI final days with the Jacks."
If they got the 20M funding and Dublin got the level galway received I'd be fairly confident his county would have played in at least 1 final. Not to mention special government grants or the biggest sponsorships the GAA has ever seen. If they play all important championship matches at home or got 2 home super 8 games. That's only a few of the things your county has enjoyed but it's a bit rich to slag off a galway man for not being good enough.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/09/2019 15:43:35    2236164

Ugly scenes but I've seen similar on the hill between hurling fans. More disturbing was a riot in a pub after the game that is doing the rounds today.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 16/09/2019 15:52:15    2236171