Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Gavin is a genius and that is a genuinely great team. If Gaelic football was a world sport they would probably win that too.

The fact is that this achievement means nothing due to the financial doping and favouritism by the GAA. Very unfair on that coach and group of players as I think that they would have probably got 5 without the 16:1 funding. Dublin the victims as much as the rest of us.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 14/09/2019 20:11:10    2235286

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Fair play to Dublin great team .
I love the way Cluxton pays respect to the opponent's without the patronising 3 cheers nonsense"
As I have mentioned in other threads Gks are a different breed and have an abstract way of thinking as sports people. Time and again across sports you see a Gk go first to his opposite number usually or his sub to celebrate.

Im so happy for Cluxton and saying this as someone who would have loved to see Dublin lose if anyone could do the 5 im glad its him and glad to have seen the best keeper in football history

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 14/09/2019 20:14:46    2235289

Brilliant achievement by this group of Dublin players. Winning 7 of the last 9 all Ireland titles,and today making it an historic 5 in a row to prove without a shadow of a doubt that they are indeed the greatest team to have ever played this game. Worthy champions again.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/09/2019 20:15:56    2235290

Congrats to Dublin and all the Dublin posters on this site. History makers.

Commiserations to Kerry but the thing about ye is, you are guaranteed to see your county win Sam in the not too distant future.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/09/2019 20:20:56    2235292

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Fair play to the Dubs, just like against Mayo in 16 and 17 they make the scores look that bit easier. Brian Howard absolutely sensational in the second half. O Brien not laying it off was the chance they needed to take."
Not sure about your detective work there Flaker.
In the drawn match in 16 when Lane had the whistle the dubs scored 0-3 (or thereabouts) from play - today 1-17.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 14/09/2019 20:26:04    2235296

Replying To Daith:  "Gavin is a genius and that is a genuinely great team. If Gaelic football was a world sport they would probably win that too.

The fact is that this achievement means nothing due to the financial doping and favouritism by the GAA. Very unfair on that coach and group of players as I think that they would have probably got 5 without the 16:1 funding. Dublin the victims as much as the rest of us."
Just enjoy it.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 14/09/2019 20:28:06    2235297

No one likes to see any team dominate for 5 years (unless it's your own obviously) but fairplay to Dublin the better team won and a historic achievement

Kerry just need to push on. Very young team and plenty of those lads stood up and showed they have what it takes. There is an all ireland in this team

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 14/09/2019 20:28:16    2235298

Replying To Daith:  "Gavin is a genius and that is a genuinely great team. If Gaelic football was a world sport they would probably win that too.

The fact is that this achievement means nothing due to the financial doping and favouritism by the GAA. Very unfair on that coach and group of players as I think that they would have probably got 5 without the 16:1 funding. Dublin the victims as much as the rest of us."
.Kerry had one chance to beat Dublin.That was 2 weeks ago.Not taken and Kerry paid the price today.Gavin is a great Manager and he got his calls right today.Bar Diarmuid Connolly who except for one great pass,was a liability for Dublin in that second half.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 14/09/2019 20:33:23    2235301

Super performance from Dublin, Kerry did amazing to hang in there. In the first half it felt like the ref was being much harder on Dublin. Dublin forwards couldn't buy a free and some of the turnovers by the Dublin forwards on Kerry backs that he blew up seemed legit. I felt it kept the score closer at half time than it should have been.

That Kerry team will win a number of All Ireland's though. They look class.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 14/09/2019 20:37:08    2235302

Replying To lilylanger:  "Ref had his hand up for advantage as he was being fouled"
Well done dublin, would have won anyway but can you at least pretend you're not from dublin. Ref wasn't playing any advantage. Anyway, dubs are a class team and fully deserved the win.

Dmck19 (Kerry) - Posts: 24 - 14/09/2019 20:37:44    2235303

Well done the Dubs, at least Kerry can console themselves with the fact that team will win multiple All Ireland's .

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 14/09/2019 20:42:08    2235307

Congratulations to Dublin, no excuses the better team won, we're a good bit off their level but we'll live and learn.

Moran has questions to answer but that's for another day and it probably wouldn't have mattered anyway.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/09/2019 20:46:31    2235309

Congratulations to Dublin. Not easy to watch as a Meath man , but fair is fair. Hell of an achievement. I never thought I would see a team win 3 in a row. I thought 4 in a row was impossible. And 5 in a row was something mythical and unachievable.
So to see a team win 5 in a row is truly a great gaa achievement and something we will never see again and this Dublin now joins the great teams in Irish sport along with Irish Italia 90 soccer team and grand Slam winning rugby teams.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 14/09/2019 20:52:06    2235311

Cé a bhéas ann i 2020? Bodanna don 6?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 14/09/2019 20:52:32    2235312

Cluxton's save where he stood tall and didn't flinch was ridiculously good.

Kilkenny was phenomenal and probably man of the match. Fenton and Mannion shone bright too. Eerily predictable that the three of them would have bigger games today.

Kerry battled manfully to pull back two four point leads but it was too tall a task to do it a third time.

The young Kerry bucks playing in their first senior final like O'Shea and Clifford will learn so much from these two games.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 14/09/2019 20:52:42    2235313

For Anton.

And five in a row,
Crying cockles and mussels,
And five in a row.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/09/2019 20:54:33    2235316

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Congratulations to Dublin. Not easy to watch as a Meath man , but fair is fair. Hell of an achievement. I never thought I would see a team win 3 in a row. I thought 4 in a row was impossible. And 5 in a row was something mythical and unachievable.
So to see a team win 5 in a row is truly a great gaa achievement and something we will never see again and this Dublin now joins the great teams in Irish sport along with Irish Italia 90 soccer team and grand Slam winning rugby teams."
10 in a row looks achievable. Dublin will be odds-on to win next year.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 14/09/2019 20:58:16    2235317

Great achievement by Dublin - well done. Kerry kicked a lot of bad wides in the second half. Awful game to watch.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/09/2019 21:08:33    2235322

Amazing achievement. 5 All-Ireland's in a row!

To all the Dublin GAA folk involved that made this possible, well done.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 14/09/2019 21:11:36    2235323

Replying To Rockies:  "10 in a row looks achievable. Dublin will be odds-on to win next year."
100% Rockies, I felt like one of those native Americans Indians that stood on the beach as Columbus and his men Rowed ashore back in 1492 , we were the best of the rest yet we got hockeyed by 6 points, Tyrone last year hockeyed by 6 points.

Who's going to want to go and watch their teams getting hockeyed year after year , changes need to be made and we know what we those changes are even though no fun will want to hear it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/09/2019 21:16:48    2235324