Andy Moran retires

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Some bunch of ****heads replying on this thread. The guy was a great player and now he's done. Some of ye have to twist things on these threads and make it all about yourselves and your gripes rather than about saying goodbye and good luck to the lad in question."
Unbelievable seanie_boy. Depressing, childish & petty stuff. I'm on here a lot less than I used to be & this thread reminds me why I dont bother so much any more.

Andy Moran was a super player, one I loved watching.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 28/08/2019 18:12:52    2230221

I suppose when you look at it Andy Moran retiring this week has taken the spotlight off the Dubs going for 5 in a row, RTE might cancel Up for the Match on Saturday night to do a prime time special on Andy Moran, the Roscommon man who nearly won an All Ireland with Mayo, fascinating stuff.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 28/08/2019 22:17:19    2230288

Greatest player to never even play for his own county

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 28/08/2019 23:17:37    2230304

Andy was your stereotypical forward, he knew where the goal was without even looking for it. He had a nose for scoring, when Mayo needed a score and Andy got possession there was a fair chance a point was going to follow. Its a massive commitment for all inter-county players with very little reward and look at the abuse & grief they have to endure on forums like this. Wishing him all the best in his retirement, rest those legs !

Hoofhearted (Australia) - Posts: 49 - 29/08/2019 00:59:27    2230314

Odd timing if we are honest .
could it not have been done later in September when the dust settles after the All-Ireland final.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 29/08/2019 07:54:16    2230322

Replying To Glensboy:  "Interesting response. My words, carefully chosen, were meant as a tribute to Andy. Strange way that you twisted it.

Good luck to Galway in the Football, and Hurling next year."
Not sure I twisted it in any way - its written clearly enough. I just dont agree with this craic that he or she owes nothing to the GAA. Why would they? Anyway we'll agree to disagree.

Best of luck to the Antrim hurlers in 2020, always had/have a soft spot for them! Some fine hurlers.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 29/08/2019 09:10:51    2230332

Replying To BeJasus:  "Odd timing if we are honest .
could it not have been done later in September when the dust settles after the All-Ireland final."
Why does it matter? Who does it affect? He happened to be scheduled for an interview with Second Captains where he was asked about the future as far as I know. He didn't do a press release or anything.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 29/08/2019 10:23:50    2230357

could it not have been done later in September when the dust settles after the All-Ireland final."
If anything it's probably good timing for the GAA media. Something for them to write about or broadcast as many think Sunday is a foregone conclusion. It's a fairly humdrum buildup for the final. Will also make for some good discussion with Andy in the Off The Ball pre All Ireland show tonight.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 29/08/2019 11:00:46    2230371

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I suppose when you look at it Andy Moran retiring this week has taken the spotlight off the Dubs going for 5 in a row, RTE might cancel Up for the Match on Saturday night to do a prime time special on Andy Moran, the Roscommon man who nearly won an All Ireland with Mayo, fascinating stuff."
Not sure what point you are trying to make but winning AI's does not make a player great. There are great players from counties who never won anything. Moran was very good player and if you knew a little bit of history you would know that his club was inside Mayo when the club was formed, but subsequently changed into Roscommon by a landlord for financial gain- you are obviously happy to go with the landlord!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/08/2019 11:23:09    2230378

Replying To MayoDan:  "Why are there no pictures of this when everyone saw him kissing the badge? A big cover up by the media?"
Are you implying that it didn't happen? Because the man himself said he did it in that Second Captains interview haha

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 29/08/2019 11:42:23    2230384

Replying To valley84:  "Greatest player to never even play for his own county"
Managed to win a Mayo county title though with his club Ballaghdareen :)

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 29/08/2019 12:00:01    2230387

This isn't going to be popular but the way yis are going on you'd think Andy Moran was the Gooch or Peter Canavan. Some perspective needed, none of yis would ever include him in any best ofs or Teams of the decade or whatever. I don't begrudge him a thing but can we keep the legendary status bar high please.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 29/08/2019 14:05:38    2230421

Replying To Breffni39:  "This isn't going to be popular but the way yis are going on you'd think Andy Moran was the Gooch or Peter Canavan. Some perspective needed, none of yis would ever include him in any best ofs or Teams of the decade or whatever. I don't begrudge him a thing but can we keep the legendary status bar high please."
Best Mayo team of all time. A great player, nobody saying as good as gooch or Canavan, not many in that bracket!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 29/08/2019 14:14:40    2230426

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Best Mayo team of all time. A great player, nobody saying as good as gooch or Canavan, not many in that bracket!"
Won't try to bluff a Mayo all-time team but from my era McDonald, Dillon and O'Connor would be ahead of him and surely you've 3 other forwards from previous era's?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 29/08/2019 15:03:22    2230440

Replying To Breffni39:  "Won't try to bluff a Mayo all-time team but from my era McDonald, Dillon and O'Connor would be ahead of him and surely you've 3 other forwards from previous era's?"
Dillon ahead of Moran, then you are bluffing. 100 per cent he makes it. Mayo have not had that many outstanding forwards in my lifetime. There would be the likes of Joe Corcoran and Padraig Carney from way back but if you are picking 6 forwards Moran makes it, so does Cillian.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 29/08/2019 15:38:06    2230453

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Roscommon, Mayo and Galway do you all ready support each other when you're county is knocked out of the championship???? I always hear on here from you "if my county is out I'll support whatever Connaught team is still involved" (usually one of you 3) but yous absolutely destroy each other on here all day every day. Like there's a real hatred amongst yous that I find it hard to believe you support each other ever. Even Andy Moran whose a good guy is getting stick."
We don't shout for each other. Some let on they do. And maybe in public the odd clap might go out here and there if surrounded by a few from said county. (When socializing in Galway it's difficult not to be overrun by our wonderful Mayo counterparts) But alas we will be siblings that will never get on. Conversations start timid enough but quickly descend in chaos and insults quicker than you can say 1951. The British shoved every lunatic in Ireland into Connacht (most of them landed in Roscommon for some reason) back in the day and Mayo and Roscommon still fight over land. Hopefully it will never change. The world has gone very vanilla. The banter between Connacht teams is not exactly vanilla. Its the way it should be. Andy Moran's celebrations when he scored a goal late on when Mayo were already beating Galway by 14 points in 2013 is about as much as I will say about him. What would follow would need to be heavily censored.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 29/08/2019 15:38:34    2230454

I'll miss the annual tradition of the photos of him and his lovely wee girl on the field. Shame we never got one of the two of them with Sam, but to finish with the Division one league win is more than most footballers ever get.

Well played over the years Mr. Moran, and best of luck in the years to come.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 29/08/2019 15:38:36    2230455

Replying To Breffni39:  "Won't try to bluff a Mayo all-time team but from my era McDonald, Dillon and O'Connor would be ahead of him and surely you've 3 other forwards from previous era's?"
Ahead of him on what criteria? Ciaran Mc was probably the most skilful forward we've ever had but there were games he was very quiet in. Cillian was brilliant from play and from frees in Horan's early years in charge. At this stage in his career he needs to score more from play but that's maybe Horan's tactics, he should have a few free taking options Horan himself was a classy forward. Dillon is underrated by many, rarely did anything stupid, a player I loved but wouldn't have him ahead of Andy. He wasn't quick but what Andy had in abundance was intelligence, temperament, great positional sense and could lead by example. No chance would I compare him with Gooch or Canavan or a lot of other top forwards but he's a great role model for anyone who puts in the work to prolong the career, he was better after the injury than before.

Other good forwards, Noel Durkan, Kevin McStay, Ray Dempsey, John Casey, probably had more footballing ability than Andy but debatable, other than McStay, if they'd have the dedication needed for an intercounty player in 2019. Shout out to Tom Langan, Team of the Millenium and Team of the Century but before my time. My own favourite forward, more cult hero than a mighty player, was the great Jimmy Burke.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 29/08/2019 16:28:18    2230474

The best timing ever imo , Andy doesn't want any fuss and he knows if he does it at the start of all Ireland final week that it will be forgotten about as the week goes on and the final build up starts , great thinking Andy .

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/08/2019 08:10:11    2230585

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Are you implying that it didn't happen? Because the man himself said he did it in that Second Captains interview haha"
He did not say he gave the fingers to the crowd.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 30/08/2019 08:49:27    2230592