Andy Moran retires

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I agree, sure the Mayo fans boo every time the opposition are taking a free, you can see that same mentality by the behaviour of the like of Keegan O'Connor and Boyle down the years, Moran was a good enough player but maybe he didn't have enough good men around him, he might have been better off playing for his own county,
enjoy the retirement Andy and sorry you never won the big one. suppose the trolls will thumb this down too."
Lol you are consistent if nothing else. You might want to look up the history of Ballaghadereen by the way. Good lad.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 27/08/2019 15:25:23    2229833

Credit to his county
Happy Retirement Andy

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/08/2019 15:36:27    2229835

Listened to the interview on Second Captains and he seems like an incredibly down to earth fella. Some of the stuff he said about perspective with football was really interesting. I hadn't realised what a tough year he'd had last year losing his father as well.

Best of luck going forward, sounds like he's very keen on the coaching and I've no doubt we'll be hearing plenty from him in years to come. Maybe he can manage his native Roscommon one day ;)

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/08/2019 16:11:33    2229845

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol you are consistent if nothing else. You might want to look up the history of Ballaghadereen by the way. Good lad."
I can help.The history of Ballaghaderreen is that it's been in County Roscommon for the past 120 years or thereabouts.Before that,it was in County Mayo.The border change related to business rates being lower in Roscommon than in Mayo which lead to a private member's Bill being brought through the Westminster parliament that moved Ballagh into County Roscommon.The town is divided between the two counties in terms of gaa support.A very interesting town to drive through on Mayo v Roscommon Connacht Final day.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 27/08/2019 16:19:26    2229848

Replying To endgame:  "I can help.The history of Ballaghaderreen is that it's been in County Roscommon for the past 120 years or thereabouts.Before that,it was in County Mayo.The border change related to business rates being lower in Roscommon than in Mayo which lead to a private member's Bill being brought through the Westminster parliament that moved Ballagh into County Roscommon.The town is divided between the two counties in terms of gaa support.A very interesting town to drive through on Mayo v Roscommon Connacht Final day."
I know. It was Mayo, the Brits changed it, so Mayo in my eyes.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 27/08/2019 16:38:43    2229856

Roscommon, Mayo and Galway do you all ready support each other when you're county is knocked out of the championship???? I always hear on here from you "if my county is out I'll support whatever Connaught team is still involved" (usually one of you 3) but yous absolutely destroy each other on here all day every day. Like there's a real hatred amongst yous that I find it hard to believe you support each other ever. Even Andy Moran whose a good guy is getting stick.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/08/2019 16:39:55    2229857

Replying To sourmilk93:  "You obviously were not at the game if thats all you seen him do. He scored the goals fair play to him and kissed the badge i have no problem with that but he also gave the fingers to both sides of the field.

He was a 34 year old man Mayo actaully still were knocked out as Roscommon made the final of the micky mouse cup making his pathetic actions even more silly."
Agreed, giving fingers to the crowd young or old is not sportsmanship. But such heated atmospheres make mighty contests and can bring out the best and the worst in players. Andy got a heated welcome from Roscommon supporters in this years semi final but didn't hit the heights. Maybe he started too late to get annoyed and properly fired up. I know plenty of Roscommon supporters and talking about Andy is good natured banter with a fair bit of swearing. Roscommon supporters hate him, we love him, they won't admit it but some of them admire his football abilities. Our next encounter will be less craic without the Andy banter between us.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 27/08/2019 16:46:53    2229861

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Roscommon, Mayo and Galway do you all ready support each other when you're county is knocked out of the championship???? I always hear on here from you "if my county is out I'll support whatever Connaught team is still involved" (usually one of you 3) but yous absolutely destroy each other on here all day every day. Like there's a real hatred amongst yous that I find it hard to believe you support each other ever. Even Andy Moran whose a good guy is getting stick."
Not at all. A few of us with keyboards having the craic. Maybe in the border regions some supporters won't shout for their neighbours but I think most Connacht GAA people support their neighbours if they are out themselves.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 27/08/2019 16:50:42    2229863

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I agree, sure the Mayo fans boo every time the opposition are taking a free, you can see that same mentality by the behaviour of the like of Keegan O'Connor and Boyle down the years, Moran was a good enough player but maybe he didn't have enough good men around him, he might have been better off playing for his own county,
enjoy the retirement Andy and sorry you never won the big one. suppose the trolls will thumb this down too."
Still bitter I see? We all saw the behaviour of some Donegal players in Castlebar a few weeks back.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 27/08/2019 19:29:11    2229902

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Because he ran around a pitch during an FBD game giving fans of all ages the fingers. He was a smashing footballer dont get me wrong but he wasnt the unbelievable guy on and off the pitch most folk on here are saying he was. What he did in Kiltoom that day was a disgrace and pathetic. Many a footballer done a hell of a lot worse and got a bad reputation in the national media. Andy got away as if he was a saint, and mind you Andy was about 34 when he done this not a young 18 year old."
Why are there no pictures of this when everyone saw him kissing the badge? A big cover up by the media?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 27/08/2019 19:36:39    2229905

Replying To MayoDan:  "Why are there no pictures of this when everyone saw him kissing the badge? A big cover up by the media?"
Fantastic player, owes Mayo or The gaa nothing enjoy your retirement

reithi (Kerry) - Posts: 52 - 27/08/2019 20:12:56    2229917

Replying To yew_tree:  "Yawn, Andy was born in castlebar hospital....Dermot early was a Mayo man"
Very few Roscommon people are born here unless home births as we don't have a maternity ward.

For the record Andy like the late Dermot Earley was reared up in,educated in and kicked his first football in Roscommon. All the best to Andy Moran in his retirement, I'd say he'll get into management and it will be interesting to see how he does there. One thing for certain he made his late dad (a rossie supporter to the core) very proud regardless that he played for Mayo.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 27/08/2019 20:13:52    2229918

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "Very few Roscommon people are born here unless home births as we don't have a maternity ward.

For the record Andy like the late Dermot Earley was reared up in,educated in and kicked his first football in Roscommon. All the best to Andy Moran in his retirement, I'd say he'll get into management and it will be interesting to see how he does there. One thing for certain he made his late dad (a rossie supporter to the core) very proud regardless that he played for Mayo."
That's right.A lot of Roscommon people born in Ballinasloe Co.Galway. It is all about the county where a player is raised,reared and brought up.That's a player's home county.It doesn't matter if he was born in New York or Sydney.Andy was Riscommon raised and reared.Yet he put on the green and red.Unfortunately,Ballaghaderreen remains lost to Roscommon football unless the Connacht Council and Gaa show some imagination and fairness and come up with a solution.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 27/08/2019 20:47:34    2229929

Well done Andy. Great player over the years. It is sad to see that a great player like him never got to win the big prize. Sport can be cruel as we all know. Enjoy your retirement.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 27/08/2019 21:10:58    2229936

A true gentleman and team player. Superb pace and movement. Really enjoyed hus weaving on the pitch. Best of luck Andy and hope to see you in coaching and management. Lucky the team who get you.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 28/08/2019 02:20:25    2229992

Replying To endgame:  "That's right.A lot of Roscommon people born in Ballinasloe Co.Galway. It is all about the county where a player is raised,reared and brought up.That's a player's home county.It doesn't matter if he was born in New York or Sydney.Andy was Riscommon raised and reared.Yet he put on the green and red.Unfortunately,Ballaghaderreen remains lost to Roscommon football unless the Connacht Council and Gaa show some imagination and fairness and come up with a solution."
Maybe Roscommon should give back to Mayo what was taken away. Ballaghaderreen was in Mayo, now would be a good time to give it back.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 28/08/2019 03:58:06    2229996

Replying To endgame:  "That's right.A lot of Roscommon people born in Ballinasloe Co.Galway. It is all about the county where a player is raised,reared and brought up.That's a player's home county.It doesn't matter if he was born in New York or Sydney.Andy was Riscommon raised and reared.Yet he put on the green and red.Unfortunately,Ballaghaderreen remains lost to Roscommon football unless the Connacht Council and Gaa show some imagination and fairness and come up with a solution."
Lol lol lol lol. So you are in favour of British rule rezoning land then?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 28/08/2019 04:52:25    2229999

Replying To The_DOC:  "...and would you say a lot of players retire owing a lot to the GAA?"
Interesting response. My words, carefully chosen, were meant as a tribute to Andy. Strange way that you twisted it.

Good luck to Galway in the Football, and Hurling next year.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 287 - 28/08/2019 10:13:28    2230026

Some bunch of ****heads replying on this thread. The guy was a great player and now he's done. Some of ye have to twist things on these threads and make it all about yourselves and your gripes rather than about saying goodbye and good luck to the lad in question.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 28/08/2019 16:37:12    2230206

Wishing him well in his retirement one of the greats who will never get a celtic cross which was richly deserved.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/08/2019 16:37:18    2230207