David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Eamon Fitzmaurice isn't part of the Kerry setup anymore and if you can remember back to just one year ago Eamon stepped down."
That reads like a Kerry apology, goes with the Kerry character assassination.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 15/08/2019 21:38:37    2226193

Replying To jimbodub:  "Are you on the Kerry CB?"
You might want to take a break from the computer. When posts become this nonsensical I would worry for your health.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 15/08/2019 22:07:27    2226200

He's hardly going to go out and blatantly show favouritism for one county over another. Its the biggest stage for him, he'll want to go out and give a good performance for his career.
He's one of the better football referees who at the end of the day is only human and is only as good as his team of officials on the day.

At the end of the day and within reason, does it really matter who referees this?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 15/08/2019 22:19:16    2226207

Replying To TheHermit:  "Funny in all your spying on the Kerry forum you didn't post up what I said about the supposed protest on Saturday.
Ah Jimbo have you no work to do this morning with all these posts your typing out as fast as you can think ;)

Anyway Gough is there, what can we do. I'd love to see the reaction of the Dubs if the situation was reversed.
As many others have pointed out, they've a long history of Dublin casting aspersions on referee's when it suited them, and maybe people would want to look back on Jim Gavin's comments on the man in the middle in the League final in 2017 after they lost to Kerry. But of course that's all quietly forgotten.

Another point that seems to be lost, Fitzmaurice was asked about and was reacting to a piece done in the weekend papers championing why Gough should get the gig in the first place. He didn't start the conversion on this, that was done by a journalist at the weekend. But again another inconvenient truth for the hysterical Kerry bashing that passes for discussion on this forum.

Fitzmaurice is entitled to feel sore about Gough, his decisions swung a tight game in Dublin's favour. Add in the questions about his close links with the Dublin GAA and I think it was fair to air reasons why he might not be seen as the best choice. Ultimately the GAA are responsible for this mess.

Kerry have suffered at the hands of three referee's with links to Dublin in major games against them this decade, 2011, 2015, 2016. If the reverse was true for Dublin they would be kicking up a stink.
Indeed I recall on this forum after out last title in 2014 the amount of belly aching by Dublin fans because we had taken Sam. Even though we didn't play them they were still giving out yards all winter.

One last point, a certain poster has been allowed to insinuate that Kerry fans would try and track down Gough's home or that 'thousands of us were throwing 'projectiles' at him after the 2016 semi. No look its up to the people who own this site to run it as they see fit but that's pretty low and nasty stuff to be allowed to post. Then again this is the same lad that was laughing on here about Sean O'Se being hospitalised by his Dublin heroes.

Anyway the accepted narrative, policed by the usual crew of Dublin posters and they're hangers on, is that the dirty Kerry boys are capable of anything while Dublin are as white as the winter snow.
Seems to be the same anytime we play each other and goodness if this forum is anything to go by Ireland and the GAA can't wait for Dublin to do the 5 in a row.
So ye'll all have plenty to celebrate now over the winter..."
Like I said, I'll say no more now on it as there's no point.
It's just another pothole placed in front of Kerry on the road to trying to stop an inevitable 5 in a Row.

You lied -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/08/2019 22:22:09    2226209

Replying To realdub:  "A Meath man helping Dublin out?? Jaysus you Kerry boys are something else."
But that's the problem hes a Meathman in name not that n reality. He works and lives in Dublin and is involved in Dublin GAA. Imagine the furore in Tipp if Quinn appointed a supposedly Waterford ref who happened to work and live in Kilkenny. Simple it would not happen.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 15/08/2019 23:36:29    2226225

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Eamon Fitzmaurice isn't part of the Kerry setup anymore and if you can remember back to just one year ago Eamon stepped down."
Eamon should have been concerned about some of the stupid mistakes he made while managing Kerry and stop worrying about the Ref. He took off players who were playing well and in the process lost the matches.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 16/08/2019 01:05:05    2226232

The Dublin monolith is all powerful. Both the President and Ard-stiurthoir belong to Dublin clubs.
As posters have pointed out here can anyone, in their wildest dreams, imagine a Limerick man living in Tralee refereeing a big Kerry/Dublin game??
And do not forget Dublin's successful objection to a Kerry referee for the Dublin/Laois leister Final in 2007.
The word hypocrisy is not adequate.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 16/08/2019 10:33:38    2226295

Replying To jobber:  "But that's the problem hes a Meathman in name not that n reality. He works and lives in Dublin and is involved in Dublin GAA. Imagine the furore in Tipp if Quinn appointed a supposedly Waterford ref who happened to work and live in Kilkenny. Simple it would not happen."
The umpires are all relatives of his from Meath too. Do you seriously think they all love the Dubs? I mean it's a guess but I doubt it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/08/2019 10:44:30    2226302

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The hypocrisy dripping out of Kerry is nauseating and stomach churning. They got every decision going against Tyrone to the point of pure embarrassment. When some Tyrone fans and neutral Gaels pointed this out Kerry and their fans denied it and told Tyrone to stop complaining. Now they don't like this appointment and they are yapping from the high heavens. Do Kerry people do irony?"
Flip that statement and its reads a the story. Tyrone/Dublin complain about Deegan and are now telling Kerry people they shouldn't complain about a ref. Hypocrisy

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 16/08/2019 11:29:46    2226322

Replying To Aibrean:  "The Dublin monolith is all powerful. Both the President and Ard-stiurthoir belong to Dublin clubs.
As posters have pointed out here can anyone, in their wildest dreams, imagine a Limerick man living in Tralee refereeing a big Kerry/Dublin game??
And do not forget Dublin's successful objection to a Kerry referee for the Dublin/Laois leister Final in 2007.
The word hypocrisy is not adequate."
To be perfectly honest, i wouldnt be bothered if the ref had a cottage on top Cnoc na Toinne and won Kerry person of the day, on goat crown day.

I mean that sincerely.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/08/2019 11:34:07    2226333

Ahh yes the 2016 ghost goal with a Meath man on the post.. that was a right beaut of a 50/50 call that day that went Kerry's way. A 3 pt call..

No doubt goal line technology could have easily ruled out that call, and would have certainly been used to confirm the decision if in place.

Same umpire also had Hawkeye bail him out after a poor call in same match, another 50/50 call he was happy to lean the other way on

Given the close nature of that game.. thank feck the technology was in place for that point to be correctly turned around and awarded to Dublin... the "goal" however.. well that's another story

4 Meath men making calls against Dublin in a couple of weeks and best of luck to them!

It certainly didn't pass without controversy the last day!

And the Kerry boys are still poor mouthing! If anyone was to feel uncomfortable it surely should be Dubs fans.. especially after the last day out in 2016

Come on lads.. how would you feel having four rival county men making calls on your team?

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/08/2019 11:42:34    2226335

Replying To TheUsername:  "To be perfectly honest, i wouldnt be bothered if the ref had a cottage on top Cnoc na Toinne and won Kerry person of the day, on goat crown day.

I mean that sincerely."
Well, it will never arise, so you are safe enough.

Was that not awfully stupid then of Dublin to displace the Kerry referee? But, I do not think they are stupid so why did they do it?

I have asked that fairly simple question here before but no one seems to have an answer. Odd that.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 16/08/2019 11:55:52    2226343

Replying To Aibrean:  "Well, it will never arise, so you are safe enough.

Was that not awfully stupid then of Dublin to displace the Kerry referee? But, I do not think they are stupid so why did they do it?

I have asked that fairly simple question here before but no one seems to have an answer. Odd that."
Probably was stupid to be fair on Dublins behalf, but Dublin did a lot of stupid things pre the Pat Gilroy era to be honest. Masters of grabbing defeat from the jaws of victory, not fulfilling potential and make poor decisions behind the scenes. Many books have been written about it.

I wouldn't be in favor of internal or external pressures and shenanigans being broaugt to bear on referrers i wouldn't be in support of Kerrys actions this week, nor be in favour if Dublin have done this in the past. I dont always agree with everything Dublin do, but would say we have been immaculate as a county since Gilroy, we have evolved beyond such things, speaking wholly in my own opinion.

The abiding legacy of this weeks events and what i am pleased about, is it very publicly conveys the tension and anxiety of Kerry generally in the build up to this mate, it gives a sense of the emotion and fears on tender hooks down the southwest. I like this as we are a great white shark a thimble full of blood in the water and we move stealthily to exploit the weakness.

You will hear nothing fro the Dublin camp, zero, silent assassin mode activated.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/08/2019 12:11:20    2226353

The ref problem/issue has nothing to do with David Gough. It is the GAA that are wrong. Too many refs who have strong connections with a county will give them the 50/50 call, its only natural, we all would. The GAA have now made the final about a ref. If Galway were in a hurling final would the GAA give the whistle to a person from north Clare who works/socialises in Galway City?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 16/08/2019 12:12:54    2226356

Replying To Aibrean:  "The Dublin monolith is all powerful. Both the President and Ard-stiurthoir belong to Dublin clubs.
The word hypocrisy is not adequate."
You do realise the President is elected by County delegates! He is not Vladimir Putin or a Kerry Councillor, where he is from is irrelevant or are all people from from Dublin to be exclude from the GAA? And in this shameful episode a man from Meath who works in Dublin! It is disgraceful and slanderous on a man's character.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 16/08/2019 12:29:09    2226368

The effort by Dublin posters here to turn this into a 'poor David Gough, his integrity being questioned, this is disgraceful' topic is pathetic.

The point being made is a referee who lives and works in a county participating in a big match should not officiate at that game as subconscious bias comes into the equation. Also it simply puts a referee in an unfortunate situation regarding 50/50 or controversial decisions in a match. Likewise for Sean Cleere reffing Tipp v Wexford when his county were already in the hurling final. It has nothing to do with either man's integrity, just best practice in appointing referees.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/08/2019 12:43:25    2226373

I agree that refs from a neutral provinces should be used for All Ireland Finals but Gough is probably the best ref we have at the moment, funny how Eamonn Fitz brings up the 2016 All Ireland semi final decisions, didn't hear him say anything in 2014 when the referee Cormack Reilly robbed Mayo blind in Limerick. People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 16/08/2019 12:43:37    2226375

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "The effort by Dublin posters here to turn this into a 'poor David Gough, his integrity being questioned, this is disgraceful' topic is pathetic.

The point being made is a referee who lives and works in a county participating in a big match should not officiate at that game as subconscious bias comes into the equation. Also it simply puts a referee in an unfortunate situation regarding 50/50 or controversial decisions in a match. Likewise for Sean Cleere reffing Tipp v Wexford when his county were already in the hurling final. It has nothing to do with either man's integrity, just best practice in appointing referees."
You are spot on.... David Goughs integrity was never called into question here as he is one off the better refs we have but those who made this decision to appoint him for the Final are proof that dimwits run this organization.. The GAA have put him in a no win situation which can only affect his performance on the day...!

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 16/08/2019 13:05:55    2226383

Replying To arock:  "You do realise the President is elected by County delegates! He is not Vladimir Putin or a Kerry Councillor, where he is from is irrelevant or are all people from from Dublin to be exclude from the GAA? And in this shameful episode a man from Meath who works in Dublin! It is disgraceful and slanderous on a man's character."
My God the stupidity of some people the ref for the 2007 Leinster final was a member of the same club as Liam Kearns can people honestly not see the difference!!

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 16/08/2019 13:08:08    2226386

Replying To riverboys:  "I agree that refs from a neutral provinces should be used for All Ireland Finals but Gough is probably the best ref we have at the moment, funny how Eamonn Fitz brings up the 2016 All Ireland semi final decisions, didn't hear him say anything in 2014 when the referee Cormack Reilly robbed Mayo blind in Limerick. People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones"
Swings and roundabouts.

I think that there isn't a single county out there that leaves a ground at least once a season, if not every other game, complaining about a big refereeing decision or a ref who was consistently biased against their team.

No team are exceptions to this rule.

David Gough is the best ref we have. He is fair, and doesn't try and balance the books with strange decisions.

The only game that he was scrutinised for recently was the Donegal mayo match in castlebar, when the weather conditions were absolutely impossible.

Good luck to him, best wishes to him, fair play to him for being a great servant to the GAA.

Eamon Fitzmaurice was the beneficiary of some favourable refereeing decisions over the 2010's no question about this.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/08/2019 13:15:17    2226389