Likely Football Allstars 2019...

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Murphy is class but in their biggest game of the season when Donegal needed him most he kicked wide after wide, for Murphy's standards they were easy wides at that."
By his own standards he kicked a couple of tough wides yes. He was still colossal when we needed him in that second half especially and kicked 1-4 in awful conditions for football.

These are meant to be individual awards but you're essentially saying Donegal lost in Castlebar so he doesn't get an All Star? The season is more than one game as well. But if you want one game, Kerry in Croke Park was just as big a game as Castlebar because a win practically guaranteed a semi-final berth and he was absolutely flawless that day.

Like I said I think he should be nominated for POTY never mind getting an All-Star.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 15/08/2019 09:37:18    2225910

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Murphy is class but in their biggest game of the season when Donegal needed him most he kicked wide after wide, for Murphy's standards they were easy wides at that."
By his own standards he kicked a couple of tough wides yes. He was still colossal when we needed him in that second half especially and kicked 1-4 in awful conditions for football.

These are meant to be individual awards but you're essentially saying Donegal lost in Castlebar so he doesn't get an All Star? The season is more than one game as well. But if you want one game, Kerry in Croke Park was just as big a game as Castlebar because a win practically guaranteed a semi-final berth and he was absolutely flawless that day.

Like I said I think he should be nominated for POTY never mind getting an All-Star.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 15/08/2019 09:37:18    2225911

Lol. Wide after wide? Not sure what games you have been watching he is nailed on, I repeat nailed on for an All Star.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 15/08/2019 10:02:16    2225918

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Dublin win SAM and will have to get 6-7 players

If Kerry put up a fight it's 6, if not - 7. Whallop them and it could be 8 or 9.

So assuming they beat the press by 2 points (their usual)

Cluxton - Dublin

Byrne - Dublin
Fitzimon - Dublin
O'Sullivan - Kerry

Boyle - Mayo
Durcan - Mayo
McCaffrey - Dublin

Fenton - Dublin
Murphy - Donegal

Callaghan - Dublin
Howard - Dublin
O'Brien - Kerry

Clifford - Kerry
McShane - Tyrone
Mannion - Dublin

If Kerry push Dublin close you could see Moran and Geaney in for Howard and Callaghan"
The lad's name is O'Callaghan.

People will be calling him "Dirty Harry" next.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 15/08/2019 10:21:46    2225923

Replying To JoeSoap:  "By his own standards he kicked a couple of tough wides yes. He was still colossal when we needed him in that second half especially and kicked 1-4 in awful conditions for football.

Like I said I think he should be nominated for POTY never mind getting an All-Star."
Man he couldn't get Donegal over the line against let's be honest a finished Mayo team that we're hammered by Kerry and Dublin and beaten by Roscommon, come on he couldn't get it done , all stars are harsh Fenton the best midfielder in '17 was overlooked by a Tyrone sweeper that we hammered by 10+ points. Donegal has the way better team than Mayo and couldn't beat them a brutal Mayo team at that with their best players injured and the ones involved unfit.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/08/2019 11:57:12    2225967

Kieran Donaghy's all star team;

Cluxton
Keoghan
Morley
Tom O Sullivan
Durkan
McCarthy
McCaffrey
Moran
Fenton
Con
Aidan O Shea
O Brien
Clifford
McShane
Mannion

He did say that his team could change after the final

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/08/2019 12:22:15    2225974

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Man he couldn't get Donegal over the line against let's be honest a finished Mayo team that we're hammered by Kerry and Dublin and beaten by Roscommon, come on he couldn't get it done , all stars are harsh Fenton the best midfielder in '17 was overlooked by a Tyrone sweeper that we hammered by 10+ points. Donegal has the way better team than Mayo and couldn't beat them a brutal Mayo team at that with their best players injured and the ones involved unfit."
Stop embarrassing yourself. Clueless. Donegal only where they are because of Murphy. And Mayo will have 5 or 6 retirements but will still on paper be as strong as Donegal.

You haven't much knowledge about other counties to be honest. Or football in general if this is your opinion on Murphy. You were also arguing with me that both O Sheas and Ruane would't start the Dublin game, it seemed beyond your thinking that one of them might not be named at midfield but still start. Keep up the good work, your posts are hilarious.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 15/08/2019 12:28:14    2225976

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kieran Donaghy's all star team;

Cluxton
Keoghan
Morley
Tom O Sullivan
Durkan
McCarthy
McCaffrey
Moran
Fenton
Con
Aidan O Shea
O Brien
Clifford
McShane
Mannion

He did say that his team could change after the final"
Overall that's probably a pretty good guess as things stand.

Don't think Morley should be getting one based on his performances to date but it is hard to pick out any stand out fullbacks.

Like other posters said Murphy should get one. He was outstanding all year.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 15/08/2019 12:36:23    2225981

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Stop embarrassing yourself. Clueless. Donegal only where they are because of Murphy. And Mayo will have 5 or 6 retirements but will still on paper be as strong as Donegal.

You haven't much knowledge about other counties to be honest. Or football in general if this is your opinion on Murphy. You were also arguing with me that both O Sheas and Ruane would't start the Dublin game, it seemed beyond your thinking that one of them might not be named at midfield but still start. Keep up the good work, your posts are hilarious."
Embarrass myself over picking an all star team ok pal whatever you say. Has Donaghy embarrassed himself ? Tbf I told you I'd be delighted if the two O Shea's started and it proved right we murdered them, Ruane shouldn't of play nowhere near match fit.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/08/2019 12:38:13    2225982

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Embarrass myself over picking an all star team ok pal whatever you say. Has Donaghy embarrassed himself ? Tbf I told you I'd be delighted if the two O Shea's started and it proved right we murdered them, Ruane shouldn't of play nowhere near match fit."
I predicted Mayo would be overrun in the second half regardless of who was picked. Your lack of knowledge on the depth of the Mayo squad is where your downfall is, as if ewe had loads of other options.

And yes your opinion in how Murphy played this year? Yep you are embarrassing yourself. But you are the man who called ROC a disgrace for taking time out after winning all there was to win. Keep up the good work.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 15/08/2019 12:53:52    2225984

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I predicted Mayo would be overrun in the second half regardless of who was picked. Your lack of knowledge on the depth of the Mayo squad is where your downfall is, as if ewe had loads of other options.

And yes your opinion in how Murphy played this year? Yep you are embarrassing yourself. But you are the man who called ROC a disgrace for taking time out after winning all there was to win. Keep up the good work."
I never said Murphy had a bad season I said I can't see him getting in and he couldn't get The job done against a poor Mayo side, Murphy is class had a great season but there's players ahead of him imo. Now Donaghy agrees with me.

How Horan could start Ruane and D O Conor for the Dublin game was a shocker , don't tell me McLoughlin couldn't of done better ? Coen was the star forward all summer ok he was poor against Donegal but surely he's better than two lads who hadn't played all summer? The manager done the two lads wrong there throwing them in against Dublin shocker.

Show me where I called him a disgrace? I said he'd regret going. This is football talk man wether we're right or wrong it's just opinion's, you seem very angry with me all the time?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/08/2019 13:19:17    2225995

David Gough will get an all star for Dublin :-)

I'm only joking by the way :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 13:21:32    2225996

I think a pertinent question to ask is if we swapped Murphy for Brian Howard, would Donegal have won Ulster, beaten Meath, drew with Kerry and narrowly lost to Mayo? Again, not having a dig at Howard who i think is a great footballer. But in terms of influence and scoring power, Murphy is on another level and proved it even more conclusively this year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 15/08/2019 13:52:42    2226002

Hilarious all the Meath lads putting in Keoghan...
Ye lost 4 games in the championship.. not a prayer ye will get one..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 15/08/2019 14:06:11    2226008

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kieran Donaghy's all star team;

Cluxton
Keoghan
Morley
Tom O Sullivan
Durkan
McCarthy
McCaffrey
Moran
Fenton
Con
Aidan O Shea
O Brien
Clifford
McShane
Mannion

He did say that his team could change after the final"
Laughable team, Aidan O'Shea should be nowhere near it.
For one thing, he was a midfielder all year so he wont get one there as Fenton and Moran are streets ahead of him, so he puts him in at 11 where he provides absolutely nothing from an attacking point of view. Did he kick a single score all year?
I seen lots of Mayo this year and AOS played well against Donegal but was mediocre/average against Meath/Kerry/Armagh/Galway. Laughable!

Also, McCarthy who is admittedely a brilliant footballer has had a middling championship and has missed parts of it through injury so he isnt in the running as it stands

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 15/08/2019 14:17:11    2226011

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Man he couldn't get Donegal over the line against let's be honest a finished Mayo team that we're hammered by Kerry and Dublin and beaten by Roscommon, come on he couldn't get it done , all stars are harsh Fenton the best midfielder in '17 was overlooked by a Tyrone sweeper that we hammered by 10+ points. Donegal has the way better team than Mayo and couldn't beat them a brutal Mayo team at that with their best players injured and the ones involved unfit."
But he was flawless against Kerry, so where's your logic? Why is the bar for Murphy that he has to single-handedly beat Mayo? If he had more help from the likes of McBrearty and McHugh that day we probably would have gotten over the line, would he be an All Star then?

All Stars aren't harsh, they're nonsensical for the most part

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 15/08/2019 14:32:09    2226015

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I never said Murphy had a bad season I said I can't see him getting in and he couldn't get The job done against a poor Mayo side, Murphy is class had a great season but there's players ahead of him imo. Now Donaghy agrees with me.

How Horan could start Ruane and D O Conor for the Dublin game was a shocker , don't tell me McLoughlin couldn't of done better ? Coen was the star forward all summer ok he was poor against Donegal but surely he's better than two lads who hadn't played all summer? The manager done the two lads wrong there throwing them in against Dublin shocker.

Show me where I called him a disgrace? I said he'd regret going. This is football talk man wether we're right or wrong it's just opinion's, you seem very angry with me all the time?"
Thats some poor argument about him not gettin the job done against mayo, there's 14 other players ffs! And you have mcshane down as a cert but he couldn't get the job done against donegal or dublin!!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 15/08/2019 14:43:27    2226018

Replying To JoeSoap:  "But he was flawless against Kerry, so where's your logic? Why is the bar for Murphy that he has to single-handedly beat Mayo? If he had more help from the likes of McBrearty and McHugh that day we probably would have gotten over the line, would he be an All Star then?

All Stars aren't harsh, they're nonsensical for the most part"
Donegal losing to Mayo is irrelevant. Sometimes players demonstrate more character in defeat than victory. Murphy was the one guy in that game who really stood tall for Donegal. It should actually help him win an all star.

Similarly I thought Boyle was great for Mayo even when Dublin were rampant.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 15/08/2019 14:55:24    2226021

Replying To HighKings:  "Donegal losing to Mayo is irrelevant. Sometimes players demonstrate more character in defeat than victory. Murphy was the one guy in that game who really stood tall for Donegal. It should actually help him win an all star.

Similarly I thought Boyle was great for Mayo even when Dublin were rampant."
Yep, and in a game where he was deemed poor, and didn't do enough to get Donegal through he still managed 1-4.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 15/08/2019 15:12:41    2226027

Replying To achara:  "Thats some poor argument about him not gettin the job done against mayo, there's 14 other players ffs! And you have mcshane down as a cert but he couldn't get the job done against donegal or dublin!!"
Ah come on McShane was outstanding on Sunday against a very good Kerry team versus Murphy who couldn't beat an injury ravaged Mayo team. Kerry hammered Mayo , Mayo couldn't even beat Roscommon this season it's not like for like.

I know it wasn't just Murphy but that's what they'll look at when there being decided.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/08/2019 15:24:19    2226033