Kerry V Dublin

Replying To TheUsername:  "Hearing Fenton was sick all last week and hadn't fully recovered but they went with him yesterday, explains a lot."
The dog ate my homework Miss.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 03/09/2019 00:09:02    2232166

Got the papers this morning and a agog with the overwhelming credit given to Kerry for there display yesterday. Yes they fought hard, but it seems to me that people are missing some very simple facts.
1. Kerry played dublin for almost 45 mins with 15 vs 14.
2.Until the sending off (which i taught was the right call) this game was moving along to its predictable end.
3. Even playing with an extra man the Kerry defence struggled with the dublin attack. And Kerry did not have the nerve to go after the dublin kickouts.
4. With most of the Kerry lads playing at the top of there game and a number of dublin lads underperforming Kerry could not win.
5. Even with a so called star studded forward line Kerry could not create the scored to put dublin to bed.
6. And the Kerry lads were the beneficiaries of some very generous refereeing by Mr Gough.

The term "missed the boat" comes to mind you would have to think that Dublin will improve by 20 % and as it stands currently Kerry have not got the scope for that improvement.
Replays can be an anti climax and I have a feeling this is what will happen.

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 185 - 03/09/2019 00:39:43    2232172

I haven't read through every message so not sure if this has been brought up but did anyone think Shane Ryan was pretty poor with his kickouts?? No one is really mentioning it but he had a couple go over the sideline and the vast majority of the others were just kick it out and hope for the best kind of strategy. He got away with it though since Fenton wasn't really on his game. Rob Hennelly got slaughtered a few weeks back for doing the exact same thing since he was unfortunate to have Fenton on his game that particular day.

Very poorly taken penalty by Geaney. Two step, side foot. He telegraphed it for Cluxton.

Cooper got his just desserts for years of pulling that stunt. That's a foul you see given to the defender pretty much 10/10. Defender holds the attackers arm and pulls it down while falling to make it look like he's the one being fouled. Drives me crazy. Most refs always fall for it. Fair play to Gough.

McCaffrey is something else. Barry was excellent, got on a serious amount of ball

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 03/09/2019 03:59:08    2232179

Why can't we just enjoy that game as a spectacle, as a neutral my heart was pounding the last 5 mins. Am I about the witness history in the making... The game had everything, nerves, beautiful high fielding, Cluxktons amazing kicks, controversy, some great points, Jack mcCaffery in full flow, David Moran is an animal.
Probably the greatest side of all time against maybe the next team that will dominate and we get to watch it again in 2weeks... Bloody spoilt...move over hurling..this is footballs year

PointRoad (Louth) - Posts: 111 - 03/09/2019 07:15:37    2232184

Replying To superbluedub:  "Remind us again what score poor geaney, Clifford and O'Brian scored ? must have been ill as well -:)"
Exactly!! These Kerry lads on here are getting carried away big time.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 03/09/2019 08:03:21    2232193

Replying To blacknamber:  "He gets sick n Jack Barry's pocket every time they meet!! Defensively the dubs are spooked big time by Kerry and the best of it is our forwards didn't play all that well..roll on da replay"
I should certainly hope so, you were playing against 14 men. Dublin completely bossed the last 12m turning Kerry over with ferocious tackles, holding Kerry to no score in the most vital stage of the game, equalising and but for a tight Hawkeye call and a missed free would have won the game with 14 men.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/09/2019 08:46:14    2232203

Replying To Adler:  "I haven't read through every message so not sure if this has been brought up but did anyone think Shane Ryan was pretty poor with his kickouts?? No one is really mentioning it but he had a couple go over the sideline and the vast majority of the others were just kick it out and hope for the best kind of strategy. He got away with it though since Fenton wasn't really on his game. Rob Hennelly got slaughtered a few weeks back for doing the exact same thing since he was unfortunate to have Fenton on his game that particular day.

Very poorly taken penalty by Geaney. Two step, side foot. He telegraphed it for Cluxton.

Cooper got his just desserts for years of pulling that stunt. That's a foul you see given to the defender pretty much 10/10. Defender holds the attackers arm and pulls it down while falling to make it look like he's the one being fouled. Drives me crazy. Most refs always fall for it. Fair play to Gough.

McCaffrey is something else. Barry was excellent, got on a serious amount of ball"
Come off it, what age is Shane Ryan? Compared to an experienced keeper at this level as Hennelly. Ryan doesn't even play goals for his club.not every keeper has Cluxtons ability.

PointRoad (Louth) - Posts: 111 - 03/09/2019 08:55:21    2232209

Replying To Jonnycee:  "Got the papers this morning and a agog with the overwhelming credit given to Kerry for there display yesterday. Yes they fought hard, but it seems to me that people are missing some very simple facts.
2.Until the sending off (which i taught was the right call) this game was moving along to its predictable end.
3. Even playing with an extra man the Kerry defence struggled with the dublin attack. And Kerry did not have the nerve to go after the dublin kickouts.
4. With most of the Kerry lads playing at the top of there game and a number of dublin lads underperforming Kerry could not win.
5. Even with a so called star studded forward line Kerry could not create the scored to put dublin to bed.
6. And the Kerry lads were the beneficiaries of some very generous refereeing by Mr Gough.

The term "missed the boat" comes to mind you would have to think that Dublin will improve by 20 % and as it stands currently Kerry have not got the scope for that improvement.
Replays can be an anti climax and I have a feeling this is what will happen."
Just on your 5th point there. Kerry definitely did create the chances to put Dublin to bed, infact they created enough chances to put Dublin to bed and then some. Between the penalty miss, the goal line clearance by McCarthy, Murphy pinging the bar and then all the scoreable chances Kerry missed too, Walsh missed a relatively easy point as soon as he came on and Clifford missed a few himself over the 70 mins. I think it would be fair to say given these chances again in 2 weeks and they will be more clinical. A lot of people forgetting Kerry carved through the Dublin defence with ease more than once on Sunday and even when the Dublin backs got tight and space was at a premium at times Kerry still managed to create the openings and get shots off.

Definitely would not be surprised to see Kerry seriously up the scoring next time out. 15 players on the pitch or not

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 03/09/2019 09:08:50    2232215

Have stayed off this site the past few weeks I can see why having read through the nonsense from the usual suspects.
Kerry probably misses their chance on Sunday but they gave the country a glimpse of the future.
A super team is coming and Dublin won't have it all their own way which the game badly needs.
That's my last contribution to the HS.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 03/09/2019 09:39:12    2232229

Replying To Adler:  "I haven't read through every message so not sure if this has been brought up but did anyone think Shane Ryan was pretty poor with his kickouts?? No one is really mentioning it but he had a couple go over the sideline and the vast majority of the others were just kick it out and hope for the best kind of strategy. He got away with it though since Fenton wasn't really on his game. Rob Hennelly got slaughtered a few weeks back for doing the exact same thing since he was unfortunate to have Fenton on his game that particular day.

McCaffrey is something else. Barry was excellent, got on a serious amount of ball"
I think he did as well as could be expected, and in fact when the pressure was on and Kerry needed to be winning their kickouts, he did very well in finding his man I thought. The one thing I think he can improve, and he's only young so it should come for him, is the trajectory. Sometimes it hangs up a little too much and allows the opposition to get men around for the breaking ball.

The flipside of that is if you're hanging it up there, David Moran is gonna with more than he'll lose!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 03/09/2019 09:51:36    2232235

Replying To Jonnycee:  "Got the papers this morning and a agog with the overwhelming credit given to Kerry for there display yesterday. Yes they fought hard, but it seems to me that people are missing some very simple facts.

1. Very true
2. Kerry were playing well but hadn't converted their goal chances or point chances which could have left a different complexion on the game
3. I think most defences would struggle with that attack but Mannion and O'Callaghan held to 3 points between them was a result
4. Clifford, Geaney, O'Brien, White, Begley, Foley and Adrian Spillane didn't play close to where they can play
5. They created the scores but just didn't finish them. Last 10 mins was only time that they failed to create as they tried to play keep ball
6. What decisions were generous from Gough? O'sullivan got a tick after his yellow and maybe O'Callaghan could have got a peno but Gough hardly rode Dublin when you consider the O'Brien penalty as well

macruiskeen (UK) - Posts: 37 - 03/09/2019 09:56:51    2232239

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "i'm only asking CATCH22 Why. Have a look at he's posts in future and you will get me."
Like many dubs on here Superbluedub and catch22 are the same poster. 1 too many accounts I'm sure of it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/09/2019 10:02:01    2232241

Haven't seen the stats but he did kick one over the sideline alright. They went short a lot more than you are saying though. He did ok for a guy playing his first final. He looked a bit of a liability at times this year but has steadied with every game.

Kerry won several of Cluxtons too and but for some incredible fielding from Howard and one from Rock we'd be saying he had a disastrous day on his kicks. He kicked a couple straight to Kerry and there is not a word about it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/09/2019 10:07:48    2232245

1. Very true
2. Kerry were playing well but hadn't converted their goal chances or point chances which could have left a different complexion on the game
3. I think most defences would struggle with that attack but Mannion and O'Callaghan held to 3 points between them was a result
4. Clifford, Geaney, O'Brien, White, Begley, Foley and Adrian Spillane didn't play close to where they can play
5. They created the scores but just didn't finish them. Last 10 mins was only time that they failed to create as they tried to play keep ball
6. What decisions were generous from Gough? O'sullivan got a tick after his yellow and maybe O'Callaghan could have got a peno but Gough hardly rode Dublin when you consider the O'Brien penalty as well

macruiskeen (UK) - Posts: 37 - 03/09/2019 10:11:48    2232249

Replying To Joxer:  "I should certainly hope so, you were playing against 14 men. Dublin completely bossed the last 12m turning Kerry over with ferocious tackles, holding Kerry to no score in the most vital stage of the game, equalising and but for a tight Hawkeye call and a missed free would have won the game with 14 men."
Three midfielders vs one man who was unwell, its a great compliment to be fair to Brian.

Hopefully he can rise to the challenge.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/09/2019 10:23:01    2232257

Can't believe how Brogan or O Gara can't make the 26.
Brogans movement off the ball is top class and he only needs 1 chance.
He can draw 2 defenders out of position during any attack. I believe even at 35 there 15 good minutes in him. I'd play him before Connolly any day. Con O Callaghan can do Connolly job at his ease.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 03/09/2019 10:25:14    2232259

If this was Mayo instead of Kerry last Sunday they would have been lambasted as bottlers by the Media and opinionated people ..

This Dublin team are made of stern stuff and are incredibly difficult to break, even when its put up to them in the most difficult of situations and for that i tip my hat to them.

Both Dublin and the management team had an off -day and still survived.

Kerry were brilliant last Sunday and it looks like they've made the step-up , and will be around for a deacde at least regardless of what happens in the replay.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 03/09/2019 10:50:17    2232274

Replying To Joxer:  "I should certainly hope so, you were playing against 14 men. Dublin completely bossed the last 12m turning Kerry over with ferocious tackles, holding Kerry to no score in the most vital stage of the game, equalising and but for a tight Hawkeye call and a missed free would have won the game with 14 men."
I'd agree the Dubs bottled it a bit at the end had numerous chances to win it and a few of the Kerry guys were running on fumes. The experience of that game is going to bring the young Kerry guys on a ton.
Obviously the dubs being down to 14 helped Kerry stay in the game but its all about the goal chances missed for Kerry if we get 3-4 goal chances the next day and take them we'll be hard beat. We need to have Tommy Walsh in earlier or even start him - he'll create all sorts of problems for the Dublin FB line and create extra space for Clifford/Geaney

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 03/09/2019 11:16:31    2232288

Holy God, still can't make sense of what happened on Sunday. Did we leave it behind us or will this actually give these young Kerry warriors huge confidence and self-belief to go out and finish the job?

Time will tell, but when will people learn? Dismissing the challenge of a Kerry team go into a final what fools some mortals be!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/09/2019 11:19:24    2232289

Replying To TheUsername:  "Three midfielders vs one man who was unwell, its a great compliment to be fair to Brian.

Hopefully he can rise to the challenge."
The excuses for Fenton are a small bit OTT surely? If he really was that sick he shouldn't have played. They could have started Howard or McCarthy in there. He is allowed to have a quiet game every now and then and he was up against a good Kerry midfield with David Moran in particular playing great football. That may also have had something to do with his muted performance.

Who are the three midfielders btw? Spillane didn't play there.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/09/2019 11:39:08    2232302