Kerry V Dublin

Replying To Dmck19:  "Still not a red card. That's the point ."
What about the following rule?

5.15 To strike or to attempt to strike an opponent with
arm, elbow, hand or knee.

I don't think the above rule excludes the closed fist.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 02/09/2019 12:48:56    2231850

Replying To MesAmis:  "Agree totally with the above.

100% a pen."
Don't often agree with you, ., but gaugh was spot on, yes it doesn't get punished by many refs, that just shows how far ahead David is of his counterparts

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/09/2019 12:50:03    2231851

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "There were loads of good games across the championship, o'rourke is always at that negative droning every year and its worse when people just lazily take it as gospel. Usually the same idiots who keep saying 'football is dead' after every poor game.
Off the top of my head...Donegal v Kerry, was a classic. Cavan v Armagh both games were superb, Armagh down a cracker, Donegal mayo a hum dinger in the rain, Mayo Roscommon great game, Kildare v Longford very good, Tyrone v kerry very good...and of course yesterdays epic which had a bit of everything

When exactly was this golden period of football yourself and o'rourke seem to be pining for?"
Also add Meath v donegal in the blistering heat. Meath v Offaly and Meath v Clare. Some excellent games this year. And lazy analysis by pundits is doin the game untold damage

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/09/2019 12:53:30    2231852

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "What bothered me the most was that Kerry's last 11 minutes of play was so disappointing offensively, when they had a serious sniff of it, and had enjoyed so many offensive positives in the first 66mins. If Mayo did that, we be hearing, 'oh jaysus Mayo'!"
I think they were afraid of the sucker punch. Dublin still had a sting in their tail and even with Kerry having everyone behind the ball Costello almost scored but for Hawkeye, Rock did score and then had a kick to win it and that with a wall of green shirts there. Had they run at Dublin and got turned over Dublin may have won the game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/09/2019 13:04:27    2231859

Replying To lionofludesch:  "Absolutely didn't see it coming.

I had Dublin to win comfortably."
You and me both. I don't think my pulse rate has evened out yet. But the pints might have a lot to do with that.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 02/09/2019 13:19:08    2231865

Why did the senior game not go to extra time?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 02/09/2019 13:22:03    2231868

Replying To Joxer:  "I think they were afraid of the sucker punch. Dublin still had a sting in their tail and even with Kerry having everyone behind the ball Costello almost scored but for Hawkeye, Rock did score and then had a kick to win it and that with a wall of green shirts there. Had they run at Dublin and got turned over Dublin may have won the game."
Kerry did get turned over 4 times in that last ten minutes as they ran at Dublin. Careless use of possession, especially Moran with the one that led to the equaliser.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 02/09/2019 13:29:38    2231873

What a great game of football. Some of the high fielding was just a joy to watch. Sean O'Shea and Jack McCaffrey were exceptional.
I was delighted this game finished in a draw. Already looking forward to Saturday the 14th.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 02/09/2019 13:29:43    2231874

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Why did the senior game not go to extra time?"
There are 5 million reasons why. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 02/09/2019 13:44:33    2231880

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Why did the senior game not go to extra time?"
And the winner of the weirdest question ever goes to Maroondiesel

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 02/09/2019 13:56:06    2231887

Replying To Joxer:  "I think they were afraid of the sucker punch. Dublin still had a sting in their tail and even with Kerry having everyone behind the ball Costello almost scored but for Hawkeye, Rock did score and then had a kick to win it and that with a wall of green shirts there. Had they run at Dublin and got turned over Dublin may have won the game."
Yeah a bit of that. Think Kerry were happy with the draw and wanted another crack at it , whereas Dublin seemed to be going for the win. The dejected look on O'Shea face after the tackle told a million words, he was devastated believing it was going to be the winning score. I would say he was the most relived man in Croke park when it went wide.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/09/2019 13:56:21    2231888

Replying To cluichethar:  "I would love Mayo to get the rub of the green that Kerry got today. I guess the Gold hoop carry's more fortune than the Red. Gough terrible."
"rub of the green" is a nice euphemism - had Dublin Mayo matches of recent years been reffed like that the Dubs would have been beaten out the gate and finished with 12/13 men.

Now this is not to revisit the past but merely to look at the upcoming replay. Paddy Power in their wisdom have Dublin at 2/9 to lift Sam - they seem to have priced in something that the TSG experts and posters here and elsewhere seem to have missed. What could that be.
Obviously Kerry left alot of early chances behind that might have won them the match and were closer than most expected but Dublin are still 2/9. It's a mystery!

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 02/09/2019 14:14:33    2231897

Well now wasnt that an absolute treat. Two excellent teams going at it hammer and thongs, with some of the best players in the country showing exactly why they are considered some of the skill on display yesterday were just phenomenal to watch.

High drama, i think both teams will feel they left it behind them yesterday, but given the context i think we got out of jail a bit yesterday and Kerry really had a great opportunity to win it.

I deplore people making the ref an excuse for the game, but i will say im happy enough that their will be a different ref the next day. Finals are often about luck on the day and i think Kerry got most of it yesterday and really should of capitilised on it. The hawkeye one was fumy, i was amazed looked well over in real time and in the replay, but im sure the technology is infallible.

But we live to fight another day and can only be proud that 14 men from Dublin held their own against 15 Kerry men for over 42mins.

We can feel unlucky not to have snuck it in truth, but after the Kerry goal went in and the momentum swung i would have taken a draw as we entered injury time.

The sending off was a pity, but probably made a game of it, we looked really in the ascendancy and cruising to good win at 5 points up, up until the sending off. It really gave Kerry Oxygen as did the goal. And those two errors by Jonny and Davey really cost us.

But some of the Dublin lads put in some mountainous performances Cluxton, McCarthy, Howard, Con and POTY Jack McCaffery. Some lads just weren't on it yesterday, Mannon, Kilkenny, Fenton and the majority of the back line. But Kerry were very good so you have to say fair play.

But we live to fight another day, 15 Vs 15 you have to be confident and i have never seen some of the Dublin players who were off yesterday have two bad games in a row so we remain confident.

Lessons to be learned, Sean O Shea, kept Kerry in the game, what a super player i think we have to look of cutting off the oxygen supply to his free taking, we need to stand up the Kerry forwards forwards more, i haven't checked the stats but presume a good majority of their scores came from his free taking.

Secondly i thought we were very sloppy in possession, Kerry played the blanket for the majority of the game even a man up, we looked a bit rusty with our blanket plan in fact we ddint look prepared for it that served us well and we didnt use Kilkenny enough as point guard. That said we had to commit a forward player back to defense so we really had a man down offensively.

We can definitely improve our scoring out put, but we can definitely improve our defensive performance as well. lads will be going hammer and thongs in training this couple of weeks knowing their are shirts up for grabs, in the next couple of weeks. Its as furious as i have heard Jim Gavin after a match, in his own way and i expect big changes the next day.

So what a treat to enjoy this amazing journey a little while longer and great craic yesterday before and after the game we go again in a few weeks cant wait.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/09/2019 14:24:19    2231902

Good to see all the usual Mayo posters in here making it all about them as usual,
Mayo weren't playing yesterday as they were absolutely hockeyed by both of these teams so im not sure why they keep getting mentioned

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 02/09/2019 14:30:19    2231906

Replying To conordee:  "Kerry did get turned over 4 times in that last ten minutes as they ran at Dublin. Careless use of possession, especially Moran with the one that led to the equaliser."
Kicking the ball into space or even directly into full forward line is the way to go against Dublin. Dublin are powerfully strong taklers but poor at ball handling in the air at the back. Kerry not strong enough to run it but great ball handlers.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 506 - 02/09/2019 14:31:56    2231907

Replying To Joxer:  "The Liam Hassett lookalike runner who spent more time on the pitch than Clifford. Looks like he inherited it from Hassett."
That's interesting joxer it must have been Liam Hassetts ghost :-) but we'll have to give a special mention to your own jayo who was on the field making space for all of Ryanos kickouts, till the linesman put a stop to it!

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/09/2019 14:40:11    2231912

Kerry gave up 2-04 in chances in the first half. Sending off or no sending off, if you do that against this amazing Dublin team, you should be beaten. I'll take the draw gladly, and hope for a bit more accuracy in 2 weeks

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 02/09/2019 14:43:06    2231914

Replying To cavanman47:  "There are 5 million reasons why. ."
ya its the Euro on the bureau

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 02/09/2019 14:50:49    2231919

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah a bit of that. Think Kerry were happy with the draw and wanted another crack at it , whereas Dublin seemed to be going for the win. The dejected look on O'Shea face after the tackle told a million words, he was devastated believing it was going to be the winning score. I would say he was the most relived man in Croke park when it went wide."
I didn't think O'Shea had much to be dejected about at any point. Right on the sideline was the perfect spot to curtail that final attack. What are the odds that Dublin would have engineered a higher percentage 'coup de gras' chance than the Rock 'sideline free', if Seanie hadn't 'settled it' for the acute angle dead ball? Knowing Dublin, I'd have fancied their chances of creating a good final pot at the posts, with Costello & Connolly already having missed decent chances in the last 7/8mins.

Ominous for Kerry's replay chances, I'm afraid, that they couldn't work the ball passed the Dublin 50 yard line in the last 4mins, plus 7 mins injury time. 11mins of zero offence. Only Mayo have a name for that sort of final endgame meltdown, but yesterday showed that even the mighty Kingdom could be equally 'afflicted', when trying to take down this Dublin outfit at the death. Further irony, that all the Kerry heroes were warning on Saturday night, that if it was close down the stretch, Dublin could melt in pressure. Instead, it was Kerry's attacking capacity that seemed to disappear up it's own ass in the final 11 mins of playing time, once Spillane had hit the lead point.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 02/09/2019 14:53:35    2231920

Replying To realdub:  "Not at all I thought they did fine against a very dangerous forward line. Kerry's backs were also good. I thought our work rate was phenomenal in added time was superb and we could have sneaked it but a draw is a fair result!"
Not at all..were you at the match!! Full back line was totally exposed as doggy.
1. Goal scored via full back line cut open
2.Penalty missed via full back line foul
3.ball scraped off the line via full back line mistake
4. Great save by Cluxton via full back line cut open again.
Kerry could have got 4 Goals all from kamikaze full back line defending, only for a Goalie & Wing Back the Dubs would have been beaten 10pts.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 02/09/2019 14:57:18    2231922