Kerry V Dublin

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Draw was the correct result and they go again. Both sides will feel they should have won it. I was sure Rock would nail that free at the end.
Credit to Dublin who refused to give in when down to fourteen men. I'd expect no less, but they actually looked the more likely to win in the end. Kerry left a lot of scores out there before that and will be disappointed they didn't finish the job.

The obvious conclusion is that with 15 for the full game Dublin will murder Kerry the next time but I'm hoping this game will bring our lads on another bit.

Well done to both sets of players today on a fantastically entertaining game. Was lucky to be there."
Great game Gerry it will bring yous on big time I was very impressed with Kerry who missed some amount of chances even when we were 5 up it never felt like a 5 point game if you get me , this Kerry team are going to dominate very soon ,speed to burn all over the field.

Imagine a fully fit James o donoghue you'd of murdered us. Was he even a sub yesterday? He'll hardly be right in two weeks time ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/09/2019 10:22:29    2231746

For me that was never a penalty, there is always contact and jostling for position when a high ball is dropping in, we can't be giving penalties for that as its too big an advantage to award given the stakes. Cluxton had it covered imo.

I've no problem with the second yellow for Cooper though, looked to me like he was trying a Sergio Ramos type move there by holding the arm and falling on it, that was nasty, stupid and dangerous.

On the closed fist tackle well there that depends on interpretation. Striking an opponent is a red card offence, was it striking? ... or was it an attempt to tackle with a closed fist. Very fine lines, but there is no doubt a punch to the ribs was delivered which was certainly more dangerous than a lot of other fouls that were penalised more severely. I think Dublin were hard done by there.

The other things the ref got sort of wrong even out - O'Brien tackle was a stronger shout for a penalty than the one they were awarded, Tom O'Sullivan was very lucky to remain on the field as that was a yellow card offence in and of itself and he had already been booked. I thought one of Dublin's dispossessions in injury time was a foul and wasn't awarded. On balance though, most of the really big decisions (penalty, red card, not sending off for striking etc.) went Kerry's way.

Having said all of that, I'm delighted to have another shot at victory. Both teams were superb yesterday in lots of ways, however some players underperformed given the levels they can reach. I would start Cian O Sullivan next time if he is fit, move McCarthy or Howard to midfield and bring on MDM as an impact player. Gavin needs to get his bench on to the field of play earlier than he did yesterday. People saying the Kerry bench is stronger are dreaming ... they were used earlier so they had more of an impact. I thought Costello and Kevin Mc did well for the couple of minutes they were on.

Replay should be superb ... can't wait.

BeachaireGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 02/09/2019 10:26:06    2231748

Replying To gallarus14:  "Liam hassett isn't part of this current Kerry setup and he was sitting near me in the cussack stand. So what you on about?"
The Liam Hassett lookalike runner who spent more time on the pitch than Clifford. Looks like he inherited it from Hassett.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/09/2019 10:33:43    2231751

A poor standard game yesterday, but exciting none-the-less, Kerry have had their chance i fear.

Fantastic to see Dublin "fans" showing their true colours both on here and in the stands yesterday, seeing as they seem to enjoy soccer chanting i think "you only sing when you're winnning" accurately sums it up.

Game refereed well yesterday, with Whelan ala Ferguson when Utd were at their peak and wanted a different set of rules for his team. Red Card, Penalty and two stone wall penalties that weren't given!

Anything other than Dublin by 7 in a replay would be a huge shock ... however their self proclaimed crown of the greatest team ever is in tatters regardless of the result in 2 weeks time.

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 02/09/2019 10:59:48    2231761

Did any Hogan Stand genius nail a 1-16 apiece draw in his prediction ?

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 02/09/2019 11:13:11    2231766

Replying To Ciarrai Abu:  "A poor standard game yesterday, but exciting none-the-less, Kerry have had their chance i fear.

Fantastic to see Dublin "fans" showing their true colours both on here and in the stands yesterday, seeing as they seem to enjoy soccer chanting i think "you only sing when you're winnning" accurately sums it up.

Game refereed well yesterday, with Whelan ala Ferguson when Utd were at their peak and wanted a different set of rules for his team. Red Card, Penalty and two stone wall penalties that weren't given!

Anything other than Dublin by 7 in a replay would be a huge shock ... however their self proclaimed crown of the greatest team ever is in tatters regardless of the result in 2 weeks time."
Haha - you obviously didn't hear the Kerry "fans" soccer chanting about the 5 in a row on the Hill. As for your last line haha again.

dawals (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 02/09/2019 11:22:23    2231774

Replying To Miami305:  "Its interesting ready so many negative comments. Everybody came into this game expecting dublin to win and dublin to win comfortably. What resulted was a Kerry team who came within a whisker or both winning and losing the final with the last kick.

Did everybody want to be proved right and get to talk about how dublin will go for 10 in a row and there is no competition anymore? Its actually sad reading all the BS people post on here. The hurling final was a huge disappointment this year. Yesterdays was an enthralling spectacle.

Lets remember if you put 100 euro on dublin to win yesterday you would have won 10 euro. Yet Kerry blew it? Kerry did exceptionally. We all know sending offs don't mean you win a game or lose it. Ask the Wexford hurlers."
Actually if you put 100 euro on Dublin to win you'd have got the same as if you'd put 100 on Kerry. Sweet FA as neither won.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 647 - 02/09/2019 11:26:00    2231778

What bothered me the most was that Kerry's last 11 minutes of play was so disappointing offensively, when they had a serious sniff of it, and had enjoyed so many offensive positives in the first 66mins. If Mayo did that, we be hearing, 'oh jaysus Mayo'!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 02/09/2019 11:38:44    2231785

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Great game Gerry it will bring yous on big time I was very impressed with Kerry who missed some amount of chances even when we were 5 up it never felt like a 5 point game if you get me , this Kerry team are going to dominate very soon ,speed to burn all over the field.

Imagine a fully fit James o donoghue you'd of murdered us. Was he even a sub yesterday? He'll hardly be right in two weeks time ?"
I can't imagine James will be a factor at this stage which is a pity. A career ruined by injury, I think Killian Spillane has passed him out now.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/09/2019 11:41:37    2231787

Replying To BeachaireGorm:  "For me that was never a penalty, there is always contact and jostling for position when a high ball is dropping in, we can't be giving penalties for that as its too big an advantage to award given the stakes. Cluxton had it covered imo.

I've no problem with the second yellow for Cooper though, looked to me like he was trying a Sergio Ramos type move there by holding the arm and falling on it, that was nasty, stupid and dangerous.

On the closed fist tackle well there that depends on interpretation. Striking an opponent is a red card offence, was it striking? ... or was it an attempt to tackle with a closed fist. Very fine lines, but there is no doubt a punch to the ribs was delivered which was certainly more dangerous than a lot of other fouls that were penalised more severely. I think Dublin were hard done by there.

The other things the ref got sort of wrong even out - O'Brien tackle was a stronger shout for a penalty than the one they were awarded, Tom O'Sullivan was very lucky to remain on the field as that was a yellow card offence in and of itself and he had already been booked. I thought one of Dublin's dispossessions in injury time was a foul and wasn't awarded. On balance though, most of the really big decisions (penalty, red card, not sending off for striking etc.) went Kerry's way.

Having said all of that, I'm delighted to have another shot at victory. Both teams were superb yesterday in lots of ways, however some players underperformed given the levels they can reach. I would start Cian O Sullivan next time if he is fit, move McCarthy or Howard to midfield and bring on MDM as an impact player. Gavin needs to get his bench on to the field of play earlier than he did yesterday. People saying the Kerry bench is stronger are dreaming ... they were used earlier so they had more of an impact. I thought Costello and Kevin Mc did well for the couple of minutes they were on.

Replay should be superb ... can't wait."
I think you have to look at the penalty decision from David Gough's point of view. When the ball is kicked he is looking at Cooper with his back to the ball and holds Clifford who is trying to move towards the ball. That brief bit of holding by Cooper stops Clifford attacking the ball and therefore is technically a foul. Cooper painted a poor picture to Gough and I completely understand why the pen was given. Gough awarded a similar pen to Donegal v Mayo so it's something he looks out for and I'm sure Cooper and all the other defenders were made aware of this before the game. I actually don't mind pens being given for this as it encourages teams to go long more often and defenders will know they will no longer get away with pulling and holding a player. It's similar to how kickouts are reffed. If that was a kickout yesterday and Cooper done the same thing it would of been a free as he made no attempt to play the ball.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 02/09/2019 11:52:57    2231795

Replying To lionofludesch:  "Did any Hogan Stand genius nail a 1-16 apiece draw in his prediction ?"
Did you?

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 02/09/2019 11:59:08    2231798

Replying To Mobot:  "I think you have to look at the penalty decision from David Gough's point of view. When the ball is kicked he is looking at Cooper with his back to the ball and holds Clifford who is trying to move towards the ball. That brief bit of holding by Cooper stops Clifford attacking the ball and therefore is technically a foul. Cooper painted a poor picture to Gough and I completely understand why the pen was given. Gough awarded a similar pen to Donegal v Mayo so it's something he looks out for and I'm sure Cooper and all the other defenders were made aware of this before the game. I actually don't mind pens being given for this as it encourages teams to go long more often and defenders will know they will no longer get away with pulling and holding a player. It's similar to how kickouts are reffed. If that was a kickout yesterday and Cooper done the same thing it would of been a free as he made no attempt to play the ball."
Where was Gough and his umpires looking when Cluxton came off his line?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 02/09/2019 12:00:59    2231800

I think the most disappointing thing from a Kerry POV is how they were turned over in those last few minutes. You have the extra man and you should really be avoiding contact with the Dubs. It was a combination of inexperience, maybe being too hesitant and just great play from Dublin too.

Dublin put in a real steely performance with 14 men but I think Kerry were much closer to them than the scoreboard showed prior to the sending off. Clifford would want at least 2 of his misses back, the one that dropped short in the second half and one off his right from a really central position in the first. But just like against ourselves, his movement really is out of this world and he still had a big impact even with the misses.

Whatever about the goal chance off the line, that's great defending, but Geaney will be disappointed with the penalty. He had a great game creating a lot of chances but will be disappointed with his scoring return. O'Brien was quiet enough by his standards but should have been awarded a penalty. So in that way you would argue that Kerry have just as much room for improvement as Dublin do.

I thought it could be that close but I really thought Kerry would have to be perfect with their efficiency. The fact they weren't and still should have won is huge for them in their confidence in my opinion. Dublin will obviously know they can be so much better than that, but I think Kerry know that too. Set up to be a great game in 2 weeks.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/09/2019 12:07:06    2231805

Replying To Mobot:  "I think you have to look at the penalty decision from David Gough's point of view. When the ball is kicked he is looking at Cooper with his back to the ball and holds Clifford who is trying to move towards the ball. That brief bit of holding by Cooper stops Clifford attacking the ball and therefore is technically a foul. Cooper painted a poor picture to Gough and I completely understand why the pen was given. Gough awarded a similar pen to Donegal v Mayo so it's something he looks out for and I'm sure Cooper and all the other defenders were made aware of this before the game. I actually don't mind pens being given for this as it encourages teams to go long more often and defenders will know they will no longer get away with pulling and holding a player. It's similar to how kickouts are reffed. If that was a kickout yesterday and Cooper done the same thing it would of been a free as he made no attempt to play the ball."
Agree totally with the above.

100% a pen.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 02/09/2019 12:16:09    2231816

From what I can see of the incident, and the photo in the Irish Times today backs it up ... each player puts his hand on the other to jostle for the best position, ref awards a very soft penalty. Look at the photo in the IT and tell me it isn't a case of each player trying to hold of the other. Never a penno.

BeachaireGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 02/09/2019 12:22:28    2231822

Replying To giveitlong:  "David Gough was excellent. He and Lane are miles ahead of the other refs. Kerry missed a peno, had a goal attempt scrambled off the line and hit the crossbar. They looked the more likely team to score a goal. However, I think it will be hard for them mentally to bring this level of effort again the next day. Dublin have Cluxton to thank more than anyone, for the second chance. I think they will improve a great deal and go on to win it. Agree with Colm on Sunday game this was one of the few really good matches this year, Kerry v Mayo probably the only other really."
There were loads of good games across the championship, o'rourke is always at that negative droning every year and its worse when people just lazily take it as gospel. Usually the same idiots who keep saying 'football is dead' after every poor game.
Off the top of my head...Donegal v Kerry, was a classic. Cavan v Armagh both games were superb, Armagh down a cracker, Donegal mayo a hum dinger in the rain, Mayo Roscommon great game, Kildare v Longford very good, Tyrone v kerry very good...and of course yesterdays epic which had a bit of everything

When exactly was this golden period of football yourself and o'rourke seem to be pining for?

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 02/09/2019 12:29:27    2231825

Replying To Forpucksake:  "Did you?"
Absolutely didn't see it coming.

I had Dublin to win comfortably.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 02/09/2019 12:31:28    2231828

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "There were loads of good games across the championship, o'rourke is always at that negative droning every year and its worse when people just lazily take it as gospel. Usually the same idiots who keep saying 'football is dead' after every poor game.
Off the top of my head...Donegal v Kerry, was a classic. Cavan v Armagh both games were superb, Armagh down a cracker, Donegal mayo a hum dinger in the rain, Mayo Roscommon great game, Kildare v Longford very good, Tyrone v kerry very good...and of course yesterdays epic which had a bit of everything

When exactly was this golden period of football yourself and o'rourke seem to be pining for?"
Armagh v Mayo as well was brilliant. Cork v Kerry too in my opinion, and Cork v Dublin before the goal blitz from Dublin was a great watch!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/09/2019 12:33:39    2231831

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "What bothered me the most was that Kerry's last 11 minutes of play was so disappointing offensively, when they had a serious sniff of it, and had enjoyed so many offensive positives in the first 66mins. If Mayo did that, we be hearing, 'oh jaysus Mayo'!"
Yes they didnt know what to do. Tried to run down the clock but only up by a point when they had the forwards who could have pushed them on. It was all dublin because kerry decided to keep ball . As of dublin were not going to tackle hard and get that possession

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/09/2019 12:41:32    2231839

Well done to both teams on an enthralling contest yesterday.

Both teams magnificent & a fine game of football.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 02/09/2019 12:44:12    2231843