Kerry V Dublin

Replying To Jackeen:  "And finally I look on those intangible but very real forces that drive Kerry football and its teams - self-belief, history tradition:

Something this Dublin team also have in abundance!"
Self belief, history, tradition and reasonable internet searches followed by doping bans, it's their way! :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/08/2019 17:09:17    2231021

Conor Lane who lives in kerry will be the standby referee and linesman. I find it strange no one in the kerry media/mafia is questioning his involvement.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 31/08/2019 17:25:56    2231025

Replying To brisbane:  "Conor Lane who lives in kerry will be the standby referee and linesman. I find it strange no one in the kerry media/mafia is questioning his involvement."
Aido and Eamo's Tweet machines must have run out of batteries!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2019 18:13:45    2231034

Replying To Joxer:  "Aido and Eamo's Tweet machines must have run out of batteries!"
They might have done if Conor Lane actually lived in Kerry.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/cork-football-referee-conor-lane-you-enjoy-the-pressure-situation-of-the-games-921948.html

"Now, it is time-consuming. You'd leave Lyre at 8.30am of a Sunday morning, pick up the boys at 10am, and then head to Clones, for example, for a 4pm throw-in.
You wouldn't get out of Clones until after 6pm and so you wouldn't be back in Lyre until 11pm."

His carpentry business is also based in Lyre.

expe (UK) - Posts: 31 - 31/08/2019 18:44:09    2231042

Replying To moc.dna:  "Nice to see the new €87 million taxpayer funded Irish Aviation Authority control tower at Dublin Airport lit up in blue especially for the Dubs. Nobody else figures on their radar. Maybe the now regular flyover by the Air Corp can have Sky blue smoke only, released for the Dubs only. Nice to have the Hill dominated in blue & tog out in the usual dressing room & warm up at the usual end. What theme music will be played for the Dubs at half time. Shake hands with a familiar figure in the middle of the field prior to the game & Johno rewarded for his staunch defence of all funding & exceptional volunteers by handing over the trophy. Yes all is in place for the coronation."
Let me get this straight. Are you actually moaning about the tower lit up in blue? Jesus wept. Tax payers fund all the local councils who always put up flags and a bt of colour when the county is in an All-Ireland. Do you have a whinge then??
Unbelievable.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 31/08/2019 19:00:21    2231044

Replying To avonali:  "Let me get this straight. Are you actually moaning about the tower lit up in blue? Jesus wept. Tax payers fund all the local councils who always put up flags and a bt of colour when the county is in an All-Ireland. Do you have a whinge then??
Unbelievable."
Agreed, unbelievable and totally ridiculous .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/08/2019 19:47:00    2231049

Best of luck to the Dubs tomorrow. How ye make history!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 31/08/2019 22:06:43    2231077

Will then in for the first 20 mins. I'd imagine by then the AIG corporates will have bagged at least two goals. It won't be a "great game". If will be a boring one way shoot in. Spare us the tripe about Dublin and kerry are the only two counties that can serve up an all Ireland final for the ages. It will be a one sided bore fest.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 31/08/2019 22:19:48    2231081

Kerry's tradition means they simply have to win this final. I've a feeling they'll somehow find a way to stop the 5 in a row. Expect to see the most passionate Kerry performance in a generation with players like Walsh and Moran in particular playing the games of their career mixed with other forwards that will click on the day. Forget everything Kerry have done this year - this won't have been a three week plan the new management team will have been working on Dublin since before Christmas. Kerry to win this by 2 points in one of the best Croke Park performances we've witnessed in a number of years.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 31/08/2019 22:32:54    2231086

Replying To sam1884:  "Kerry's tradition means they simply have to win this final. I've a feeling they'll somehow find a way to stop the 5 in a row. Expect to see the most passionate Kerry performance in a generation with players like Walsh and Moran in particular playing the games of their career mixed with other forwards that will click on the day. Forget everything Kerry have done this year - this won't have been a three week plan the new management team will have been working on Dublin since before Christmas. Kerry to win this by 2 points in one of the best Croke Park performances we've witnessed in a number of years."
An interesting post.Tradition of course is huge in gaa and no county has more of it than Kerry.They are the most dangerous of opponents for Dublin today.Will it be enough though against this Dublin team.I expect a big performance by Kerry as befits their history and tradition but Dublin to be 5 in a row champions at 5 p.m this evening.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 01/09/2019 06:53:39    2231107

Just getting sorted to head up to Drumcondra in a bit, wishing all those traveling a safe journey.

Despite all the slagging, i really hope everyone has a great day, enjoys the occasion and the game.

Best of luck to both teams.

The Jacks are Back.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNzBiW8CGOw

COYBIB.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/09/2019 09:11:25    2231115

Got offered two tickets last night. Normally in years gone by I would have jumped at the chance to go. I have been to 8 of the last ten all Ireland finals. I politely declined then on this occasion as I have no desire to witness a one sided affair with both teams indulging in cynical fouling around the middle third.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/09/2019 11:01:50    2231126

Replying To avonali:  "Let me get this straight. Are you actually moaning about the tower lit up in blue? Jesus wept. Tax payers fund all the local councils who always put up flags and a bt of colour when the county is in an All-Ireland. Do you have a whinge then??
Unbelievable."
Yes, local councils are local so displaying colours in those situations is fine. The air traffic control tower is a part of national infrastructure, what makes the Dubs so special that its lit up for them. Another example of how everything is Dublin based & the rest of the country are second class citizens. It's why most people hope Kerry win today.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 01/09/2019 11:21:32    2231131

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Got offered two tickets last night. Normally in years gone by I would have jumped at the chance to go. I have been to 8 of the last ten all Ireland finals. I politely declined then on this occasion as I have no desire to witness a one sided affair with both teams indulging in cynical fouling around the middle third."
I'd say you're some craic!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 01/09/2019 11:27:50    2231135

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Got offered two tickets last night. Normally in years gone by I would have jumped at the chance to go. I have been to 8 of the last ten all Ireland finals. I politely declined then on this occasion as I have no desire to witness a one sided affair with both teams indulging in cynical fouling around the middle third."
Of course not one word of this post is true but it does get you the 30secs of attention that you so crave. COYBIB

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2019 11:31:36    2231137

Replying To Joxer:  "Of course not one word of this post is true but it does get you the 30secs of attention that you so crave. COYBIB"
I wouldn't accept them either. €90 for a foregone conclusion no chance. Even if Meath were there instead of Kerry.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/09/2019 11:37:55    2231138

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I wouldn't accept them either. €90 for a foregone conclusion no chance. Even if Meath were there instead of Kerry."
It's no more a foregone conclusion than when Kerry wiped the floor with Mayo and Cork in finals in the 00s. There have been countless one-sided finals over the years.
I don't think this will be one of them.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 01/09/2019 12:07:41    2231141

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I wouldn't accept them either. €90 for a foregone conclusion no chance. Even if Meath were there instead of Kerry."
Love the way you turn it into being about Meath all the time LOL

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 01/09/2019 12:09:05    2231142

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Will then in for the first 20 mins. I'd imagine by then the AIG corporates will have bagged at least two goals. It won't be a "great game". If will be a boring one way shoot in. Spare us the tripe about Dublin and kerry are the only two counties that can serve up an all Ireland final for the ages. It will be a one sided bore fest."
Bit like last year?

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 01/09/2019 12:09:52    2231143

Very disrespectful to this very fine Kerry team. A chance to see history, one way or the other, and the last chance to see this greatest team of all time in action, in the flesh, before key players retire. So many factors. What an event in store. The atmosphere will be electric. It's city v country. It's the two big guns, footballing aristocrats, steeped in history. Worth double the admission charge. Can't wait for it. COYBIB

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2019 12:16:44    2231147