Paul Galvin New Wexford Manager

Well this is going to be interesting that's for sure.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 02/08/2019 12:30:27    2219723

They'll defo have to change those jerseys, purple and yellow just don't go together!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 02/08/2019 12:38:03    2219728

Skinny cut shorts, Retro purple and gold sponsorless jersey with 'Boys of Wexford' slogan across the chest and peaky blinders caps. Wexford footballers in 2020.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 02/08/2019 12:43:01    2219734

He can take those mustard jerseys with him. At least wexford will have a different look to them next year one way or the other.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 02/08/2019 12:46:26    2219735

Eamonn Fitzmaurice with him?

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 02/08/2019 12:47:33    2219737

Personally I think it's great for counties like Wexford to get a high profile name. Raises the hopes and aspirations of all. He'll have great knowledge and insight.

Has he managed any club team?

Lining himself up for Kerry job in 2-3 years me thinks.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 02/08/2019 12:57:25    2219739

Fair play, tough job, congrats Paul.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/08/2019 13:04:57    2219742

Was very surprised to hear this as I never thought he had any ambition to coach at that level given all his other commitments/activities.
He did coach the Sem's underage teams when he was teaching there but, bar the Underdogs last year, don't think he has done any other coaching.
It's a strange decision for him to choose Wexford. Ok he's based in Dublin these days but didn't think Wexford would be appealing considering they are towards the bottom of Division 4. You wouldn't think there is much potential there given how poor they've been in the last 5-6 years.
Still if there's one thing Galvin would do it is to do something from left field so maybe it does make sense!
Best of luck to him if he gets it and to Wexford under him, one of my favorite Kerry players off all time (and for anyone who knows Kerry hurling they'll understand how painful it is for a Crotta man to say anything nice about Lixnaw ;D).

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2019 13:23:09    2219752

I can't see him as managerial material at all to be honest. He's not the sort of fella that inspires lads for me. If anything I'd say he'll be a distraction but sure it can't get much worse for Wexford football I suppose. He'll be there short term I'd say. What sort of bobs are involved I wonder? High profile maybe but sure we've seen plenty of them and where did it go.
Is he on his own or has he a helper ? If so I'd say he'll be there the odd time and not the rest.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/08/2019 13:39:17    2219757

I hear Brendan Courtney will be in the new kit man.

hamsamwiches (Westmeath) - Posts: 13 - 02/08/2019 13:52:32    2219763

Replying To TheHermit:  "Was very surprised to hear this as I never thought he had any ambition to coach at that level given all his other commitments/activities.
He did coach the Sem's underage teams when he was teaching there but, bar the Underdogs last year, don't think he has done any other coaching.
It's a strange decision for him to choose Wexford. Ok he's based in Dublin these days but didn't think Wexford would be appealing considering they are towards the bottom of Division 4. You wouldn't think there is much potential there given how poor they've been in the last 5-6 years.
Still if there's one thing Galvin would do it is to do something from left field so maybe it does make sense!
Best of luck to him if he gets it and to Wexford under him, one of my favorite Kerry players off all time (and for anyone who knows Kerry hurling they'll understand how painful it is for a Crotta man to say anything nice about Lixnaw ;D)."
Hahaha !!

I always admired him as a player - took no nonsens, knew how to put it about and above all else he was an excellent player.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 02/08/2019 13:59:35    2219767

Good luck to him. Hope it goes better than it did with the Underdogs against the Dublin thirds.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 02/08/2019 14:08:05    2219770

What has he work with in Wexford. Is there much coming through? The best dual players will play Hurling unless he can sway the decision of some , and its not like they have the team of players that were there during Jason Ryan's time

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/08/2019 14:20:41    2219774

Replying To TheHermit:  "Was very surprised to hear this as I never thought he had any ambition to coach at that level given all his other commitments/activities.
Best of luck to him if he gets it and to Wexford under him, one of my favorite Kerry players off all time (and for anyone who knows Kerry hurling they'll understand how painful it is for a Crotta man to say anything nice about Lixnaw ;D)."
I would have thought its appealing enough.

In reality Wexford have under achieved in the last two years, relegated from div 3 and disastrous in div 4 but they are more than capable of promotion to div 3 and consolidation in that division.

In reality if during his 2 year period Galvin does that then hes been a success.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 02/08/2019 14:35:54    2219782

Anyone else think the pic of him HoganStand are using here makes him look like Zak Dingle from Emmerdale?

http://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/302418

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/3/30/Zak_Dingle.png/200px-Zak_Dingle.png

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4223 - 03/08/2019 13:39:08    2220060

x soccar star kevin doyle and x london boss deely as selecters ? and someone from kerry is the romour

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 05/08/2019 12:16:11    2221062

I'm a firm believer that there is enough talent in "any county " to produce a local manager there are men and women going out in their own time training clubs from a young age all way up to senior and intercounty week in week out and to go outside and get some one from outside is a slap in the face for any aspiring manager who's potential is waiting to be discovered......fair enough get as many specialist advisers coaches is as you like but call me old fashioned but I believe in a full home grown intercounty setup is what gaa is all about community our community against yours and giving people chances........yes I know there are lots of success stories of travelling managers but is that what the gaa ethos is about??

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 05/08/2019 19:27:07    2221282

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "I'm a firm believer that there is enough talent in "any county " to produce a local manager there are men and women going out in their own time training clubs from a young age all way up to senior and intercounty week in week out and to go outside and get some one from outside is a slap in the face for any aspiring manager who's potential is waiting to be discovered......fair enough get as many specialist advisers coaches is as you like but call me old fashioned but I believe in a full home grown intercounty setup is what gaa is all about community our community against yours and giving people chances........yes I know there are lots of success stories of travelling managers but is that what the gaa ethos is about??"
Its about results and winning. That said apart from an unsuccessful stint with the underdogs has Galvin managed any club teams or the like?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 05/08/2019 21:00:41    2221330

I just don't feel Paul will make a top inter county manager. No real reason, maybe he's a little too eccentric.

Would be glad to be proven wrong. Good luck to Paul and Wexford. Only 11 years since Wexford were given Tyrone their fill in an All Ireland semi.

Defaulter1831 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 40 - 05/08/2019 21:47:26    2221344

I heard he only took the job if he could design them a new winter wear training gear collection

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/08/2019 22:27:00    2221358