Dublin V Roscommon

Just noticed there is no thread open on this subject. The All-Ireland Champions are playing Roscommon.
Is the lack of interest in this topic symptomatic o9f a general apathy because people see the result as a foregone conclusion?

Anyway I thought I'd kick the debate off _ Dublin to win by 8pts.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/07/2019 15:01:07    2211902

I sincerely hope that we could keep it tight for up to the fifty minute mark and at this stage we'd need absolutely everything to be going right for us. Would be great to have this game in Tullamore or Portlaosie as I'd say we would have more fans travelling and the atmos would be great. Yeah I'd agree with a eight point win for Dublin but in their current form it could be a greater margin. Two teams that gave us a right good league game in the Hyde until Dublin pulled away. Maybe ye might rest a few and have them ready for Omagh and give the Rossies a fighting chance!!!!!!!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 16/07/2019 15:33:21    2211917

Go on then, we may as well talk about it! Cork beating Tyrone in the game before it would make it very interesting indeed though. It would give Roscommon a slim chance of qualifying even with a defeat and a small score difference. Tyrone beating Cork all but ends this group unless we can pull of the mother of all shocks.
I don't see Dublin having it all their own way and the Rossies will have seen how Cork got at them. I reckon we're stronger physically then Cork and our defence has been much better - we haven't conceded a goal in the Championship yet. We have hope and I think we'll give it a go.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 16/07/2019 15:45:39    2211922

I fear for Roscommon in this one.

The cork game was Dublin's first meaningful match of the season, and it was quite obvious we were off the pace an lacked match sharpness early on. But we slowly started to turn the screw and really start hitting form in the last 10-15 mins of the game, ruthlessly putting cork to the sword. There will be no lack of match sharpness the next day with such a quick turnaround in games and players like Cooper, McCarthy and of course Connolly back in the fold will ensure players are on their toes. Game could be over as a contest by HT.

Don't mean to sound arrogant saying this, its just my honest opinion.

Dubs by 10+.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 16/07/2019 15:47:53    2211923

Replying To avonali:  "Just noticed there is no thread open on this subject. The All-Ireland Champions are playing Roscommon.
Is the lack of interest in this topic symptomatic o9f a general apathy because people see the result as a foregone conclusion?

Anyway I thought I'd kick the debate off _ Dublin to win by 8pts."
Yes that's why there is a lack of interest. No lack of interest from me, very much looking forward to it like I always look forward to this bunch or phenomenal footballers playing with one another as this success wont last forever. A quick look at paddy power tells me we are 1/80 to win the game and the handicap is -14 .. want us to beat that and go up to omagh and have a bit if craic.

My prediction for Saturday - Dublin by 16

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/07/2019 15:52:12    2211928

Replying To moros:  "I sincerely hope that we could keep it tight for up to the fifty minute mark and at this stage we'd need absolutely everything to be going right for us. Would be great to have this game in Tullamore or Portlaosie as I'd say we would have more fans travelling and the atmos would be great. Yeah I'd agree with a eight point win for Dublin but in their current form it could be a greater margin. Two teams that gave us a right good league game in the Hyde until Dublin pulled away. Maybe ye might rest a few and have them ready for Omagh and give the Rossies a fighting chance!!!!!!!"
I don't think it's Gavin's philosophy to ever take a 'rest' against any opposition. He always gives them full respect.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/07/2019 15:59:03    2211931

Replying To waynoI:  "Yes that's why there is a lack of interest. No lack of interest from me, very much looking forward to it like I always look forward to this bunch or phenomenal footballers playing with one another as this success wont last forever. A quick look at paddy power tells me we are 1/80 to win the game and the handicap is -14 .. want us to beat that and go up to omagh and have a bit if craic.

My prediction for Saturday - Dublin by 16"
"I always look forward to this bunch or phenomenal footballers playing with one another as this success wont last forever."
Ya, it's great. And will be nice to see the Dubs in action again to.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 16/07/2019 16:36:06    2211948

Replying To waynoI:  "Yes that's why there is a lack of interest. No lack of interest from me, very much looking forward to it like I always look forward to this bunch or phenomenal footballers playing with one another as this success wont last forever. A quick look at paddy power tells me we are 1/80 to win the game and the handicap is -14 .. want us to beat that and go up to omagh and have a bit if craic.

My prediction for Saturday - Dublin by 16"
Roscommon at 20/1! That's some odds. I note Cork are at 7/2 - interesting.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/07/2019 17:16:31    2211966

I think we all just expect the Dubs to win this and I suppose that's not fair on Roscommon, there'll be more interest in the Tyrone game though. Dubs here by 9 or 10 points for me.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 16/07/2019 17:22:22    2211968

Dublin to walk this easily ,10+ atleast

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 16/07/2019 17:27:06    2211971

I'm looking forward to see how our full backs handle Cox and a very decent Rossie inside forward line. We underestimate at our peril. I'd really like to see Rory and Cooper get some game time but Gavin is unpredictable and will stick to his philosophy of starting those who are burning it up in training I'm sure. Dubs should take this by a fair few points but Rossies to make a battle of it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/07/2019 18:37:12    2211998

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm looking forward to see how our full backs handle Cox and a very decent Rossie inside forward line. We underestimate at our peril. I'd really like to see Rory and Cooper get some game time but Gavin is unpredictable and will stick to his philosophy of starting those who are burning it up in training I'm sure. Dubs should take this by a fair few points but Rossies to make a battle of it."
Jim wont underestimate, even if I am. Im not worried about Roscommon, I think Dublin will beat them.

Plus.. If we do, that gives us a chance to give Cooper, Rory, Connolly, Darren Gavin, McCarthy, Lowndes etc a chance of getting game time in a dead rubber against Tyrone. No point in changing things too much for the next game. Get it won, get into the semi final, then make changes.

Id go with the exact same team that started v Cork. Win it, by 1 or 15, I don't care and then have a bit of a laugh up in Omagh.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/07/2019 18:47:35    2212001

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm looking forward to see how our full backs handle Cox and a very decent Rossie inside forward line. We underestimate at our peril. I'd really like to see Rory and Cooper get some game time but Gavin is unpredictable and will stick to his philosophy of starting those who are burning it up in training I'm sure. Dubs should take this by a fair few points but Rossies to make a battle of it."
Cox has to be the most overrated forward in the country this year , takes pot shots that come off once in a blue moon that look fantastic. Clear to see at the weekend why Kerry were OK with him leaving , if he was as good as he's being made out to be he wouldn't be pulling on primrose and blue.

Some other handy forwards for Ross to be sure but won't even trouble Dublin , expecting an absolute drubbing even worse than how the cork match finished up, hope I'm wrong but can't see it.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 16/07/2019 19:11:09    2212018

Replying To Highandmighty:  "Cox has to be the most overrated forward in the country this year , takes pot shots that come off once in a blue moon that look fantastic. Clear to see at the weekend why Kerry were OK with him leaving , if he was as good as he's being made out to be he wouldn't be pulling on primrose and blue.

Some other handy forwards for Ross to be sure but won't even trouble Dublin , expecting an absolute drubbing even worse than how the cork match finished up, hope I'm wrong but can't see it."
Well,well ! First post and it's about how poor a fella is. Sure why would that bother you now bud and you from lovely Leitrim. You wouldn't be not from Leitrim now by any chance would you.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/07/2019 19:31:30    2212022

Replying To catch22:  "Well,well ! First post and it's about how poor a fella is. Sure why would that bother you now bud and you from lovely Leitrim. You wouldn't be not from Leitrim now by any chance would you."
Yes his first post and you come on to patronise and make fun of him.
Welcome to the forum highlandmighy. We're not all like catch22

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 16/07/2019 19:49:41    2212029

Replying To catch22:  "Well,well ! First post and it's about how poor a fella is. Sure why would that bother you now bud and you from lovely Leitrim. You wouldn't be not from Leitrim now by any chance would you."
Gotta love the newbies LOL and of course the trolls that haven't a clue how to troll properly.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 16/07/2019 19:54:59    2212031

This isn't yet another Legend fake account is it? One of the many that he uses to give himself imaginary thumbs ups.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/07/2019 19:55:14    2212033

I'm a born and bred Leitrim man for better or worse. My posting history or lack thereof doesn't really have anything to do with what I said now does it?

It bothers me because of the media love in or hype or whatever you want to call it that has surrounded him at times this year when he isn't even the best forward on his team. Plenty of the Rosscommon team playing well above par this year and not getting the same attention as Cox.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 16/07/2019 19:57:04    2212034

Highandmighty (Leitrim), your post is every bit as important / acceptable as catch22 (USA or mine for that matter, we all start at Post # 1, other than that it's all down to animosity.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 16/07/2019 20:11:10    2212039

Replying To Sindar:  "Yes his first post and you come on to patronise and make fun of him.
Welcome to the forum highlandmighy. We're not all like catch22"
Thank god for that!

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 16/07/2019 20:21:41    2212047