Inter County Teams And Booze

Replying To catch22:  "Funny thing is though,the only reason you would wonder about players having a drink is because it's such a problem in general in the country. Fellas can't have 2 or 3 pints and head home in most cases it's a case of tear the arse out of it .
No one would have an issue with lads going out after a game and having say 3 pints and going home but that's not what happens n most cases. When you are out your out seems to be the rule. Don't get me wrong , these lads are amateurs and should be free to enjoy themselves without being hung out to dry but if your in you either in 100% or your not .
You have plenty of time for pints ."
You've hit the nail on the head here. No one would begrudge a few pints after a bad defeat, but a party bus the following day? Doesn't convey the impression of an elite team, and it's not as if they've been living like monks since Christmas as I already outlined.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 11/07/2019 12:43:47    2209453

These times it's far more difficult for a player to have a pint. Once they are spotted, someone has the phone out and next thing you know there's a headline in the paper "GAA star enjoys boozy night out in build up to match"! Remember Lee Keegan's interview a few weeks ago.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 11/07/2019 12:45:07    2209455

AFAIK, the Dubs footballers have no drink ban as such.

Have seen groups of them out and about town during the summer enjoying a pint or not.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 11/07/2019 12:55:22    2209467

Ive said it before on here, The Dublin football squad manage themselves. There is no ban on drink. They can drink whenever they want and as much as they want to. They do however, know that if they over-do it, it harms their chances of playing, and when I say harms their chances, I don't mean management will be looking and will punish them if theyre caught drinking, what I mean is competition for places is so tough that if youre off it, even 1%, someone will come and take your spot and in such a fruitful time, when Dublin are so successful, every player on the panel or sniffing around the panel wants to stay there, or force their way in especially as one All Ireland turned to back to back All Irelands, back to back All Irelands turned to three in a row, Three to four, and now four to potentially 5. So while there isn't an active drink ban, and they are allowed to live their lives as they wish to, they generally don't drink or at least very seldom drink especially in championship mode.

The elite in every sport have elite mentalities that set them apart. I told the story before on here, ill tell it again. I live beside a guy who is a course co-ordinator in DCU, he would know Jonny Cooper well and they where involved in giving a talk to a bunch of students. After the talk, the students and co-ordinators got a few pizzas ordered in. Jonny was asked if he wanted a slice of pizza and he politely declined, a student tried to twist his arm and said, ah sure go on you might aswell the season is over and Jonny said, "yeah, but if im eating this pizza there is another lad somewhere who wont be having a slice of pizza this week and it makes my job harder when we go back training". - Now of course I cant say that this happened with absolute certainty, just a story I heard, but its the kind of mentality that sports stars have.

No alcohol bans, no certain food bans. You do what you want, but the best sportsmen have the best mentalities and will take stuff like that into their own hands.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/07/2019 13:59:37    2209502

Lads clutching at straws here. Drink isn't the reason for Cavan's poor performances . Tyrone lads could of went on a day session the friday night and partied the night away in Sallys before turning up for the Cavan game and still won.
Our problem is psychological, no believe or leaders on the field.
The good/great teams always get better and peak at the business end of thing while others crumble

Mike_Clitoris69 (Cavan) - Posts: 230 - 11/07/2019 14:04:42    2209506

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Question for posters from all counties, perhaps particularly aimed at successful counties, in either code. Do your players regularly drink/socialise throughout the course of the inter county season?

I know that Cavan have had several much publicised sessions this season, notably in Westport the night of our away clash with Mayo in the league, also after the league defeat to Monaghan (a result that essentially relegated us) and again very publicly on the Monday after the Ulster final hiding we got. It's a source of much discussion in the county at present.

Genuinely curious as to whether this is uncommon or not in modern GAA. Something tells me it simply would not be tolerated in Kerry or Kilkenny. And perhaps more damningly, that players there would have no interest in drinking after a bad defeat."
Having drinks the night after a match isn't a big issue. Laois hurlers would have celebrated after beating Westmeath. The problem is when players go on 2 or 3 day benders. Often there can be recreational drugs involved too. This will severly hamper your performance. But having a night out is a good thing and ideally during the league to keep morale high.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 11/07/2019 14:22:45    2209516

Donegal teams during the McGuinness era would have had a good drink after Ulster finals and on the bus home after big games, but generally that was it, one night on it, not the mid season Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday clubs that would have been Donegals' downfall pre McGuinness. Its the same now with Bonner I believe, with players enjoying well deserved drinks after the Ulster final. As Bonner and McGuinness has pointed out in interviews, what the point in all this and the sacrifice players make if they cant enjoy themselves after a big win.

It seems to be unique to the GAA the obsession with players taking a drink. I remember when Ireland beat Italy at the Euros in 2016, the players had a few bottles and pizza in changing rooms after the game, with the last 16 game against France in 4 days time, not an eyelid was bat and rightly so.

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 11/07/2019 14:28:57    2209523

This comes down to the Irish obsession of drinking and pub culture and the craic.

Complete BS.

We all know county teams go on the beer if they lose or win big matches, it's been stated many many times and there is evidence from many sources.

Some are on about club teams and drinking. In Tyrone most club games are on a Sunday. That's just the way it is. You can't go out on the lash on a Saturday night with a game on Sunday. If you want to go out drinking on a Saturday night go for it, just don't play football or play reserve, very simple.

Also if you go home on a Friday night after a long week at work and you fancy a beer or glass of wine who the hell is stopping you? Ditto a Sunday night?

People seem to be obsessed with drink, no wonder you go into a pub in The USA or Oz and there is the Irish lad drunk in the corner or the Irish lad acting the fool. But it's ok....he's Irish, that's what we do. That's really Something to be proud off.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/07/2019 16:31:31    2209584

The message coming through from this thread seems to be that players can't enjoy themselves unless they 'go on the lash' - strange

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 11/07/2019 19:20:28    2209637

Replying To Rockies:  "Eddie O' Brien had about 10 pints the night before he scored 3 goals for Cork against Wexford in the 1970 All hurling final. He said it relaxed him."
It might also have helped Eddie that Wexford had to recall Ned Colfer, due to injury to their regular corner back. Ned was once a great player but was then well past his best and Eddie had a field day. I remember the game well.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 11/07/2019 19:29:11    2209642

Replying To Oldtourman:  "It might also have helped Eddie that Wexford had to recall Ned Colfer, due to injury to their regular corner back. Ned was once a great player but was then well past his best and Eddie had a field day. I remember the game well."
That was a Good Cork team. It was felt they were unlucky the year before in 1969.The center back, Justin McCarthy broke his leg the week of 1969 All Ireland....willie Walsh played center back this depriving the attack of its leader. In 1970, Ned Colfer was a bit slow

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 11/07/2019 22:26:14    2209729

Replying To waynoI:  "Ive said it before on here, The Dublin football squad manage themselves. There is no ban on drink. They can drink whenever they want and as much as they want to. They do however, know that if they over-do it, it harms their chances of playing, and when I say harms their chances, I don't mean management will be looking and will punish them if theyre caught drinking, what I mean is competition for places is so tough that if youre off it, even 1%, someone will come and take your spot and in such a fruitful time, when Dublin are so successful, every player on the panel or sniffing around the panel wants to stay there, or force their way in especially as one All Ireland turned to back to back All Irelands, back to back All Irelands turned to three in a row, Three to four, and now four to potentially 5. So while there isn't an active drink ban, and they are allowed to live their lives as they wish to, they generally don't drink or at least very seldom drink especially in championship mode.

The elite in every sport have elite mentalities that set them apart. I told the story before on here, ill tell it again. I live beside a guy who is a course co-ordinator in DCU, he would know Jonny Cooper well and they where involved in giving a talk to a bunch of students. After the talk, the students and co-ordinators got a few pizzas ordered in. Jonny was asked if he wanted a slice of pizza and he politely declined, a student tried to twist his arm and said, ah sure go on you might aswell the season is over and Jonny said, "yeah, but if im eating this pizza there is another lad somewhere who wont be having a slice of pizza this week and it makes my job harder when we go back training". - Now of course I cant say that this happened with absolute certainty, just a story I heard, but its the kind of mentality that sports stars have.

No alcohol bans, no certain food bans. You do what you want, but the best sportsmen have the best mentalities and will take stuff like that into their own hands."
This current dublin team are the most boring sports team in living memory so that story is probably true alright.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 11/07/2019 23:09:07    2209752

Biggest tourist attraction in Dublin is the Guinness brewery. Mention hurling to an American and he will think you are referring to Curling. But ask what is Ireland famous for? Answer will be Guinness!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 12/07/2019 10:40:37    2209846

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "This current dublin team are the most boring sports team in living memory so that story is probably true alright."
Another one for the list :The Dubs are boring. But they won't have space to inscribe that on the roll of honour.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 12/07/2019 10:50:28    2209856

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "This current dublin team are the most boring sports team in living memory so that story is probably true alright."
Ha ..

Youd kill to have a Meath team as good though.

But there again when your most experienced player is out having a few pints in his local the night before a Leinster final, it probably explains some of the reason why there is such a huge gap between the teams and why Dublin continue to dominate, because Meath just don't have that elite mentality.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/07/2019 10:53:33    2209860

Replying To avonali:  "Another one for the list :The Dubs are boring. But they won't have space to inscribe that on the roll of honour."
Ah that one has been doing the rounds since people started to sit up and take notice of this fine team. That saying springs to mind when these comments come up "people will see you walk on water & say its cos you can't swim".

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/07/2019 13:18:27    2209936