Tyrone Team For Eurovision

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "The song is actually not a patriotic song. If was penned by Dominic Behan in response to an incident where a drink challenged an ex British soldier living in North inner city Dublin to come out if his house and fight him.
Your post completely misses the point. We are no longer second class citizens and there is every need for us to rise above the stupid behaviour of those players."
Of course it's a patriotic song and the reason you gave for Dominic Behan penning it is not true. We are no longer 2nd class citizens and as such we can sing any Irish rebel song we want, no matter about you, the song police or the orange order. The Limerick team sang Sean South after winning the All Ireland and I didn't hear too many complaining about it.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 11/07/2019 14:27:08    2209522

Hope nobody put a curse on the Tyrone team. If so, kiss Sam goodbye for 50+ years

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 11/07/2019 14:34:41    2209526

Replying To Rockies:  "Great song...,Joe Cocker version"
Rockies, your memory deceives you. Jo Cocker recorded "Unchain My Heart" not '"Un-Break My Heart" which was recorded by Toni Braxton in 1996.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 11/07/2019 19:54:58    2209655

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Rockies, your memory deceives you. Jo Cocker recorded "Unchain My Heart" not '"Un-Break My Heart" which was recorded by Toni Braxton in 1996."
You are correct.... Affairs of the heart attract attention

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 11/07/2019 20:35:23    2209678

The border towns in the Republic will be full of the nationalists from the North from very early tomorrow morning. I haven't heard anyone apologising to them for having to leave their homes and stay down south for a few days to it all settles down again. It was a private bus and it was behind a closed door. They can sing what they like. They weren't burning fires or rioting. They were on a bus trying to get home after a big match played on a very warm evening. No ones life was put in danger by a few lads having a bit of banter.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 11/07/2019 23:36:21    2209758

Sean Cavanagh's response to this is embarrassing. "I'm not political" - then proceeds to make a judgement about the lads based on singing a song, sounds political to me. Also makes reference to how his brother 'rightly' wouldn't know the words to the song as god forbid he would tar himself by singing that filth. The only embarrassment here is you sean, trying to dictate others behaviour based on your own sensitivities. It's also poor form for a Tyrone legend to be scolding young lads for a song they sang in a private setting.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 12/07/2019 07:18:24    2209781

https://www.lyrics.com/lyric/1183373/Wolfe+Tones/Come+Out+Ye+Black+and+Tans
Just for you Sean, so you and Colm can learn the words....

Redhandsam (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 12/07/2019 09:04:03    2209799

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "unbelievable comments on this thread from apologists for the behaviour of the tyrone players to making fun of the whole thing..its not funny...aghaloo gaa club is the local gaa club in aughnacloy...aghaloo had to struggle through many years operating in a divided village right through the troubles...their pitch was and is right on the border..one of its members was assasinated by british soldiers in the eighties...since those dark days the community of aughnacloy has made a huge leap forward...that parade happens with the co-operation and completely respects mass goers on a saturday night...some members of the protestant community are active in aghaloo gaa club...imagine what they had to put up with this week with members of their own community telling them " i told you so"...so lets not make fun of what happened and lets not make apologies for the stupid actions of that bunch of young tyrone men...i hope they are ashamed of their actions and i hope they are ashamed of the damage they have done to Aghaloo GAA Club"
It's a valid point although I wouldn't go down the road of they should be ashamed about it. I think it may be blown a bit out of proportion, it seems even those marching haven't made a huge fuss about it.

If ever there going to be a lasting United Ireland it's going to take compromise and working together from both sides to make it work.

It seems in this community they have done just that, worked together to try and make it work so I feel Mickey Harte is acutely aware of that to be honest, the issue isn't in the song being sung, everyone knows that.

If we keep down the track of well they're having a march so let's retaliate by signing a song tit for tat crap we will never get a proper United Ireland, it's too petty, it's too much of a gap.

I think the vast majority of gaels want a United Ireland but is t going to happen on our terms alone and it seems this community have recognized that and made efforts to try and work together.

But again I'm not sure this has done any lasting harm to that so an unfortunate incident but nothing really in it, it seems it hasn't angered the community so best to move on.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1326 - 12/07/2019 09:54:04    2209815

Not something I say every day but up Tyrone, no problems whatsoever with that. Sean Cavanagh tut tut.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 12/07/2019 10:08:36    2209824

The Mayo team did a lot less in 1951, and were banished to oblivion for it. As for Clare, Biddy Early did a number on them, that lasted almost a 100 years!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 12/07/2019 10:10:48    2209826

Replying To Tom1916:  "Of course it's a patriotic song and the reason you gave for Dominic Behan penning it is not true. We are no longer 2nd class citizens and as such we can sing any Irish rebel song we want, no matter about you, the song police or the orange order. The Limerick team sang Sean South after winning the All Ireland and I didn't hear too many complaining about it."
Context my dear boy. Context...actually check if out. The facts of what the song is based on is true.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 12/07/2019 20:22:23    2210102

Snoop dogs version of another song was very good too .. has anyone seen it ? It's very well done !! And it's not a make over look at the crowd that's enjoying him singing, I wonder could Mickey Harte get him to Garvahy for a gig

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 13/07/2019 08:22:46    2210198

Replying To border Gael:  "The border towns in the Republic will be full of the nationalists from the North from very early tomorrow morning. I haven't heard anyone apologising to them for having to leave their homes and stay down south for a few days to it all settles down again. It was a private bus and it was behind a closed door. They can sing what they like. They weren't burning fires or rioting. They were on a bus trying to get home after a big match played on a very warm evening. No ones life was put in danger by a few lads having a bit of banter."
Both communities travel south this time of year. For holidays. Just wanted to point that out for those who don't know the lay of the land

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 13/07/2019 12:00:21    2210241

Replying To Donegalman:  "Both communities travel south this time of year. For holidays. Just wanted to point that out for those who don't know the lay of the land"
Having lived in a border area for several years and worked in Belfast at the time, I came across plenty of Nationalists coming south at this time of year. I guess a revisionist would call it a holiday. The ones I came across just wanted to get away from the 12th July 'celebrations'.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 13/07/2019 12:36:34    2210253