Tyrone Div 1
Donegal Div 2 winners - div 1 next yr
Meath Div 2 runners -up , Div 1 next yr
Roscomon Div 1- div 2next yr
Dublin Div 1
And
Cork relegated from Div 2

League matters !!!"
I think in years gone by it definitely did matter. However I think the Super 8s are going to become more important now. Monaghan and Galway were in div 1 this year and had poor championships.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 08/07/2019 10:21:38    2207640

Replying To Shood:  "No harm but, Rocommon, cork and meath are cannon fodder. Donegal or kerry to exit next."
Ross are not as u will see in their home fixture.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 08/07/2019 10:43:20    2207661

I think by the end of this super 8 series the GAA will need to look at the project. Roscommon/Tyrone, Tyrone/Cork, Dublin/Roscommon, Dublin/Cork, Kerry, Donegal, Mayo/Meath will all be mismatches. Add matchday 3 in Group B to not relevant. This leaves us with the Mayo/Kerry/Donegal matches worth watching and even at that I'm not sure Kerry will be good enough to beat the other two. The super 8's was meant to be the gold chip event but with these fixtures it's going to be bad PR for the football championship.

For me the semi finals will be:

Dublin V Mayo
Donegal V Tyrone

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 08/07/2019 11:03:33    2207676

As great and all as the championship and super 8's is or hopefully will be next weekend I still think it's wrong that Dublin will not play one of Mayo Kerry or Donegal this summer, the biggest teams should always play each other every summer in championship football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/07/2019 11:06:07    2207678

Group 1 is very hard to call I wouldn't be surprised if Kerry beat mayo next sun ,donegal beat Kerry in croke park and mayo beat Donegal in castlebar along with them all beating meath they could all finish on same PTS thats how close I think that group will be
The other group Dublin and Tyrone to go through but Tyrone just about coz they won't have it easy against Roscommon next sat

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 08/07/2019 11:34:03    2207697

Replying To clondalkindub:  "As great and all as the championship and super 8's is or hopefully will be next weekend I still think it's wrong that Dublin will not play one of Mayo Kerry or Donegal this summer, the biggest teams should always play each other every summer in championship football."
I agree with you clon but it's also even more wrong that ye play 2 games at home, I reckon that imbalance needs to be addressed away more than ye not getting to play us this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/07/2019 11:38:02    2207698

For all the negativity surrounding football lately, I can't wait for some of the games this weekend.

I would love to be down in Killarney this weekend, the place will be hopping. Kerry will know after last year that they need to hit the ground running in the Super 8's. Considering Mayo have beaten them twice already this year they'll have a point to prove. Kerry are rarely bet in Killarney as well, Mayo have a tough battle on their hands.
I'm expecting fireworks in this one, after Fitzmaurices recent comments I expect the referee will need eyes in the back of his head for some of the gamesmanship going on throughout. Mayo will bring the physicality, Kerry will bring the pace and I'm expecting a real shoot out as both teams leave themselves very open to counter attacks.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 08/07/2019 11:43:59    2207705

Replying To sam1884:  "I think by the end of this super 8 series the GAA will need to look at the project. Roscommon/Tyrone, Tyrone/Cork, Dublin/Roscommon, Dublin/Cork, Kerry, Donegal, Mayo/Meath will all be mismatches. Add matchday 3 in Group B to not relevant. This leaves us with the Mayo/Kerry/Donegal matches worth watching and even at that I'm not sure Kerry will be good enough to beat the other two. The super 8's was meant to be the gold chip event but with these fixtures it's going to be bad PR for the football championship.

Dublin V Mayo
Donegal V Tyrone"
I cannot understand how you write off Kerry so emphatically. I'd give them a very good chance at home in the first game. Mayo are very impressive how they find a way to win and the injuries have helped them, by forcing them to look to youth over the older players in the squad and this has freshened them up. However I would still give Kerry at least evens at home if not slight favourite tag. A result either way here would not surprise me.
What I will say, is that I think a win in this game is more important to Kerry than Mayo. I think Mayo could win the following two, especially as they have Donegal at home.
I also think in Mayo's case, what could hurt them is that they get into a dogfight whether they are playing the top teams such as Dublin or teams they are favoured to beat such as Armagh or Down. Even when they were by far the better team on the day against Galway they let them back in and only won by a goal at the end. If they do the same in the super 8s they could be caught out. I think that is where Meath could pull a scalp if Mayo are not careful.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 08/07/2019 11:45:30    2207706

Replying To sam1884:  "I think by the end of this super 8 series the GAA will need to look at the project. Roscommon/Tyrone, Tyrone/Cork, Dublin/Roscommon, Dublin/Cork, Kerry, Donegal, Mayo/Meath will all be mismatches. Add matchday 3 in Group B to not relevant. This leaves us with the Mayo/Kerry/Donegal matches worth watching and even at that I'm not sure Kerry will be good enough to beat the other two. The super 8's was meant to be the gold chip event but with these fixtures it's going to be bad PR for the football championship.

Dublin V Mayo
Donegal V Tyrone"
I wouldn't be writing off Roscommon against Tyrone. I do think Tyrone will win but I wouldn't be suprised if Roscommon won.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 08/07/2019 11:46:42    2207710

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I agree with you clon but it's also even more wrong that ye play 2 games at home, I reckon that imbalance needs to be addressed away more than ye not getting to play us this year."
How many times do you need to say this ? your like a broken down record .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/07/2019 11:56:26    2207724

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I agree with you clon but it's also even more wrong that ye play 2 games at home, I reckon that imbalance needs to be addressed away more than ye not getting to play us this year."
About time the county boards grow a pair and address it.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 08/07/2019 12:00:53    2207726

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "About time the county boards grow a pair and address it."
It is down to county boards alright. As the Munster Footballers who threatened to strike in 2013 know, county boards and provincial councils follow the money. Have the GPA spoken about it?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7823 - 08/07/2019 12:11:32    2207731

Replying To avonali:  "I really believe Cork could be a real banana skin for Dublin next Sunday. While I would never bet against the Dubs I reckon Cork to win at 16/1 is the best value bet next weekend."
No they wont.

Can you give any evidence to suggest that Dublin wont win easily?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/07/2019 12:22:31    2207738

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I think in years gone by it definitely did matter. However I think the Super 8s are going to become more important now. Monaghan and Galway were in div 1 this year and had poor championships."
This year you may see the craziest event ever. The GAA may implement a second tier championship for lower league teams. In Cork's case, they will most likely win this year's All Ireland, then compete in the lower competition next year. Bizarre!!!!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 08/07/2019 12:38:48    2207751

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Kerry Div 1
Mayo div 1
Tyrone Div 1
Donegal Div 2 winners - div 1 next yr
Meath Div 2 runners -up , Div 1 next yr
Roscomon Div 1- div 2next yr
Dublin Div 1
And
Cork relegated from Div 2

League matters !!!"
The hurling league, a few years ago was a joke. Galway and Limerick played in Division 2. The GAA was embarrassed when Galway won the All Ireland and changed the league format.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 08/07/2019 12:51:08    2207762

Replying To The_Fridge:  "No they wont.

Can you give any evidence to suggest that Dublin wont win easily?"
16/1?? Worth a bet. Donegal were 8/1 against Dubs in 2014 and look what happened!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 08/07/2019 13:09:33    2207779

Replying To avonali:  "I really believe Cork could be a real banana skin for Dublin next Sunday. While I would never bet against the Dubs I reckon Cork to win at 16/1 is the best value bet next weekend."
With those odds ...auld Cluckie May decide to let in 5 goals and throw a few grand on Cork. Liverpool keeper did that once. Dubs can still advance with their remaining games.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 08/07/2019 13:34:29    2207814

Replying To superbluedub:  "How many times do you need to say this ? your like a broken down record ."
I'm going to keep saying it until the GAA address the massive advantages they bestowed upon on theDublin football team.

Would you like us all to stay quite and not mention it and keep the GAAs dirty little secret buried beneath the carpet?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/07/2019 13:56:58    2207842

Replying To Rockies:  "With those odds ...auld Cluckie May decide to let in 5 goals and throw a few grand on Cork. Liverpool keeper did that once. Dubs can still advance with their remaining games."
Now now....Cluckie is incorruptible.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/07/2019 14:24:11    2207875

Replying To avonali:  "Now now....Cluckie is incorruptible."
Everyone has a price! Cluckie..if you're reading this, leave phone at home, if going to bookies. Jim Gavin May track it . Remember...a yacht touring Mediterranean or drive for f'ing five.,,???

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 08/07/2019 16:11:12    2207956