Mayo V Kerry

As a Kerry supporter I must say Gough did give some harsh calls against us in those 2 games, however it definitely didn't define the 2017 replay vs Mayo... they were by far the better team and a 5pt defeat probably flattered us. In 2016 vs Dublin they were the better team also apart from that 15 minute period before half time when we had a purple patch. Most people down here just weren't happy with the challenge on Peter Crowley by McManamon I think it was which might have given us the chance to equalise. But as stated Dublin did play the better football that day even though it was a tight game.

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 33 - 09/07/2019 23:36:53    2208783

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're correct Llaw. I was wrong and must apologize to cillian .

It was the linesman's fault, can't remember who it was exactly, think it might have been Anthony Nolan.

Gough was the ref that day and who's a fussy ref but usually consistent but was all over the shop that day just like he was the year previous when we played Dublin.

He pulled us on some ridiculous stuff in those 2 games, things he was letting yer selves and Dublin get away with.

It's the inconsistencies that drive us supporters and players nuts.

Anyway safe journey to you and your fellow Mayo supporters Llaw ye are very welcome in the kingdom."
Has there ever been a time when Kerry folk are not moaning about a ref? Seems like every defeat it's always a refs bad call. Next you'll be saying Super Joe got a thing or two wrong reffing games in the past ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 09/07/2019 23:47:06    2208791

Replying To AnFear16:  "As a Kerry supporter I must say Gough did give some harsh calls against us in those 2 games, however it definitely didn't define the 2017 replay vs Mayo... they were by far the better team and a 5pt defeat probably flattered us. In 2016 vs Dublin they were the better team also apart from that 15 minute period before half time when we had a purple patch. Most people down here just weren't happy with the challenge on Peter Crowley by McManamon I think it was which might have given us the chance to equalise. But as stated Dublin did play the better football that day even though it was a tight game."
Dublin always seem to get the calls weather the games be tight or not.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/07/2019 23:47:12    2208792

Replying To superbluedub:  "Cop on to yourself kid the majority of what you say on here is not true , we are on top 4 in a row Kid -:) COYBIB"
Ya ye have 4 in a row bought and paid for by the GAA.

Congrats on buying the 5.

Thank god we did the 5 under our own steam.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/07/2019 23:51:17    2208795

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya ye have 4 in a row bought and paid for by the GAA.

Congrats on buying the 5.

Thank god we did the 5 under our own steam."
5?

I think you're overtired.

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 10/07/2019 00:14:09    2208806

Replying To jimbodub:  "So many tired cliches

I doubt if Joxer is hurting much about 2011

Treasured memories, good aul semi concussed Dec O'Sullivan, he was almost as helpful as Paul Murphy"
I'd rather remember Declan's killer goal v Dublin in the all Ireland semifinal in 2007 but that was before 2011 so ye dubs on hear probably can't remember that :)

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 10/07/2019 01:35:06    2208813

Really loving the good discussion about the Mayo v Kerry match on this thread.... I pity whoever the poor ref is too

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 10/07/2019 07:52:43    2208830

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Dublin always seem to get the calls weather the games be tight or not."
The best team always wins kid -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/07/2019 08:06:54    2208835

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Dublin always seem to get the calls weather the games be tight or not."
Kerry got enough to last a lifetime down in Limerick in 14

i actually thought the matches between Mayo and Dublin were referred fairly in general just beaten by a better side

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 10/07/2019 08:44:47    2208843

As we say in the capital, everywhere you go always take the weather with you.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/07/2019 08:46:32    2208844

Replying To gallarus14:  "I'd rather remember Declan's killer goal v Dublin in the all Ireland semifinal in 2007 but that was before 2011 so ye dubs on hear probably can't remember that :)"
You gotta live in the present , no point in leaving in the past -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/07/2019 09:16:40    2208856

Replying To CornAghais91:  "5?

I think you're overtired."
Minors.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/07/2019 10:03:57    2208879

Replying To centerfield:  "Kerry got enough to last a lifetime down in Limerick in 14

i actually thought the matches between Mayo and Dublin were referred fairly in general just beaten by a better side"
You'd imagine that Mayo fans would be more inclined to give out about referees as they have waited so long to win that they'd be casting around for any excuse but yous tend not to be.

In comparison to some of the Kerry lads on here who just whinge any time a ref gives any free against them.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 10/07/2019 10:44:16    2208908

The more i look at it i just cant see past a Mayo victory this weekend,
Kerry just dont have the physicality to live with them, we have seen this now on the last 3/4 meetings between the 2.
Kerry forwards will still cause damage, they are too good not to but i think they will be starved.

The big difference between 2014 and now is a lot of Kerrys gritty warriors from that date (AOM, Donnchadh Walsh, Donaghy) have moved on and that leadership gap has yet to be filled.
The other big worry is that Cork could have easily scored 5 goals past them in Munster final, Aidan O'Rourke was lambasted for sayind during the league that kerry still couldnt defend. He was right.

I think the game hinges massively on how David Moran performs at midfield, if he can perform to his dominant 2012-2015 level then that may give them a foothold in the game but can just see Mayo bullying them off the pitch otherwise

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 10/07/2019 10:45:29    2208909

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Minors."
Be interesting to see if finances play a part this weekend, maybe a Machiavellian subplot for geeks like me.

For counties of a similar make up and contribution to the GAA in a contemporary sense i cant make heads nor tails about the disparity in funding allocation.

Kerry GDF 197.600 euro, population of Kerry 147.000, ratio = 1.34 euro per head.

Mayo GDF 134.29 euro, population of Mayo, 130.5k, ratio = 1.02 euro per head.

Kerry's funding has definitely had an impact at underage, i wonder are will see that financial advantage now trickle through at senior level and will we see it play out on Sun.

Mayo of course despite the funding disparity comparatively have had their own recent minor and U20 success, fair play to him when you stack it all up.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/07/2019 10:53:58    2208921

Some may prefer bellyaching to following these matches. That is to sell the games remaining and themselves short. Good luck to one and all. May the best team win ... as long as that team is the Kingdom.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 10/07/2019 10:56:35    2208924

EEEK what a match a store.
I think we are up against it...but if we do come through it with a win I think we could have a major say in the All ireland.

But if we don't win...we are gone with the wind

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/07/2019 11:03:48    2208931

Aye the tension and nerves are starting to take hold, don't know how I'll get to Sunday.
The team announcement on Friday night is going to be very interesting but I can't see a huge amount of change from the Munster final. However a lot of people down here talking about Paul Geaney being dropped because he seems to have lost all his form at the minute.
Midfield is key - we have to break even here and David Moran will have a huge amount of pressure on his shoulders.
Mayo are bigger and meaner, these Kerry lads need to do a lot of growing in the next few days to be ready for the physical battle that they'll find themselves in on Sunday.
You just hope we have learned far more from the 2 defeats this year than Mayo have in victory - also hopeful the Killarney factor will be worth a few points for us.

Daragh teeing things up nicely in the Times this morning.

Mayo fans what's the feeling are you traveling in hope or expectation? Any word on injuries, will Keegan be good to start the whole game for example?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 10/07/2019 11:15:04    2208940

Replying To centerfield:  "Kerry got enough to last a lifetime down in Limerick in 14

i actually thought the matches between Mayo and Dublin were referred fairly in general just beaten by a better side"
HERE HERE

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/07/2019 11:41:04    2208960

Looking forward to the weekend. Heading down Saturday so should be good craic. I honestly don't know where either team is at. Would have preferred Meath first rather than this fixture but what can you do. If either team win by a point or 2 it wouldn't be a surprise.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/07/2019 11:54:15    2208966