Mayo V Kerry

Should be the game of the championship so far we down in kerry next weekend so looking forward to heading to the game as a neutral. I am expecting a kerry win but it will be close.

galwayted (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 08/07/2019 22:30:15    2208231

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Remember O'Connor got Darren o'sullIvan black carded 2 years ago, he ran and grabbed darran pulled him to the ground and Mr gough was only too happy to oblige and give darran a black."
Think the memory is failing you a bit KingdomBoy. If it's the 2017 replay you mean I still have that on tape and had a look at it there. Paddy Durcan runs out to the sideline with the ball chased at full speed by Darren. Paddy hand passes to Cillian standing two yards inside the sideline and continuing his run receives the ball back, passing between Cillian and the sideline. Darren still chasing Paddy now finds Cillian directly in his path. Cillian either thinking Darren is going to pass on the outside or for self preservation as Darren is going full tilt conveniently takes a step towards the sideline forcing Darren to pass on the inside. Darren catches Cillian, who has his back to him at this stage, on the legs as he passes. Giving him the benefit of the doubt and by his reaction I would say it was accidental but the linesman interpreted it as a deliberate trip. If you look at Darrens reaction his anger was directed at the lineman and not Cillian who on this occasion was relatively blameless. But give a dog a bad name! Not looking forward to this one as them young Kerry lads will be all fired up and our old fellas will find it hard to keep up with them. Still always pleasant to visit Killarney in the summer though.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 08/07/2019 23:42:53    2208255

Replying To MayoDan:  "Carr and McDonagh are 21. Treacy is 23. Not all our team are pensioners!

Matthew Ruane 22
Stephen Coen 23
Diarmuid O'Connor & Paddy Durcan 24
Harrison 26
Cillian & Darren Coen 27"
Mayo have a nice blend of youth and experience and JH has done a good job bringing in all these guys this year. I think when people think of Mayo they think of the likes of Boyle, the O'Sheas, Higgins, Keegan and Moran, guys who all have huge service given and are still contributors.

To me Mayo resemble Kerry in 2011-13 when they still had guys from a great team but they were bringing new people in and trying to make it work. The big issue mayo have as I see it is the injuries this year are going to be hard to overcome.

I am hopeful more than confident for the weekend, I think Kerry will press Clarke's restarts often and won't be as open as they were in Munster. It's probably a 50/50 and midfield will be crucial as both goalkeepers will be going long a lot I feel. We will probably see Tommy Walsh during the second half and I am interested to see if Kerry can get him the right ball and if he can have an impact or not.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/07/2019 00:18:31    2208261

Replying To lilylanger:  "Nothing to do with momentum. They have better footballers than Kerry currently. Simple."
I'm not sure your correct on that one.
Both teams are filled with fine footballers, the current narrative (ex Kerry players) is that Kerry have too many ball players.
Mayo have the edge in experience, physicality, defensively and physiologically.
Kerry have the edge in football skills and scoring power.
The game will ultimately come down to winning primary possession and the full forward line.
If David Moran and Paul Geaney are on form you'd have to fancy Kerry.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 09/07/2019 01:55:54    2208266

Replying To westkerry:  "No saints here but did you ever wonder why Mayo are not universally loved? You'd think a tean that has gone so long without landing Sam would be.
I'll admit id love Mayo to win the all Ireland for the fans who are without doubt the best in Ireland.
Being honest though alot of people dont like the level of cynicism and gamesmanship from Mayo.
COC is the leader in that regard and most nuturals will admit that.
Mayo will do anything to get their hands on Sam and thats understandable but its not going to gain respect or fans. COC will get a kerry lad the line on Sunday mark my words."
To be honest I don't wonder why, I know well why we aren't. We are no worse in the gamesmanship stakes than ya or Dublin or Tyrone or whoever else is operating at the top level. Suppose little old mayo should be naive like we used to be and let ourselves be bullied or out smarted. Any all Ireland winning team had it in them to do anything needed to win whether that was to play better than the other team or to 'compete' so to speak if when it comes down to the fine margins. It's unfortunate that the game today is played with an extra sh*tehousery these day but that's just the way it is. It's a hip hop world keep up or get out of the way!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 09/07/2019 05:30:41    2208272

Forget previous Kerry Mayo games and ignore the league. Peter Keane has Kerry primed to peak for the Super 8s. James O'Donoghue can't be match fit but is still a big threat. If we can find a way of keeping young Clifford low on the scoreboard it'll be a big step to victory. And if we don't win we still need to keep getting scores and the margin right because they might ultimately help us get out of the group.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 09/07/2019 09:41:24    2208315

Hard one to call, this. If it was in Corker and Mayo had a full bill of heath id be tipping Mayo, but as its down in Kerry home advantage could be a factor. Id expect it to be open, with momentum swinging, could all come down to conversion ratios.

Kerry need to do something different tactically then they did in the league, they need a plan B because inevitably Keegan is going to be on O Shea and they will try and isolate Clifford, while they will be confident enough with their defenders of keeping the rest of the on paper Kerry forward line quite, they look so good on paper but haven't really fired in a couple of seasons.

Then you are looking at match ups and advantages. Kerry are quite open and Mayo have a strong running game. kerry will be hoping Moran given them a more of a foothold then in the league in the center, with Mayo missing DOC, Ruanne and Parsons, they will be targeting breaking even there. Mayo will need their shooting boots on because hitting the amount of wides they did in the league final wont work here, they have improved to be fair to them. Discipline will be important, if Mayo run and Kerry and Kerry cant contain them and cough up frees COC return will gobble them up and keep the score board ticking. Equally O Shea, but Mayo defenders are that bit more experienced and willey.

Clarke in my opinion is a good shot stopping keeper, but if you push on him and or go to man to man, he is capable of big errors and turnover to be one high up the pitch. That said i expected to see that more gritty hunting from front to back in Kerry with Buckley then i have and they coughed up a lot in the Munster final themselves and Mayo wont be going light on them and looked to have improved their "game management" on Sat, compare dot the league final. The Kerry keeper and defense look soft for goals and if i was Mayo id be looking to test that frailty.

Mayo with a healthy lead are always capable of a brain fart and letting teams back into a game when they should be seeing it out, so kerry should be targeting staying with them early doors and squeezing them in the last two IMO.

Kerry need to be showing something this weekend, im not sure there has been much of a change of approach or philosophy from Fitzmaurice and i still think they struggle to find an identity overall. I would have question marks against new regime though its early days and i thin Peter Keane needs a big win in a big game. They looked over the moon to limp by Cork and come home with Munster, far to happy in my opinion for the context of that achievement. Maybe im being harsh or they are trying to peak later, but question marks against them i think.

Mayo have momentum, but a terrible list of injuries in one key area in particular in midifled that could see Kerry balance their own deficiency there, they have the talent but a psychological test ahead, they always seem to let teams back into it and seem in capable of keeping the foot on the throat or not get a rush blood to the head. Kerry need to test them on that score.

To close to call in my opinion, it depends who shows on the day, going into it id favor Mayo, but if Kerry management pull something special and answer a few questions they have the talent to beat Mayo and home advantage means id only favor Mayo slightly and Kerry should be confident of a result.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/07/2019 11:38:51    2208366

Kerry to win .

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 09/07/2019 11:51:00    2208372

Capacity reduced to 32 thousand from 42/44 thousand for Sundays game, apparently as it is a stand alone fixture. I wonder would this game have sold out if full capacity was provided?

I know last year any game outside croker didnt break the 20k attendance mark so maybe 32k capacity is enough but Mayo coming to Killarney is a big occasion.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 09/07/2019 13:51:47    2208442

Replying To TheUsername:  "Hard one to call, this. If it was in Corker and Mayo had a full bill of heath id be tipping Mayo, but as its down in Kerry home advantage could be a factor. Id expect it to be open, with momentum swinging, could all come down to conversion ratios.

Kerry need to do something different tactically then they did in the league, they need a plan B because inevitably Keegan is going to be on O Shea and they will try and isolate Clifford, while they will be confident enough with their defenders of keeping the rest of the on paper Kerry forward line quite, they look so good on paper but haven't really fired in a couple of seasons.

Then you are looking at match ups and advantages. Kerry are quite open and Mayo have a strong running game. kerry will be hoping Moran given them a more of a foothold then in the league in the center, with Mayo missing DOC, Ruanne and Parsons, they will be targeting breaking even there. Mayo will need their shooting boots on because hitting the amount of wides they did in the league final wont work here, they have improved to be fair to them. Discipline will be important, if Mayo run and Kerry and Kerry cant contain them and cough up frees COC return will gobble them up and keep the score board ticking. Equally O Shea, but Mayo defenders are that bit more experienced and willey.

Clarke in my opinion is a good shot stopping keeper, but if you push on him and or go to man to man, he is capable of big errors and turnover to be one high up the pitch. That said i expected to see that more gritty hunting from front to back in Kerry with Buckley then i have and they coughed up a lot in the Munster final themselves and Mayo wont be going light on them and looked to have improved their "game management" on Sat, compare dot the league final. The Kerry keeper and defense look soft for goals and if i was Mayo id be looking to test that frailty.

Mayo with a healthy lead are always capable of a brain fart and letting teams back into a game when they should be seeing it out, so kerry should be targeting staying with them early doors and squeezing them in the last two IMO.

Kerry need to be showing something this weekend, im not sure there has been much of a change of approach or philosophy from Fitzmaurice and i still think they struggle to find an identity overall. I would have question marks against new regime though its early days and i thin Peter Keane needs a big win in a big game. They looked over the moon to limp by Cork and come home with Munster, far to happy in my opinion for the context of that achievement. Maybe im being harsh or they are trying to peak later, but question marks against them i think.

Mayo have momentum, but a terrible list of injuries in one key area in particular in midifled that could see Kerry balance their own deficiency there, they have the talent but a psychological test ahead, they always seem to let teams back into it and seem in capable of keeping the foot on the throat or not get a rush blood to the head. Kerry need to test them on that score.

To close to call in my opinion, it depends who shows on the day, going into it id favor Mayo, but if Kerry management pull something special and answer a few questions they have the talent to beat Mayo and home advantage means id only favor Mayo slightly and Kerry should be confident of a result."
Do you hear this a Dublin poster conceding playing at home is indeed an advantage - this is progress lads, give him another 10 years and he might just agree Dublin are getting a little bit too much money ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/07/2019 15:05:08    2208486

Replying To TheHermit:  "Do you hear this a Dublin poster conceding playing at home is indeed an advantage - this is progress lads, give him another 10 years and he might just agree Dublin are getting a little bit too much money ;D"
Now all we need is a Kerry poster admitting that it's an advantage playing in a hurling Provence , and that it was an even bigger advantage only having to win 3 matches to win an All Ireland, now that indeed would be progress -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 09/07/2019 15:22:27    2208494

Replying To superbluedub:  "Now all we need is a Kerry poster admitting that it's an advantage playing in a hurling Provence , and that it was an even bigger advantage only having to win 3 matches to win an All Ireland, now that indeed would be progress -:)"
By jaysus ye Dubs know your stuff - thank goodness you're one here to educate me about all things Munster GAA. You're obviously an expert and know that there is no football down here at all once you cross the Feale.
Indeed I often forget that the Munster championship is just Kerry playing a few junior hurling teams forced into playing football that morning...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/07/2019 15:33:40    2208499

Replying To TheHermit:  "By jaysus ye Dubs know your stuff - thank goodness you're one here to educate me about all things Munster GAA. You're obviously an expert and know that there is no football down here at all once you cross the Feale.
Indeed I often forget that the Munster championship is just Kerry playing a few junior hurling teams forced into playing football that morning..."
Nothing to do with educating , it's about admitting advantages , and everyone knows your lot won All Ireland's winning only 3 matches so no expertise needed there -:) indeed I doubt anyone could better your expertise on all Gaa Matters , your opinion is given on a high percentage of threads on this site lol... obviously to much time on your hands.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 09/07/2019 15:52:04    2208510

I think the atmosphere in Killarney will be unreal, I'd imagine you'll have 16/17,000+ Mayo fans down for the game if its anything like limerick last Saturday evening. I could see it going right down to the wire if I was a betting man I'd fancy the draw

grodzilla (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 09/07/2019 15:55:47    2208511

Replying To grodzilla:  "I think the atmosphere in Killarney will be unreal, I'd imagine you'll have 16/17,000+ Mayo fans down for the game if its anything like limerick last Saturday evening. I could see it going right down to the wire if I was a betting man I'd fancy the draw"
Attendance reduced to 31,000 (Health and safety gone mad with power again). I'm told the game will sell out before Friday.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 09/07/2019 17:38:07    2208564

Replying To superbluedub:  "Nothing to do with educating , it's about admitting advantages , and everyone knows your lot won All Ireland's winning only 3 matches so no expertise needed there -:) indeed I doubt anyone could better your expertise on all Gaa Matters , your opinion is given on a high percentage of threads on this site lol... obviously to much time on your hands."
How many All Ireland's did we win playing 3 games oh Oracle? We must have won every second one like that the way your talking.
But sure we'll take them I mean I don't see any Dublin poster on here dismissing all the AI ye won pre 1955, read up on that there lad more education for you :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/07/2019 17:38:38    2208565

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I remember our Kerry team rocking up to crokepark for a quarter final against Dublin in 2009 after going through the backdoor with a bunch of over 30s and a few young snipes, nearly getting bate by Sligo in Tralee and Antrim in O'Connor park and everyone was saying we were fooked again a well rested dubs team only for us to give them a 17 point hammering.

You can't underestimate the power of momentum and Mayo have that now, plus they'll want to keep their boot on our throats."
Mad isn't it and Dublin with home advantage, population and all of that money invested in them.

I fancy Kerry to take Mayo if their forwards click but if Mayo shackle Clifford and Kerry defend like they did against Cork then Mayo will beat them. What I'd really like to see is Kerry go toe to toe with Mayo and a shootout. Should be some game. Will Andy Moran make an appearance? What an option off the bench.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/07/2019 18:41:00    2208589

Replying To TheHermit:  "How many All Ireland's did we win playing 3 games oh Oracle? We must have won every second one like that the way your talking.
But sure we'll take them I mean I don't see any Dublin poster on here dismissing all the AI ye won pre 1955, read up on that there lad more education for you :D"
3/4 games not much of a difference, compared to the amount of games it takes to win one now . pre 1955 ? are you for real ? I wouldn't imagine to many posters on here were alive then -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 09/07/2019 19:11:36    2208598

Replying To superbluedub:  "3/4 games not much of a difference, compared to the amount of games it takes to win one now . pre 1955 ? are you for real ? I wouldn't imagine to many posters on here were alive then -:)"
Before the Super 8's came in last year Dublin didn't get a game until the semis, and even now they are the only side with two home games in the series. If you want to count all these additional games against lower division sides in leinster as some sort of obstacle go ahead. At least Kerry had to overcome a very good cork side in Munster during that time.

The 3 games only happened once iirc when the powers that be decided to spare the other teams in Munster the humiliation of facing an effectively unbeatable Kerry team. It's disingenuous to pretend that it was the norm.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/07/2019 19:26:29    2208603

Replying To superbluedub:  "3/4 games not much of a difference, compared to the amount of games it takes to win one now . pre 1955 ? are you for real ? I wouldn't imagine to many posters on here were alive then -:)"
Well you brought up an AI form 40 years ago what's wrong with discussing a few from a few decades before? But I suppose for the johnny come lately supporters like yourself everything before 2011 is irrelevant.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/07/2019 19:33:37    2208605