Meath V Clare

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Ill enjoy watching meath in the super 8"
Cheers man, so will I, great to get there in fairness.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/07/2019 15:54:56    2207062

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Something awful wrong with a system when either of these teams get in super 8's ahead of the likes Galway, Armagh or Cavan, but thems the breaks i suppose."
Ya u want the best teams in the supers 8s and Meath aren't 1 of them for me but that's the luck of the draw ,hard see anything but 3 hard beatings for this Meath team

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 07/07/2019 15:56:04    2207063

Congrats meath. Big potential all over the pitch. Need a new keeper though.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/07/2019 15:57:17    2207064

In ways it was a very enjoyable game. In other ways it was painful/comedic/frustrating etc, I believe Meath were the slightly better side particularly in the 2nd half and should have had another 1-2 or 1-3 on the board by the end. It devolved into a bit of a shambles from Meath near the end and the nuance went out the window. They were cagey. Clare have some very good players. Meath's kick-outs, their speed and intensity, and their inability to score easily will inhibit them a lot going forward. They got the golden draw of Offaly, Carlow, Laois, and Clare to get to the Super 8s. Now they can see where they really are and the prospect of these 3 games plus Division one next year is great for a Meath perspective. Thats all there is to say really. A great season for Meath and now very much in bonus territory. Although Im happy and relieved and proud of the team, I'm also fearful for what may lie ahead.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 07/07/2019 16:00:25    2207066

Replying To Wally:  "By that standard I think it would have been better if yous had lost that game.

Being in the super 8's may sound good but it is going to be a very long 3 weeks for you.

I cant see you getting to within 10 points of any of the teams in your group."
Maybe we won't, I don't know, but I'm going to go out and enjoy all 3 games anyway, hopefully if nothing else it's a learning experience ahead of Division 1 next year.

This is our first time making the last 8 since 2010 and the players should enjoy it. But yes, there's no doubt that huge improvement is needed to challenge in our group.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/07/2019 16:04:12    2207068

Replying To Wally:  "By that standard I think it would have been better if yous had lost that game.

Being in the super 8's may sound good but it is going to be a very long 3 weeks for you.

They have won their way in to the Super 8s and deserve respect for that. Maybe they will lose all three games but I'm sure the experience of playing in the so-called super 8 will stand to them in Di in the League next Spring.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 07/07/2019 16:06:10    2207071

Replying To Donegalman:  "Congrats meath. Big potential all over the pitch. Need a new keeper though."
Kickouts are a big issue, we're not going to be able to sort that in the space of 1 week but it's something that needs to be addressed for the NFL next year.

Looking forward to the trip to Ballybofey, I think Donegal are 2nd only to Dublin and look the most likely to challenge, plus personally I have some good neighbours from up that way so it'll make it an interesting week for me.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/07/2019 16:07:15    2207072

Replying To Htaem:  "Cheers man, so will I, great to get there in fairness."
Be careful Htaem your posts might get screenshot and posted on social media sites like instagram or snapshot for all the teenagers and kids that use it :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 07/07/2019 16:08:21    2207073

Replying To Young_gael:  "In ways it was a very enjoyable game. In other ways it was painful/comedic/frustrating etc, I believe Meath were the slightly better side particularly in the 2nd half and should have had another 1-2 or 1-3 on the board by the end. It devolved into a bit of a shambles from Meath near the end and the nuance went out the window. They were cagey. Clare have some very good players. Meath's kick-outs, their speed and intensity, and their inability to score easily will inhibit them a lot going forward. They got the golden draw of Offaly, Carlow, Laois, and Clare to get to the Super 8s. Now they can see where they really are and the prospect of these 3 games plus Division one next year is great for a Meath perspective. Thats all there is to say really. A great season for Meath and now very much in bonus territory. Although Im happy and relieved and proud of the team, I'm also fearful for what may lie ahead."
I wouldn't worry too much about what lies ahead, we have to face these teams at some stage, but I agree we are in bonus territory.

Again I think McEntee is the ambitious sort who'll be aiming to get us out of the group but realistically our best bet is trying to take a scalp.

We have to learn to compete with these teams before we can have genuine ambitions of beating them.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/07/2019 16:12:57    2207075

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Be careful Htaem your posts might get screenshot and posted on social media sites like instagram or snapshot for all the teenagers and kids that use it :)"
Haha I know, the professionally offended are never far away :-)

Ps, I'm not on the snapchat, the instagram nor the twitter machine etc, I get a much better buzz being on me tractor

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/07/2019 16:16:11    2207077

Replying To Htaem:  "Kickouts are a big issue, we're not going to be able to sort that in the space of 1 week but it's something that needs to be addressed for the NFL next year.

Looking forward to the trip to Ballybofey, I think Donegal are 2nd only to Dublin and look the most likely to challenge, plus personally I have some good neighbours from up that way so it'll make it an interesting week for me."
Enjoy your trip to the north west.

disagree with dl being the only team there to threaten the dubs. I would say there is parity there with tyrone and kerry. Mayo are an equal price but i think they are limping along.

You must be mindful that the 2nd favorites are the 4 afformentioned teams, all on 9/1.

Colm cooper bigging up dl, tyrone and mayo. no mention of Kerry. Same with Darragh Oshea on the broadsheets.
The Kerry team will be roaring out of the blocks in their next 2 games, and possibly will be pulling up again with 'room to improve' in their last super 8 game.

Remember 2009 and 2014. Say no more.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/07/2019 16:18:43    2207078

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Something awful wrong with a system when either of these teams get in super 8's ahead of the likes Galway, Armagh or Cavan, but thems the breaks i suppose."
Out of the three you mention Armagh are the only team that can count themselves somewhat unlucky

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/07/2019 16:40:09    2207090

Replying To Donegalman:  "Enjoy your trip to the north west.

disagree with dl being the only team there to threaten the dubs. I would say there is parity there with tyrone and kerry. Mayo are an equal price but i think they are limping along.

You must be mindful that the 2nd favorites are the 4 afformentioned teams, all on 9/1.

Colm cooper bigging up dl, tyrone and mayo. no mention of Kerry. Same with Darragh Oshea on the broadsheets.
The Kerry team will be roaring out of the blocks in their next 2 games, and possibly will be pulling up again with 'room to improve' in their last super 8 game.

Remember 2009 and 2014. Say no more."
I don't think Donegal are the only team there to challenge the Dubs but I think they look the best of the chasing pack. Kerry are Kerry and when they turn up you're in trouble, Mayo somehow keep going and Tyrone, well look, they can be hard to beat but in fairness Donegal turned them over this year relatively easily in Ulster.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/07/2019 16:55:52    2207102

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Ya u want the best teams in the supers 8s and Meath aren't 1 of them for me but that's the luck of the draw ,hard see anything but 3 hard beatings for this Meath team"
Galway bet London and Sligo in the championship this year, and were abysmal against roscommon, do u think they deserve to be in super 8s????? Genuinely

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 07/07/2019 16:58:02    2207104

Tyrone must shocking bad as well then. Didn't they only beat this Meath team by a point last year after extra time, all the while being robbed by the ref?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 07/07/2019 17:01:07    2207107

Really enjoyed that one. Well done Meath and hard luck Clare but ye both gave it a go. Ignore begrudgers saying neither of the counties deserve to be in super 8s. Meath won the game they needed to, end of story. Listening to some on here only the top 8 ranked teams should be there but that's the beauty of sport. Meath capable of beating most teams and won't fear any of the other three.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 07/07/2019 17:01:23    2207108

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Galway bet London and Sligo in the championship this year, and were abysmal against roscommon, do u think they deserve to be in super 8s????? Genuinely"
And they play the worst gutter football...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 07/07/2019 17:05:53    2207116

Replying To Donegalman:  "Enjoy your trip to the north west.

Remember 2009 and 2014. Say no more."
I don't think kerry will make it through the groupt, mayo and donegal to make the semi's

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 07/07/2019 17:06:03    2207117

Can't see us getting within 10 points of any of the teams in our group? Some serious underestimating of Meath going on the last while in this forum. We should of beaten the all Ireland finalists last year, you fell over the line against us. Surely Tyrone should be beating us by 20 points? Should of taken Donegal on several occasions over the last few years, close games all the same, a far cry from 10 point margins. We couldn't kick a point against Dublin, but were solid and dogmatic in general play.

People don't like Meath, I get that, and want to write us off and downplay our chances. But hammerings rarely come to fruition. We'll probably come out the wrong side of of some tight games due to bottling it, but they will be tight games nonetheless. Meath will be dogmatic and hard bet

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 07/07/2019 17:06:41    2207118

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Ya u want the best teams in the supers 8s and Meath aren't 1 of them for me but that's the luck of the draw ,hard see anything but 3 hard beatings for this Meath team"
Well yes I'd prefer if Galway had reached the super 8s as well. God help us if we couldn't beat them based on what we seen this year.

It looks a tough group for Meath but look what the hell, hopefully they can get within 10 points of one of them and surprise the begrudgers.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 07/07/2019 17:06:46    2207119